Replying To ExiledInWex: "Sorry but Wexford need to focus on player retention and getting people on to the panel, not off it." I disagree, some hard decisions are needed and we need to create pathways for promising underage players to make the step up. Give them plenty of league time around a solid core of senior players (not sure who they would be right now!). Looking back on that Clare league game, it was disgraceful what went on that day and the comments from Egan after that game look even worse now.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 402 - 22/05/2023 15:21:32
I can never remember GAA being at as low an ebb in Wexford as a whole in my lifetime, the fact that the hurler, camogie and footballers are all as far away from the top table as they've ever been is worrying. The ladies footballers although operating at intermediate are at least one of the favorites for that, this can be seen in the number of dual players picking football over camogie at the moment, the incentive of winning an intermediate is a lot more appealing than getting mauled by Galway, Cork, Kilkenny and even Tipp and Waterford now and doing just enough to stay up senior. I don't know what went wrong, it all seemed to slip so quickly. This has been as poor a year for GAA in this county as I've ever seen, the highlight of the year is loosing to a young offaly team with 14 men at u20 (if you wanted to be really cynical, a team that lost to 3 of the 5 teams they played this year) Going back to that weak mentality of this is good enough. I don't think our Model og academy is up to much and from talking to lads involved in other county set ups, they don't rate it much either, they see us in much the same bracket as Laois, Westmeath, Antrim at this level. That's speaks of their arrogance as much as anything but it's honestly what they think. I dont want to just be giving out without at least suggesting some solutions The one thing I would change is that we have no clear Wexford style or identity at all. The lads at academy level are just kinda let go and see what happens. You see all the main counties they try build a similar style or way of play that seniors are implementing, you see with all the Limerick underage teams with the short passing and movement, Tipp with their sharp stick men and with a few big men, Kilkenny just being Kilkenny and having that fight and their unreal ability to have every lad competitive in the air, Galway similar to Tipp or developing more of those monsters they seem to always have, Cork with their pace and have even started to add more size to all their underage teams and to solve that issue down the line. There's no fear or worry playing Wexford. We appear rudderless. Don't think I buy this blame everyone being a dual player growing up either for our lack of underage success the last 30 years, so Many of the top players in the country have been underage dual stars, it didn't effect Daithi Burke, Con O'Callaghan, Cillian McDaid, the Cahallans in Cork, all the Dublin hurlers, lots more of the current Cork and even Tipp players..and these were guys operating at top level underage in both. Even our current best players weren't effected by it in Lee Chin, Rory O'Connor, these lads were on good underage teams too. Club game is competitive but is of a low standard, our record at provincial level is terrible lately. Like not being competitive is the main thing here. Even at intermediate level with Ourlart being about 15 points better than everyone and then couldn't get over the line v Dublins 3rd tier winners. Sort the underage and schools and that will help with everything and have a knock on effect for everything. While I think whenever possible we should have Wexford men and women running it (the senior job should be for a wexford man I think personally) we shouldn't be afraid to look for help with underage structures, Offaly did, Limerick did, counties with similar playing populations, history and problems. It can't continue the way it is. Offaly were similar around 2015/16 time, survived a relegation scare, got to a Leinster u21 final and everyone reverted its OK again only for the same thing and probably worse slide to happen very shortly after. We can't just say that'll never happen, I didn't think it would, but it is happening. That's 3 sports in this county on their knees, I don't have all the answers or pretend to (especially for Football and camogie) but if it wakes people up and we survive we could turn it around without having to fall to rock bottom.
Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 318 - 22/05/2023 15:21:52
Replying To tonydoranfan: "sorry storey, not vengeance just very upset with wexford gaa and lack of success at every level, and the poor set up of our academy and weak county chairmen appointed for a great hurling and gaa county like wexford it is just not acceptable if we want to compete at the high level" Thank you. After challenged on a post where you could "name a full team better than the county minor team", you couldn't even name 1 player. NOT EVEN ONE. You proved my point that you don't have a clue and just have a vendetta against all involved in underage GAA - which makes you part of the problem.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1826 - 22/05/2023 15:24:19
To quote Isaac Marion, "We are where we are, however we got here. What matters is where we go next".
Its way past bed time here but insomnia is kicked in.
The time for recrimination and blaming can start after Sunday. We can spend the whole Summer/autumn/winter reviewing whatever we want, where we want to go but first and foremost we need to get the result on Sunday and preserve our status.
Sunday is the most important game in Wexford hurling in years, results go against us and it could be a tough road back regardless of underage teams, etc having good showings.
Do not underestimate how vital it is to win this game.
I would like to think what has gone on with absent players, etc could be sorted this week. We need a penalty taker and had a good one up to this year. This could be the winning and losing of our Liam McCarthy cup status.
What everybody needs to do now is buckle down for 5 days and GET BEHIND THIS TEAM.
EVERY WEXFORD MAN, WOMAN AND CHILD WITH WEXFORD HURLINGS INTEREST AT HEART NEEDS TO GET THEIR A**E TO WEXFORD PARK ON SUNDAY AND DO THEIR BIT TO HELP GET THIS TEAM OVER THE LINE.
THE 1798 REBELLION BEGAN THIS WEEK AND OUR ANCESTORS FOUGHT AND DIED FOR OVER A MONTH. WE NEED OUR SUPPORTERS TO FIGHT TOOTH AND NAIL FOR EVERY TACKLE, LINE BALL, FREE, CATCH THAT HAPPENS IN THE PARK ON SUNDAY FOR TWO HOURS MAX.
SUPPORTERS CAN AND NEED TO BE THE 16TH MAN AND ON SUNDAY THIS CAN BE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PLAYING GALWAY AND KILKENNY NEXT YEAR OR PLAYING CARLOW AND DOWN.
WE BROUGHT 50K WEXFORD PEOPLE IN 2019, WE CAN SURELY FILL THE PARK ON SUNDAY.
I can't be there but will be shouting the on from afar. If people don't go, well no point blaming the county board if you can't say on Sunday evening "I did my bit".
FORGET THE BLAMING, FINGER POINTING UNTIL NEXT WEEK, THE TEAM NEED WEXFORD PEOPLES SUPPORT NOW LIKE THEY NEVER DID BEFORE. GO OUT AND DO YOUR BIT.
UP WEXFORD.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1826 - 22/05/2023 15:49:07
Replying To StoreysTash: "To quote Isaac Marion, "We are where we are, however we got here. What matters is where we go next".
The time for recrimination and blaming can start after Sunday. We can spend the whole Summer/autumn/winter reviewing whatever we want, where we want to go but first and foremost we need to get the result on Sunday and preserve our status.
Sunday is the most important game in Wexford hurling in years, results go against us and it could be a tough road back regardless of underage teams, etc having good showings.
I would like to think what has gone on with absent players, etc could be sorted this week. We need a penalty taker and had a good one up to this year. This could be the winning and losing of our Liam McCarthy cup status.
What everybody needs to do now is buckle down for 5 days and GET BEHIND THIS TEAM.
EVERY WEXFORD MAN, WOMAN AND CHILD WITH WEXFORD HURLINGS INTEREST AT HEART NEEDS TO GET THEIR A**E TO WEXFORD PARK ON SUNDAY AND DO THEIR BIT TO HELP GET THIS TEAM OVER THE LINE.
THE 1798 REBELLION BEGAN THIS WEEK AND OUR ANCESTORS FOUGHT AND DIED FOR OVER A MONTH. WE NEED OUR SUPPORTERS TO FIGHT TOOTH AND NAIL FOR EVERY TACKLE, LINE BALL, FREE, CATCH THAT HAPPENS IN THE PARK ON SUNDAY FOR TWO HOURS MAX.
SUPPORTERS CAN AND NEED TO BE THE 16TH MAN AND ON SUNDAY THIS CAN BE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PLAYING GALWAY AND KILKENNY NEXT YEAR OR PLAYING CARLOW AND DOWN.
I can't be there but will be shouting the on from afar. If people don't go, well no point blaming the county board if you can't say on Sunday evening "I did my bit".
FORGET THE BLAMING, FINGER POINTING UNTIL NEXT WEEK, THE TEAM NEED WEXFORD PEOPLES SUPPORT NOW LIKE THEY NEVER DID BEFORE. GO OUT AND DO YOUR BIT.
UP WEXFORD. " Carlow will beat Offaly in the McDonagh Cup Final so we will be could be playing Offaly and Down next year.
hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 22/05/2023 16:10:08
Replying To StoreysTash: "To quote Isaac Marion, "We are where we are, however we got here. What matters is where we go next".
UP WEXFORD. " "THIS CAN BE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PLAYING GALWAY AND KILKENNY NEXT YEAR OR PLAYING CARLOW AND DOWN."
Wexford might not be playing Galway, Kilkenny and Carlow next year.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2767 - 22/05/2023 16:11:49
Replying To Timbertony: "DF certainly had a good sense of timing but he did make us competitive immediately. In Liam Dunnes last season, we were humiliated by KK, another downing tools job, and Waterford beat us in second gear in Thurles. There was a bad hiding by a limited enough Limerick team in Thurles the year before too.
U20 is still a long way from senior but I'd like to see likes of Mahon, Roche, Carley, Byrne, Whelan, O'Hagan in the 26 next season. To do that we will need to clear out some of the senior squad, really think we are in dire need of what Liam Cahill did when he went to Waterford first. Absolutely ruthless letting likes of Connors and Shanahan go." Losing Connors and Shanahan was maybe a mistake though?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15713 - 22/05/2023 16:12:05
UP WEXFORD. " Have our tickets bought since last week Storeystash. Barely a whisper of support from the stand as Westmeaths momentum grew and grew in that 2nd half. Only 2500 there and a few hundred of those were from Westmeath. We don't have a 16th man unless we are in Croke Park in a Leinster final or AISF. I'm only guessing but a few critics on this, and apparently on twitter the last 24 hours or so too, likely weren't at the game at all, and it wasn't on tv.......
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15713 - 22/05/2023 16:20:10
Replying To Cockney_Cat: " Replying To StoreysTash: "To quote Isaac Marion, "We are where we are, however we got here. What matters is where we go next".
UP WEXFORD. " "THIS CAN BE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PLAYING GALWAY AND KILKENNY NEXT YEAR OR PLAYING CARLOW AND DOWN." Wexford might not be playing Galway, Kilkenny and Carlow next year." Haven't been up to Ballycran in around 20 years so it would be good to show the kids if we end up playing there! Are you coming over to the Park CC?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15713 - 22/05/2023 16:22:43
@StoreysTash - bet you weren't expecting that sort of immediate reaction. A heartfelt rallying call for the troops, and instead of "YEAH, LET'S GO FOR IT!", you get a couple of nit-picky ones about who may or may not be in the McDonagh Cup next year. Am fairly pedantic myself a lot of the time, but even I would have let that one go.
I'm with you on the bigger picture. Important that everybody continues to support the team this week, and on Sunday. After that.....que sera, sera.....
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2856 - 22/05/2023 16:31:03
Replying To Frontier1000: "Respectfully this Wexford obsession with Kilkenny seems to be part of the problem. In the list of years from 2010-2022, KK won 1 AI U20, not exactly a high winning standard. Looking from the outside in, I don't think the Wexford players are as bad as are being suggested here but maybe a year in Joe McDonagh might be what's needed for Wexford hurling. Either way if that's what happens it'll be a sad day for hurling." I think that if Wexford were to get relegated and then blooded in young players plus didn't have to face a mass exodus of current players, Wexford could bounce back straight away and return in a stronger position. Those are big ifs though.
I used Kilkenny mainly because we can't really compare Wexford to Munster teams at U20s as there isn't a huge amount of inter-provincial matches unless you win your own province. And with Galway only in Leinster at U20 level in the last 5-6 years, Kilkenny have been by and large the best barometer of success in Leinster at U20 for the last 15 years. Wasn't an obsession as such, just thought they were the best barometer in Leinster over that time period
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 491 - 22/05/2023 16:35:26
UP WEXFORD. " Powerful stuff, brought a tear to my eye
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2314 - 22/05/2023 16:50:45
Replying To Bon: " Replying To StoreysTash: "To quote Isaac Marion, "We are where we are, however we got here. What matters is where we go next".
UP WEXFORD. " Powerful stuff, brought a tear to my eye" We know all your worried about is Limerick and probably couldn't give a toss that Kildare got relegated.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/05/2023 17:02:54
UP WEXFORD. " Fair play and I concur, everyone needs to step up to the mark this week, players, management and supporters.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/05/2023 17:04:29
Replying To ElGranSenor: "Don't think it's wise to read anything into what Sheedy says, he's very good buddies with Darragh Egan" Sheedy has done so much damage to wexford hurling.
Wexpurebred (Wexford) - Posts: 205 - 22/05/2023 17:16:37
Replying To Viking66: "No Munster team has played 3 forwards inside the whole game in years now." And whats your point.
Wexpurebred (Wexford) - Posts: 205 - 22/05/2023 17:19:34
Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin: "I can never remember GAA being at as low an ebb in Wexford as a whole in my lifetime, the fact that the hurler, camogie and footballers are all as far away from the top table as they've ever been is worrying. The ladies footballers although operating at intermediate are at least one of the favorites for that, this can be seen in the number of dual players picking football over camogie at the moment, the incentive of winning an intermediate is a lot more appealing than getting mauled by Galway, Cork, Kilkenny and even Tipp and Waterford now and doing just enough to stay up senior. I don't know what went wrong, it all seemed to slip so quickly. This has been as poor a year for GAA in this county as I've ever seen, the highlight of the year is loosing to a young offaly team with 14 men at u20 (if you wanted to be really cynical, a team that lost to 3 of the 5 teams they played this year) Going back to that weak mentality of this is good enough. I don't think our Model og academy is up to much and from talking to lads involved in other county set ups, they don't rate it much either, they see us in much the same bracket as Laois, Westmeath, Antrim at this level. That's speaks of their arrogance as much as anything but it's honestly what they think. I dont want to just be giving out without at least suggesting some solutions The one thing I would change is that we have no clear Wexford style or identity at all. The lads at academy level are just kinda let go and see what happens. You see all the main counties they try build a similar style or way of play that seniors are implementing, you see with all the Limerick underage teams with the short passing and movement, Tipp with their sharp stick men and with a few big men, Kilkenny just being Kilkenny and having that fight and their unreal ability to have every lad competitive in the air, Galway similar to Tipp or developing more of those monsters they seem to always have, Cork with their pace and have even started to add more size to all their underage teams and to solve that issue down the line. There's no fear or worry playing Wexford. We appear rudderless. Don't think I buy this blame everyone being a dual player growing up either for our lack of underage success the last 30 years, so Many of the top players in the country have been underage dual stars, it didn't effect Daithi Burke, Con O'Callaghan, Cillian McDaid, the Cahallans in Cork, all the Dublin hurlers, lots more of the current Cork and even Tipp players..and these were guys operating at top level underage in both. Even our current best players weren't effected by it in Lee Chin, Rory O'Connor, these lads were on good underage teams too. Club game is competitive but is of a low standard, our record at provincial level is terrible lately. Like not being competitive is the main thing here. Even at intermediate level with Ourlart being about 15 points better than everyone and then couldn't get over the line v Dublins 3rd tier winners. Sort the underage and schools and that will help with everything and have a knock on effect for everything. While I think whenever possible we should have Wexford men and women running it (the senior job should be for a wexford man I think personally) we shouldn't be afraid to look for help with underage structures, Offaly did, Limerick did, counties with similar playing populations, history and problems. It can't continue the way it is. Offaly were similar around 2015/16 time, survived a relegation scare, got to a Leinster u21 final and everyone reverted its OK again only for the same thing and probably worse slide to happen very shortly after. We can't just say that'll never happen, I didn't think it would, but it is happening. That's 3 sports in this county on their knees, I don't have all the answers or pretend to (especially for Football and camogie) but if it wakes people up and we survive we could turn it around without having to fall to rock bottom." Disagree about the dual players in other counties. I wasn't actually just talking about underage most of our Senior hurling panel play football at Senior or Intermediate club level also. That's not the case for 80% plus players of any of the other top 9 counties. Numerous friends from other counties have flagged this up as a reason also.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15713 - 22/05/2023 17:26:50
Replying To Wexpurebred: "And whats your point." "Ans who ever said anything about lacing ball down to the full forward line hurling in leinster back in the nineties was a mans game the way munster is now. .Sounds like you were not around at that time to witness a proper mans game"
This what you posted. All 5 of the Munster counties play a shorter game now. With typically 2 inside sometimes one. Tipp were one of the last counties playing a longer game. I'd say this year we have hit a higher percentage of our puckouts long than any other county this championship tbh. Even Galway and Kilkenny. And that has really worked out well for us hasn't it?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15713 - 22/05/2023 17:38:36
Replying To tearintom: "Yep let's go back to 96, you're the one claiming that's what we need to do so who are you getting in?
Loan and Mc Stay are very good managers and what's more they have the managerial cv to back it up. Who from 96 has anything remotely similar.
So who from 96 matches them? Or is it just being part of 96 good enough because it was a man's game! It's a different sport to back in 96, anyone can see that, the final was one where both teams had 14 scores! County teams and club teams are racking that up by half time! The ground hurling of those days is done, it's an entirely different ball game
But as usual it's the same bull, let's get someone in from 96?
Maybe ask liam Griffin sure while you're at it?
As for going forward rather than our chairman and executives starting rows with the likes of Joe Fortune on the sideline maybe ask him would he be interested in the job? We havent beaten westmeath in 2 years since hes came in. But maybe he's not man enough seeing as he was only 18 in 1996?
Pair him up with Rossiter and start from there." I agree with you about one thing and rossi and joe fortune would be a good move because there from wexford who im 100% sure would get the ball rolling if there was at least 2 others from 96 involved. Martin storey in my book was very unlucky not to make the breakthrough in manage ment .He managed that minor team of lee chin d okeefe conor mac p foley j oconnor ian byrne liam ryan etc and more. Dublin scored 1. 3 in injury time a game i was at in parnell park In a game wexford should have won. I believe to this day if wexford had won that match storey would have went the whole way to the top in management. I say give him another chance himself and rossi would work very well.100% garanteed. I dont know what anybody else thinks but i really think tom dempsey would be great in the county board to do a job that micheal duignan is doing with offaly.
Wexpurebred (Wexford) - Posts: 205 - 22/05/2023 17:40:16
Replying To Viking66: "Disagree about the dual players in other counties. I wasn't actually just talking about underage most of our Senior hurling panel play football at Senior or Intermediate club level also. That's not the case for 80% plus players of any of the other top 9 counties. Numerous friends from other counties have flagged this up as a reason also." Cant see that as reason for failing at senior level, You know as well as I do that football is given a very token gesture in a lot of the big hurling clubs in this county,it's not exactly an amazingly high standard that most of our hurlers are still the best clubs players in Wexford while giving it maybe less than 10% of the same time commitment between county hurling and club hurling. Ive no doubt when theyre playing the games they give their all but i dont think uts having that big an impact. I dont see it holding back Tipp, Dublin, Cork, Limerick and even a strong percentageof th Clare team are dual club players, Galway have dual players too but maybe not as many those other top counties. A lot of our lads have given football a miss at stages in their careers too and didnt have any added effect. They mightnt have a same percentage of everyone playing everything but it's madness to say because lads are playing both at club level is effecting them at county level. We might be a dual county in the sense people play both but it in terms of people interest and players (if were tbh) caring, it's a hurling county.
Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 318 - 22/05/2023 17:47:21