Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To Yondu:  "I think the normal 2 years would be appropriate and then reviewed after the 2 years if doing well give him a 2 year extension.

In his first interview as Mayo manager he's said there is no real transition to do as that has already been done by James Horan the last 4 years.

It's full steam ahead to challenge for the All-Ireland. First objective is to get back dominating the Connacht championship as Mayo did 2011 to 2015."
No chance of dominating Connacht any time soon with Galway and thMighty Rossies around.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 26/08/2022 15:40:44    2438765

Replying To Rossieforever:  "No chance of dominating Connacht any time soon with Galway and thMighty Rossies around."
No need to dominate Connacht. Bigger catch outside. Leave Connacht to the Rossies ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 26/08/2022 21:53:03    2438778

Replying To Breffni1969:  "And to think the McStay will be off the TV as a co commentator/ wannabe analyst is just a dream!
The Mayo players now are the only ones who have to listen to him!!!"
He can talk the talk, can he walk the walk - that will be the interesting part!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 27/08/2022 07:22:06    2438779

Replying To baire:  "He can talk the talk, can he walk the walk - that will be the interesting part!"
Mixed record managing Roscommon. Won a Connacht title but oversaw our worst ever defeat in Croke Park which was against his native county on an afternoon Roscommon people will want to forget. Not sure he's the right fit now for Mayo. I also think there are two many big hitters in his back room team of Rochford, Buckley and McHale and that may not work out. Too many chiefs…

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 27/08/2022 12:25:31    2438807

Replying To yew_tree:  "No need to dominate Connacht. Bigger catch outside. Leave Connacht to the Rossies ;)"
Mayo are in decline. So will have to rebuild. A lot of the current team have tried and failed so new blood needed.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 28/08/2022 21:56:30    2438954

Replying To Rossieforever:  "Mayo are in decline. So will have to rebuild. A lot of the current team have tried and failed so new blood needed."
I've been hearing that since the Newbridge or nowhere defeat. Mayo will be competitive again next year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 29/08/2022 07:25:21    2438957

Replying To Rossieforever:  "Mayo are in decline. So will have to rebuild. A lot of the current team have tried and failed so new blood needed."
Think we may prove that statement to be wide of the mark. Reckon Mayo will still be one of the front runners in 2023.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 29/08/2022 10:06:04    2438977

Replying To ponga:  "Think we may prove that statement to be wide of the mark. Reckon Mayo will still be one of the front runners in 2023."
Pass no heed on the newbie from roscommon. He has multiple accounts. Well known

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 29/08/2022 10:24:46    2438980

I'm not saying they'll win but I'll be surprised if Mayo aren't in the final 4 come next July.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 29/08/2022 10:28:33    2438982

Replying To ponga:  "Think we may prove that statement to be wide of the mark. Reckon Mayo will still be one of the front runners in 2023."
Agree. It's a young Mayo team by and large. Get a clearer run of injuries and we'll be right there come the business end. Let's be honest, if we scraped past Galway last April I've no doubt we'd have found our way back to another All Ireland final. I don't see anything to suggest a big decline is on the way.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 29/08/2022 10:33:18    2438983

Replying To yew_tree:  "No need to dominate Connacht. Bigger catch outside. Leave Connacht to the Rossies ;)"
They won't dominate Connacht irrespective of whether they're playing Mayo or Galway; this year's Connacht final showed that.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/08/2022 10:41:04    2438985

Mayo will need to show the same level of improvement Kerry brought about after O'Connor took over, when he rectified what was a very flakey defence and to an extent midfield too, and did so without drafting in too many new faces. Jack got players to do the job they were supposed to be doing as a unit and that was basically down to his personality. I like Kevin McStay, though he wouldn't have been my first choice, however where he might be lacking is just that force of character needed to inspire. I don't think any of his management team are anything but able nice guys either, but what I'd be afraid of is Mayo ending up like Donegal, where you look at the individual players and see loads of potential, but very little of what they had collectively under Jim McG.

I remember once before a Connacht game Kevin saying that he and the lads would 'eat timber to beat Galway". The only eating done was by the Tribesmen, and that was it... very gifted footballer who did some wonderful individual things on the pitch, but never seemed to inspire those around him. I hope I'm completely wrong and you never know. He has experience on his side and so does his coaching team. I hope they can instill the will to win we saw from The Kingdom right through 2022 and get the run of luck James Horan completely lacked this year to be able to go through 2023 with a strong hand.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/08/2022 16:48:01    2439071

Replying To howdareu:  "Pass no heed on the newbie from roscommon. He has multiple accounts. Well known"
Sorry to diapoint you. I have just one account. It means what it says on the tin. I had a Mayo granny so I'm familiar with the Mayo God Help Us saying. I like McStay and hope he achives the big one before the usual suspects turn on him. Great supporters whim the bandwagon is rolling.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 30/08/2022 21:05:37    2439203

Ignore the WUMs lads, their sad obsession with us continues.

First round of the county championship up this weekend, some juicy ties ahead. Who are your picks? Hard to look past Mitchels, Knockmore, Westport and Ballintubber for me.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 31/08/2022 10:41:01    2439229

Replying To baire:  "He can talk the talk, can he walk the walk - that will be the interesting part!"
Oh he can talk the talk alright! He won't know whether he's in the pocket or off the shoulder or in the loop!!!

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 31/08/2022 11:01:08    2439232

Club Championship starting at the weekend. far too late for it starting but thats a different story.
bit of craic try and predict winners

Mayo SFC Group 1
The Neale16:00Westport GAA - Westport by 4
Ballintubber14:00Mayo Gaels - Ballintubber by 5

Mayo SFC Group 2
Ballaghaderreen18:00Ballina Stephenites - Draw
Knockmore14:00Aghamore - Knockmore by 6

Mayo SFC Group 3
Claremorris14:00Breaffy - Breaffy by 3
Balla16:00Béal an Mhuirthead - Balla by 2

Mayo SFC Group 4
Garrymore18:00Davitts - Garrymore by 1
Castlebar Mitchels14:00Charlestown Sarsfields - Castlebar by 7

Mayo IFC Group 1
Bonniconlon16:00Lahardane -Lahardane by 5
Louisburgh16:00Crossmolina Deel Rovers - Louisburgh by 4

Mayo IFC Group 2
Kiltane18:00Burrishoole - Kiltane by 3
Ballinrobe16:00Parke/Keelogues/Crimlin - Ballinrobe by 2

Mayo IFC Group 3
Ballyhaunis16:00Castlebar Mitchels - Ballyhaunis by 3
Ardnaree18:00Bohola Moy Davitts - Moy Davitts by 6

Mayo IFC Group 4
Kiltimagh16:00Hollymount-Carramore - Holly Carramore by 2
Kilmeena18:00Kilmaine - Kilmeena by 1

Mayo JFC Group 1
Eastern Gaels18:00Cill Chomain - Cill Chomain by 3
Moygownagh13:00Ballycastle - Ballycastle by 4

Mayo JFC Group 2
Swinford16:00Kilfian - Swinford by 8
Ardagh15:00Ballycroy - Ardagh by 6

Mayo JFC Group 3
Islandeady18:00Killala - Islandeady by 3

Mayo JFC Group 4
Achill14:00Tuar Mhic Éadaigh - Tourmak by 2
Lacken14:00Shrule/Glencorrib - Shrule/Glencorrib by 9

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 31/08/2022 11:51:09    2439235

Replying To Gleebo:  "Ignore the WUMs lads, their sad obsession with us continues.

First round of the county championship up this weekend, some juicy ties ahead. Who are your picks? Hard to look past Mitchels, Knockmore, Westport and Ballintubber for me."
A lot of people tipping Ballina this year. Knockmore, Mitchels and Westport would be my top 3.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 31/08/2022 11:59:41    2439238

Replying To MayoDan:  "A lot of people tipping Ballina this year. Knockmore, Mitchels and Westport would be my top 3."
I suppose Mitchels shaded Knockmore in the league final, so they would be the top two in the eyes of many. I am kinda disappointed that Westport haven't made the breakthrough at senior, really thought it was there for them last year.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 01/09/2022 17:27:23    2439345

Replying To Gleebo:  "I suppose Mitchels shaded Knockmore in the league final, so they would be the top two in the eyes of many. I am kinda disappointed that Westport haven't made the breakthrough at senior, really thought it was there for them last year."
Definitely still question marks over Westport until they do it. When you look at their squad on paper, they should be challenging for Connacht and AI titles, never mind the Moclair cup.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 01/09/2022 20:35:47    2439366

Replying To MayoDan:  "Definitely still question marks over Westport until they do it. When you look at their squad on paper, they should be challenging for Connacht and AI titles, never mind the Moclair cup."
Big win for them last night over the Neale. Tommy C a huge loss for them when you see that they only scored 0-3.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/09/2022 07:46:35    2439591