Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Heard this morning that the U20 position is still up in the air and that Rory Jacob has pulled his name out of the hat after being the front runner for the role over the last few weeks. His back room team included Sean Treacy former Galway All Start and Clare senior hurling coach for the last 4 years, Joe Kearns, Tony Murphy former Kildare hurler and current Crossabeg Senior manager, Olympian Adam Nolan and former Wexford goalkeeper Noel Carton. Jacob himself had been U20 coach the last two years working alongside Keith Rossiter, he was coach to the Oulart camogie team who won the All Ireland a few years ago, he has managed St Peter's senior teams for years while also being heavily involved with management and coaching with his club winning their last u21 title as manager. It'll be interesting to see what happens with this now the u20 role has been filled in most other countries while it looks as if something went wrong and we are back to square one. This position needs to be filled soon to help us to provide a platform to develop players that can take the step to senior as we needs new faces

Clarkie494 (Wexford) - Posts: 3 - 28/10/2023 09:41:03    2510711

Replying To Clarkie494:  "Heard this morning that the U20 position is still up in the air and that Rory Jacob has pulled his name out of the hat after being the front runner for the role over the last few weeks. His back room team included Sean Treacy former Galway All Start and Clare senior hurling coach for the last 4 years, Joe Kearns, Tony Murphy former Kildare hurler and current Crossabeg Senior manager, Olympian Adam Nolan and former Wexford goalkeeper Noel Carton. Jacob himself had been U20 coach the last two years working alongside Keith Rossiter, he was coach to the Oulart camogie team who won the All Ireland a few years ago, he has managed St Peter's senior teams for years while also being heavily involved with management and coaching with his club winning their last u21 title as manager. It'll be interesting to see what happens with this now the u20 role has been filled in most other countries while it looks as if something went wrong and we are back to square one. This position needs to be filled soon to help us to provide a platform to develop players that can take the step to senior as we needs new faces"
U20 is so important and must be a professionally run operation, lots of moving parts, you need probably 3 coaches,Goal Keeping now is instrumental in hurling, more and more like a quarter back with accuracy a must. Backs Coach forward coach, They would use the S&C of whoever is in the role for Wex GAA, similar to a psychologist,they probably already employed or maybe it's at the interview stage. The Managers job a wee bit different these days at they have to keep his team tight,unified and also take advice on board on what they see going on, develop a format of play to suit the squad you get and what suits them best. Need to be plenty of variety,a different voice here and there does fresh things up. Nothing is easy won but maybe someone that can think outside the box every now and then. Best of luck to whoever it is and to all management's teams. It's a tough job enough so needs the people to roll in behind them.

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 29/10/2023 01:29:31    2510788

Replying To Clarkie494:  "Heard this morning that the U20 position is still up in the air and that Rory Jacob has pulled his name out of the hat after being the front runner for the role over the last few weeks. His back room team included Sean Treacy former Galway All Start and Clare senior hurling coach for the last 4 years, Joe Kearns, Tony Murphy former Kildare hurler and current Crossabeg Senior manager, Olympian Adam Nolan and former Wexford goalkeeper Noel Carton. Jacob himself had been U20 coach the last two years working alongside Keith Rossiter, he was coach to the Oulart camogie team who won the All Ireland a few years ago, he has managed St Peter's senior teams for years while also being heavily involved with management and coaching with his club winning their last u21 title as manager. It'll be interesting to see what happens with this now the u20 role has been filled in most other countries while it looks as if something went wrong and we are back to square one. This position needs to be filled soon to help us to provide a platform to develop players that can take the step to senior as we needs new faces"
Yes it looks like we are back to square one with the under 20 which is a disaster. The dogs in the street knew that Jacobs set up was head and shoulders above anything else in for it and he was told he had the job about two weeks ago. Since then there has all sorts of messing around and apparently the county board came back to him telling him they wanted someone to go in as joint manager with him. Jacob said he didn't want this and they won't give him the job as a result. A total mess , not the first time county board fumbling has cost us. The clock is ticking on now and no manager or set up in place. Clearly politics at play with the oulart situation which shouldn't make a blind bit difference.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 28 - 29/10/2023 08:20:21    2510794

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Yes it looks like we are back to square one with the under 20 which is a disaster. The dogs in the street knew that Jacobs set up was head and shoulders above anything else in for it and he was told he had the job about two weeks ago. Since then there has all sorts of messing around and apparently the county board came back to him telling him they wanted someone to go in as joint manager with him. Jacob said he didn't want this and they won't give him the job as a result. A total mess , not the first time county board fumbling has cost us. The clock is ticking on now and no manager or set up in place. Clearly politics at play with the oulart situation which shouldn't make a blind bit difference."
If the dogs in the street have access to all the contenders and their backroom teams then surely someone on here can get them posted.
He may well have had the best setup but how can tou make that call without seeing all the options.
Otherwise it's just your opinion and you should leave the dogs out of it.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 29/10/2023 10:16:46    2510807

Fair play for Jacob standing his ground . Shame county board didn't proceed with his appointment. Probably wasn't easy for him to gather a good backroom team like he had done willing to take on the job. Hadn't the county board asked clubs for recommendations for the post few weeks back ? Club politics shouldn't affect the role with potential 3 roles all filled by oulart men but Gaa is full of politics.

BacksAndForwards (Wexford) - Posts: 34 - 29/10/2023 11:37:05    2510821

Replying To Paull:  "If the dogs in the street have access to all the contenders and their backroom teams then surely someone on here can get them posted.
He may well have had the best setup but how can tou make that call without seeing all the options.
Otherwise it's just your opinion and you should leave the dogs out of it."
Sorry Paul - what I mean Is that apparently Jacob had the best set up and that was decided by the management committee a few weeks ago after interviews- he was told it was going to be ratified at the next county board meeting - after that there seems to be have bern a u-turn of sorts and that they felt he shouldn't or couldn't?? Manage on his own - the oulart connection to the main county teams seems to be the issue , as has been said here in this forum- the best candidates should get the job regardless of where they are from- end of - the other fellas in for it were Aidan O Connor and Micky Laffan. Anyway bottom line is - it's nearly November and no manager in place - not good enough!!

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 28 - 29/10/2023 19:51:20    2510874

The minor premier final yesterday was a bit of a disappointment, Oulart the way better team but the Shels made it easy for them by missing so many easy chances that would have kept them in the game. Overall middling to poor standard. From what I could see Oulart played with a sweeper, is that what it has come to even in underage in hurling that from a young age players are being taught that they are not good enough to go man on man with their opposition even when you are in the superior team.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 30/10/2023 10:46:48    2510908

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Sorry Paul - what I mean Is that apparently Jacob had the best set up and that was decided by the management committee a few weeks ago after interviews- he was told it was going to be ratified at the next county board meeting - after that there seems to be have bern a u-turn of sorts and that they felt he shouldn't or couldn't?? Manage on his own - the oulart connection to the main county teams seems to be the issue , as has been said here in this forum- the best candidates should get the job regardless of where they are from- end of - the other fellas in for it were Aidan O Connor and Micky Laffan. Anyway bottom line is - it's nearly November and no manager in place - not good enough!!"
Agree they have made a mess out of it.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 30/10/2023 11:04:56    2510917

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Sorry Paul - what I mean Is that apparently Jacob had the best set up and that was decided by the management committee a few weeks ago after interviews- he was told it was going to be ratified at the next county board meeting - after that there seems to be have bern a u-turn of sorts and that they felt he shouldn't or couldn't?? Manage on his own - the oulart connection to the main county teams seems to be the issue , as has been said here in this forum- the best candidates should get the job regardless of where they are from- end of - the other fellas in for it were Aidan O Connor and Micky Laffan. Anyway bottom line is - it's nearly November and no manager in place - not good enough!!"
No matter what candidate you pick as manager someone will pick faults. Don't know if Rory is the answer you hear rumours but you hear them about every candidate . Same as above named candidates if they are in for it .
Seems very strange a committee would try force a joint manager on someone or force them to pick someone to co manage with them the former looks most likely as if they asked him surely he could have put someone forward that he could control or had little or no say co manager in all but decision making. . Thats what I would do but I would nt work with someone forced on me thats for sure .
Is It a constructive way to force him to pull out and committee save face by letting him pull out .
If he has already picked his team or close to his team he must be eager enough if info on here correct its decent set up too. .
Are committee bowing to perceived public view on the oulart connection or is there more to it .
If that is the case that's worrying .
Had they someone else in mind all along that they want .
Time will tell but the clock us ticking .
Thats assuming all above info is correct and true

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 178 - 30/10/2023 11:39:02    2510926

Agree 100% with that bottom line. I'm not sure who the lads had on their management teams so I can't comment/speculate on anything else. I do think if Rory Jacob had the best management team, the club he is from, or where the Senior and Minor managers were from, shouldn't make the blindest bit of difference.
Mickey Laffan won the premier minor double last year with Barntown so might have some ideas of good up and coming players at that level, but he wouldn't neccessarily have come across many lads from the lower levels who could be very good. At adult club level he did well with Clongeen this year.
Aidan O Connor managed the minors before, but Rapps weren't outstanding this year.
Tbh all 3 wouldn't be massively experienced, or more importantly successful, at a high intercounty level, and u20 is a hugely important grade as a possible stepping stone to Senior.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 30/10/2023 12:03:12    2510933

Replying To zinny:  "The minor premier final yesterday was a bit of a disappointment, Oulart the way better team but the Shels made it easy for them by missing so many easy chances that would have kept them in the game. Overall middling to poor standard. From what I could see Oulart played with a sweeper, is that what it has come to even in underage in hurling that from a young age players are being taught that they are not good enough to go man on man with their opposition even when you are in the superior team."
I somehow doubt after beating Shels by 17 points earlier in the year, winning their QF by 29 and SF by 18 that their management decided their not good enough to go man on man, somehow I imagine the Shels management and understandably so tried to keep things tight.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1726 - 30/10/2023 18:44:45    2510967

The way I've heard it, Jacob was the preferred candidate of the three interviewed all right, but there was some uncertainty over whether his backroom team was strong enough to win at least a Leinster title, and he was asked to bring somebody else on board (and not necessarily as a joint manager). But he flat out refused, even when one or two names of willing people were put to him.

It does leave us in awful mess though, and seemingly back to square one. Not helped by how apparently several others who were sounded out for the job ruled themselves out early on, and are unlikely to reconsider.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 30/10/2023 21:44:10    2510992

Replying To zinny:  "The minor premier final yesterday was a bit of a disappointment, Oulart the way better team but the Shels made it easy for them by missing so many easy chances that would have kept them in the game. Overall middling to poor standard. From what I could see Oulart played with a sweeper, is that what it has come to even in underage in hurling that from a young age players are being taught that they are not good enough to go man on man with their opposition even when you are in the superior team."
That Oulart team have been exceptional all the way up from u12. Around half of them have played underage for Wexford. They probably have played a system to suit themselves for the last few years. No adult Senior hurling is played man to man, at club or county level. Even at Intermediate club level. So why would you expect anyone trying to bring through young lads to play for their club or county adult teams in the future to play that way?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 31/10/2023 09:31:59    2511009

That Oulart team have been exceptional all the way up from u12. Around half of them have played underage for Wexford. They probably have played a system to suit themselves for the last few years. No adult Senior hurling is played man to man, at club or county level. Even at Intermediate club level. So why would you expect anyone trying to bring through young lads to play for their club or county adult teams in the future to play that way?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 31/10/2023 09:32:06    2511010

Replying To Viking66:  "That Oulart team have been exceptional all the way up from u12. Around half of them have played underage for Wexford. They probably have played a system to suit themselves for the last few years. No adult Senior hurling is played man to man, at club or county level. Even at Intermediate club level. So why would you expect anyone trying to bring through young lads to play for their club or county adult teams in the future to play that way?"
I think that's happening in all sport to be honest.

Most teams are trying to establish an identity that runs right through the club from top to bottom.

As the standard or coaching, s and c and nutrition become more and more level teams find different ways of trying to win, or not lose as they case may be.

It all started with the third midfielder business and short Puck outs in the early 00s and has developed into the spare man in defence.

Even kilkenny do that now

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2668 - 31/10/2023 10:25:52    2511014

Replying To Pikeman96:  "The way I've heard it, Jacob was the preferred candidate of the three interviewed all right, but there was some uncertainty over whether his backroom team was strong enough to win at least a Leinster title, and he was asked to bring somebody else on board (and not necessarily as a joint manager). But he flat out refused, even when one or two names of willing people were put to him.

It does leave us in awful mess though, and seemingly back to square one. Not helped by how apparently several others who were sounded out for the job ruled themselves out early on, and are unlikely to reconsider."
That sounds a bit more plausible rather than someone been forced as a joint manager,

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 31/10/2023 11:10:28    2511021

I'm a believer in mediation, get them in a room, surely some compromise can be reached. A feature of us many of us in the GAA is we can be a bit stubborn, cool heads needed, let the dust settle.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 31/10/2023 12:25:55    2511038

Leinster championship:

Dublin Home
Antrim Away
Galway Home
Carlow Away
Kilkenny Away

Those first 2 games dictate the fate of our summer I think. It is vital we get at least 3 points from those first 2 games if we're to have any hope of getting into the last 6.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 57 - 31/10/2023 16:49:52    2511086

Fixtures for the leinster championship are out. We face Dublin at home first . In my eyes this is a must win game. Its about time we put one over the Dubs after the last few years narrow loses. A win would be a huge boost before a tough trip to Corrigan park to play Antrim

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 01/11/2023 09:41:57    2511131

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Leinster championship:

Dublin Home
Antrim Away
Galway Home
Carlow Away
Kilkenny Away

Those first 2 games dictate the fate of our summer I think. It is vital we get at least 3 points from those first 2 games if we're to have any hope of getting into the last 6."
If we have a fully fit team, and that hopefully includes Lee, Dee, Mogie if he doesn't go travelling and Matthew, at this stage we should surely be aiming to win all 5 games? I know in reality we probably won't be injury free as no team ever is, but even so we shouldn't be as negative as last year this early.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 01/11/2023 10:26:49    2511140