Tullamore For Kerry/Meath. Ridiculous.

Replying To kerry4sam25:  "bit rich coming from Dubs fans and most games in your back garden."
Shots fired. Love it

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 413 - 04/06/2025 19:09:32    2614933

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "2nd and 3rd spot not decided in that group yet."
Fair enough.My mistake.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3956 - 04/06/2025 19:49:43    2614938

Killarney is deprived of big games. The Munster council have a lopsided draw policy. Mickey mouse Munster finals the end result. Monaghan 2024 and Roscommon 2025 seemed to take the pragmatic approach of prioritising other group games for getting out of the group.
Portlaoise has been a fair neutral venue in recent years against Louth. Tullamore is a terrible neutral venue choice for Kerry v Meath.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8891 - 04/06/2025 20:29:11    2614943

Just to drive the kerry folk in here more mad, a little known fact is Tullamore is actually in the Diocese of Meath!

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 841 - 04/06/2025 22:51:56    2614963

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Sure we might as well play yee in Killarney.Would that suit?Honestly some people just love to moan.Yee had a home game v Roscommon and away match in Cork which is right beside you(I know both counties are big)but they're your neighbours and now you have to travel a bit more the moaning starts.Plenty of counties have to travel Donegal,Galway etc.I for one love going to different grounds first time in Hyde park last week cracker of a ground and met some lovely Roscommon people and had good craic.If you dont want to make the trip dont go,wait till the latter stages as I'm sure yee will be there."
Good post. I mean if you are from Clifden or South Connemara Cavan is some distance for the Armagh Galway game not to mention Inishowen to Roscommon for Donegal. Irrespective of where it is Kerry apart from their core fanbase won't travel. The stats don't lie. Our core fan base always travelled but PJ has increased that and they will travel wherever.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1977 - 05/06/2025 08:43:06    2614987

Replying To MesAmis:  "Kerry fans won't travel regardless of where it was played.

Makes sense to play it in a neutral venue that is accessible for Meath fans, as they will make up the vast majority of the support there on the day.

Also nice and accessible for Kerry people living in Dublin/Meath/Kildare."
Exactly. The GAA are right here suiting the majority of people that will actually travel to the game. Thurles has had its fill of it with Munster Hurling and Portlaoise also getting plenty. Tullamore is a great venue. Majority always rules so Kerry can have no complaints here. Most people think the result is a foregone conclusion anyway including the bookies with Meath at 8-1 and Kerry supporters will have three more games to chose from anyway. Can't have double header with Roscommon and Cork as final group games must start in parallel.
Well done to the GAA fixture committee!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 663 - 05/06/2025 08:49:07    2614988

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Sure we might as well play yee in Killarney.Would that suit?Honestly some people just love to moan.Yee had a home game v Roscommon and away match in Cork which is right beside you(I know both counties are big)but they're your neighbours and now you have to travel a bit more the moaning starts.Plenty of counties have to travel Donegal,Galway etc.I for one love going to different grounds first time in Hyde park last week cracker of a ground and met some lovely Roscommon people and had good craic.If you dont want to make the trip dont go,wait till the latter stages as I'm sure yee will be there."
We will win well regardless of venue. Our B team would beat a full Meath team.

kerry4sam25 (Kerry) - Posts: 21 - 05/06/2025 10:15:43    2615005

Replying To kerry4sam25:  "bit rich coming from Dubs fans and most games in your back garden."
Dubs have nothing to do with the fact that Kerry fans don't travel in numbers, unless it's an All-Ireland Final.

And at that, they're usually outnumbered at the final too.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13808 - 05/06/2025 10:35:13    2615016

Replying To winatallcost:  "Exactly. The GAA are right here suiting the majority of people that will actually travel to the game. Thurles has had its fill of it with Munster Hurling and Portlaoise also getting plenty. Tullamore is a great venue. Majority always rules so Kerry can have no complaints here. Most people think the result is a foregone conclusion anyway including the bookies with Meath at 8-1 and Kerry supporters will have three more games to chose from anyway. Can't have double header with Roscommon and Cork as final group games must start in parallel.
Well done to the GAA fixture committee!"
Yeah the CCCC have to be practical as well.

Like, only about 30k attended the entire Munster Football championship this year!

Kerry had a Munster Final in Killarney and there was only around 10k at it. In Killarney! Everyone will be looking for All-Ireland tickets I'm sure!

Rich for them to be complaining about a neutral venue, that will suit the vast, vast majority of those who will actually attend.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13808 - 05/06/2025 10:54:32    2615021

Replying To kerry4sam25:  "We will win well regardless of venue. Our B team would beat a full Meath team."
Well your team is basically Clifford's, and a handful of other good players and the rest are B standard. Wouldn't be too sure many of the other top counties would take too many from ye. Meath are looking forward to this. Football was non existent for last 15 years so better opportunities now for good players and weaknesses will be exposed so can't be relying on one main main plus a small supporting cast any longer!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 663 - 05/06/2025 11:29:04    2615030

Replying To kerry4sam25:  "We will win well regardless of venue. Our B team would beat a full Meath team."
Sure in that case why dont we just give you the 2 points and save us all travelling .Sure while we're at it why dont we get Kieran mageeny to bring the Sam down to yee so you dont have to travel at all.Fairly arrogant post by you.Never had a problem with Kerry before but lads like you would turn me against yee.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 366 - 05/06/2025 11:31:14    2615032

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yeah the CCCC have to be practical as well.

Like, only about 30k attended the entire Munster Football championship this year!

Kerry had a Munster Final in Killarney and there was only around 10k at it. In Killarney! Everyone will be looking for All-Ireland tickets I'm sure!

Rich for them to be complaining about a neutral venue, that will suit the vast, vast majority of those who will actually attend."
"Rich for them to be complaining about a neutral venue, that will suit the vast, vast majority of those who will actually attend."

According to this logic the game should be played in either Navan or Killarney.
Or, if we stick to a neutral venue, Dublin or Limerick.

It's a novel approach; I can see it catching on.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 339 - 05/06/2025 14:16:49    2615096

Replying To Aibrean:  ""Rich for them to be complaining about a neutral venue, that will suit the vast, vast majority of those who will actually attend."

According to this logic the game should be played in either Navan or Killarney.
Or, if we stick to a neutral venue, Dublin or Limerick.

It's a novel approach; I can see it catching on."
Navan and Killarney both out because it has to be a neutral venue.

Limerick too far for the majority of supporters who will actually attend the game, and the Gaelic Grounds too big for the likely crowd anyway.

Dublin? Croker too big, and Tullamore handier for the majority of fans who will attend than heading into Donnycarney for Parnell Pk, when traffic and parking are factored in.

No, I think Tullamore was the smart choice for the majority of people who actually want to go to the match.

No point putting it closer to people who have no attention of going no matter where it is played.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13808 - 05/06/2025 14:26:33    2615106

Replying To MesAmis:  "Navan and Killarney both out because it has to be a neutral venue.

Limerick too far for the majority of supporters who will actually attend the game, and the Gaelic Grounds too big for the likely crowd anyway.

Dublin? Croker too big, and Tullamore handier for the majority of fans who will attend than heading into Donnycarney for Parnell Pk, when traffic and parking are factored in.

No, I think Tullamore was the smart choice for the majority of people who actually want to go to the match.

No point putting it closer to people who have no attention of going no matter where it is played."
Here here!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 663 - 05/06/2025 14:52:54    2615118

Replying To MesAmis:  "Navan and Killarney both out because it has to be a neutral venue.

No point putting it closer to people who have no attention of going no matter where it is played."
The venue should be as equidistant as possible from both counties. It's as simple as that. Don't confuse the nation.

This stuff about 'the majority of supporters' is a nonsense and, anyway, is very subjective.

The fact is Tullamore hugely favours Meath fans; that is wrong.

And, by the way, even Limerick is further from Tralee than Navan is from Tullamore!

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 339 - 05/06/2025 19:01:10    2615193

Look it can't be argued that the choice of venue is ridiculous, for the obvious reason, but as said here several times the gaa reckon kerry fans won't bother going in big numbers, an meath will, trying to get as much money at the gate as usual,, Simple to figure out really

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 05/06/2025 19:50:55    2615198

maybe the old chestnut word we heard so much about with Meath a few weeks ago "Karma" is in play again? Meath travelled to kerrys back yard the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick to play a league quater final in 1999, so 26 years on its Meath who get a handy journey. swings and roundabouts stuff, it all even out eventually.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 841 - 05/06/2025 21:01:29    2615209

Replying To Aibrean:  "The venue should be as equidistant as possible from both counties. It's as simple as that. Don't confuse the nation.

This stuff about 'the majority of supporters' is a nonsense and, anyway, is very subjective.

And, by the way, even Limerick is further from Tralee than Navan is from Tullamore!"
Play it on Wexford Park, you could make a weekend of it.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1230 - 05/06/2025 21:51:57    2615216

Replying To Aibrean:  "The venue should be as equidistant as possible from both counties. It's as simple as that. Don't confuse the nation.

And, by the way, even Limerick is further from Tralee than Navan is from Tullamore!"
Are you suggesting there may be as many Kerry supporters as Meaths at this game or what are you talking about being subjective? Will you not be travelling as a result of the venue?
I'm beginning to think perhaps Kerry just don't want to play a game in Offaly for some reason.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 663 - 05/06/2025 22:07:31    2615219