Westmeath Football thread

Replying To TheGaaMan77:  "Coming out ofcusack park yesterday a lot of downs fans were slating the referee but as a neutral I thought st lomans were on the harsher side of calls …. That was a free all day on Nathan Lally, Peter foy got a yellow card for a shoulder in the next play Niall Mitchell did the exact same thing to Jack Geoghegan that led to the ref blowing for over carrying and giving the downs a 21 yard free …. Fola was was man handled most the game yet a previous poster stated he was lucky to not be sent off …. Niall Mitchell was constantly looking to engage in fights and could count himself a bit lucky he wasn't punished abit more …all in all a great game but to say the downs didn't get calls is an abysmal shout when as a neutral I felt they got the rub of the green from the referee"
Clearly a Lomans man… In your post you mentioned five '50/50 calls' that went the downs way, I suppose Lomans didn't get one 50/50 call all day did they? There are 50/50 calls in every game, but guess what, they have to go one way or another. If you wear tinted glasses you can make out any team was hard done by.

I heard nobody giving out about the referee post match. I'm not questioning that you may have heard one or two people giving out, but that happens after every single game.

Referee had a great game and clearly has a good understanding of how players act and is well able to use common sense.

westmeathman99 (Westmeath) - Posts: 117 - 16/10/2024 12:38:10    2575273

Replying To Temple56:  "Manger - picks team, deals with players and has final say
Coach - help pick team, runs training sessions
3 selectors - help pick team and help with training sessions.
GK coach - Takes GK away during training and work on things like kick outs.
S&C Coach - Does gym program, does warm ups before training. Helps players get back from injury
Physio - injury's
2/3 Kit Men - getting all equipment ready for training and matches. Pick up all cones and other equipment while training is ongoing. Washing jerseys and bibs after every match or training session
Performance/ Stats man - analyses all matches and gathers stats for management team and players that they can use to improve performance. Also gathers all GPS stats.

This is common in most well run senior clubs around the country. No need to always have a go at Lomans. They are the one club that have their house in order. 10 senior finals in a row is now joke."
To start this post I want to say I am in no way having a go at Lomans here, but say this is common for most well run clubs is ludicrous. Fair play to Lomans for having the funding and facilities to be able to have this size of a backroom team , but I think it's a bit of an insult to clubs who can't afford this to suggest 'well run clubs have a huge backroom'.

Again this is no slight on any club but if this is the way Gaa is going the gap between urban clubs and rural clubs is only going to get bigger. I can remember the days when a junior club could have a 4/5 good young players come through and within a few years could be competing in the senior championship. I can't see this being possible anymore.

The vast majority of junior clubs (some of which are very well run) will only have; a manager and two selectors (who will often have the task of kitman, gk coach and 'cone collector') and perhaps they might get an s&c coach in every couple of months.

Also a side note, I am delighted to see 2 sole junior clubs in the final this weekend. I do fear that eventually some of the senior second teams will be far too strong for the junior clubs.

westmeathman99 (Westmeath) - Posts: 117 - 16/10/2024 12:54:10    2575276

Well done to those involved in getting Dermot Mc Cabe and Mark Mc Hugh to Westmeath. The connection between our new manager and new coach goes way back. When Cavan won the Ulster title beating Derry in 1997 Mc Hugh's dad Martin was manager. Mc Cabe was very much to the fore as a colossus of a midfielder. I remember seeing a picture of Mark as a young boy in a Cavan jersey celebrating. Cavan had to wait until 2020 to win regain Ulster but it was no real surprise Mc Cabe was involved again. I remember seeing Mc Cabe on the sideline in an u16 Gerry Reilly match not long ago. My nephew was playing for Cavan. Im not sure Mc Cabe was coaching Cavan or just there in his role as development officer. Anyway Cavan were winning by a point and Meath had a line ball with time almost up. Next thing Mc Cabe came over and booted the ball over the fence haha. I guess winning is his only priority. He will be a strong leader and thats what we need going forward.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 229 - 16/10/2024 13:12:35    2575285

Based on club championships. What would we like McCabes the starting 15 to be ?

ear2ground (Westmeath) - Posts: 117 - 16/10/2024 14:15:28    2575298

Replying To ear2ground:  "Based on club championships. What would we like McCabes the starting 15 to be ?"
It would be great to see Shane Fleming, Josh Gahan, Shane Allen, and Sean Leech in the starting 15. It's also important for Trevor Martin to have a fair chance, as Jason O'Toole won't be around forever, and we need another top-quality goalie to fill his spot.

Fighting-Cocks69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 18 - 16/10/2024 14:39:34    2575304

Replying To westmeathman99:  "Clearly a Lomans man… In your post you mentioned five '50/50 calls' that went the downs way, I suppose Lomans didn't get one 50/50 call all day did they? There are 50/50 calls in every game, but guess what, they have to go one way or another. If you wear tinted glasses you can make out any team was hard done by.

I heard nobody giving out about the referee post match. I'm not questioning that you may have heard one or two people giving out, but that happens after every single game.

Referee had a great game and clearly has a good understanding of how players act and is well able to use common sense."
I'm from the southern region of the county so I'm not a Lomans which I clearly stated I was neutral … I gave an opinion on something that was said in conversation and also happened to hear whilst making an exit on Sunday… I didnt criticise the referee in anyway shape or form only gave a valid opinion on comments made post match … it seems unless people slate St Lomans on this they are all tarred with been a Lomans man ? I have no hatred or disliking towards any club and I will give credit to each club where it's due … just because maybe you have a hatred of St Lomans doesn't mean we all have to feel the same. The ref had a good game and I thought the comments were un called for and I said if anything I felt the downs got the run of the green with calls

TheGaaMan77 (Westmeath) - Posts: 48 - 16/10/2024 14:39:47    2575305

Replying To TheGaaMan77:  "I'm from the southern region of the county so I'm not a Lomans which I clearly stated I was neutral … I gave an opinion on something that was said in conversation and also happened to hear whilst making an exit on Sunday… I didnt criticise the referee in anyway shape or form only gave a valid opinion on comments made post match … it seems unless people slate St Lomans on this they are all tarred with been a Lomans man ? I have no hatred or disliking towards any club and I will give credit to each club where it's due … just because maybe you have a hatred of St Lomans doesn't mean we all have to feel the same. The ref had a good game and I thought the comments were un called for and I said if anything I felt the downs got the run of the green with calls"
Originally your story was you overheard a lot of supporters from The Downs carping about the ref, then later it was just two supporters, fair difference there. Why highlight the ref's performance when vast majority felt he was excellent and made a major contribution to a cracking final. On a separate note, some Philip Wolfe guy had a pop at the ref post match when speaking to journalists. No idea who he is but his comments were unwarranted.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1853 - 16/10/2024 14:54:57    2575311

Replying To Fighting-Cocks69:  "It would be great to see Shane Fleming, Josh Gahan, Shane Allen, and Sean Leech in the starting 15. It's also important for Trevor Martin to have a fair chance, as Jason O'Toole won't be around forever, and we need another top-quality goalie to fill his spot."
I'd get Dylan Murtagh from Milltown in. Probably a few more lads from Milltown worth looking at. Sam Smyth from Killucan if he will play and Brian Guerin who transferred to Shamrocks this year.

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1033 - 16/10/2024 15:12:49    2575313

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "It's good business by the county board for once to get a manager with a proven coaching pedigree. McHugh left Roscommon because of all the travelling but from what I gather Davy Burke liked it his own way. Lar left after a year too and another selector quit with McHugh."
McHugh won't stick around longer than a year with you unless your county board or sponsors are willing to pay out. Mchugh left us because money given after year one wasn't matched the following year.

Larr Wall left because he wanted to manage intercounty team. Went for the Westmeath and Meath jobs and was turned down he'll probably go back to club football now.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3881 - 16/10/2024 15:43:27    2575324

Replying To The_analyser:  "McHugh won't stick around longer than a year with you unless your county board or sponsors are willing to pay out. Mchugh left us because money given after year one wasn't matched the following year.

Larr Wall left because he wanted to manage intercounty team. Went for the Westmeath and Meath jobs and was turned down he'll probably go back to club football now."
Leitrim?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1882 - 16/10/2024 15:59:12    2575327

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Originally your story was you overheard a lot of supporters from The Downs carping about the ref, then later it was just two supporters, fair difference there. Why highlight the ref's performance when vast majority felt he was excellent and made a major contribution to a cracking final. On a separate note, some Philip Wolfe guy had a pop at the ref post match when speaking to journalists. No idea who he is but his comments were unwarranted."
Wolfe is the Lomans coach. From Moorefield. Think Dowdall knows him through the army.

jamsie (Westmeath) - Posts: 454 - 16/10/2024 16:10:30    2575331

Replying To Matthew:  "I'd get Dylan Murtagh from Milltown in. Probably a few more lads from Milltown worth looking at. Sam Smyth from Killucan if he will play and Brian Guerin who transferred to Shamrocks this year."
It's a tough call, but I feel we're missing a few midfielders on the panel. We've been heavily reliant on Ray to win primary possession throughout the season, especially with the new rules coming into play. Having two dominant fielders will be crucial for every county panel. I think we sometimes lack the size and physicality when facing teams like Meath, Cork, and Roscommon, which will be a significant factor.

Fighting-Cocks69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 18 - 16/10/2024 16:36:51    2575337

Replying To The_analyser:  "McHugh won't stick around longer than a year with you unless your county board or sponsors are willing to pay out. Mchugh left us because money given after year one wasn't matched the following year.

Larr Wall left because he wanted to manage intercounty team. Went for the Westmeath and Meath jobs and was turned down he'll probably go back to club football now."
And Gerry McGowan? Three coaches left the Rossie dictatorship after one year. Never a good sign.

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 54 - 16/10/2024 16:45:57    2575339

Replying To Fighting-Cocks69:  "It's a tough call, but I feel we're missing a few midfielders on the panel. We've been heavily reliant on Ray to win primary possession throughout the season, especially with the new rules coming into play. Having two dominant fielders will be crucial for every county panel. I think we sometimes lack the size and physicality when facing teams like Meath, Cork, and Roscommon, which will be a significant factor."
I'd try Nigel Harte at midfield based on his club performances with Tpass. Ormsby from Shamrocks needs to be brought in also.

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1033 - 16/10/2024 17:10:35    2575343

Replying To Matthew:  "I'd get Dylan Murtagh from Milltown in. Probably a few more lads from Milltown worth looking at. Sam Smyth from Killucan if he will play and Brian Guerin who transferred to Shamrocks this year."
Both Murtagh's midfielders for milltown this year dominating teams It will be interesting to see how they get on in the final . Both I think are worthy of a look in .

Westmeath1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1 - 16/10/2024 17:33:40    2575346

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Originally your story was you overheard a lot of supporters from The Downs carping about the ref, then later it was just two supporters, fair difference there. Why highlight the ref's performance when vast majority felt he was excellent and made a major contribution to a cracking final. On a separate note, some Philip Wolfe guy had a pop at the ref post match when speaking to journalists. No idea who he is but his comments were unwarranted."
At what stage did I criticise the referees performance or state the referee was poor ? I felt the comments about the downs been robbed were unwarranted ? But since that I've been called a lomans man and said I'm highlighting the referees performance …. I said the downs got the rub of the green but that doesn't indicate that the referee was poor I just felt that to say the downs were robbed is an awful shout but you must be a downs man to see how much my comments triggered and how you've switched the purpose of my comments to fit a narrative about the referees performance when I clearly stated I thought the referee had a good game … neither team deserved to lose neither teams can have complaints about the result and both teams have to answer the same questions of themselves true out the week …. If your going to get so triggered allow it to be for good reason

TheGaaMan77 (Westmeath) - Posts: 48 - 16/10/2024 17:58:02    2575359

Could even look at bringing the 2 Murtagh's onto the panel. Any word is Sam Duncan available next season?

Lakecounty94 (Westmeath) - Posts: 63 - 16/10/2024 18:07:23    2575361

Replying To westmeathman99:  "To start this post I want to say I am in no way having a go at Lomans here, but say this is common for most well run clubs is ludicrous. Fair play to Lomans for having the funding and facilities to be able to have this size of a backroom team , but I think it's a bit of an insult to clubs who can't afford this to suggest 'well run clubs have a huge backroom'.

Again this is no slight on any club but if this is the way Gaa is going the gap between urban clubs and rural clubs is only going to get bigger. I can remember the days when a junior club could have a 4/5 good young players come through and within a few years could be competing in the senior championship. I can't see this being possible anymore.

The vast majority of junior clubs (some of which are very well run) will only have; a manager and two selectors (who will often have the task of kitman, gk coach and 'cone collector') and perhaps they might get an s&c coach in every couple of months.

Also a side note, I am delighted to see 2 sole junior clubs in the final this weekend. I do fear that eventually some of the senior second teams will be far too strong for the junior clubs."
Agree 100%. A comment connected to the real world.

jfd (Westmeath) - Posts: 251 - 16/10/2024 19:34:19    2575375

Replying To ear2ground:  "Based on club championships. What would we like McCabes the starting 15 to be ?"
On top of the players who have been there or there abouts like leech, whittaker, allen, scahill, drumm, baker, I'd like to see sam Smyth, corcoran, tyrellspass keeper, duncan, guerin

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 99 - 16/10/2024 19:55:51    2575377

Any New players to be brought in this year:

For me:
Kinnegad: Bracken, Gahan and Liam Daly need to be looked at.
The Downs: have there few, Nolan i would like to see get a proper chance this time round, Burke and Murray were very solid along with Joe Moran.
Lomans: would Geoghan and Gaffney maybe be worth a look
Shamrocks: Dont think Ormsby did enough probably needs another year at 20s, There new player was very consistent cant think of his name outside of that cannot see anyone else.
Killucan: Sam Smyth, the only game i seen of leech was the downs game and i didnt think he performed maybe other games he did well not sure ? Hill is very agile but maybe county wouldnt suit him.
Tpass: Gonoud, Harte the usuals outside of them i dont think anyone. Monaghan
Athlone: SHane allen will feature for westmeath in starting 15 and Ray, outside of those 2 again not sure if they have anyone else.
Moate: Lowry will be brought in and Forde, outside of that cannot see any others.
Shandonagh: Carr has been very solid over last 5 years maybe deserves a crack at it. Scahill.
Tang: Adam neary was tryed and still a big threat, outside of him Jason coughlan is very solid and a good man marker in the half backs, Shane Hanly shows glimpses but dont think has the work ethic for county.
Caulry: Conor mccormack, Senan Baker and thats it, the other Baker needs more time to develop yet and more established fellas playing for kinnegad/ The downs playing better.
Malachys: Corcoran was very good in 2023 but has slipped away since that, The hurlers again for Malachys have performed very well.
Intermediate:
Milltown- Jack Duncan, Jack Murtagh, Conor Dillon have been the stand outs in intermediate.
Tubberclair- Eoghan Mccabe, Fred Kelleher, Whittaker although has not played his best.
Rosemount- David O reilly but will play hurling, others all performed well but no county standouts, Maybe Cox.
Garrycastle- Similar to Rosemount no real standouts apart from the reliables who arent going to go for county, Nugent has impressed but not a county player.
Milltownpass: Brandon Kelly, Finbar coyne after injury doesnt look sharp enough for county, Liam Brennan but team under performed.
Multy: Wallace, McGivney
Other teams i dont think have anyone good enough Bal, Ballymore, St.Marys, Castledaly, Kilbeggan, Maryland has Kieran Martin but i didnt see any games, think his time is done.

Junior: County final will be the only game to judge but cannot see anyone breaking into squad.

Any Goalkeepers stand out across Westmeath, any outfield players worth a look the way the new rules look.

PowellJohn3 (Westmeath) - Posts: 53 - 17/10/2024 12:41:27    2575453