Cavan Seniors 2022

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "When Mickey took charge we were playing Div 1/2 football against all the top notch counties in front of large attendances home and away…. Now we are playing Div 3/4 games against London and Waterford in front of 2/3 thousand at most…. How is this progress…? Granted we got to 2 Ulster Finals ( deservedly winning in 2020 but how we managed to get there is still a mystery ) but the team never showed any progress from that win… it's as if they surprised even themselves with the win… Our performances this year have been anything but impressive and as I stated before Westmeath were our big test to where we are after the Donegal game and we failed it ….. It's time Micky was replaced"
ah ok, so let's bring McGleenan or Hyland back - how many Ulster Championships did they win between them playing Division One and Two? How many championship games did they even win?

The league should be used to develop younger footballers and that's exactly what he did, like most of the other teams - regardless of what Division we we are playing in, when it came to Championship, Mickey has made us a very competitive team, we ran Tyrone close last year and had it not been for some bad finishing and a slice of luck, we couldve beat Donegal this year - the last two managers werent even close to that.

Sundays final was down to three main contributing factors - the sending off, Reilly giving the ball away, and some of our bigger players simply not performing - management picked what they thought was the best team on the day. I see another poster speaking gibberish about Oisin Brady being dropped, maybe do some research before you post nonsense.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 11/07/2022 17:26:39    2431499

Replying To BreffniPark:  "Think that Mickey will quit, dropped Oisin Brady off the match day panel and replaced him with Niall Murray, not a move that shows he was thinking of next year"
so Mickey will quit because he dropped Brady from the panel!
thats a good reason for quitting alright!
maybe do some research before posting gibberish, Brady has been hampered by a hamstring injury for the last 4/5 months.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 11/07/2022 17:28:25    2431500

We need to be careful what we wish for, replacing mickey with who ? At the end of the day outside managers in recent seasons has not worked for Cavan, Martin McHugh being the exception and perhaps Mattie McGleenan who got us promoted to Div 1.

In the last 30 years how many years have Cavan been in Div 1 of the league ? 4 maybe 5 seasons (I'm not sure) and we probably got relegated every time apart from 1996 when we beat Tyrone to stay up but then the league was revamped. The point being, Cavan, even when in Div 1, don't stay there.

Now we will hear about how Monaghan are there for 7 season or whatever but I don't see much progression from them in the championship recently, they are probably happy with the "staying in div 1 cup" and anyway what's wrong with Div 2 ? 3 of the 4 semi finalists this year are linked with Div 2, Galway promoted from it, Dublin down to it and Derry staying in it so to say Cavan are Div 2 doesn't demean them, it's pointing out where they are and it's not a barrier to championship success either. To link to my last post, get behind the team and management (of which there is a serious amount of!)

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 11/07/2022 17:34:46    2431503

Replying To fredflint:  "I hope you are not levelling the accusation at me that I am a begrudger, I've backed mickey throughout his 4 years here. However I will say with pretty much this same team we were in Div1 for 2 seasons so now labelling us a Div 2/3 team is that not a sign of where we've gone.
There was more than 2 decisions wrong with our display and setup on Sunday. Management has to take some responsibility in this for putting out a team that can't defend or attack as a unit pretty much all year bar a few glimpses."
Dublin were relegated to Division 2 yet narrowly missed out on an All-Ireland Final - the reason they were relegated was because they lost a lot of players though retirement and had to blood new players whilst the likes of the other Division one teams were fielding strong teams in Division one.
Unfortunately, Cavan don't have the number of players that most of those other Counties, so the league is the only opportunity that Cavan have to blood players so there was always a risk that we could get relegated, however, we are more than competitive when it comes to championship, in fact, more competitive than we have been for a long long time. We played Division one and two under Hyland and McGleenan, yet neither of them came close to winning an Ulster. In fact, neither had to look for new blood either as both were very fortunate to have those players from the successful u21 teams, players in their prime, whereas Mickey didnt have that. On their day, Cavan are as good as any team in Ulster at present, something that we couldnt say in the last 20 years.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 11/07/2022 17:35:58    2431506

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Ah here we go, the begrudgers are out with the knives calling for Mickey's scalp, the same begrudgers who were happy with things under Terry for over 5 years - and I see even some are calling for Damien Donohoe to be given a chance, that tells me how clueless some supporters are.

Cavan would have won that game on Sunday but for two things; 1. A stupid red card and 2. A unexplainable pass from one of the teams most experience players that allowed Westmeath go up and score a goal (by the way, the defending for the goal was atrocious. Management didn't tell Galligan to get a red card, that was his decision only nor did they tell Martin Reilly to pass the ball to a Westmeath man - that's the difference between then top players and the rest, top players seldom make those mistakes and even if they do, they keep them to a minimum. Those were two big mistakes in a big game and were the main reasons for defeat.

Its easy to blame the management team when we lose - yes, we can say they should have did this and did that, but the fact is, once the team is picked, its up to the players on the pitch to go out and perform and unfortunately, a lot of them simply didn't perform to the best of their abilities.

The facts are that we have some very good footballers in Cavan and Mickey has worked wonders with them, two Ulster Final appearances in the space of a few years, and our first win since 1997. People need to realise that we are not Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Mayo, and Donegal, we are a Division 2/3 team at best and unfortunately, we have been now for a very long time. We simply dont have the top class players that the aforementioned Counties have (maybe we need to look at our underage development to see why) but one things for sure, hats off to the current panel of players and backroom team who give up so much time and effort to represent their County. Those people are amateur sports people, and as Mickey said, inter-county is 24/7 whilst trying to balance families and work, so rather than coming on here calling for heads to roll, why not come on and thank them all and give them the credit they deserve for all their efforts."
I hope you are not levelling the accusation at me that I am a begrudger, I've backed mickey throughout his 4 years here. However I will say with pretty much this same team we were in Div1 for 2 seasons so now labelling us a Div 2/3 team is that not a sign of where we've gone.
There was more than 2 decisions wrong with our display and setup on Sunday. Management has to take some responsibility in this for putting out a team that can't defend or attack as a unit pretty much all year bar a few glimpses.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 11/07/2022 17:45:46    2431509

Replying To BreffniPark:  "Think that Mickey will quit, dropped Oisin Brady off the match day panel and replaced him with Niall Murray, not a move that shows he was thinking of next year"
And poor Liam Brady too, there all year and never got a minute on the pitch even in the mckenna Cup. If Ray Galligan leaves as is very possible how are we set for a replacement keeper.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 11/07/2022 17:48:20    2431511

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Ah here we go, the begrudgers are out with the knives calling for Mickey's scalp, the same begrudgers who were happy with things under Terry for over 5 years - and I see even some are calling for Damien Donohoe to be given a chance, that tells me how clueless some supporters are.

Cavan would have won that game on Sunday but for two things; 1. A stupid red card and 2. A unexplainable pass from one of the teams most experience players that allowed Westmeath go up and score a goal (by the way, the defending for the goal was atrocious. Management didn't tell Galligan to get a red card, that was his decision only nor did they tell Martin Reilly to pass the ball to a Westmeath man - that's the difference between then top players and the rest, top players seldom make those mistakes and even if they do, they keep them to a minimum. Those were two big mistakes in a big game and were the main reasons for defeat.

Its easy to blame the management team when we lose - yes, we can say they should have did this and did that, but the fact is, once the team is picked, its up to the players on the pitch to go out and perform and unfortunately, a lot of them simply didn't perform to the best of their abilities.

The facts are that we have some very good footballers in Cavan and Mickey has worked wonders with them, two Ulster Final appearances in the space of a few years, and our first win since 1997. People need to realise that we are not Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Mayo, and Donegal, we are a Division 2/3 team at best and unfortunately, we have been now for a very long time. We simply dont have the top class players that the aforementioned Counties have (maybe we need to look at our underage development to see why) but one things for sure, hats off to the current panel of players and backroom team who give up so much time and effort to represent their County. Those people are amateur sports people, and as Mickey said, inter-county is 24/7 whilst trying to balance families and work, so rather than coming on here calling for heads to roll, why not come on and thank them all and give them the credit they deserve for all their efforts."
From listening to Mickey himself and reading between the lines it's odds on that he will quit. As he says himself it 24/7 and demanding job both physically and mentally.
Now I've great time for Mickey and what he's delivered . But he is responsible for his back room team and neither the defensive coach nor the forwards coach are up to the job.
No improvement shown since the Donegal game. No lessons learned.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 11/07/2022 20:32:05    2431543

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Dublin were relegated to Division 2 yet narrowly missed out on an All-Ireland Final - the reason they were relegated was because they lost a lot of players though retirement and had to blood new players whilst the likes of the other Division one teams were fielding strong teams in Division one.
Unfortunately, Cavan don't have the number of players that most of those other Counties, so the league is the only opportunity that Cavan have to blood players so there was always a risk that we could get relegated, however, we are more than competitive when it comes to championship, in fact, more competitive than we have been for a long long time. We played Division one and two under Hyland and McGleenan, yet neither of them came close to winning an Ulster. In fact, neither had to look for new blood either as both were very fortunate to have those players from the successful u21 teams, players in their prime, whereas Mickey didnt have that. On their day, Cavan are as good as any team in Ulster at present, something that we couldnt say in the last 20 years."
Good post, agree with you. If Graham goes, it's a nice setup
for a hungry manager with fresh energy to step into.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 12/07/2022 08:30:36    2431567

Replying To cavanblueman:  "ah ok, so let's bring McGleenan or Hyland back - how many Ulster Championships did they win between them playing Division One and Two? How many championship games did they even win?

The league should be used to develop younger footballers and that's exactly what he did, like most of the other teams - regardless of what Division we we are playing in, when it came to Championship, Mickey has made us a very competitive team, we ran Tyrone close last year and had it not been for some bad finishing and a slice of luck, we couldve beat Donegal this year - the last two managers werent even close to that.

Sundays final was down to three main contributing factors - the sending off, Reilly giving the ball away, and some of our bigger players simply not performing - management picked what they thought was the best team on the day. I see another poster speaking gibberish about Oisin Brady being dropped, maybe do some research before you post nonsense."
Ran Tyrone close last year…. did you see the match.. we were beaten out the gate … and were beaten the minute the draw was made… The only one with bad finishing this year were Donegal…they missed a hatful.. we had one chance that the keeper saved brilliantly from Smith…don't talk daft… In the league Carlow missed 3/4 open goals and in the Taltainn Sligo missed 4 sitters in Croke park against us.. We know our own inabilities up front to score goals ( another thing Graham failed to address ) but our lack of defending know how is shocking… The 2 goals we conceded v Donegal were of Junior B standard defending and we coughed up chances for goals in every game yet Management didn't or are unable to rectify it… We are not one of the big teams who can use the League to blood a load of players.. we need to be in at least Div 2 to even give one of the better teams a game in the Ulster Championship… If we keep playing in Div3/4 ( Graham led us there ) you will still be harking on about our 2020 Ulster win ( which was a lucky Covid campaign ) in another 25 years time… Derry,Armagh , Tyrone and Donegal are all now ahead of us in Ulster… On current form I wouldn't fancy us against any of them…. Time to wake up and smell the roses… Taltainn Cup is our level and it's thanks to current management..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1920 - 12/07/2022 10:20:28    2431589

Replying To cavanblueman:  "ah ok, so let's bring McGleenan or Hyland back - how many Ulster Championships did they win between them playing Division One and Two? How many championship games did they even win?

Sundays final was down to three main contributing factors - the sending off, Reilly giving the ball away, and some of our bigger players simply not performing - management picked what they thought was the best team on the day. I see another poster speaking gibberish about Oisin Brady being dropped, maybe do some research before you post nonsense."
Ran Tyrone close last year…. did you see the match.. we were beaten out the gate … and were beaten the minute the draw was made… The only one with bad finishing this year were Donegal…they missed a hatful.. we had one chance that the keeper saved brilliantly from Smith…don't talk daft… In the league Carlow missed 3/4 open goals and in the Taltainn Sligo missed 4 sitters in Croke park against us.. We know our own inabilities up front to score goals ( another thing Graham failed to address ) but our lack of defending know how is shocking… The 2 goals we conceded v Donegal were of Junior B standard defending and we coughed up chances for goals in every game yet Management didn't or are unable to rectify it… We are not one of the big teams who can use the League to blood a load of players.. we need to be in at least Div 2 to even give one of the better teams a game in the Ulster Championship… If we keep playing in Div3/4 ( Graham led us there ) you will still be harking on about our 2020 Ulster win ( which was a lucky Covid campaign ) in another 25 years time… Derry,Armagh , Tyrone and Donegal are all now ahead of us in Ulster… On current form I wouldn't fancy us against any of them…. Time to wake up and smell the roses… Taltainn Cup is our level and it's thanks to current management..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1920 - 12/07/2022 10:29:56    2431593

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Ran Tyrone close last year…. did you see the match.. we were beaten out the gate … and were beaten the minute the draw was made… The only one with bad finishing this year were Donegal…they missed a hatful.. we had one chance that the keeper saved brilliantly from Smith…don't talk daft… In the league Carlow missed 3/4 open goals and in the Taltainn Sligo missed 4 sitters in Croke park against us.. We know our own inabilities up front to score goals ( another thing Graham failed to address ) but our lack of defending know how is shocking… The 2 goals we conceded v Donegal were of Junior B standard defending and we coughed up chances for goals in every game yet Management didn't or are unable to rectify it… We are not one of the big teams who can use the League to blood a load of players.. we need to be in at least Div 2 to even give one of the better teams a game in the Ulster Championship… If we keep playing in Div3/4 ( Graham led us there ) you will still be harking on about our 2020 Ulster win ( which was a lucky Covid campaign ) in another 25 years time… Derry,Armagh , Tyrone and Donegal are all now ahead of us in Ulster… On current form I wouldn't fancy us against any of them…. Time to wake up and smell the roses… Taltainn Cup is our level and it's thanks to current management.."
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 824 - 12/07/2022 10:20:28

What you are saying definitely has merit and i feel Graham is getting a free pass due to 2020.

He brought us down the Divisions now the question is can he bring us back up to at least Division 2?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 847 - 12/07/2022 10:39:01    2431595

Regardless of what mistakes were made on the day against Westmeath there has been no improvement defensively since the London game.
Galway's defence has improved 50% at least from the Armagh game.
So has Kerry's since the Cork game.
Every team we played London, Donegal, Tipperary, Sligo, Westmeath had gilt edge chances to bury us but poor finishing on their behalf let us off the hook.
5 defenders shielded K Martin for Westmeaths 2nd goal and not 1 laid a glove on him.
Someone has to take responsibility for things like that.
Be it management or players.
Now Mickey is probably or best Manager of the last 3 we had but he needs to surround himself with a proper defensive and forwards coaches who can nit things together.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 12/07/2022 11:02:34    2431606

A message to all the moaners and negative posters and people with very short memories on here just give your moaning a rest for a year or two and then you will really have a reason to moan full time.
Where were we going in the ulster championship before mickey took over and what was out record what about our victory over monaghan and two great displays against Armagh on our way to the ulster final in 2019 and how great it was to play in a final even though we did not perform. 2020 will never be repeated got to final against all odds and poor starts in games and won an unbelivable game with the best performnce ever produced by a Cavan team for the full 60 minutes. We lost to Tyrone last year who went on to win the all ireland and put up a very credible performance this year thrashing antrim and playing our best football of the year against Donegal in a game we easily could have won so again we were very competitive in the only meaniful competition we play in each year before this years tailteann cup.
In the tailteann cup we gave a very good account of ourselves and just came up short in the final in a game of small margins and in which we did not perform to near our best but still would probably have one if we had not of been issued with a correct red card of even madden had of buried his goal chance at the end.
Wake up and smell the roses this is our golden generation of footballers they have won minor under 21 and ulster senior championship medals in ulster. If Mickey had not of come along the final and most important victory would never have happened. They are now in the twlight of their careers and i say many are pondering their future as i am sure is Mickey. If we are lucky there may be one or at most two years left in them with us having an outside chance of winning ulster if they stay on and a good chance of winning the tailteann cup. if they or mickey go and if one goes alot will follow we are staring into the abyss as in general we are cannor fodder at under age most years ( this years under 21 suprised everyone) and there are no footballers in the county more committed or talented than what is there at the moment. In two years time or less you will have loads of reasons to moan and run down the team when we are not even competitive in the tailtenn cup.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 12/07/2022 11:03:34    2431607

Replying To ondforty:  "Good post, agree with you. If Graham goes, it's a nice setup
for a hungry manager with fresh energy to step into."
If he goes he is leaving a defensive mess behind him… This guy was and is way out of his depth

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1920 - 12/07/2022 11:08:34    2431609

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Dublin were relegated to Division 2 yet narrowly missed out on an All-Ireland Final - the reason they were relegated was because they lost a lot of players though retirement and had to blood new players whilst the likes of the other Division one teams were fielding strong teams in Division one.
Unfortunately, Cavan don't have the number of players that most of those other Counties, so the league is the only opportunity that Cavan have to blood players so there was always a risk that we could get relegated, however, we are more than competitive when it comes to championship, in fact, more competitive than we have been for a long long time. We played Division one and two under Hyland and McGleenan, yet neither of them came close to winning an Ulster. In fact, neither had to look for new blood either as both were very fortunate to have those players from the successful u21 teams, players in their prime, whereas Mickey didnt have that. On their day, Cavan are as good as any team in Ulster at present, something that we couldnt say in the last 20 years."
On their day, Cavan are as good as any team in Ulster at present, something that we couldnt say in the last 20 years."

So we are as good as Derry/Donegal/Tyrone but we can't win the Tailteann cup (established exclusively for weak teams). That makes great sense.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 12/07/2022 12:04:49    2431622

Mickeys time is up…. We are going nowhere under him…brought us down the divisions yet some deluded clowns on here see it as some sort of progress… mind boggling

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1920 - 12/07/2022 12:13:20    2431629

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "A message to all the moaners and negative posters and people with very short memories on here just give your moaning a rest for a year or two and then you will really have a reason to moan full time.
Where were we going in the ulster championship before mickey took over and what was out record what about our victory over monaghan and two great displays against Armagh on our way to the ulster final in 2019 and how great it was to play in a final even though we did not perform. 2020 will never be repeated got to final against all odds and poor starts in games and won an unbelivable game with the best performnce ever produced by a Cavan team for the full 60 minutes. We lost to Tyrone last year who went on to win the all ireland and put up a very credible performance this year thrashing antrim and playing our best football of the year against Donegal in a game we easily could have won so again we were very competitive in the only meaniful competition we play in each year before this years tailteann cup.
In the tailteann cup we gave a very good account of ourselves and just came up short in the final in a game of small margins and in which we did not perform to near our best but still would probably have one if we had not of been issued with a correct red card of even madden had of buried his goal chance at the end.
Wake up and smell the roses this is our golden generation of footballers they have won minor under 21 and ulster senior championship medals in ulster. If Mickey had not of come along the final and most important victory would never have happened. They are now in the twlight of their careers and i say many are pondering their future as i am sure is Mickey. If we are lucky there may be one or at most two years left in them with us having an outside chance of winning ulster if they stay on and a good chance of winning the tailteann cup. if they or mickey go and if one goes alot will follow we are staring into the abyss as in general we are cannor fodder at under age most years ( this years under 21 suprised everyone) and there are no footballers in the county more committed or talented than what is there at the moment. In two years time or less you will have loads of reasons to moan and run down the team when we are not even competitive in the tailtenn cup."
We can't win the Tailteann Cup for 3/4 Div team how in gods name do you expect to win Ulster?
Derry and Armagh have passed us going by there performances this year.
Armagh were beaten by 6 points by Donegal in the Ulster Championship same as us and came out in the qualifiers and should real improvement .
We couldn't show any improvement since Donegal even against Div 3/4 teams.
Wise up and forget about 2020. That's in the past. You may as well bring up 1952 while you at it..
Dublin won 5 in a row but it didn't count last Sunday
Talk about the present/ future. Forget past glories.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 12/07/2022 12:19:10    2431631

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "On their day, Cavan are as good as any team in Ulster at present, something that we couldnt say in the last 20 years."

So we are as good as Derry/Donegal/Tyrone but we can't win the Tailteann cup (established exclusively for weak teams). That makes great sense."
Exactly Ned…. These guys live in cloud cuckoo land or simply clueless as regards the standard of our County team….probably a bit of both

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1920 - 12/07/2022 13:06:50    2431641

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "On their day, Cavan are as good as any team in Ulster at present, something that we couldnt say in the last 20 years."

So we are as good as Derry/Donegal/Tyrone but we can't win the Tailteann cup (established exclusively for weak teams). That makes great sense."
Exactly Ned…. These guys live in cloud cuckoo land or simply clueless as regards the standard of our County team….probably a bit of both

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1920 - 12/07/2022 13:11:23    2431645

Christ there's some ***** talked on here ! ! mind boggling :(

5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 12/07/2022 13:32:48    2431652