2024 NFL Division 4 Discussion thread

@Viking - nah, I'm sure the County Boards were sent a copy of the competition regulations before it started, in the same way that Wexford County Board would send clubs the regulations for our All County Leagues and club championships. They're just not online for ordinary folks like you or me of the couple of Leitrim lads here to find.

I know a few people who I'm sure would know, so will ask the next time I'm talking to one of them.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2257 - 27/02/2024 09:18:57    2528544

Replying To Pikeman96:  "@Viking - nah, I'm sure the County Boards were sent a copy of the competition regulations before it started, in the same way that Wexford County Board would send clubs the regulations for our All County Leagues and club championships. They're just not online for ordinary folks like you or me of the couple of Leitrim lads here to find.

I know a few people who I'm sure would know, so will ask the next time I'm talking to one of them."
CNO meeting tonight in the Park might try find out there if I think of it!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12114 - 27/02/2024 09:38:30    2528545

I will say fair play to them for tidying up their rulebook and all and trying to modernise it a bit. And in this online day and age where information is key and can and should be available at the tap of a screen, it's hugely important. But particularly in this online day and age where information etc etc, you'd think those regulations would be sitting out somewhere for ordinary folks like us to look at and know what's happening and be able to get stuck into a proper discussion about the what-ifs of the rest of the campaign with full knowledge of just what the ins and outs of those what-ifs are.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1047 - 27/02/2024 20:51:51    2528731

@Solo_Run - don't shoot the messenger, but your research was in vain, as that Wikipedia article is quoting from an old version of the Rule Book.

Not at all !!! Did say my quote was Wiki - far from definitive, but when you cant find on gaa.ie its hard to know what you can do

I was just figuring out what the rules are - agree with others, its ridiculous its still a mystery.

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 27/02/2024 21:37:03    2528737

That's a convincing win by Wexford, bookies had it as a one point game, not sure anyone saw that scoreline coming, and I believe it was level well into the second half.

Big dent to Carlow's chances of promotion, and puts even more focus on the match in Longford tomorrow, if Leitrim can get that win it really puts them in the box seat for second spot

Laoisvillian (Laois) - Posts: 80 - 03/03/2024 01:26:50    2529344

Assuming Laois will continue to canter through this campaign there are currently 4 sides also with a possibility of going up. Only one - Leitrim - still has to play Laois in the next two rounds of matches so I'd reckon Leitrim best case can only pick up one win in the remaining two rounds. Carlow are the only one from this group that still has to play London so I will give them that one. Wexford also still need to Tipp and I'm assuming they win that. Longford s run in is a little harder to call, but they must be favourites at home to CW the next day? There is still a possibility all of CW, Wx, Ld & Leitrim can win one and lose one and still be on 8 points.

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 540 - 03/03/2024 19:36:57    2529535

I think the most likely scenario now is wexford and longford in essentially a playoff on the final day in wexford Park. Hard to see either leitrim or carlow picking it back up after this weekend. On the other hand both wexford and longford go into the break with good wins. Tipp technically still have a chance if they win their remaining games but the scoring difference makes it highly unlikely same with carlow our scoring difference is against us.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1596 - 03/03/2024 20:36:39    2529558

Tipperary v Wexford, originally fixed for Templetouhy will now go ahead in Enniscorthy.
The result of this match will impact the final outcome in Division 4.
Very poor form by Tipperary County Board to concede home advantage.

saorkick (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 14/03/2024 21:21:06    2531180

Copying my post from the Leitrim thread:

For the avoidance of doubt, here's the table minus Laois and those who can't get promoted:
2. Wexford, +28, 8 pts
3. Longford, +19, 8 pts
4. Leitrim, +15, 8 pts

A draw again Tipp won't do us. A draw will leave us on 9 points, and
a) the winner of the Wexford vs Longford will go up ahead of us on 10 points, or
b) a draw between Wexford and Longford will leave all three teams tied on 9 points, and with no change to the scoring difference, Leitrim would be in fourth place.

If we win, we go to 10 points. A draw between Wexford and Longford would leave them on 9 and we'd go up. Otherwise, a Longford win would leave them on 10 points and they'd go ahead of us on the head to head, and a Wexford win would leave them on 10 points and we'd be ahead of them on the head to head.

So realistically we'd need us to beat Tipp and for Longford not to beat Wexford.

I'm assuming Laois will stroll to victory against Waterford, who have one draw and 5 defeats losing by an average of 9 points. Laois need a point to be uncatchable on 11 points. If they slip up, a Leitrim win and a result in the other game will leave them sweating, but their scoring difference of +32 should leave them safe. We'd have to beat Tipperary by 17 points for a start before they start getting worried... which they won't be, cos they'll spank Waterford.

Carlow are out; the best they can do is 8 points, and one or both of Wexford and Longford will exceed that.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1047 - 19/03/2024 22:40:07    2532262

Well done Leitrim!

Really harsh on Wexford not to go up with a far superior goal difference, same happened to Laois last year.

Leitrim going for third consecutive win over us next weekend and will be favourites in Croker, but sure it'll be great to get the day out anyway.

Scaling the grand heights of the Hoganstand Division 3 Discussion Thread next year!

Laoisvillian (Laois) - Posts: 80 - 24/03/2024 21:54:00    2533350

Replying To Laoisvillian:  "Well done Leitrim!

Really harsh on Wexford not to go up with a far superior goal difference, same happened to Laois last year.

Leitrim going for third consecutive win over us next weekend and will be favourites in Croker, but sure it'll be great to get the day out anyway.

Scaling the grand heights of the Hoganstand Division 3 Discussion Thread next year!"
Laois are 4 point favourites

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 24/03/2024 21:59:42    2533356

Unlike the rest of us, Paddy Power obviously wasn't in Carrick last year or Portlaoise last week!

Laoisvillian (Laois) - Posts: 80 - 24/03/2024 22:10:00    2533360

Replying To Laoisvillian:  "Well done Leitrim!

Scaling the grand heights of the Hoganstand Division 3 Discussion Thread next year!"
Laois are 5/6 PTS favourites next week.We will just be up to enjoy the day out in the big schmoke.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 24/03/2024 22:35:36    2533371

When I started this thread I put Laois and Leitrim in pole position.
Really hard luck on Wexford tho

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 705 - 24/03/2024 22:40:08    2533374

Well, obviously delighted with our promotion - fortunate as its was ( and not going over the penalty decision again), you would have to say Wexford certainly looked the form team in the second half of the league - some serious scoring. Once again it was an exciting division with most capable of beating each other on a given day.

Normally I'm very pro the normal residents of Division 4 - Leitrim, Wicklow, Carlow, Waterford (and London), and always like to see one of them get promoted - problem they (and we) always come straight back down! Hope we can buck that trend for a change. However next year I do hope Wexford get promoted, which they surely will if they build on their current form. I think with Wicklow and Limerick coming down there is no team "too strong" for div 4. Tipperary will be stronger.

But best of luck to all Div 4 teams in the championship and Tailteann Cup (unless playing us, of course) - will be looking out for their results. I'd like to play Wexford in the 3rd match of TC - the neutral venue - don't think it would be a grudge match or anything remotely like it, but would be very interesting indeed.

Have to admit I have very little interest in Division 4 final - we played Derry in that 3 or 4 years ago ( look at them now!!!) and was "up for it"' then. This is just too close to the championship match versus Sligo the following week. I'd expect Laois to win it, if Leitrim take it handy - bit of revenge for them for last two years - but obviously we'll beat them again in Division 3 when it matters!!!!

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 26/03/2024 17:19:18    2533946

Replying To Solo_Run:  "Well, obviously delighted with our promotion - fortunate as its was ( and not going over the penalty decision again), you would have to say Wexford certainly looked the form team in the second half of the league - some serious scoring. Once again it was an exciting division with most capable of beating each other on a given day.

Normally I'm very pro the normal residents of Division 4 - Leitrim, Wicklow, Carlow, Waterford (and London), and always like to see one of them get promoted - problem they (and we) always come straight back down! Hope we can buck that trend for a change. However next year I do hope Wexford get promoted, which they surely will if they build on their current form. I think with Wicklow and Limerick coming down there is no team "too strong" for div 4. Tipperary will be stronger.

But best of luck to all Div 4 teams in the championship and Tailteann Cup (unless playing us, of course) - will be looking out for their results. I'd like to play Wexford in the 3rd match of TC - the neutral venue - don't think it would be a grudge match or anything remotely like it, but would be very interesting indeed.

Have to admit I have very little interest in Division 4 final - we played Derry in that 3 or 4 years ago ( look at them now!!!) and was "up for it"' then. This is just too close to the championship match versus Sligo the following week. I'd expect Laois to win it, if Leitrim take it handy - bit of revenge for them for last two years - but obviously we'll beat them again in Division 3 when it matters!!!!"
We can win a cup in Croke Park on Saturday, there's no cup to win next week.Obviously I'd love to see us bate Sligo but I'd rather win Saturday and lose the week after then regroup for the TC.Id say the players feel the same.It would be great to win both and test ourselves against Galway but we'll see.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 27/03/2024 11:41:48    2534067

Replying To Solo_Run:  "Well, obviously delighted with our promotion - fortunate as its was ( and not going over the penalty decision again), you would have to say Wexford certainly looked the form team in the second half of the league - some serious scoring. Once again it was an exciting division with most capable of beating each other on a given day.

Have to admit I have very little interest in Division 4 final - we played Derry in that 3 or 4 years ago ( look at them now!!!) and was "up for it"' then. This is just too close to the championship match versus Sligo the following week. I'd expect Laois to win it, if Leitrim take it handy - bit of revenge for them for last two years - but obviously we'll beat them again in Division 3 when it matters!!!!"
Little interest in a National final in Croke park…. Like Leitrim get to one every year I suppose …

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1959 - 27/03/2024 13:30:57    2534087

Would be. We won that TC match last year in Parnell Park so it would nearly be your turn!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12114 - 27/03/2024 14:31:58    2534104

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Little interest in a National final in Croke park…. Like Leitrim get to one every year I suppose …"
..... I have some interest but I don't really care if we win or lose. Can't help it, I just don't. I care far more about beating Sligo in the Connacht Championship, maybe if that match was in 2-3 weeks time then it might matter more,

Anyway its not really a "national" final - there were only 8 teams in this specific competition (div 4). Plus, I've a feeling beating Laois next year in Division 3 will in the long run prove more important than beating them in the the Div 4 final.

Our Connacht Championship wins outside of London and New York are rare ( and we have lost to both of them) - so they are valuable and memorable.

Priorities:-

(1) Stay in Division 3 ( where beating Laois could be crucial)
(2) Beat Sligo
(3) Good run in Tailteann Cup 2024
(4) Promotion from Division 3 ( unlikely but why not, didn't look that much stronger than Div 4 this year)
(5) Give Galway a rattle if we beat Sligo
(6) Division 4 title ( job is done there)

( I'll respond here obviously - but also reply same on Leitrim forum and move to there, this is more about Leitrim than Div 4. But wondering about opinions of the Wexford, Longford, Carlow , Tipperary, Waterford, London posters about any Div 4 final next year against other priorities)

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 27/03/2024 14:57:20    2534114

Replying To Solo_Run:  "..... I have some interest but I don't really care if we win or lose. Can't help it, I just don't. I care far more about beating Sligo in the Connacht Championship, maybe if that match was in 2-3 weeks time then it might matter more,

Anyway its not really a "national" final - there were only 8 teams in this specific competition (div 4). Plus, I've a feeling beating Laois next year in Division 3 will in the long run prove more important than beating them in the the Div 4 final.

Our Connacht Championship wins outside of London and New York are rare ( and we have lost to both of them) - so they are valuable and memorable.

Priorities:-

(1) Stay in Division 3 ( where beating Laois could be crucial)
(2) Beat Sligo
(3) Good run in Tailteann Cup 2024
(4) Promotion from Division 3 ( unlikely but why not, didn't look that much stronger than Div 4 this year)
(5) Give Galway a rattle if we beat Sligo
(6) Division 4 title ( job is done there)

( I'll respond here obviously - but also reply same on Leitrim forum and move to there, this is more about Leitrim than Div 4. But wondering about opinions of the Wexford, Longford, Carlow , Tipperary, Waterford, London posters about any Div 4 final next year against other priorities)"
A medal which I assume a league championship gives you. Its 80 years since a player won a medal for Carlow. For a lower county your best chance of success is in the league

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1596 - 27/03/2024 17:43:56    2534149