All Ireland Club Hurling Series

Replying To Tiger1:  "Think kilcormac will beat o loughlins but wouldn't write off Nass for Leinster just yet.Ballygunner will win muster handy enough as the Tipp champs looked better overall only for the 2 sending offs.Ballygunber should win the all ireland I would think."
I'd fancy O'Loughlin;s just on basis that they won by far the best county championship in Leinster. KK champs always going to be there or thereabouts.

Not to write off any of others or Kilcormac possibility. They really ought to have beaten Ballyhale in ordinary time a couple of years ago, and are arguably the most seasoned team left in Leinster. Naas likewise have experience on side. Na Fianna neophytes on that basis but been the coming team for a while.

Not huge lot between any of them and no result on Saturday would be a surprise to me.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2654 - 21/11/2023 11:19:00    2513993

Replying To baire:  "Best to avoid attention seekers. He has been as insulting about hurling clubs in his own county as he has been of Dublin hurling.
Ná cuir do chuid ama amú leis, níl ann ach pleidhce."
Ahhhh Katser is no harm. Just trying to get a rise out of lads inside and outside of Galway. Ha ha.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2144 - 21/11/2023 11:19:45    2513994

Great game between Portaferry (down) and Cushendall (antrim) in the Ulster SHC.

Ulster final between Slaughtneil vs Cushendall is hard to call. But the winners have a good chance of getting to the final.

Ulster club hurling teams can compete with most club teams in Ireland (county teams not so much)

upandwin (Down) - Posts: 112 - 21/11/2023 11:40:12    2513997

Replying To Trump2020:  "Ahhhh Katser is no harm. Just trying to get a rise out of lads inside and outside of Galway. Ha ha."
Katser is grand. He does annoy me at times, which is a tribute. Hopefully I reciprocate :-0

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2654 - 21/11/2023 11:47:47    2513998

Replying To Trump2020:  "Ahhhh Katser is no harm. Just trying to get a rise out of lads inside and outside of Galway. Ha ha."
How is your Irish.......your man speaking the native tongue thinking one wouldn't understand who the eejit is!!
After me having a lovely pint of Guinness in "the nest" aka An Nead Saturday evening!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2248 - 21/11/2023 13:53:10    2514024

Replying To upandwin:  "Great game between Portaferry (down) and Cushendall (antrim) in the Ulster SHC.

Ulster final between Slaughtneil vs Cushendall is hard to call. But the winners have a good chance of getting to the final.

Ulster club hurling teams can compete with most club teams in Ireland (county teams not so much)"
It was the best club game I watched the weekend. The final is impossible to call. Whoever gets that little bit of luck, or the odd decision, will win if both teams play their best game. Clonlara were good value for their win too but seemed to lose their shape when Kiladangan lost their men. Ballygunner v NAP was a poor game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12216 - 21/11/2023 14:58:09    2514035

Replying To katser:  "How is your Irish.......your man speaking the native tongue thinking one wouldn't understand who the eejit is!!
After me having a lovely pint of Guinness in "the nest" aka An Nead Saturday evening!"
Fáilte ar ais Katser. Beidh seans ag na nGaillaibh bua annamh agus iontach á bhaint amach i naghaidh na Dubs sa Sraith tar éis an Nollaig. Gealach gorm is araile....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2654 - 21/11/2023 15:01:37    2514036

Replying To Viking66:  "It was the best club game I watched the weekend. The final is impossible to call. Whoever gets that little bit of luck, or the odd decision, will win if both teams play their best game. Clonlara were good value for their win too but seemed to lose their shape when Kiladangan lost their men. Ballygunner v NAP was a poor game."
Agree with all points. Very disappointed with the Ballygunner-Na Piarsaigh game, I was expecting a cracker. I couldn't understand the Na Piarsaigh tactics, but Ballygunner were superior and would have won regardless, I think. The other Munster semi and the Ulster semi were much more entertaining, though I only saw the highlights of the Ulster game.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 548 - 21/11/2023 15:23:40    2514042

Replying To midlands:  "Agree with all points. Very disappointed with the Ballygunner-Na Piarsaigh game, I was expecting a cracker. I couldn't understand the Na Piarsaigh tactics, but Ballygunner were superior and would have won regardless, I think. The other Munster semi and the Ulster semi were much more entertaining, though I only saw the highlights of the Ulster game."
Ballygunner have had NAP number since 2018 so I think NAP felt they needed to do something different and probably over complicated it, funnily enough going a bit old fashioned with the tactics brought a bit of life to it and the very end.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 21/11/2023 16:25:56    2514058

Replying To midlands:  "Agree with all points. Very disappointed with the Ballygunner-Na Piarsaigh game, I was expecting a cracker. I couldn't understand the Na Piarsaigh tactics, but Ballygunner were superior and would have won regardless, I think. The other Munster semi and the Ulster semi were much more entertaining, though I only saw the highlights of the Ulster game."
I'd say the conditions played a part. Na Piarsiagh gambled on trying to use their physical advantage and closing BG down, which was effective for a while, but you could see it was only going one way,

Hard to see anyone stopping the Waterford men, They can cope with anything at this stage and their finishing even on bad days is exceptional.. Might have gotten a few goals had they needed them or worked them.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2654 - 21/11/2023 16:28:44    2514060

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I'd say the conditions played a part. Na Piarsiagh gambled on trying to use their physical advantage and closing BG down, which was effective for a while, but you could see it was only going one way,

Hard to see anyone stopping the Waterford men, They can cope with anything at this stage and their finishing even on bad days is exceptional.. Might have gotten a few goals had they needed them or worked them."
Not sure. They aren't really set up for creating goal chances. Dessie is playing way out and they don't really have the traditional target men inside. They play a pretty modern style out the middle and Mahony doesn't miss frees. They are an efficient team machine. Very few star players tbh. Honesty. Effort. Fitness. Do the basics well usually. Definitely favourites to win the AI for me. Although it will be interesting if KK win Leinster how Ballygunner do when faced with real genuine pace and an old fashioned target man.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12216 - 21/11/2023 17:04:33    2514063

Replying To Viking66:  "Not sure. They aren't really set up for creating goal chances. Dessie is playing way out and they don't really have the traditional target men inside. They play a pretty modern style out the middle and Mahony doesn't miss frees. They are an efficient team machine. Very few star players tbh. Honesty. Effort. Fitness. Do the basics well usually. Definitely favourites to win the AI for me. Although it will be interesting if KK win Leinster how Ballygunner do when faced with real genuine pace and an old fashioned target man."
Dowling and M Casey saved at three certain goals. Maybe the likes of these might go in another Day. Having said that though they looked s better team and NAP are gone back BG benefitted from what seemed to be a few very soft frees, though they were the better team.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 21/11/2023 18:27:09    2514081

Replying To Viking66:  "Not sure. They aren't really set up for creating goal chances. Dessie is playing way out and they don't really have the traditional target men inside. They play a pretty modern style out the middle and Mahony doesn't miss frees. They are an efficient team machine. Very few star players tbh. Honesty. Effort. Fitness. Do the basics well usually. Definitely favourites to win the AI for me. Although it will be interesting if KK win Leinster how Ballygunner do when faced with real genuine pace and an old fashioned target man."
Dessie got some nice ball inside too and they exposed Na Piarsiagh backs a few times. Took points when goals might have been on had they needed them. Won with "plenty in hand" as the horsey people say. Not a great game to watch but you can't but be impressed with them any day you see them. Certainly not going to be outmuscled either.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2654 - 21/11/2023 18:31:52    2514082

Replying To katser:  "How is your Irish.......your man speaking the native tongue thinking one wouldn't understand who the eejit is!!
After me having a lovely pint of Guinness in "the nest" aka An Nead Saturday evening!"
Tá níos mó Gaeilge ag an Dub ná agatsa! Níl náire air í a labhairt ar aon chaoi! ;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1846 - 21/11/2023 21:57:44    2514103

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Dessie got some nice ball inside too and they exposed Na Piarsiagh backs a few times. Took points when goals might have been on had they needed them. Won with "plenty in hand" as the horsey people say. Not a great game to watch but you can't but be impressed with them any day you see them. Certainly not going to be outmuscled either."
No they are huge men. NaP are probably the nearest to them as regards size.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12216 - 22/11/2023 10:28:50    2514130

Replying To baire:  "Tá níos mó Gaeilge ag an Dub ná agatsa! Níl náire air í a labhairt ar aon chaoi! ;)"
Ní raibh í Katser ag caint fum!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2654 - 22/11/2023 11:59:04    2514152

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I'd fancy O'Loughlin;s just on basis that they won by far the best county championship in Leinster. KK champs always going to be there or thereabouts.

Not to write off any of others or Kilcormac possibility. They really ought to have beaten Ballyhale in ordinary time a couple of years ago, and are arguably the most seasoned team left in Leinster. Naas likewise have experience on side. Na Fianna neophytes on that basis but been the coming team for a while.

Not huge lot between any of them and no result on Saturday would be a surprise to me."
Kilcormac/ Killoughey face a big challenge v O' Loughlin Gaels on Saturday. The Kilkenny champs would be marginal favourites to me, but I hope that the double Ks do the needful. I hope to be in OCP on Saturday.
The Naas v Na Fianna game is fixed for Portlaoise also this this Saturday. Would Parnell Park be a better venue.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1757 - 22/11/2023 13:38:30    2514168

Replying To thelongridge:  "Kilcormac/ Killoughey face a big challenge v O' Loughlin Gaels on Saturday. The Kilkenny champs would be marginal favourites to me, but I hope that the double Ks do the needful. I hope to be in OCP on Saturday.
The Naas v Na Fianna game is fixed for Portlaoise also this this Saturday. Would Parnell Park be a better venue."
Naas have home advantage so that's why its not in Parnell, game was down for Kildare's training centre as Newbridge is closed for redevelopment, I believe the capacity is somewhere around 900 so got moved to Portlaoise when it was known that capacity wouldn't meet demand.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/11/2023 15:18:40    2514183

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Naas have home advantage so that's why its not in Parnell, game was down for Kildare's training centre as Newbridge is closed for redevelopment, I believe the capacity is somewhere around 900 so got moved to Portlaoise when it was known that capacity wouldn't meet demand."
Athy must be completely gone to seed? I was at good few games there back in the day, including Leinster championship. Was a nice little spot, even had a stand.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2654 - 22/11/2023 16:15:21    2514192

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Athy must be completely gone to seed? I was at good few games there back in the day, including Leinster championship. Was a nice little spot, even had a stand."
There's a rule for the senior club championships that matches must be held in county grounds. I'd say that's probably the reason for it not being Athy.

If it was originally scheduled for the Kildare Centre of Excellence (didn't realise this myself, by the way), then that'd probably be a push, but it could still maybe qualify as "a county ground" since under the control of the County Board.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2262 - 22/11/2023 17:46:08    2514208