Monaghan GAA thread

Would Dominic Corrigan not be a better choice as an outside manager
McComville has a cushy number with all the podcasts he's on

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 30/06/2022 17:29:40    2428887

Replying To FootblockREF:  "McConville has been managing and failing in Monaghan for a while now.
He seems to be living off losing narrowly in a semi final 2 years ago in a game they should have won. Played Scotstown twice in last years Championship, got bet out the gate by a team barely in 2nd gear. He hasn't improved Inniskeen even a little bit despite them being a talented team.
He is nowhere close to what Monaghan need now or ever."
I agree Mc conville would need more experience. Of the Mc entee brothers I think John is the better option having won a county title with clontibret a few years ago playing good football

Dcgael (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 30/06/2022 19:24:13    2428906

Firstly I would like to thank Banty and all of his backroom team for all the time and dedication they have given to Monaghan football league over the last few years.
If we are to go for an outside manager, why not aim to get the best that is available in Jim Gavin.
Yes I know it's unlikely that we could get him but why not try.
At the end of the day if Jim Gavin is to be coaxed back to inter county management I think Monaghan would be a great fit, only a hour down the road and a lot of the panel already do a lot of training in Dublin.
If we are to go with a local for me I would like to see Andy Callan get a shoot, think he is a excellent manager who would know all the talent available in the county.

Totalballer (Monaghan) - Posts: 39 - 30/06/2022 21:17:25    2428916

Replying To patmouse:  "Yes we would have won the AI, Euros and WC if we had them players

I am already hearing about rebuilding ( we are not having that)

The next manager has to set to the same standard as the people on this site forum wanted from Banty
A) staying in Division 1
B) wining Ulster and get to at least AL final
anything else will be a disaster ( just read the previous posts)

We will end up getting a manger from Armagh or Tyrone as seemingly there is no other county that can play football
he will cost us a fortune and be gone in 2 years and the cycle will happen again and again."
The next manager has to set to the same standard as the people on this site forum wanted from Banty
A) staying in Division 1
B) wining Ulster and get to at least AL final
anything else will be a disaster ( just read the previous posts)

We will end up getting a manger from Armagh or Tyrone as seemingly there is no other county that can play football
he will cost us a fortune and be gone in 2 years and the cycle will happen again and again.
patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 88 - 29/06/2022 18:17:40 2

I think Monaghan have put to much effort into staying in Division 1 and a year out of it would do ye no harm.

You have to go near full strength every game to try and gather up the points to stay in its leaving it harder to integrate younger players into the team. You have had some good under age teams over the past few years but are enough of them coming through for when the retirements start with the older lads?

Been in Division one hasn't really been benefit to you come championship the last few years either.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 01/07/2022 13:08:33    2428990

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Step One; Announce resignation.
Step Two: Do media
Step Three: Repeat Step Two.
Step Four: In about 3 months when Monaghan can't get a manager announce that you would be willing to return.
Step Five: Return with a total mandate from County Board.
Step Six: Announce Manuel Pellegrini as Technical Director. Dino Zoff as Goalkeeping coach and H from Steps as H from Steps."
another horrible post. who would bother taking on this job.

All i seen or heard was a very well worded statement about the last 3 years and plenty of praise for the players and supporters. Giving up your life for 3 yrs to manage a county and getting smart comments like above would put anyone from taking over.

I think Andy Callan is the perfect man for the job, he's local, has done a great job with the underage teams and is a proud Monaghan man

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 112 - 01/07/2022 13:45:00    2428995

Replying To patmouse:  "another horrible post. who would bother taking on this job.

All i seen or heard was a very well worded statement about the last 3 years and plenty of praise for the players and supporters. Giving up your life for 3 yrs to manage a county and getting smart comments like above would put anyone from taking over.

I think Andy Callan is the perfect man for the job, he's local, has done a great job with the underage teams and is a proud Monaghan man"
What has Andy won?

Nothing, just like Banty.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 01/07/2022 18:19:34    2429083

Mmm, Andy won plenty, he won the junior and intermediate leagues back to back with killanny, then won an intermediate double with carrickmacross, lost in Ulster to the eventual all Ireland winners ,
Managed the Monaghan u20 to an Ulster final only losing in extra time and all while dealing with very difficult circumstances

So for me , Andy has a proper CV

Monaghan78 (Monaghan) - Posts: 22 - 02/07/2022 10:56:51    2429135

There is no ready made replacement some of the best appointments will show a left or right of the obvious not just in monaghan but across all codes

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 02/07/2022 11:03:42    2429138

Replying To Monaghan78:  "Mmm, Andy won plenty, he won the junior and intermediate leagues back to back with killanny, then won an intermediate double with carrickmacross, lost in Ulster to the eventual all Ireland winners ,
Managed the Monaghan u20 to an Ulster final only losing in extra time and all while dealing with very difficult circumstances

So for me , Andy has a proper CV"
Hopefully Andy will be involved,if not as manager then as assistant. Did an unbelievable job with the Under 20s. But for the tragic circumstances, I have no doubt he would have won an All Ireland with those lads despite being "robbed" of two of the stars of that group. A team that might I add underachieved under our departing Senior manager. Word is that Malachy is in the frame, which has to be good news. Malachy with Andy alongside him with some of our recently retired players in the backroom and a five year contract to build with the young lads would be a great way to go.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 02/07/2022 16:36:24    2429239

Replying To Totalballer:  "Firstly I would like to thank Banty and all of his backroom team for all the time and dedication they have given to Monaghan football league over the last few years.
If we are to go for an outside manager, why not aim to get the best that is available in Jim Gavin.
Yes I know it's unlikely that we could get him but why not try.
At the end of the day if Jim Gavin is to be coaxed back to inter county management I think Monaghan would be a great fit, only a hour down the road and a lot of the panel already do a lot of training in Dublin.
If we are to go with a local for me I would like to see Andy Callan get a shoot, think he is a excellent manager who would know all the talent available in the county."
Andy Callan had a poor record with the under 20s

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 350 - 05/07/2022 10:49:12    2429799

I've seen the closing date for nominations is Thursdays the 14th of July. Not far off, anyone hear of any tickets being put together?

It's eerily quiet…….

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 06/07/2022 10:23:56    2430019

What's everyone's thoughts on championship draws? Intermediate group 1 looks a tight one

monaghanman99 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 06/07/2022 12:44:58    2430073

Replying To monaghanman99:  "What's everyone's thoughts on championship draws? Intermediate group 1 looks a tight one"
Group 1 in junior very tight also

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 06/07/2022 13:17:44    2430082

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Andy Callan had a poor record with the under 20s"
Why not Vinny and martin Corey ? Maybe with Gerry Connolly as support .. could do worse

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 08/07/2022 11:01:39    2430427

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Andy Callan had a poor record with the under 20s"
Explain.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 08/07/2022 11:37:35    2430446

Replying To stoneygrey:  "Why not Vinny and martin Corey ? Maybe with Gerry Connolly as support .. could do worse"
I think Vinny needs to prove himself at club level first. A ticket with him and his brother would be a decent one in time.

Would John McEntee go for it?
McConville - hard to see him taking it with all his media commitments which he seems content with
Eoin Lennon - I would like to see how he does with Kingscourt.
Mark Counihan - I think he'll want the U20 job first. He was reluctant to stay on as minor boss this year but was blocked from u20 job
Conor Laverty - think he would be a very good choice

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 08/07/2022 11:46:47    2430450

Replying To sleater:  "I think Vinny needs to prove himself at club level first. A ticket with him and his brother would be a decent one in time.

McConville - hard to see him taking it with all his media commitments which he seems content with
Mark Counihan - I think he'll want the U20 job first. He was reluctant to stay on as minor boss this year but was blocked from u20 job
Conor Laverty - think he would be a very good choice"
The problem with all these names are the same, not big enough.

I'm hearing reports of players making demands of the county board to go out and get Jim Gavin..

Now, I've a few issues with this.

Firstly, Jim Gavin left a dublin team because he seen the possibility of the good days coming to an end, so if the players think he's going to look back at this years performances and think "there's a team I could get a beat outta" they are delusional.
For all Bantys faults, and there were many, I still put a massive onus on the players for their lack of anything associated with Monaghan football, intensity, hunger, hard work, all these things are very controllable from a Individual players perspective. Banty put together a who's who of a backroom team and the team didn't improve. The common denominator is the players.
So, get off your high horses lads, be extremely grateful to any man, be that internal or external that is willing to invest his time into yous and for the love of god don't be losing the run of yourselfs.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 08/07/2022 18:42:18    2430550

Replying To sleater:  "I think Vinny needs to prove himself at club level first. A ticket with him and his brother would be a decent one in time.

Conor Laverty - think he would be a very good choice"
Oisin McConville said he had no interest in the Monaghan job , on the Examiner Gaa pod

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=phea2Pk14hs

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 08/07/2022 19:59:27    2430562

Get Malachy back quick! Wouldn't surprise me if we see Banty back in. In fact, resigning could be all part of his evil scheme. Lol

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 09/07/2022 09:32:56    2430601

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Oisin McConville said he had no interest in the Monaghan job , on the Examiner Gaa pod

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=phea2Pk14hs"
Thankfully

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 350 - 09/07/2022 13:27:44    2430652