The Qualifiers

Replying To JonSmith:  "Do us all a favour and put aside your obsession with the Great Man for a moment. Answer my question, where has Mattie improved Cavan?

Also if you want to talk about forwards quitting; Niall McDermott, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney, Joe Dillon, Gerry Smith all quit since Mattie took over. Ask them why...."
I haven't had many opportunities to agree with Jonsmith, but this is one of them-spot on. Down should have beaten us by 4 goals in the league on heavy ground. I worry what will happen next. In any case, the fact that he got us to Div1 means it's highly unlikely that the CB will remove him.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 12/06/2018 18:31:28    2110673

Replying To fredflint:  "Exactly. All these players that were so annoyed with Terry actually left when Terry was gone. Yet that is Terry's fault???"
He didn't do much when he had all those players did he? Plus many more.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/06/2018 18:43:32    2110679

On the issue of player dropouts, how many who aren't involved anymore are a genuine big loss? Except Givney, I can't think of many. Let's take 5 random guys who are no longer involved as an example. Rory Dunne, niall McDermott, Josh Hayes, Chris Conroy and fergal Flanagan. can we honestly say that our team would be dramatically stronger if those guys were all on-board still?

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 12/06/2018 18:52:24    2110681

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "On the issue of player dropouts, how many who aren't involved anymore are a genuine big loss? Except Givney, I can't think of many. Let's take 5 random guys who are no longer involved as an example. Rory Dunne, niall McDermott, Josh Hayes, Chris Conroy and fergal Flanagan. can we honestly say that our team would be dramatically stronger if those guys were all on-board still?"
The answer to that is an unequivocal yes. I'd much rather have them fellas on our subs bench than what we currently have (with all due respect to the players on it). Why? Because those guys you mentioned won silverware for Cavan at u21 level (well, 3 of them did). They were supposed to be part of the future of Cavan football, but more than 75% of the players of our successful underage teams have not made themselves available. We need to address this glaring problem.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 12/06/2018 19:24:17    2110692

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "He didn't do much when he had all those players did he? Plus many more."
I remember winning an All Ireland junior title, being in All ireland u21 final and All Ireland QF. I'd take that now where in place we have hammerings at u20 level, can't field a team at junior level and our senior team is tactically inept.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 12/06/2018 20:29:57    2110732

is anyone else worried that Cormac Reilly is doing it? how many garda escorts off a pitch does a referee need to get before the GAA stop giving them games....

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 12/06/2018 20:32:58    2110734

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "On the issue of player dropouts, how many who aren't involved anymore are a genuine big loss? Except Givney, I can't think of many. Let's take 5 random guys who are no longer involved as an example. Rory Dunne, niall McDermott, Josh Hayes, Chris Conroy and fergal Flanagan. can we honestly say that our team would be dramatically stronger if those guys were all on-board still?"
Undoubtedly yes. People underrate some lads like McDermott, Fergal Flanagan and Rory Dunne because they weren't superstars but they were solid conditioned experienced intercounty players. That can't be said for a lot on the bench and a the starting side these days. It's hard earned.

And for Loughduff lad if you're saying the likes of the 3 lads I mentioned above have bad attitudes you don't know what your on about. Committed and reliable lads that are a big loss to Cavan football.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/06/2018 20:38:02    2110742

in reply to qualfiers i had heard due to brefni park been closed as to new pitch been installed i was told if cavan was to get a home draw the game would be played in clones as its nearest venue to host game so draw was made cavan got home tie with down who lost to donegal as i put hogan stand on i see it gave headline in one part the game was in clones but then next thing i heard the cavan v down will be taken place in brewster park why brewster and not clones

Davin (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 12/06/2018 21:05:07    2110753

Replying To blueskies:  "is anyone else worried that Cormac Reilly is doing it? how many garda escorts off a pitch does a referee need to get before the GAA stop giving them games...."
I'm worried about him, if he can't ref a game fair he shouldn't be a referee.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 12/06/2018 21:17:36    2110760

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Does it really matter? What will the likely attendance be based on current trends? Genuine question"
Of course it matters...like when you have to cede home advantage for an important fixture such as this. A lot of counties don't depend on a single ground !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 12/06/2018 21:20:22    2110761

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yep, same as Monaghan. Same as most counties.

The stunt ye pull every spring taking big teams away from Clones wouldn't be allowed for a championship game."
Wrong Cavan man....Blayney well capable of holding the likes of Down v Cavan...and Inniskeen too if the truth be told.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 12/06/2018 21:24:42    2110762

Replying To JonSmith:  "Do us all a favour and put aside your obsession with the Great Man for a moment. Answer my question, where has Mattie improved Cavan?

Also if you want to talk about forwards quitting; Niall McDermott, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney, Joe Dillon, Gerry Smith all quit since Mattie took over. Ask them why...."
Not one of them a top inter county footballer so better look elsewhere for shortcomings.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 12/06/2018 21:27:05    2110763

Why do the GAA continually appoint referees to matches with teams or team that they have previous controversial experiences with.....? It just beggars belief how inept the GAA are at trying to do the right thing... they must now be the worst run sporting organisation on earth.... Is it any wonder so many players and supporters are running as fast as they can in the opposite direction...!!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 12/06/2018 21:33:06    2110767

Replying To blueman1903:  "I'm worried about him, if he can't ref a game fair he shouldn't be a referee."
the one good thing about it being in enniskillen is that the psni wont turn up to escort cormac off the pitch

cousinjohnjoe (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 12/06/2018 21:36:24    2110771

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Not one of them a top inter county footballer so better look elsewhere for shortcomings."
Who's arguing that they are top intercounty footballers? No matter where they rank on the scale nationally they are as good as we have in Cavan and better than some of what's there at the moment, we need these lads.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/06/2018 21:39:50    2110772

Replying To Sean.66:  "Why do the GAA continually appoint referees to matches with teams or team that they have previous controversial experiences with.....? It just beggars belief how inept the GAA are at trying to do the right thing... they must now be the worst run sporting organisation on earth.... Is it any wonder so many players and supporters are running as fast as they can in the opposite direction...!!"
It's a total disgrace having Cormac reilly doing that game county board should refuse the

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 12/06/2018 21:39:56    2110773

Replying To blueman1903:  "I'm worried about him, if he can't ref a game fair he shouldn't be a referee."
the one good thing about it being in enniskillen is that the psni wont turn up to escort cormac off the pitch

cousinjohnjoe (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 12/06/2018 21:44:18    2110775

Replying To JonSmith:  "Who's arguing that they are top intercounty footballers? No matter where they rank on the scale nationally they are as good as we have in Cavan and better than some of what's there at the moment, we need these lads."
I take the point you are making but some of these younger untried players on the bench could turn out to be just that, top inter county players, with the right nurturing !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 12/06/2018 21:55:39    2110784

Replying To Shelbourne:  "I take the point you are making but some of these younger untried players on the bench could turn out to be just that, top inter county players, with the right nurturing !"
Shelbourne is it the Fermanagh page you are looking for??

Reilly tends to make his mind up about certain players before the match, and favour the bigger teams. 2 major shortcomings for a man operating at a senior level. Cavan just gave to suck it up and put 100% effort into discipline after the decision.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 12/06/2018 22:14:08    2110791

Replying To Shelbourne:  "I take the point you are making but some of these younger untried players on the bench could turn out to be just that, top inter county players, with the right nurturing !"
Lads who haven't made any impact at underage level and don't particularly stand out in the Club Championships...

We'll not be calling on you to replace Mattie anyways.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/06/2018 23:26:54    2110822