Westmeath Football thread

Was in the Downs yesterday and Malachys deserved their win. They have a bit of toughness about them that maybe Moate are lacking to win those type of games. Malachys have leaders like Buddha in goals, Shane Clavin, Morgan Gavigan and Johnny Bermingham. Went on to Cusack for the two senior A games, Tyrrellspass played some lovely football, Tang didnt look fit and scored one point in second half. Caught most of the Athlone Kinnegad game, Kinnegad probably left it behind them at the end but draw was a fair result.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 218 - 12/08/2024 13:12:44    2564757

Very poor senior championship to date and St.Lomans will win it with ease but unfortunately with that poor defence especially their full back line they wont go to far in Leinster.They need huge improvements in that department so maybe in their next 2 games we will see it-surely their management team can see this but when they are winning games maybe its passed over

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 203 - 12/08/2024 13:49:13    2564761

Replying To WmeathWarrior:  "Can't get a table in the middle of a championship is a joke. Who is the brains behind that operation because it really ruins things, half the craic is seeing who's in what positions, the permitatins and combinations of how it might play out. Just unbelievable carry on. Nothing on the new app either."
Absolutely. I thought the new app was the start of a revamp with social content etc but it was too good to be true. I know were all volunteers and we try our best at whatever it is but we need to have a website thats easily accessible . If we could channel the energies put into Iarmhi TV and the podcast wed have a fantastic website.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 218 - 12/08/2024 13:52:18    2564763

Replying To A_Chairde:  "Absolutely. I thought the new app was the start of a revamp with social content etc but it was too good to be true. I know were all volunteers and we try our best at whatever it is but we need to have a website thats easily accessible . If we could channel the energies put into Iarmhi TV and the podcast wed have a fantastic website."
They had a message up today in the app saying the website would be back up tomorrow and apologising for the delays in fairness

martyW (Westmeath) - Posts: 329 - 12/08/2024 15:15:37    2564781

Loman's deserved odds on favourites for senior with The Downs their only opposition. Loman's junior side will cruise to the junior championship, likes of Ryan Jones, Tristan Graham, Killian Plunkett, Rory Matthews, Gerry Grehan, Seani Bracken, Conor Regan, Sean Kelly and Chris Gilbert are unlikely to play senior championship with each of those guaranteed starters for every other senior club and they have fitness, youth and strength in depth. Hard to see any junior club with a mixture of lads focusing on hurling such as Ballycomoyle and Castletown Finea and St. Paul's and with older players such as Bunbrosna getting anywhere near Loman's. They arguably should have won the junior last year and Kilbeggan are now on the verge of promotion to section A in intermediate.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 12/08/2024 15:39:27    2564785

Just a few observations on the championship games to date:
1) The venues for games is a major issue. It was a round trip of 124 km from Glasson to Killucan for Tubberclair last Saturday. Tubberclair have also travelled to Rochfordbridge and Moate. Compare that to clubs like St.Lomans and Mullingar Shamrocks and you will see how some clubs are treated compared to others.
2 ) I attended the Tubberclair v M'pass game . As a previous correspondent said it was a great advertisement for football.
I would add a couple of relevant points though : In Tubberclair's opening championship game v Milltown the game ended in a draw. Tubberclair scored a point which was waved wide by the umpire. On Saturday last the umpire waved a M'pass shot wide. The linesman intervened . The referee overruled the umpire and awarded the point . Tubberclair lost by a point. These decisions have cost Tubberclair .
3 ) The issue of black cards v Yellow cards is something that needs to be addressed. In a number of games I watched recently referees are not applying the rules fairly. This was very evident in the Tubberclair v M'pass game and also in the M'pass v Milltown game. If the referee had applied the rules properly we would not have had to wait until injury time for two M/pass players two get red cards . It was a joke that the first black card was to a Tubberclair player and no M'pass player got a black card. The same referee did the Tubberclair v Rosemount game where three Tubberclair players were substituted because of injuries none of whom took any part in Saturdays game.
4) In general the standard of football seems to dropping to an alarming extent. Clubs with a lot of recent under age progress such as Shandonagh , Moate , Caulry , Tubberclair and Kinnegad are regressing at adult level this year. Attendances at matches are also generally poor. Not much of a positive nature to report .

loughree (Westmeath) - Posts: 70 - 12/08/2024 16:07:17    2564791

Replying To loughree:  "Just a few observations on the championship games to date:
1) The venues for games is a major issue. It was a round trip of 124 km from Glasson to Killucan for Tubberclair last Saturday. Tubberclair have also travelled to Rochfordbridge and Moate. Compare that to clubs like St.Lomans and Mullingar Shamrocks and you will see how some clubs are treated compared to others.
2 ) I attended the Tubberclair v M'pass game . As a previous correspondent said it was a great advertisement for football.
I would add a couple of relevant points though : In Tubberclair's opening championship game v Milltown the game ended in a draw. Tubberclair scored a point which was waved wide by the umpire. On Saturday last the umpire waved a M'pass shot wide. The linesman intervened . The referee overruled the umpire and awarded the point . Tubberclair lost by a point. These decisions have cost Tubberclair .
3 ) The issue of black cards v Yellow cards is something that needs to be addressed. In a number of games I watched recently referees are not applying the rules fairly. This was very evident in the Tubberclair v M'pass game and also in the M'pass v Milltown game. If the referee had applied the rules properly we would not have had to wait until injury time for two M/pass players two get red cards . It was a joke that the first black card was to a Tubberclair player and no M'pass player got a black card. The same referee did the Tubberclair v Rosemount game where three Tubberclair players were substituted because of injuries none of whom took any part in Saturdays game.
4) In general the standard of football seems to dropping to an alarming extent. Clubs with a lot of recent under age progress such as Shandonagh , Moate , Caulry , Tubberclair and Kinnegad are regressing at adult level this year. Attendances at matches are also generally poor. Not much of a positive nature to report ."
Just on point #2. Are you suggesting both decisions were incorrect and hence cost Tubberclair? If the referee consulted with the linesman or the linesman drew his attention to an incorrect ruling by the umpire is that not good officiating?
Would it be fairer to Tubberclair to do an injustice to Milltownpass or Milltown? Championship games are tight and narrow margins decide them - Tubberclair were decent at the weekend but they also dropped a number of balls into the 'keeps hands and kicked a couple of poor wides. Those things they can control; don't be blaming officials.

fizzygravy (USA) - Posts: 163 - 12/08/2024 16:56:52    2564806

Replying To loughree:  "Just a few observations on the championship games to date:
4) In general the standard of football seems to dropping to an alarming extent. Clubs with a lot of recent under age progress such as Shandonagh , Moate , Caulry , Tubberclair and Kinnegad are regressing at adult level this year. Attendances at matches are also generally poor. Not much of a positive nature to report ."
I thought the Tubberclair Milltownpass game was played in Kinnegad ? 19 points is an impressive score for Tubberclair, I wouldnt say theyre regressing based on their three games to date. Surprise defeat to Rosemount in between draw with Miltown and narrow defeat to Milltownpass. Shandonagh , Moate and Caulry to a degree have shown very poor form. Tubberclair and Kinnegad have been patchy but both could get to a quarter\semi final yet. Milltownpass lost their first two games last year and contested the final.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 218 - 12/08/2024 17:03:27    2564810

Replying To martyW:  "They had a message up today in the app saying the website would be back up tomorrow and apologising for the delays in fairness"
Hopefully this is true, for everyone's sanity.

Ahref70 (Westmeath) - Posts: 4 - 12/08/2024 18:49:24    2564830

Working fine now

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 146 - 12/08/2024 21:56:42    2564842

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Loman's deserved odds on favourites for senior with The Downs their only opposition. Loman's junior side will cruise to the junior championship, likes of Ryan Jones, Tristan Graham, Killian Plunkett, Rory Matthews, Gerry Grehan, Seani Bracken, Conor Regan, Sean Kelly and Chris Gilbert are unlikely to play senior championship with each of those guaranteed starters for every other senior club and they have fitness, youth and strength in depth. Hard to see any junior club with a mixture of lads focusing on hurling such as Ballycomoyle and Castletown Finea and St. Paul's and with older players such as Bunbrosna getting anywhere near Loman's. They arguably should have won the junior last year and Kilbeggan are now on the verge of promotion to section A in intermediate."
Gerry Grehan a guaranteed starter for every other senior club. Would you give us a break.!!

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 17 - 12/08/2024 22:27:44    2564848

A lot to take in there loughree. The venues do seem to be an issue. I think they are trying to spread games around the country to give clubs who have the facilities a fair share of games. But a 124km round trip is excessive.
On point 2 i know decisions may seem to have gone against Tclair but if they were the right calls then you just have to suck it up. I'm sure the linesman wouldn't have intervened unless he was sure. On point 3 what has 3 players being substituted got to do with anything? are you insinuating that they were as a result of rough play that the officials missed?

On point 4 yes, those Clubs have been quite poor. I would suggest that these are all internal issues where there is trouble in the camp rather than a football standard issue. You have to all be singing from the same hymn sheet if you want to progress and unfortunately all doesn't seem right in a number of these clubs.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 638 - 13/08/2024 08:20:12    2564872

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Loman's deserved odds on favourites for senior with The Downs their only opposition. Loman's junior side will cruise to the junior championship, likes of Ryan Jones, Tristan Graham, Killian Plunkett, Rory Matthews, Gerry Grehan, Seani Bracken, Conor Regan, Sean Kelly and Chris Gilbert are unlikely to play senior championship with each of those guaranteed starters for every other senior club and they have fitness, youth and strength in depth. Hard to see any junior club with a mixture of lads focusing on hurling such as Ballycomoyle and Castletown Finea and St. Paul's and with older players such as Bunbrosna getting anywhere near Loman's. They arguably should have won the junior last year and Kilbeggan are now on the verge of promotion to section A in intermediate."
Castletown Finea won't be focusing on hurling, sure pollard are practically out, mark my words they will be focusing on football

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 269 - 13/08/2024 08:30:34    2564875

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "Gerry Grehan a guaranteed starter for every other senior club. Would you give us a break.!!"
Possibly not with the injuries he picked up in the winter, but more than capable of starting for many senior teams

Bluelake (Westmeath) - Posts: 103 - 13/08/2024 09:07:44    2564877

There are rumours that Mickey Harte is a runner for the manager gig. Some eve saying he was in the park on Sunday. Please tell me this isn't true

Bluelake (Westmeath) - Posts: 103 - 13/08/2024 09:09:17    2564878

Half of them lads wouldn't start for junior clubs on the far side nevermind senior

Ayardout (Westmeath) - Posts: 13 - 13/08/2024 09:16:38    2564881

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "Gerry Grehan a guaranteed starter for every other senior club. Would you give us a break.!!"
He'd certainly be starting for at least 5-6 senior clubs based on what I saw over weekend. Why don't you share some opinions yourself seeing as you're such an expert?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 13/08/2024 09:36:29    2564884

Replying To westmeathgaa11:  "Castletown Finea won't be focusing on hurling, sure pollard are practically out, mark my words they will be focusing on football"
Pollard in a relegation battle so I'd imagine that will be important for their dual players, Ringtown in contention for senior B after beating Delvin, 4-5 of Finea's key players are Ringtown hurlers.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 13/08/2024 09:46:04    2564889

Replying To Bluelake:  "There are rumours that Mickey Harte is a runner for the manager gig. Some eve saying he was in the park on Sunday. Please tell me this isn't true"
Heard pat flanagan in park on Sunday too.
Taking notes

Mattyreilly (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 13/08/2024 10:23:50    2564902

Replying To Claretandblue:  "He'd certainly be starting for at least 5-6 senior clubs based on what I saw over weekend. Why don't you share some opinions yourself seeing as you're such an expert?"
Against Killucan's 2nd team was it?? On second thoughts, perhaps you're correct. Himself and Paddy Dowdall would get their place on the St Loman's first team right now as it's worse they're getting at the back.

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 17 - 13/08/2024 10:25:00    2564903