Cavan in the Qualifiers

Awwwwnow

My gripe is purely with the management not the players. 3 games this year all at home Kildare down and Monaghan we led then changed our tactics and it backfired. 3 games on the spin same end result. That's my gripe with the management.They not learning and Mr Forde is ranting and raving on the sideline blaming everyone and everything he can except what he should be blaming. His own management who are not fit to close a game out.?end of story. Now the pro Hyland brigade can post til they blue in the face but the facts are our management are not good enough for the task ahead. 3 times they proved that already this year

Sure by that logic then they got it right so 3 times this year as they bet Westmaeath, Laois and Galway and they got it half right and half wrong against Roscommon seeing as they drew with them. The management closed out these games seeing as they won them. 3 times they proved that already this year.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 11/06/2015 16:18:14    1735713

Good man P.Mus half a loaf is better than no bread! Terry will probably break Mickey the pound record!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 11/06/2015 16:28:37    1735718

We talk about underage success and team building but what's coming through? Who are they?

Well there are several backs and a few midfielders but you do have a point regarding the forwards. Its probably a reflection on those U21 teams that even though the had great success they never won an all-ireland and i think its down to not having the marquee forwards when the real crunch came. We got success at u21 because we worked very well as a team and to a system. The simple fact is i don't think they are there, there might be 1 or 2 but not 4-5 that is needed when you consider drop out rates. At the same time i don't think many of the Galway team that beat us in the u21 have made the breakthrough either so there are no guarantees. It was always the case and still is the case that you are looking at 2-3 lads to break through each year.

We are short ball winners upfront and that is our achilles heel not the system we play (even i'm not a mad fan of it). The only one I've have seen is Keating and he hasn't committed this year.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 11/06/2015 16:55:49    1735730

You said the management don't know how to close out a game and are not tactictally astute, yet in Galway they made a switch after 20 mins when we were losing and this turned the game as Dunne who came on scored 5 points and we closed out the game and won. So there is just one example of when they did just that. Enjoy your school holidays son now jog on...

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 12/06/2015 11:43:42    1735946

P Muss... One good switch in a whole season...??? What a wonderfull management team we have..!!!! Now you jog along little boy...!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 13/06/2015 17:53:18    1736418

7 points from 7 games in the national league and knocked out the first round in Ulster speaks for itself.
They are just not good enough plain and simple.
How humiliating would it be if London were to put one over on them.
Hyland needs to be weary of this London team for if anyone was to take anything from the Butlersbridge match would have to be crazy.
I would say Lorcan Mulvey would love to hit hyland where it hurts.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 13/06/2015 19:10:40    1736440

agree with sean 66

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 14/06/2015 15:29:55    1736658

Id think we will beat London comfortably and after that I predict a good run taking one or two decent scalps along the way. Calling for managers head mid season is bonkers ffs. get behind the lads enough with the moaning.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 15/06/2015 10:14:07    1737062

Fair .play facer for home, 2 much anti cavan on here.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 15/06/2015 12:52:39    1737266

There is nothing "anti" about wanting Cavan to progress and play attractive football.
What is "anti" is accepting static muck which is getting us nowhere fast.

If you have an argument to support your claim of people being "anti Cavan" then make it. I don't see it.
This forum is about opinions and debate.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/06/2015 16:12:13    1737464

Well we are on the road again, so what kinda team do ye think will be put out for London ? Is everyone available or have we injuries? We need to not just win this I expect we should be able to be way better than London about the same gap in class as between Donegal and Armagh yesterday, not sayin were as good as Donegal but we should be far ahead of London.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 15/06/2015 16:51:00    1737503

according to the celt last week very little injuries best of luck to the lads this should be a relatively easy win alol things considered

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 15/06/2015 17:48:54    1737543

Are any of our lads heading to America

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 15/06/2015 17:50:04    1737544

Who here is making the trip over? Anyone know anything about getting to Ruislip from Stansted? Most convenient way to travel etc..

This should be a facile win here, the reality is we may well get a run of handy games which doesn't benefit anyone, we should be hoping to draw Laois or Kildare before the last 12. If we take a big scalp along the way then we are capable I feel of putting it up to Cork or Meath.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/06/2015 19:15:15    1737609

Some very stupid people on here. How does scoring 15 points against the team who ran dublin to within a point only a few weeks earlier not count as a good performance? Do yous even go to games or are yous all asking the lad next to you at the bar. Most real fans would argue that killian clarke is our best player. Would he have gotten us over the line? I believe he would. All you clowns living in the past. A young guy now needs time to be conditioned for top level football. Monaghan are an older team at the end of a cycle were just starting off. No real fan of gaelic football would continue to criticise a team who are merely following a template used by all the top teams. Time to move out of the 80s lads.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 15/06/2015 21:20:07    1737701

So we just starting off?? Starting off since when? May this year? Last year? Year before? 2012? We must be horrid slow starters!!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 15/06/2015 21:53:08    1737716

Wow, this thread almost broke out into a conversation about the actual qualifiers, then the usual posters start banging on about the management and (apparent) lack of progress.
OK, we get it, some of you don't like the management team and don't feel we are progressing at a fast enough rate. That's fair enough, I agree with a lot of what you say and I understand that yous have the best wishes for Cavan football in your heart...but for the love of God please change the record. How many times do you want to say the same thing? Your opinions on the matter have been well and truly noted by this stage.

Anyway, back to the big game on Saturday, anyone have any idea of what the team/tactics might be for the game?? It seems like the squad have stuck together (or has there been any drop outs?) and have been pretty quiet in the build up to this so far. I hope this is a sign that they are putting their heads down and aiming for a long run in the qualifiers.

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 16/06/2015 08:09:19    1737727

Look at age profile then look at monaghans.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 16/06/2015 09:21:40    1737754

Handiest way from Stansted to Ruislip is definitely Cab, might cost you 50/60 quid but if their is a few of youse it will be sound. Tube will take an age from up North.
Was the happiest man alive when Cavan were pulled to play London, that turned into a sense of sadness when I heard that the Cavan team aren't even staying the night to socialise with friends and family. Probably have training Sun morning which is quite ridiculous.
Anyway Rant over...... Cavan By 8/9.. Small pitch in Ruislip will suit cavan to a Tee.

Doglegright01 (Cavan) - Posts: 41 - 16/06/2015 09:49:11    1737767

Sceptical - You are one of the very reasons why I have to post on this forum. 50 minutes of the Monaghan match was an excellent performance, unfortunately, theres 70 minutes in a match. We were 4 pts up with 20 minutes left, the rest is history. You cant judge Cavan Football on one game, it will be judged at the end of the season, but in my opionion, after 4 years and another Championship knockout, the season is over. Clarke is a good footballer, thats about it, hes no match winner, how long is he playing County Football now, surely hes had the last 3 or 4 yrs to be conditioned?

As for your comments about a team following a template used by all of the top teams - Cavan is not a top team, Hyland has had 4 yrs to perfect the game and from what I saw this year, its actually gettting worse.

I'll say it again Sceptical, off with you to the Terry Hyland Forum with your mates and post whatever nonsense you want over there.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 16/06/2015 10:04:47    1737783