Clare Hurling thread

Replying To clooney:  "James Owens always seems to have a controversy when he officiates at Clare Matches id say we are up against it now in Cork.

They have very dangerous fast hurlers cant stay down forever hard to raise ourselves we could be out of champions' come Sunday evening as after two defeats you are relying on others Waterford could be a dark horse after all"
To be fair we are good hosts & I reckon you couldn't be meeting a more accommodating side.

If Clare are in need of a pick me up playing Cork is the perfect game.

To be honest us Rebels could do anything Sunday,I have no idea what our lads are going to serve up on the Banks of the Lee next weekend.

Safe travels to all from The Banner County who are heading South.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 23/04/2024 16:58:49    2540214

Perhaps Clare should seriously look into bringing in someone who can actually help the players on game day with intelligence as opposed to what they have been subjected to. The players are there , the support network is there , the only thing missing is a calm astute presence on the sideline

Bib (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 24/04/2024 09:00:13    2540336

Looking forward to a battle royal on the banks this weekend! May the better team win!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1925 - 27/04/2024 14:09:16    2540886

We are back baby

Seriously impressed with the character of our lads today

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2490 - 28/04/2024 16:19:39    2541188

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "We are back baby

Seriously impressed with the character of our lads today"
Great skill and bottle shown by Clare...helped a little by Cork's ill-discipline (reduced to 14 for 2nd week in a row for sheer stupidity out of one of their defense).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1925 - 28/04/2024 16:40:37    2541199

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Great skill and bottle shown by Clare...helped a little by Cork's ill-discipline (reduced to 14 for 2nd week in a row for sheer stupidity out of one of their defense)."
Clare were going well before the sending off. Not sure how much of an impact it had in fact we kinda struggled to get momentum after the red

3-14 is some shooting by us in the second half

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2490 - 28/04/2024 17:30:45    2541212

delighted with result only Clare could make it as hard on yourselves great occasion the Cork fans were great sports and took defeat well were full of praise for SOD they are a good team and will test LK

We were better on the line yesterday I thought but we really need TF and Ryan Taylor back thought that David Fitzgerald the talent the man capable of so much more also Aidan McCarthy needs to make ball stick a lot more Shans & Ian Galvin not getting fair break.
Only for Duggan yesterday we would have been in serious trouble.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 29/04/2024 08:50:30    2541360

Fair play to Clare & all concerned with The Banner, ye are back on track.

Not sure was it a systems failure out field or just our goal keeper not in good communication with his team mates but our puckouts had me tearing the last of my hair out.

Also our short game broke down & Clare made us pay heavily for those mistakes.

Our season is over & Limerick could really give us a hiding if the mood takes them in a few weeks time.

The Munster Hurling round robin is a very unforgiving place with no room for error & again this year we just didn't cut the mustard.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 29/04/2024 10:00:47    2541386

Replying To clooney:  "delighted with result only Clare could make it as hard on yourselves great occasion the Cork fans were great sports and took defeat well were full of praise for SOD they are a good team and will test LK

We were better on the line yesterday I thought but we really need TF and Ryan Taylor back thought that David Fitzgerald the talent the man capable of so much more also Aidan McCarthy needs to make ball stick a lot more Shans & Ian Galvin not getting fair break.
Only for Duggan yesterday we would have been in serious trouble."
Yesterday was very important for the likes of McCarthy, Rodgers and Leen, who have shown they can provide the grit needed in tight games. To come from seven points down in Cork's home patch in such an important game is no mean achievement. Of course it will count for nothing in this year's campaign if there are slip-ups in the coming two games but yesterday will probably be remembered long-term as a significant milestone in the evolvement of the team. While Kelly and Taylor are absolutely still the main men some new heroes are also starting to come of age. The Waterford game is the next hurdle to be negotiated, and hopefully there is no glitch. Yes, I feel for Galvin in particular but the competition for places in the Clare forward unit is so intense (and Meehan, Smyth and Crotty - currently not even making the bench - are all also waiting in the wings). Defensively though Clare are still not so secure. There are too many goals being conceded, but maybe the free-count against is slowly being improved upon. I wonder how the future will pan out for Mounsey and Donnellan who have been on the peripheries for a few years now. I am looking forward to the Davy visit.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 29/04/2024 10:25:53    2541400

We can never beat Cork well. Even in Thurles 2 years ago we were comfortably 8 points better than them on the day but only won by a score. All Ireland first game in 2013 too, i thought we were much better and only for DOD we bearly got the draw. Cork will always be there or there abouts with Clare so I wasnt surprised even when we went 6 up that there was only a score in it at the end.

Super to beat them down there. Disappointed with the Clare turnout though. Lads crying for tickets the week before wouldnt bother to go down to Cork yesterday.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2490 - 29/04/2024 10:36:44    2541405

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "We can never beat Cork well. Even in Thurles 2 years ago we were comfortably 8 points better than them on the day but only won by a score. All Ireland first game in 2013 too, i thought we were much better and only for DOD we bearly got the draw. Cork will always be there or there abouts with Clare so I wasnt surprised even when we went 6 up that there was only a score in it at the end.

Super to beat them down there. Disappointed with the Clare turnout though. Lads crying for tickets the week before wouldnt bother to go down to Cork yesterday."
High scoring game yesterday. For the second game in a row , Clare conceded 3 goals.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 29/04/2024 11:36:01    2541428

Replying To St.Mologga:  "Fair play to Clare & all concerned with The Banner, ye are back on track.

Not sure was it a systems failure out field or just our goal keeper not in good communication with his team mates but our puckouts had me tearing the last of my hair out.

Also our short game broke down & Clare made us pay heavily for those mistakes.

Our season is over & Limerick could really give us a hiding if the mood takes them in a few weeks time.

The Munster Hurling round robin is a very unforgiving place with no room for error & again this year we just didn't cut the mustard."
When Cork click they are as good as anyone. It really wouldn't surprise me if they beat Limerick. next time out.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 29/04/2024 13:10:27    2541469

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "When Cork click they are as good as anyone. It really wouldn't surprise me if they beat Limerick. next time out."
It would surprise me

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2490 - 29/04/2024 15:38:18    2541538

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "When Cork click they are as good as anyone. It really wouldn't surprise me if they beat Limerick. next time out."
Don't know where you're getting that from tbh.
Sure Cork can spring an upset here and there but they're not as good as anyone and aren't within an asses roar of winning an all Ireland, yet they seem to have some people convinced that they're contenders every year.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1717 - 29/04/2024 17:10:13    2541574

I'm afraid not, John Kiely & his Limerick side will land in Cork I expect fully focused & anxious to get their 3rd win in a row.

We could be on the end of a right thumping Saturday week.

I suspect in the stands we will be out numbered too, the Treaty county have massive support & will no doubt enjoy their trip to Cork.

Clare & Limerick will meet 2 more times in my opinion.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 29/04/2024 17:18:28    2541575

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "It would surprise me"
It wouldn't surprise me at all. Bar that AIF in 2021 when they were pulverized by Limerick, Cork usually perform reasonably well against Limerick. Also, Limerick perform a lot better when the heat is on, when the pressure is at the zenith. The pressure won't be on Limerick in that game, so Cork has a chance.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1925 - 29/04/2024 21:00:44    2541620

All thoughts now on the Waterford game hope some of our injuries clear up we simply need TF and Ryan Taylor but if reports are right both seem to be struggling Waterford could have 4 pts at that stage a win in Enns MF massive year for them.

We have to eradicate the awful goals we concede our full back line have to operate as one.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 30/04/2024 12:19:25    2541751

Replying To foreveryoung:  "It wouldn't surprise me at all. Bar that AIF in 2021 when they were pulverized by Limerick, Cork usually perform reasonably well against Limerick. Also, Limerick perform a lot better when the heat is on, when the pressure is at the zenith. The pressure won't be on Limerick in that game, so Cork has a chance."
Would agree with you for a change,Cork should be chopping for it,our last game is at home to waterford,be alot more comfortably with that then in the cork on a Saturday night and cork with nothing to lose.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 30/04/2024 17:06:30    2541987