U20 All Ireland Final

I thought there'd be a thread on this already but I didn't see one.
Anyway huge congrats to both Sligo and Kildare on their massive wins yesterday. Both would have been underdogs and both were deserved winners. Fantastic stuff!

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 07/05/2023 12:42:59    2476338

Very novel final - Kildare back in a final after winning the Title in 2018, Kildare underage in a decent place and with many good clubs and large populations outside the capital look the cunty to give Dublin most trouble in the years ahead. Sligo seem have 4 big scalps on route to the final and revel in the underdog role , big final for both counties.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 07/05/2023 14:20:49    2476372

Delighted for both counties. Doing great work at underage. Let's hope it transfers to senior in the near future.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 208 - 07/05/2023 14:55:38    2476379

Replying To OpenStand:  "Very novel final - Kildare back in a final after winning the Title in 2018, Kildare underage in a decent place and with many good clubs and large populations outside the capital look the cunty to give Dublin most trouble in the years ahead. Sligo seem have 4 big scalps on route to the final and revel in the underdog role , big final for both counties."
Kildare were in last year's final as well

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 94 - 07/05/2023 14:57:55    2476381

Replying To OpenStand:  "Very novel final - Kildare back in a final after winning the Title in 2018, Kildare underage in a decent place and with many good clubs and large populations outside the capital look the cunty to give Dublin most trouble in the years ahead. Sligo seem have 4 big scalps on route to the final and revel in the underdog role , big final for both counties."
Kildare were in the Final last year. Both counties going well at underage in their respective provinces. Should be a good final in Cavan with plenty of support for both teams.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2174 - 07/05/2023 14:58:25    2476382

Super result for Sligo there. Saw the Kildare game. They responded well to the 2nd Down goal and deserved to win with some outstanding points from play, especially that last gasp winner.
Hope it's a great final.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 07/05/2023 15:18:16    2476392

Great to be in An All Ireland Final. Having played 4 big dogs over the last 6 weeks which is a very short time span our casualties are rising. Our inspirational captain is gone with a shoulder injury and 2 others are gone with hamstring and illness.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1664 - 07/05/2023 19:01:36    2476499

Congrats to Sligo and Kildare on reaching the U20 All Ireland final. I watched both games on tv. Some great performances from all 4. It certainly seems as if Kildare should be a force in Leinster in the near future. Sligo are certainly going in the right direction also. Heres to a great final.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1004 - 09/05/2023 18:59:12    2477122

Fantastic win for a magnificent group of young men, couldn't be more proud of them. Maith sibh to Brian Flanagan and his management team. The future is bright, the future is white. C'mon the Lillies!!!

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 94 - 13/05/2023 16:23:54    2478081

Delighted for Kildare. Fine team. I don't like these captains throwing in swear words into speechs to big themselves up.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 13/05/2023 16:30:38    2478082

Replying To CC2020:  "Delighted for Kildare. Fine team. I don't like these captains throwing in swear words into speechs to big themselves up."
I'm with you on that. Thought Sligo gave Kildare 1-1 from poor kick outs in the second half. They put Kildare into a big lead.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 13/05/2023 17:34:32    2478094

Congrats to Kildare certainly the better team and deserved their win. The experience the handful of players that played in last years final and of course Naas who won the Hogan cup helped. Sligo was very nervy 1st half. Wasn't until the 2nd half until they showed their true worth, finished the game without 4 or 5 of their first choice players due to injury and the give away goal came with 3 minutes to go and just three points between the teams.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3762 - 13/05/2023 17:37:16    2478095

Congratulations Kildare. Great win.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2135 - 13/05/2023 17:48:24    2478097

Sligo got A LOT of frees in this one. Was like watching Kirwan in Thurles in 2009. Well done Kildare indeed!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3458 - 13/05/2023 18:30:21    2478102

D kildare lads are eating dare spuds anyway!! Tanks every one of them!!

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 13/05/2023 18:45:02    2478104

Well done Kildare. Enjoy your win, some fine young footballers on display today, on both sides.
One thing that was very sad to see and hear was how the Sligo fans were booing, blowing those annoying horns, banging on the hoarding when Kildare were taking free's. This soccer-like behaviour has no place in Gaelic games. I was for Sligo until they started doing this. The Kildare fans showed respect for the Sligo free-taker every time, well done to them for this. I know it might have been a handful of young fans but why didn't the adult Sligo fans tell them to cop on and show some respect. A pity......

Hoofhearted (Australia) - Posts: 49 - 13/05/2023 18:59:46    2478105

Congratulations to the Kildare team and management, they must've been so disappointed losing last year's final albeit to a great Tyrone team and then to come back and win the All Ireland this year took a serious effort.
The 1st half tactics were spot on, could have been further in front. The handy frees were making a game of it so fair play to Kildare for pushing on in the last 10 minutes.
All Ireland Champions again, super stuff.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 13/05/2023 19:30:03    2478113

Replying To Hoofhearted:  "Well done Kildare. Enjoy your win, some fine young footballers on display today, on both sides.
One thing that was very sad to see and hear was how the Sligo fans were booing, blowing those annoying horns, banging on the hoarding when Kildare were taking free's. This soccer-like behaviour has no place in Gaelic games. I was for Sligo until they started doing this. The Kildare fans showed respect for the Sligo free-taker every time, well done to them for this. I know it might have been a handful of young fans but why didn't the adult Sligo fans tell them to cop on and show some respect. A pity......"
In all fairness if you told a bunch of rowdy and excited young wans cop on and have some respect when hyped up at a match I have a fair idea the reaction you'd get.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 797 - 13/05/2023 19:38:36    2478114

Great win for Kildare - well done! Congrats to Sligo also on a great year.
On the fans, you get a few young ones in every county with a few too many beers - annoying but harmless enough.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 13/05/2023 19:46:12    2478115

Congratulations to Kildare. We had zero luck today. All subs used up by the 9th minute of the second half. Injuries hit us hard and I also believe that we should have got a penalty. That would have made it very interesting. Kildare are a fine team.. As for the young ones shouting and banging, I would prefer to listen to them rather than some of the idiots of adults that attend the game's

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1664 - 13/05/2023 19:54:38    2478118