Wexford Inter County Football

we have a couple of very serious footballers on that team

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 24/03/2024 16:54:31    2533178

Replying To Yellaman:  "Brilliant performance today, apart from all the spurned goal chances in the second half.

It's a pity that a decent league season was ultimately decided by Mr Dorrians strange decision to award that penalty in Carrick. We should be heading for promotion & croker next week."
Yes but no point dwelling on it. The lads were excellent this afternoon. Attitude and body language were spot on from the throw in til the final whistle. Should've been another 20 point win with the chances spurned. Fair crowd down from Longford and fair play to them, but I'd of been disappointed if I'd of made that trip as Longford were very flat, especially in the 1st half. They only seemed to up the intensity with about 15 minutes to go, which I found a little surprising being as they had their destiny in their own hands, unlike our lads.
Anyway, next up Carlow for us. Hopefully Brooks will be back, as we have missed his long range frees and 45s all year. No reason we can't get a few championship wins this year, I think all the lads are staying around to give it their best shot! Well done to John and the management team also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11879 - 24/03/2024 18:06:23    2533222

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "we have a couple of very serious footballers on that team"
More than a couple. We have a few big mobile lads who can kick with both feet and play with their heads up. And Dylan Furlong is a great man to run into space. Kevin O'Grady was inspiring again, the lad covers some ground and his direct style always causes problems for opponents. Only thing Id hold against him is that goal at the end of extra time last year;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11879 - 24/03/2024 18:10:15    2533226

Best league showing overall in years, definitely since 2017 and it was probably better than that particular year too. Realistically we deserved promotion this year we performed better than Leitrim in almost every metric over the 7 games, not a dig at Leitrim if their supporters are reading this it wasn't your fault the ref made than horrendous call but that's the reality of the situation in my opinion.

Actually taught the signs were good last year too, big difference is the injury situation has improved, we've a settled team at the moment 14 lads have started the last 3 games, I was at 5 of the 7 league games wasn't at the London or Leitrim games and bar Laois I taught we blew the opposition away S&C wise, looks like a panel who have fully bought in which is obviously great to see.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/03/2024 19:01:38    2533263

Real shame, hard luck lads

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 24/03/2024 19:24:56    2533278

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Best league showing overall in years, definitely since 2017 and it was probably better than that particular year too. Realistically we deserved promotion this year we performed better than Leitrim in almost every metric over the 7 games, not a dig at Leitrim if their supporters are reading this it wasn't your fault the ref made than horrendous call but that's the reality of the situation in my opinion.

Actually taught the signs were good last year too, big difference is the injury situation has improved, we've a settled team at the moment 14 lads have started the last 3 games, I was at 5 of the 7 league games wasn't at the London or Leitrim games and bar Laois I taught we blew the opposition away S&C wise, looks like a panel who have fully bought in which is obviously great to see."
Missed the same 2 games you did. And agree with everything you say here.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11879 - 24/03/2024 19:35:05    2533283

Hard luck lads, don't mean to sound patronising at all ye have every right to be sick to have missed out on promotion. We got the rub of the green that day in Carrick with the penalty decision,we robbed ye that day. Shows the character of that team to come back strongly from such a hammer blow and win your last four games impressively. We're delighted obviously to go up but am sorry for ye the way ye missed out. Push on now in Leinster and give the Tailteann cup a good rattle , ye are capable of doing well in that competition and hopefully next year ye will be getting promotion,I know its no consolation to ye right now. Best of luck in the future lads.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 24/03/2024 19:43:10    2533285

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Hard luck lads, don't mean to sound patronising at all ye have every right to be sick to have missed out on promotion. We got the rub of the green that day in Carrick with the penalty decision,we robbed ye that day. Shows the character of that team to come back strongly from such a hammer blow and win your last four games impressively. We're delighted obviously to go up but am sorry for ye the way ye missed out. Push on now in Leinster and give the Tailteann cup a good rattle , ye are capable of doing well in that competition and hopefully next year ye will be getting promotion,I know its no consolation to ye right now. Best of luck in the future lads."
Thanks JimmyNail, and best of luck.
A downside of your promotion.........you won't have a trip to the sunny south east next year !!!

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 24/03/2024 20:03:13    2533295

Unlucky on Wexford. Dodgy penalty call ultimately did ye; but hats off, ye had a good league.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 509 - 24/03/2024 20:09:25    2533299

Mad thing is the last 4 games winning by 11, 10, 14 and 9 points I actually think the scoreline flattered the opposition in each case.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/03/2024 20:10:19    2533301

Replying To wexfordwin:  "It is so infuriating that Wexford have lost out due to that particular decision. By the way the referee was terrible all game and I haven't seen him get a game since so I presume he paid the price for being so poor.

That's no consolation to the lads unfortunately."
It maybe infuriating and I'm sure we'd have differing opinions on the foul itself but as you say, it's no consolidation to your lads tonight. In fairness after that game, your lads put up some scores and didn't relent so that tells me ye will go far and going the same way, promotion will be yours if you want it in 2025. The Tailteann Cup will surely be a cup to aim to do well also surely. The jury is out on our chances in Division 3 next year... I'd be happy enough to survive... going up and down in 12 months is no good to anyone.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 24/03/2024 20:19:16    2533303

Replying To Square_B:  "It maybe infuriating and I'm sure we'd have differing opinions on the foul itself but as you say, it's no consolidation to your lads tonight. In fairness after that game, your lads put up some scores and didn't relent so that tells me ye will go far and going the same way, promotion will be yours if you want it in 2025. The Tailteann Cup will surely be a cup to aim to do well also surely. The jury is out on our chances in Division 3 next year... I'd be happy enough to survive... going up and down in 12 months is no good to anyone."
Leitrim lads telling other teams whats what... pmsl... Laois by 12 points in CP
True second place should have gone to Wexford.

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 24/03/2024 20:28:17    2533305

Replying To SligoScot:  "Leitrim lads telling other teams whats what... pmsl... Laois by 12 points in CP
True second place should have gone to Wexford."
PSML

All you need to worry about is Sunday two weeks. You'll have no finals to be worrying about that's for sure.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 24/03/2024 20:45:26    2533314

Tough luck lads. You have the stuff in you to do well in the championship.
Definately a vast improvement on previous years.
Great win today and some brilliant performances throughout the field. To beat Carlow, Tipperary, Waterford and Longford by big scores is impressive. Surely next year will be the year we will get out of division 4 and continue to improve.
Time will tell of course as it always does.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 273 - 24/03/2024 21:10:14    2533331

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Mad thing is the last 4 games winning by 11, 10, 14 and 9 points I actually think the scoreline flattered the opposition in each case."
Definitely. We missed some amount of good goal chances in all 4 games. And hit some poor wides also. At least we created them!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11879 - 24/03/2024 22:24:05    2533363

Replying To Yellaman:  "Thanks JimmyNail, and best of luck.
A downside of your promotion.........you won't have a trip to the sunny south east next year !!!"
nor for a few tears after!!!!! we will be gone up and they will be back down

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 25/03/2024 08:34:55    2533423

Replying To Square_B:  "PSML

All you need to worry about is Sunday two weeks. You'll have no finals to be worrying about that's for sure."
Count yourselves lucky you don't have New York again.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 25/03/2024 08:44:53    2533426

Replying To Viking66:  "More than a couple. We have a few big mobile lads who can kick with both feet and play with their heads up. And Dylan Furlong is a great man to run into space. Kevin O'Grady was inspiring again, the lad covers some ground and his direct style always causes problems for opponents. Only thing Id hold against him is that goal at the end of extra time last year;-)"
How could you not mention Glen malone , he was magnificent yesterday. Pure footballer who is a super athlete too, Furlong only average yesterday

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 440 - 25/03/2024 09:40:34    2533441

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "How could you not mention Glen malone , he was magnificent yesterday. Pure footballer who is a super athlete too, Furlong only average yesterday"
glen scored 1.13 in league, some score for a wing back

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 25/03/2024 10:25:22    2533457

Look lads don't be salty against the Leitrim lads it wasn't their fault the ref was not up to scratch. Apart from the Laois game and robbed by Leitrim it was a progressive league. I suppose it's no concelation to the players but I think beat Carlow hopefully give Louth a good rattle and then see what the tailteann cup brings us.

Congrats to Ben brosnan on his 175 appearances unbelievable dedication

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 261 - 25/03/2024 10:55:45    2533468