Replying To mick2007: "I'd love to see who the doubters where.. In the last 10 county finals and picking from 5 adult teams and then when they poached jack of Currin it only made them even hotter favourites.. anything less than a county title and a serious crack at ulster would and will be a complete embarrassment and an ultimate miserable failure..." Jealous much?
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 18/09/2023 17:35:26
Replying To veterngaa: "Jealous much?" its a fact nothing about being jealous, ask anyone in the currin club (esp mentors who have coached Jack from he was 7 years of age) what they think and its defo not jealously…… I deal in facts.... for anyone to say Scotstown had Doubters this year is a ridiculous statement…esp with ballybay and truagh in a mess..when you see avery average corduff side in a senior championship semi final its says it all about the current standard of club football in Monaghan…
mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 569 - 19/09/2023 08:57:32
Don't think it is jealousy. I think that poster is being quite realistic. Scotstown with a huge pick, players brought in, serious experienced players and in the last 10 county finals. This is some benefit for any team and fair play to them but they have seriously underachieved. They should be looking at nothing less than an Ulster title IMO for the caliber of players they have and the experience they have on board.
Regarding the rest of the championship I believe Scotstown will set a standard against Aughnamullen and beat them at a canter. Aughnamullen definitely have had a decent championship run. Can see Clontibret edging Latton by the bare minimum. There will be nothing between them.
Corduff v Scotstown semi which you would imagine being a great battle. Not that Corduff are near as good as Scotstown but they will drag Scotstown down to their level. Be liable to see a red card or two that day. IMO be Inniskeen v Clontibret in the other semi. Simply can not call this one. Be a cagey affair going by their championship game a few weeks back so would be brilliant to see them go toe to toe with each other again. This would be another game where you could see red cards. Really looking forward to the remainder of the Championship.
Intermediate I believe will be a proper ding dong battle now. I fancy Carrick and Blayney to make the final but anything could happen. Emyvale could put in a late push and also Harps may give some trouble. Credit must go to Harps they were down and out last year, avoided relegation to Junior and now competing for a Intermediate championship, good work being done.
Heard a report from Toome game at the weekend regarding the game being abandoned- Hopefully player involved makes a full recovery and gets back on the field soon.
countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 289 - 19/09/2023 09:32:45
Replying To mick2007: "its a fact nothing about being jealous, ask anyone in the currin club (esp mentors who have coached Jack from he was 7 years of age) what they think and its defo not jealously…… I deal in facts.... for anyone to say Scotstown had Doubters this year is a ridiculous statement…esp with ballybay and truagh in a mess..when you see avery average corduff side in a senior championship semi final its says it all about the current standard of club football in Monaghan…" From what I've of McCarron in this years championship I wouldn't be too worried. Has he improved Scotstown much?
eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 119 - 19/09/2023 11:25:58
Replying To eirekeeper: "From what I've of McCarron in this years championship I wouldn't be too worried. Has he improved Scotstown much?" Is he not the top scorer in this year's championship? I could be wrong on that. Anywahs, they were going to win it with / without him (or the Donegal transfer they got). It's just a shame they'll be winning it with two outsiders starting instead of two Scotstown men.
HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 19/09/2023 11:48:48
Replying To HB245: "Is he not the top scorer in this year's championship? I could be wrong on that. Anywahs, they were going to win it with / without him (or the Donegal transfer they got). It's just a shame they'll be winning it with two outsiders starting instead of two Scotstown men." I think Inniskeen will have a big say in the matter. Impressively strong this year. Good, young team and Durnin is quality in midfield.
eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 119 - 19/09/2023 13:29:26
Replying To HB245: "Is he not the top scorer in this year's championship? I could be wrong on that. Anywahs, they were going to win it with / without him (or the Donegal transfer they got). It's just a shame they'll be winning it with two outsiders starting instead of two Scotstown men." I think ye are all getting a bit carried away with scotstown, do you remember what happened last year in the final,they have won nothing yet this year and if it wasn't for the Hughes brothers and beggan, they are a very ordinary team,mccarron hasn't added that much to be honest,the clontibret game was the only decent performance from him,I think corduff will defo test them and whoever is coming in the final ,will be ready for them ,as for the chances of a ulster club not a prayer with the management knowledge of ulster football.
Blanket (Monaghan) - Posts: 42 - 19/09/2023 13:46:19
Replying To mick2007: "its a fact nothing about being jealous, ask anyone in the currin club (esp mentors who have coached Jack from he was 7 years of age) what they think and its defo not jealously…… I deal in facts.... for anyone to say Scotstown had Doubters this year is a ridiculous statement…esp with ballybay and truagh in a mess..when you see avery average corduff side in a senior championship semi final its says it all about the current standard of club football in Monaghan…" He's entitled to play for Scotstown
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 19/09/2023 13:50:39
Replying To HB245: "Is he not the top scorer in this year's championship? I could be wrong on that. Anywahs, they were going to win it with / without him (or the Donegal transfer they got). It's just a shame they'll be winning it with two outsiders starting instead of two Scotstown men." Ballybay and Clontibret all won their championships with starting players not from their club respectively
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 19/09/2023 13:52:14
Replying To veterngaa: "He's entitled to play for Scotstown" I'm entitled to play for the likes of kilmacud crokes if I want but it dosent make it right, goes completely against the whole ethos of the GAA.. chasing a meaningless hollow medal or 2 is definitely not worth the bad blood it's caused…when that great scotstown won county championships and ulsters in the 80's they never had to chase outsiders to play…
mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 569 - 19/09/2023 16:30:51
Replying To Blanket: "I think ye are all getting a bit carried away with scotstown, do you remember what happened last year in the final,they have won nothing yet this year and if it wasn't for the Hughes brothers and beggan, they are a very ordinary team,mccarron hasn't added that much to be honest,the clontibret game was the only decent performance from him,I think corduff will defo test them and whoever is coming in the final ,will be ready for them ,as for the chances of a ulster club not a prayer with the management knowledge of ulster football." On last years final, with all due respect to a great Ballybay team (as they proved when they beat Crossmaglen in Ulster)… The only reason Scotstown didn't win last years' championship was because Kieran Hughes did not play any championship football with injury. Worth noting that they comfortably beat Inniskeen without Kieran Hughes in last years semi final. It remains to be seen whether or not he'll be fit to play any part this year, but even without him, the addition of McCarron is enough to see them over the line.
HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 19/09/2023 17:22:14
Replying To veterngaa: "Ballybay and Clontibret all won their championships with starting players not from their club respectively" Ballybay certainly did with Galligan and Hannon. Both played huge rules on the team for the last 6 or 7 years and have started most championship games. The difference being that (A) neither of these players transferred from a Junior club in Monaghan to the best team in Monaghan and (B) Ballybay can barely field a second team these days. While Scotstown have 5 adult teams. So I guess people aren't as harsh when they are signing players. I don't recall any outsiders being on Clontibret 2014/2019 teams but could be wrong.
HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 19/09/2023 17:27:00
Replying To Blanket: "I think ye are all getting a bit carried away with scotstown, do you remember what happened last year in the final,they have won nothing yet this year and if it wasn't for the Hughes brothers and beggan, they are a very ordinary team,mccarron hasn't added that much to be honest,the clontibret game was the only decent performance from him,I think corduff will defo test them and whoever is coming in the final ,will be ready for them ,as for the chances of a ulster club not a prayer with the management knowledge of ulster football." Peter Donnelly would know a thing or 2 as well as Diarmuid Scullion?
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 19/09/2023 18:30:12
Took in a few matches over the weekend. Castleblayney v Harps Two moderately young teams with talented players going in the right direction. Good standard. Blayney appear to be doing alot right at all levels and will only be a matter of time before they are back at the top table. Intermediate is very open and competitive.
Scotstown v Clontibret Conditions were horrible but the standard was brilliant. These two always throw up brilliant games. Scotstown going from strength to strength and will no doubt win the championship again at an ease! Mc Carron and Hughes inside were a nightmare for Clontibret. Clontibret kicked a few lovely points from range. Too reliant on the old guard!
Blackhill v Drumhowan Competitive match. Two tough teams hard to break down. Drumhowan just got too many scores going in before HT and Blackhill struggled to get back into it. Expect both teams to cruise into the semi finals this weekend.
Senior Scotstowns to loose! Heard bad reports about Latton v Corduff. Dire to watch all down to Corduff. Truagh v Ballybay was a none event.
Was there too many dead rubber matches this weekend at all levels??
Intermediate Very competitive.
Juniors Expect Tyholland to win it out. Drumhowan and Eire Og both with serious momentum in a seriously competitive group. Expect Tyholland, Eire Og, Blackhill and Drumhowan to comfortably make the semi finals.
Planning to take in few relegation games this weekend.
farneygossip (Monaghan) - Posts: 38 - 19/09/2023 19:22:20
I was at the last 2 Corduff matches and yo be honest, the referees and their officials need to start doing their job before someone gets seriously injured. In the last game v Latton there should of been 3 red cards, the march before was only time a ref stood up to Corduff. You have Banty, Pat, Marron and Mc Nally on the sidelines, how can a ref not be intimidated. In fairness teams know what's coming but still react to this pure thuggery. They are set up well which is thanks to Rory Gallagher. They are spending more money than a county team. Last thing neither of the above referees should be aloud to referee any senior championship games.
Desman (Monaghan) - Posts: 36 - 19/09/2023 20:56:16
A lot of deluded members in here ,
For me it's plain and simple . Inniskeen will clearly win the senior championship.
As for intermediate , it is not so clear to call. I can't see Carrick being bet with the quality players they have. A defence with Cillian Cromwell and Jack mcgeown is a championship winning defence.
Farneyarmy123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 4 - 20/09/2023 09:46:40
Replying To Desman: "I was at the last 2 Corduff matches and yo be honest, the referees and their officials need to start doing their job before someone gets seriously injured. In the last game v Latton there should of been 3 red cards, the march before was only time a ref stood up to Corduff. You have Banty, Pat, Marron and Mc Nally on the sidelines, how can a ref not be intimidated. In fairness teams know what's coming but still react to this pure thuggery. They are set up well which is thanks to Rory Gallagher. They are spending more money than a county team. Last thing neither of the above referees should be aloud to referee any senior championship games." To be honest I wouldn't bring my 2 young lads anywhere near a corduff match.. scandalous what's going on…
mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 569 - 20/09/2023 13:25:39
Replying To Farneyarmy123: "A lot of deluded members in here ,
For me it's plain and simple . Inniskeen will clearly win the senior championship.
As for intermediate , it is not so clear to call. I can't see Carrick being bet with the quality players they have. A defence with Cillian Cromwell and Jack mcgeown is a championship winning defence." They have the colours of Mayo and the senior pedigree mayo,no chance..
Monaghanlad (Monaghan) - Posts: 30 - 20/09/2023 13:52:01
Replying To HB245: "Ballybay certainly did with Galligan and Hannon. Both played huge rules on the team for the last 6 or 7 years and have started most championship games. The difference being that (A) neither of these players transferred from a Junior club in Monaghan to the best team in Monaghan and (B) Ballybay can barely field a second team these days. While Scotstown have 5 adult teams. So I guess people aren't as harsh when they are signing players. I don't recall any outsiders being on Clontibret 2014/2019 teams but could be wrong." Fadian the keeper in 2014 is from Mayo. 2019 not so sure
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 20/09/2023 17:12:34
Replying To mick2007: "I'm entitled to play for the likes of kilmacud crokes if I want but it dosent make it right, goes completely against the whole ethos of the GAA.. chasing a meaningless hollow medal or 2 is definitely not worth the bad blood it's caused…when that great scotstown won county championships and ulsters in the 80's they never had to chase outsiders to play…" It's his fathers club, nothing wrong with it.
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 20/09/2023 17:14:06