Interesting point about minors being allowed to play league, not a proposal I have heard before. Would certainly give them more games and teams also struggle to field in the league stages although not sure how it would work in theory. I really dont know why minor championship cannot start while they are also playing county. Why cant they play with their club during the week and then county at the weekend? Surely a match with a club is more beneficial than a training session with the county. I understand at adult level why its done but think its silly at minor level, to stop any sort of decent championship while about 5% of players hold it up. They should be allowed play both, we should be telling the minor managers this is the way we are going and thats it, not the other way around. Sure the minor and U16 championship is farcical. Groups of 4, three half meaningful matches, where every team gets through (bit like adult), then a team might have one decent competitive game a quarter final, lose that and thats it. The early development league is beyond a joke, where they didnt even bother playing the finals of it last year. alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 508 - 01/08/2025 11:23:43 2629625 Link 0 |
Was at the match last night and thought the Rapps were full value for their win. Their forwards ran the harriers defenders ragged in the first half. Kevin foley was immense and Liam Ryan did a decent job on Chin. ( highlights the loss he was to Wexford this year). HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 01/08/2025 11:40:02 2629633 Link 0 |
You've hit on something there that doesn't tend to be discussed much - how the U16 & U18 championships are affected by the county/club split season and the inter-county U17 competition. It's not as big an issue in counties that still operate their club championships at U13/U15/U17, but because we run it at "even ages", the county U17 competition cuts across two other championships. As for the idea of second year Minors (i.e. U18s rather than U17s) being allowed to play All County League but not adult championships later in the year - good in theory, but then you could end up with a situation like this: Talented young Johnny, starting his second year of minor, is still just 17 years old when the League starts. He plays most or all of the matches, and does really well. He then turns 18 around the middle of June. Championships start at the end of June or early July, and now he can't play. "What? He was able to play with the men when he was 17, but now he can't play when he's 18? How does that make any sense?" Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3004 - 01/08/2025 11:59:04 2629638 Link 0 |
Are you playing the full championship in 1 weekend? What is it a blitz you are planning?
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1922 - 01/08/2025 13:32:58 2629651 Link 0 |
I made that suggestion originally and yes its based on the Aussie Rules playoffs. Benefits: - Top 2/3/4 teams busting a gut to get in to the top 2, gives them the safety net for an "off day". - No gap weeks and teams building a head of steam while another gets caught cold. - Teams in 3rd/4th say who are qualified have something to play for if they can nick 2nd in the group on the last day - Teams in 5th and 6th might only be decided on the last day You will invariably end up with the odd dead rubber match but no league format can avoid that. The only tweak I would make is I would say the team in 5th is only "OUT" if they have more points than the team in 6th. If they do not, they have to play off against the team in 6th and the loser is in the relegation final. Every championship needs to have something riding on every match and I think back now to our championships over the years and can still tell you some first round matches which cost us massively at the end of the group. A slow start needs to be punished and we only had ourselves to blame. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1922 - 01/08/2025 13:42:00 2629653 Link 0 |
Still think waiting towards end of year with a straight knock out, winner on the day, for U21 is the best option. Pitches are a lot better these days so that isn't much of an argument to begin with. Decent prizes for Div 1 and 2 winners. The games can still be very good quality if players/clubs have a genuine interest. Trying to lump it in with the adult competitions is a waste of time anyway. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 442 - 01/08/2025 14:23:33 2629658 Link 0 |
No that's why I said the words "breaks in the championship" Ye know possibly plan breaks around actual gaa rather than sessions as seems to be more of an obsession in wexford, perhaps quite in keeping with where we find ourselves as a county where a sessio in Loais garners so much attention compared to other counties. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1544 - 01/08/2025 16:09:24 2629673 Link 0 |
I think lads should be able to play adult as soon as they turn 18. That gets rid of the need to get adult panels/managements Garda vetted, and having to do Safeguarding courses. And at the same time it would be a massive boost to our county u20s. Of the team that started against Kilkenny only 4 I think had played any adult hurling, and that for just 1 year, while near enough all the Kilkenny lads had played adult, most for 2 full seasons. They played with way more physicality than our lads, and won nearly all the broken ball.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16768 - 01/08/2025 17:35:57 2629690 Link 0 |
It to do with school also.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16768 - 01/08/2025 17:38:37 2629691 Link 0 |
Kevin was always a top of the range hurler. It would be great if he'd stick around another few years for sure.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16768 - 01/08/2025 17:40:38 2629693 Link 0 |
Very radical view but could we going forward give the last yearss minors who have turned 18 the choice . You can play adult or u18 but not both to alleviate any fixture clash . Only after turning 18 though . So as they can be treated as any other adult . They can play either adult or minor nut both but can play u21 either way . If they feel they magnetic wrong choice they can go back to to minor after any game or but cannot return to adult again until the following year .. Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 01/08/2025 22:18:13 2629720 Link 0 |
Mainly to do with our obsession of play younger lads instead of those 19 or 20. As said before we had more players just out of minor than all the other teams put together. Madness.
Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 210 - 01/08/2025 22:29:10 2629725 Link 0 |
As I said everyone looking to put the blame on fixtures for this rather than look at why the Harriers think they could not field a team without 6/7 players from their senior panel. Does it mean that they only have 20 or 21 players that will play u21 hurling? The only team in the biggest town in Wexford? In any Hurling county there would be an inquiry as to why, in Wexford we blame the fixtures.
zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2036 - 01/08/2025 22:36:43 2629726 Link 0 |
Yes its working so well in other counties............GAA is doing great across the country in player retention terms. Players love team charters and being told how to live their life by a mercenary GAA manager. You know there's a good reason why so many players say F this. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1922 - 02/08/2025 07:12:21 2629736 Link 0 |
And when are these other breaks you talk about? Wexford can hardly get the games played by end of October as it is
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1922 - 02/08/2025 07:15:46 2629737 Link 0 |
19 year olds hadn't played any club adult championship either under our current system Paull.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16768 - 02/08/2025 10:31:17 2629754 Link 0 |
That's common sense.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16768 - 02/08/2025 10:31:51 2629755 Link 0 |
Think what Tom is missing is that there are way less club championship games played in other counties to start with. Groups of 6 with plenty of pretty meaningless games is unique to ourselves.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16768 - 02/08/2025 10:37:15 2629757 Link 0 |
Oulart unlucky last night. Had what looked like a good goal disallowed which would have put them ten points up. In fairness Shels came back into it well but that's Oulart bottom of that group now with a game to spare so basically a dead rubber for them in the last game. Another flaw of this format. WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 297 - 02/08/2025 12:14:57 2629769 Link 0 |
I've been pretty adamant on here i would be all on for less games that actually mean something to be honest as have you. I would love nothing more than to see less games, make them more meaningful and have more breaks. The problem is the mentality with many would be for scheduling breaks around EP and longitude and having a dedicated break for leaving cert session holidays and whatever else comes in vogue rather than doing anything that might benefit os as a county GAA wise. Party first, the wexford way! tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1544 - 02/08/2025 14:00:00 2629785 Link 0 |