Wexford Hurling 2025

Anyone giving out about Reck see what happened our defence the second he went off?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 25/05/2025 14:34:57    2612388

Lifeless game of hurling, don't know whether seven points is a big enough lead against what is a big wind

Still don't know how Mackessy's shot ended up going wide, looked in from my angle

CBD showing well, you'd imagine KK will bring in their heavy hitters in the second half, can't imagine Lyng will be happy with their performance for all that they were playing against a big breeze

Don't understand our puck-out strategy, should have been pushing up against them when we had the wind rather than letting them play out with it

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 25/05/2025 14:40:17    2612390

8 points up against Kilkenny at halftime in the championship. Really great year it must be said....

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 25/05/2025 14:47:42    2612393

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Lifeless game of hurling, don't know whether seven points is a big enough lead against what is a big wind

Still don't know how Mackessy's shot ended up going wide, looked in from my angle

CBD showing well, you'd imagine KK will bring in their heavy hitters in the second half, can't imagine Lyng will be happy with their performance for all that they were playing against a big breeze

Don't understand our puck-out strategy, should have been pushing up against them when we had the wind rather than letting them play out with it"
CBD playing really well. All the younger lads are in fairness. Cians touch still not as good as usual, and Darragh took too much out of a ball, but overall all 6 of them going OK.
Great to see Mikie looking lively too, hopefully he can be a big player for us next year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16029 - 25/05/2025 14:50:53    2612395

Replying To Viking66:  "CBD playing really well. All the younger lads are in fairness. Cians touch still not as good as usual, and Darragh took too much out of a ball, but overall all 6 of them going OK.
Great to see Mikie looking lively too, hopefully he can be a big player for us next year."
But let's be realistic about CBD. Today was a training spin in a nothing match against a KK side who didn't care. Unless he bulks up significantly, he'll continue to struggle in the future in big games when it matters. He def has ability but lacks bigtime in the physical stakes.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 25/05/2025 15:42:46    2612410

I don't want to read too much into that game given it was a dead-rubber and there was no life in the game at all

Thought CBD was excellent, it was either him or Chin for MOTM, CBD needs space, doesn't get that in the corner and isn't strong enough to win the ball on the wing, you either play him at 11 or in midfield

Carley was too elaborate at times and over-played the ball but have to allow for his youth and inexperience

Looking for positives, next year we could have at least 7 players from that 2022 U20 team starting for us, that's good to see, KK will likely have no-one from the team that beat us three years ago starting next year

On that note, as much as it was a nothing game, I think KK could be in a bad place in three-to-five years at Senior level, Connellan was ok and Kenny was bright enough but hardly anyone played themselves into their Leinster Final squad, never mind their starting XV

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 25/05/2025 15:57:19    2612416

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I don't want to read too much into that game given it was a dead-rubber and there was no life in the game at all

Thought CBD was excellent, it was either him or Chin for MOTM, CBD needs space, doesn't get that in the corner and isn't strong enough to win the ball on the wing, you either play him at 11 or in midfield

Carley was too elaborate at times and over-played the ball but have to allow for his youth and inexperience

Looking for positives, next year we could have at least 7 players from that 2022 U20 team starting for us, that's good to see, KK will likely have no-one from the team that beat us three years ago starting next year

On that note, as much as it was a nothing game, I think KK could be in a bad place in three-to-five years at Senior level, Connellan was ok and Kenny was bright enough but hardly anyone played themselves into their Leinster Final squad, never mind their starting XV"
''BD needs space, doesn't get that in the corner and isn't strong enough to win the ball on the wing, you either play him at 11''- - if you cant win your own ball you shouldnt be playing.

''next year we could have at least 7 players from that 2022 U20 team starting for us, that's good to see, KK will likely have no-one from the team that beat us three years ago starting next year''- that jusy shows how bad a place we are in, that an underage team that could not beat KK has that many on senior team when they dont have any.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 809 - 25/05/2025 16:21:22    2612426

Replying To countyman2022:  "''BD needs space, doesn't get that in the corner and isn't strong enough to win the ball on the wing, you either play him at 11''- - if you cant win your own ball you shouldnt be playing.

''next year we could have at least 7 players from that 2022 U20 team starting for us, that's good to see, KK will likely have no-one from the team that beat us three years ago starting next year''- that jusy shows how bad a place we are in, that an underage team that could not beat KK has that many on senior team when they dont have any."
Nice to see you bringing your usual positive outlook.

It's a strange thing but it's down to the lack of players we developed during Davy's Time but is ultimately good for us

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 25/05/2025 17:00:26    2612444

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "But let's be realistic about CBD. Today was a training spin in a nothing match against a KK side who didn't care. Unless he bulks up significantly, he'll continue to struggle in the future in big games when it matters. He def has ability but lacks bigtime in the physical stakes."
Those Kilkenny lads were playing for places. They won't be getting them. And the lady from Kilkenny sitting beside me couldn't understand Lyng leaving TJ on so long as we were nearing the end. Then he looked like he did his hamstring scoring their consolation goal at the end. She wasn't happy. All those Kilkenny lads should've got playing time during the League. They arent anywhere near Championship ready.
At the end of the day it was what it was, a gentle run out for our lads who had nothing much to play for and never got out of 2nd gear . No diving blocks, or chasing lads back or running after lads to put pressure on them. No need to, the opposition was so poor. A couple of friends of mine from up there were really worried they had no depth on account of Lyng not giving those lads enough time on the pitch. Looks like they were right.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16029 - 25/05/2025 17:03:24    2612445

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "But let's be realistic about CBD. Today was a training spin in a nothing match against a KK side who didn't care. Unless he bulks up significantly, he'll continue to struggle in the future in big games when it matters. He def has ability but lacks bigtime in the physical stakes."
Those Kilkenny lads were playing for places. They won't be getting them. And the lady from Kilkenny sitting beside me couldn't understand Lyng leaving TJ on so long as we were nearing the end. Then he looked like he did his hamstring scoring their consolation goal at the end. She wasn't happy. All those Kilkenny lads should've got playing time during the League. They arent anywhere near Championship ready.
At the end of the day it was what it was, a gentle run out for our lads who had nothing much to play for and never got out of 2nd gear . No diving blocks, or chasing lads back or running after lads to put pressure on them. No need to, the opposition was so poor. A couple of friends of mine from up there were really worried they had no depth on account of Lyng not giving those lads enough time on the pitch. Looks like they were right.
And before lads on this start rubbishing our lads on account of how poor their opposition was it's worth bearing in mind we were missing 4 of our likely best team after Damien went off early.
Only slight criticism I'd have of management was it would've been good to see Jack Redmond and Tucker Kinsella come on instead of Mac and Cathal. Jack and Tucker might be part of our future for a good number of years, Mac and Cathal aren't likely to be playing in 3 or 4 years time, or maybe sooner if they choose to retire sooner.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16029 - 25/05/2025 17:14:35    2612448

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I don't want to read too much into that game given it was a dead-rubber and there was no life in the game at all

On that note, as much as it was a nothing game, I think KK could be in a bad place in three-to-five years at Senior level, Connellan was ok and Kenny was bright enough but hardly anyone played themselves into their Leinster Final squad, never mind their starting XV"
Kenny been a nailed on starter all year for them, one of their best players this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16029 - 25/05/2025 17:20:16    2612449

Replying To countyman2022:  "''BD needs space, doesn't get that in the corner and isn't strong enough to win the ball on the wing, you either play him at 11''- - if you cant win your own ball you shouldnt be playing.

''next year we could have at least 7 players from that 2022 U20 team starting for us, that's good to see, KK will likely have no-one from the team that beat us three years ago starting next year''- that jusy shows how bad a place we are in, that an underage team that could not beat KK has that many on senior team when they dont have any."
They don't have any because their players off that team have gone back so far. Or more accurately havent got any better. There were a few of them playing today, and playing directly on our younger lads from that 22 team too. Our lads took their lunch, when they had everything to play for and our lads had nothing to play for. Up in Kilkenny that's being viewed as partly, or mainly, Derek Lyngs fault, depending who you talk to.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16029 - 25/05/2025 17:24:13    2612451

So we don't make the AI series on head to head with Dublin. Trying hard not to dwell on the goal that wasn't in Parnell Park.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16029 - 25/05/2025 17:44:41    2612463

There was pressure on wexford to beat that kk team with 10 changes but it was only a minor thing in the grand scheme of things. Clare came out all guns blazing against linerick and were also relegated. Both teams already thinking about the final. Kk on a high at the moment minor and u20 won leinster titles convincingly. They will be dissapointed with some lads who are around the panel a while and were very poor.

lee chin was exceptional from here there and everwhere. 1.13 again from him. There was plenty of talk of retirements around wexford park and lee was one of them. He owes wexford nothing but if he goes it could be serious.i dont think he will but keith will be doing everything in his power to keep him. There was more there than i thought but thats it for another year where we dream of winning a leinster final. Antrim relegated and offally improving leinster wont get any easier.

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 70 - 25/05/2025 17:56:49    2612466

If those two U20 teams were to play each other right now (On a dry pitch), I'm fairly sure we'd beat them comfortably, they beat us that day because they were bigger, the pitch was wet, and we gave them a six point head start early on

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 25/05/2025 18:19:55    2612473

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "There was pressure on wexford to beat that kk team with 10 changes but it was only a minor thing in the grand scheme of things. Clare came out all guns blazing against linerick and were also relegated. Both teams already thinking about the final. Kk on a high at the moment minor and u20 won leinster titles convincingly. They will be dissapointed with some lads who are around the panel a while and were very poor.

lee chin was exceptional from here there and everwhere. 1.13 again from him. There was plenty of talk of retirements around wexford park and lee was one of them. He owes wexford nothing but if he goes it could be serious.i dont think he will but keith will be doing everything in his power to keep him. There was more there than i thought but thats it for another year where we dream of winning a leinster final. Antrim relegated and offally improving leinster wont get any easier."
"Clare came out all guns blazing against linerick and were also relegated". There's no relegation in Munster.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2812 - 25/05/2025 18:56:52    2612481

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "If those two U20 teams were to play each other right now (On a dry pitch), I'm fairly sure we'd beat them comfortably, they beat us that day because they were bigger, the pitch was wet, and we gave them a six point head start early on"
Ah stop our u20 team was so poor no one in leinster within 7 pts of kilkenny .Fed up of some of the comments here about the state of hurling in the county madness.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 371 - 25/05/2025 18:58:28    2612483

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Clare came out all guns blazing against linerick and were also relegated". There's no relegation in Munster."
Apologies not relegated like wexford they had nothing to play for. Dead rubber

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 70 - 25/05/2025 19:28:54    2612493

Replying To Tiger1:  "Ah stop our u20 team was so poor no one in leinster within 7 pts of kilkenny .Fed up of some of the comments here about the state of hurling in the county madness."
We only lost to them by 1 point that year. 2022. I think you have misread the post you were answering. Underage goes in cycles. We beat them twice in 2023. Every year is a different set of players, and often management. Yes this year they were alot better than us. That's not to say they will be next year or the year after.
We will have a good few more of this year's team available to us for next year than they will, but of course that will only be an advantage to us if we get our lads together on a training pitch as often as they did last winter, which was twice as often as we did.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16029 - 25/05/2025 19:40:32    2612498

Replying To Tiger1:  "Ah stop our u20 team was so poor no one in leinster within 7 pts of kilkenny .Fed up of some of the comments here about the state of hurling in the county madness."
We only lost to them by 1 point that year. 2022. I think you have misread the post you were answering. Underage goes in cycles. We beat them twice in 2023. Every year is a different set of players, and often management. Yes this year they were alot better than us. That's not to say they will be next year or the year after.
We will have a good few more of this year's team available to us for next year than they will, but of course that will only be an advantage to us if we get our lads together on a training pitch as often as they did last winter, which was twice as often as we did. Hurling is a team sport after all.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16029 - 25/05/2025 19:40:53    2612499