Cavan in the Qualifiers

It looks like we are in the easier side of the draw this year with 6 teams that played in division 4 plus ourselves and either Kildare or Laois.

We beat Laois in the league but lost to Kildare. Laois have improved since then I feel, so either of those would be a tough game.
we will probably have to meet them at some stage in the qualifiers anyway .

The only ulster team we can get is Antrim .
I feel we would beat :Waterford,Carlow or London handy enough.. Longford are decent enough despite their hammering v Dublin.

I feel, for the season to be a success, we need to beat either Kildare or Laois... That will be progress.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 04/06/2015 08:35:19    1732204

Been reading a while here and feel a lot of what deanmartin says is spot on. While management have restored discipline and pride in the Cavan Jersey I feel tactically they not up to scratch unfortunately . When you look at the games against Down, Monaghan , Kildare that we let leads slip. Fordes antics on the sideline are enough to make the genuine supporter cringe. That's not passion he displaying , it's ignorance in my opinion. Terry needs a football brain with him, a man cool under pressure not ranting and raving beside him. My feelings if Terry is to stay well Forde must go or both go if he can't get rid of Forde. I don't know Seanie Johnstone position as regards being injured or interested but he was the standout forward in last seasons club championship with scores from play and there is a place on that team for him from what I saw this year. Tactically we are very poor. Discipline is poor in the tackle and players seem afraid to shoot inside the 45. Hyland has restored a lot of credit ability back to Cavan football and he has to be commended for that most sincerely. I feel as an inter county senior manager he seems out of his dept because I've not seen anything that he has done in any particular game switch wise that turned a game in our favour. We have lost leads in the 3 mentioned games because we couldn't close a game out. Lads like McDermott mckiernan are 5 years there now and need to be performing. We are always looking at what players are coming through but where the players that came through? Terry must have gone through 100 players since the 2010 Ulster u21 final and we no farther on at senior level. We are a small county . We need our best players playing. That includes Giveny.Tierney. Keating.Johnston. Maloney-Derham.Clarke.We need s manager who can manager all types .Sadly Terry in my eyes doesn't seem to be up to the task

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 04/06/2015 12:50:13    1732322

Awwwnow - your 1st post and your 1st line praises DeanMartin . . .you'll be popular on here!!

Anyway, I don't think anyone disagrees with anything you're saying - the main point being made in Terry's favour is that he should be getting praise for what he has done.
I said after the Roscommon game last year that he should go, but that he would be leaving with his head held high.

He stayed and had a crack at division 2 which he probably deserved given that he gained promotion. But I think what we witnessed during the league was a team more than capable of progressing who just couldn't close out the tight games.

Flanagan's sending off v Down lost us that game and I don't think I'd blame Flanagan for that, let alone Terry - it was 2 of the softest yellow cards I've ever seen.
The sending off v Kildare was a sending off, but i don't think we ever got going against them. not sure we'd have won either way and it was Kildare's best performance of the year so far.
The Meath game is probably the 1 that management should take most responsibility for. Any day Cavan play Meath the players should be chomping at the bit, let alone a game where a win could have led to promotion. But I never sensed that urgency to take the game to Meath.

The Monaghan game was heartbreaking, but from 20mins out you could almost see the final result - we never looked in control of the game.

As for the qualifiers; A loss to ANY first round opponent would be classified as a disaster. As a squad, we are more established than any other team in it with the majority of our squad around for 3-4 years. If we take these qualifiers seriously, we are good enough to reach the last 12 where we would likely face(IMO ) Meath, Roscommon, Monaghan or Cork (i know theres a lot of football to be played before then). That has to be the target and I'd give us a fighting chance against 3 of those teams.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 04/06/2015 14:04:15    1732380

Awwwwnow
And
Cavan47

Getting to the last 12 has to be the easiest way I have ever seen this type of draw system is diabolical. Cavan will get to the last 12 and the management will be praised on here to the hilt.
Look we can talk about matches that got away they got away for two reason one, players not capable of lasting the full game and end up pulling at players to facility their inability to keep up with them , two the decisions the management make on the side line and up in the press box are unforgivable it's that simple.
30 euro to watch that ***** it's no wonder the supporters are walking away.
I hope congress will review this draw system for it does nothing for the game we have the big guns playing against each other while the weak teams have an easy run to the last 12 disgraceful.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 04/06/2015 14:19:20    1732398

We had 7 months to prepare for the Monaghan game. That's how long ago the draw was made. Stopping McManus is 95% stopping Monaghan from
a scoring point of view. We didn't do that over 70 mins. That's a management mistake. Having a plan A B C to cope with Monaghans main threat. Galligan although faultless with his kickouts was brought in for his longrange free taking. 1/3 not good enough at this level. Another wrong call by management . Surely Dunne ,McDermott can kick a free out of their hands from 45 metres? Starting Argue at full forward needed Dinne to play off him. With Dunne lacking in upper body strength to win his own ball a target man to feed off is what he he lives on. Yet he didn't start. No plan B when Monaghan copped on to the long ball to Argue. Management need freshening up. Proper forwards coach needed. Decision maker on the line badly needed when things get close. Terry needs to show his tactical knowledge during games then the supporters will and can say he knows what he is at tactically. Has anybody any instances where the management showed they were tactically astute?

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 04/06/2015 14:48:09    1732415

Problems with Cavan Football

1 Senior team Management and backroom staff
2 Never Replaced Peter Donnelly
3 Discipline on and off field
4 Club Championship Structure
5 To many YES people

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 04/06/2015 14:56:52    1732421

Why don't we just merge all the threads on this forum into one big thread and call it "Terry Out".
Every single thread is the same. We get it. A lot of people don't want Terry, just start a thread and keep all the anti-management stuff in one place.

Anyway, as for the qualifiers, I see this as a chance to get a few wins and build up some confidence and hopefully get a chance to implement a more attacking style of football, which we showed glimpses of in the Monaghan game.

Let's not write the season off yet, it's not over.
If we do end up losing to a div. 4 team in the qualifiers then the knives can be sharpened for the management team (and rightly so).

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 04/06/2015 16:01:10    1732464

SamuraiBlue - so after 4 years at the helm, are we to believe that a good run in the qualifiers this makes it a successful season? I think not. We won 4 Ulster Titles in a row at U 21 level, yet we have not pushed on at senior level at all. The style of football is terrible the watch, crowd attendances are down and over the course of the NL, management have shown themselves to be tactically inept.
Liam McHale said it himself on the Thurs before the Monaghan game that Terry is too defensive, McHale has tried to bring in a more attacking style of football and to be fair, it showed in the first 45/50 mins that we could do it - then with 4 pts up, Terry gives the call to shut up shop, we go into defensive mode and we lose.
The entire club league and championship set up is a complete joke, how do we expect County Players to compete at County level when theyre not getting regular competitive games with their clubs? 3 or 4 weeks between league games, no championship games til the end of July, needs to be looked at urgently.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 04/06/2015 16:58:15    1732488

SamuraiBlue

Let's not write the season off yet, it's not over.
If we do end up losing to a div. 4 team in the qualifiers then the knives can be sharpened for the management team (and rightly so).

Typical post and one can only expect more of the same. I say hyland out along with all his back-room staff.

An easy run win a few stupid games against no body I expect they are hoping they will Carlow, Longford, Antrim or can they get these. Lets get Kildare if they are in the draw and lets put an end to out misery early and save the supporters some holiday money instead.
In relation to not replacing Peter Donnelly what is McHales roll and Downes and McGuire what are they there for?????

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 04/06/2015 17:06:32    1732495

Most counties have started round robin games in their club championship. Can't understand why we have not. Thought when Gerry Brady became chairman that he would give the club championships the respect they deserve being a former player himself. It's not that long ago that Monaghan and Cavan were slogging it out in Div 3. Then O Rourke came in and 2 successive promotions without any major underage success and now Monaghan a Top 8 side doing well in Div 1. Cavan for all our underage success and the 100 players that the present management have gone through this past 4 years have shown no real improvement . Not constructive improvement . We still have to change our keeper before the 1st round of the championship. We still have to name dummy teams. Dummy teams for what? To confuse who? You think Malachy O R outlet gives a **** if Dunnie is playing or not?? Not a **** does he care. He more interested in getting his plan A BC right.So the only fooling Hyland is doing is confusing his own players.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 04/06/2015 17:19:46    1732499

I think some people on here will only be satisfied if we win the all-ireland this year. what a joke.
others are calling for the manager's head because we didn't keep Mcmanus scoreless for 70 mins. (there wouldn't be too many managers left in the country if that was a sackable offence). someone else (or maybe it was the same poster) said we haven't progressed since 2010.
others saying we have a far more experienced team than the likes of Kildare or Laois.. I doubt it.

guys try and keep it serious unless you want to be thought of as another Tomsmith here.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 04/06/2015 18:23:29    1732528

S goldrick? Who mentioned keeping McManus scoreless? With 7 months planning there was a poor job done on him. You mention on another thread that we need to beat Laois or Kildare. We haven't even been drawn against anybody yet. So you see your capable of some tomsmith type posts yourself. You have made a big enough clown of your self on the main forum at times.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 04/06/2015 19:04:47    1732539

Our record in the qualifiers is abysmal.

A few wins in the qualifiers won't mask the glaring inefficiencies that have surfaced in the team since last year. The biggest issue is the teams resolve. When there is something serious at stake, we crumble. The first instance of this was the league final against Roscommon in 2014. Cruising in that game, 7 points up. We lost. The self destruction against Armagh last year was another example. Following that was a lacklustre performance against Westmeath at home where we won by a point courtesy of John Heslin missing a 13 yard free. And then the shambles against Roscommon, unforgettable stuff, and I felt it was time for the management to go after that.

Anyway, the "future is blue" stuff and citing inexperience is no longer a credible excuse for losing. These lads have been together from u21 onwards, it really doesn't sound plausible to talk about success down the road when the reality is we should be making our mark now. And the Monaghan game was a opportune time to do it. Once again, we folded after being well in control.

It doesn't help the thing when our local newspaper sides firmly with the management and praises them for a defeat. Yes, praises them for losing a game, you simply could not make this stuff up, I have never encountered a mentality like it.

Last year I was of the opinion that Cavan's biggest obstacle going forward would be getting the old habits out of the players i.e the defensive garbage they were drilled with. And what happens against Monaghan? We revert to type and go back to our lateral robot football. In addition, we didn't look fit in the last 10 minutes. A basic requirement.

Nobody can question that Hyland has improved things significantly in terms of player commitment and we do have a team that tries now. But he's not the man to bring us to that next level. He's had ample opportunity to lift silverware and take out a big gun in the Ulster championship. Instead, we find ourselves in very familiar territory.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 04/06/2015 19:43:45    1732551

Wow never new a qualifier thread could produce such essays.
I thought ye left that in the Monaghan thread. Obviously ye wernt heard enough.
Anyways cant wait for the draw. When's it on?

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 05/06/2015 08:37:50    1732614

The qualifiers are a waste of time up to when Cavan will meet and beat a decent team.

As was posted earlier, Cavan's repeated failure top close out games is a serious flaw in their make-up. Cavan threw the Monaghan match away. Their pathetic "tackling", giving so many frees to a team of Monaghan's calibre, and their failure to capitalise on a substantial lead, at a crucial time in the match, showed their fundamental weaknesses.

The hysteria at the Sunday Game coverage is embarrassing. The lads on the programme were correct, highlighting the areas in which Cavan failed. Why is it so many Cavan people cannot take criticism?

Cavan have progressed a little from last year. TG they did not get promoted, this team is not ready or able for Div 1 football. They must, however, kick on from here and aim for promotion next year (from the Ulster League)

For those bemoaning the lack of kick-on from the U21? What did the U21 win? Provincial championships are nothing to base a senior team on, we need All Ireland success. The match against Dublin U21 s-final was yet another example of failing to close out a game when it was there for the taking.

And, last of all, Monaghan were poor!

G_P (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 05/06/2015 12:23:25    1732739

Ye so called fans should be careful what you wish for. It's like reading a soccer forum from west ham fans or newcastle fans thinking they have a god given right to win all before them and always want the manager sacked of they don't. Gas stuff.

I for one will be sorry to see Hyland go at the end of this championship. It's only 3 years ago gone by in April I was in Breffni at the final league match against Antrim where the loser was destined for div 4. DIVISION 4! Antrim hammered us that day and but for a hugely lucky result in the Tipperary game we would have been relegated.
3 years later and we were heading in to a final league match with promotion to Div 1 at stake. DIVISION 1! As a fan of cavan football I could not give a fiddlers how easy of a run in the qualifers we get I just want to see us get as far as we can in them. Who cares if we play div4 teams? As long as we win as fans is that not what we want? If we got to the last 12 or even 8 that would be fantastic. Prob come up against dublin or kerry then and of course we would get beat sure why wouldn't we? People would be giving out then then that we wouldn't beat them and go all anti hyland about it. Unrealastic expectations by many but in reality I think it's just a negative, nasty, bitter mindset from these so called "fans".
This time next year with the new mgt team in tow it will be interesting to see where we will be then. Like i said be careful what you wish for.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 05/06/2015 13:20:30    1732781

NOTHING OTHER THAN AN ALL-IRELAND VICTORY IN SEPTEMBER WILL BE TOLERATED.

The time is NOW. we should be beating Monaghan,Meath,Kildare,Laois,Armagh,Roscomman,Donegal,Tyrone,Galway,Mayo,Kerry,Cork,Dublin, the lot of them. No excuses we have the best players, the biggest population, the most money, why are we languishing in mid-table in Div 2.

We have always been a top team in Div 1, Look at all the Ulster finals we have won in the last 46 years, not to mention all-irelands.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 05/06/2015 13:33:53    1732794

I am getting sooooo bored of this place. A handful of ye just bringing the whole thing down. I'm all fro debate but the same old tripe every post by 4 or 5 of the usual suspects. Lads, you're boring!!!

Conor McManus is one of the top forwards in the country and actually didnt really get into it until the second half. 7 months to prepare for him? What does that matter? I'm sure we had the same with others who ran riot against us like Canavan!!! Pointless carry on. In actual fact it was nice to see a forward of that quality in a competitive game. He sis hurt us but any football fan would have to salute that performance.

Anyway, I have a feeling it might be Laois in the qualifiers! That would be a great tie and a win there would have us back on track. When I checked in the bookies before the championship started we were neither favourites for Ulster or the All Ireland!! We still have a good chance of another 4 games this summer.

Bring it on!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 05/06/2015 13:35:59    1732798

Deanmartin - I'm not as concerned about how far we go in the qualifiers as about how we play in these upcoming games. Terry has said that he will start to implement a more attacking strategy from this year. I understand in the league we didn't see this but we really did at times in the Monaghan game (like you said, for the first 50 minutes or so).

McHale hasn't even been here a year so hopefully in the qualifiers we can show improvements in our attacking game, the more time he has in the position the more his influence should show through. If we don't show these improvements then, yes, I agree with you that we need a change in the management team.
As things stand, I actually think the time has come to make changes, but I'm also willing to give them til the end of the season to show that we are progressing as an attacking unit too. If we can play a full 70 minutes like the first 50 against Monaghan and start to show that we are willing to be more aggressive and have a go at teams then I'd be happy enough with that as a base to build on.

But to answer your question, "would a good run in the qualifiers make it a successful season?" - Absolutely yes, if we went on a run to the 1/4 final, as well as retaining Div.2 status, i would consider that a pretty damn successful year.
However, if we beat one or two div.3 or 4 teams then get beat by Laois or Kildare then no, imo, it wouldn't be successful.
What constitutes success to you?

By the way, when is the draw for the qualifiers? The 1st round is just over a fortnight away!

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 05/06/2015 13:58:06    1732814

Our opposition for the 1st round will be any team from:

Carlow
Longford
Offaly
Loser of Kildare vs Laois
Antrim
London
Waterford

If we get through that, the next round will throw us up against:

Fermanagh (providing Monaghan win)
Laois or Kildare (providing Dublin win)
Sligo (providing Roscommon win)
Clare (providing Cork win)

The third round will be an open draw between the 4 teams who progress from those lists.

The last 12 round will pitch the 2 winners of QF round 3 against:

Cork (providing Kerry win the Munster Final)
Meath (providing Dublin win the Leinster title)

So really only Laois or Kildare and maybe Fermanagh (no offense to the other teams) that we should really fear before the last 12.
But I'd rather we actually drew one or two of the "tougher" teams to really gauge where we are. If we got through that challenge I think we could really give Meath or Cork a go rattle in the last 12.

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 05/06/2015 14:10:33    1732826