U20 All Ireland Final

Replying To Hoofhearted:  "Well done Kildare. Enjoy your win, some fine young footballers on display today, on both sides.
One thing that was very sad to see and hear was how the Sligo fans were booing, blowing those annoying horns, banging on the hoarding when Kildare were taking free's. This soccer-like behaviour has no place in Gaelic games. I was for Sligo until they started doing this. The Kildare fans showed respect for the Sligo free-taker every time, well done to them for this. I know it might have been a handful of young fans but why didn't the adult Sligo fans tell them to cop on and show some respect. A pity......"
The Dublin crowd have been at that since the 1970s.
But they can't be criticised it seems.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1438 - 13/05/2023 20:09:40    2478131

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "The Dublin crowd have been at that since the 1970s.
But they can't be criticised it seems."
Finally somebody mentioning Dubiln in this thread! I find every thread utterly boring till we're mentioned! Fair play to you Seanfanboct! Where are we off to next?

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 13/05/2023 23:06:15    2478204

Replying To eoinog:  "Congratulations to Kildare. We had zero luck today. All subs used up by the 9th minute of the second half. Injuries hit us hard and I also believe that we should have got a penalty. That would have made it very interesting. Kildare are a fine team.. As for the young ones shouting and banging, I would prefer to listen to them rather than some of the idiots of adults that attend the game's"
Watched it when I got home, never a peno.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 14/05/2023 11:30:57    2478258

Yeah, it was never a penalty, the forward knew he wasn't gonna get it and fell. Sligo had plenty of fairly soft frees so can hardly feel hard done by. 5 points from play compared to Kildare's 1-15.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 14/05/2023 16:45:50    2478370

Replying To thelongridge:  "I'm with you on that. Thought Sligo gave Kildare 1-1 from poor kick outs in the second half. They put Kildare into a big lead."
Kildare were far and away the better team. 1.15 from play compared to Sligo's 0.05 sums it up. The 1.01 came from Kildare pushing up and forcing the turnovers. The 5:point gap at half time flattered Sligo as Kildare left at least 1.4 behind them in the first half

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 94 - 14/05/2023 17:44:22    2478401

Replying To Hoofhearted:  "Well done Kildare. Enjoy your win, some fine young footballers on display today, on both sides.
One thing that was very sad to see and hear was how the Sligo fans were booing, blowing those annoying horns, banging on the hoarding when Kildare were taking free's. This soccer-like behaviour has no place in Gaelic games. I was for Sligo until they started doing this. The Kildare fans showed respect for the Sligo free-taker every time, well done to them for this. I know it might have been a handful of young fans but why didn't the adult Sligo fans tell them to cop on and show some respect. A pity......"
I've always found posts like that very boring, stuffy and self righteous tbh.
The whole "that behaviour is sooooooooo awful, we're above that, let's all sit in silence and say nothing the whole game, then leave" shtick.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 14/05/2023 19:32:43    2478456

Replying To commander:  "Watched it when I got home, never a peno."
Same as that. Bias in real time thought it was. Replay was conclusive. Was there a foot block in the first half? Missed it myself

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 14/05/2023 23:04:48    2478532

Brilliant group of Kildare u20 footballers reaching consecutive finals and winning on Sunday against a very good Sligo team, KIldare producing lots of skilfull players and quality forwards augurs well for the future. I was on the terrace behind the young Sligo fans, They were good fun, well behaved, alright they could have been quieter for free kicks, but a huge Sligo attendance along with a big Kildare crowd really added to the occasion and atmosphere

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 15/05/2023 09:11:35    2478554

Egan could win a u20 all Ireland hurling to go with his football medal today

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 251 - 04/06/2023 15:11:15    2483920

They should have opened the last terrace even if it wouldn't sell out. Better for atmosphere

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 251 - 04/06/2023 15:12:40    2483922

Cork no 9 straight into intimidate screened. Elbow to the throat

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 251 - 04/06/2023 15:15:32    2483923

Feed Screeney 3 cork backs on yellow..how did Kingston only get yellow??elbow to the head..cork trying to bully Offaly since just before throw in..o Connor walking a tight rope to..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2226 - 04/06/2023 15:53:36    2483935

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Feed Screeney 3 cork backs on yellow..how did Kingston only get yellow??elbow to the head..cork trying to bully Offaly since just before throw in..o Connor walking a tight rope to.."
Well it worked. Egan went off injured at half time. And Offaly started to fall away after 25mins. Lots of cynical fouling by Cork.

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 251 - 04/06/2023 16:40:47    2483951

Amazing how good cork looked when they concentrated on hurling..they are as big an under age team I've ever seen..another few to step into senior..they look as if they are really going to be a force in next few years..bad news for rest of us..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2226 - 04/06/2023 16:41:26    2483952

All the Cork players playing today can't remember Cork winning a hurling all Ireland so hopefully they will push on like you said. Many of this team are from that incredible minor winning side and are still underage next year so it'll probably be two years until it really translates to Senior.

On the game today, Mullins was unreal and the best player on the field in my opinion. The work rate and passion he showed was unreal, incredible talent. Screeney was very good for Offaly but they needed more from some of the other forwards. Bright future ahead for them

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 60 - 04/06/2023 17:01:46    2483966

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Feed Screeney 3 cork backs on yellow..how did Kingston only get yellow??elbow to the head..cork trying to bully Offaly since just before throw in..o Connor walking a tight rope to.."
Fair play go Cork. Long enough accused of being soft, fair play to them.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2490 - 04/06/2023 17:31:42    2483974

Honestly think Cork were lucky not to get 2 red cards at least.
Some amount of cynical fouling.
They were physically much stronger than Offaly and deserving of the win but their fouling was off the charts...

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 04/06/2023 17:35:17    2483975

Cork posters are Mullins and o Connell any relation to mark or Micky Mullins of the 90s team and Micky o Connell who played midfield??think o Sullivan is a nephew of Tony if I'm right..was that Aidan Walsh's brother who came in towards the end??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2226 - 04/06/2023 20:05:24    2484017

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Fair play go Cork. Long enough accused of being soft, fair play to them."
There's a clear line between not being soft and deliberately going out to do targeted players. Leo O'Connor certainly seems to think so.

There was a also an element of physically more mature and older lads taking advantage of that. Which was more or less accepted by Ben O'Connor.

I don't think any of us want to return to days when fellas like Sweeney are broken up with no protection from the ref.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2584 - 04/06/2023 20:38:52    2484027

Screeney, not the typo obviously. Egan had broken ribs I think.

Well done to Cork by the way. They were the better team, and it was their hurling won it for them. No need for the other stuff really.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2584 - 04/06/2023 21:31:16    2484046