Dublin GAA thread

Replying To MesAmis:  "Kildare defo looking the most likely, they will fancy themselves to catch us out in a couple of weeks I reckon."
Personally think we will absolutely destroy Kildare in a couple of weeks, especially as its away.

Ryan's comments last week just handed us extra motivation and I think we are going to see Dublin give Kildare chasing. Hes torpedoed his own team, what a head the ball, just played right into our hands.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 15/05/2023 17:10:53    2478773

Is Murchan injured?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 15/05/2023 18:14:06    2478794

Replying To TheUsername:  "Personally think we will absolutely destroy Kildare in a couple of weeks, especially as its away.

Ryan's comments last week just handed us extra motivation and I think we are going to see Dublin give Kildare chasing. Hes torpedoed his own team, what a head the ball, just played right into our hands."
The Kildare team bus will get some good use, it's lining out in the full back line

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/05/2023 20:28:21    2478819

Replying To jimbodub:  "Not a bad save from a distraction, 42 year old blah blah

Another clean sheet

Isn't it terrible having him back"
In fairness John O Leary could comeback and you would still win Leinster.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 15/05/2023 20:56:36    2478825

Replying To jimbodub:  "Not a bad save from a distraction, 42 year old blah blah

Another clean sheet

Isn't it terrible having him back"
You will know all about it when good teams push up on his kick outs later on in the campaign how silly it was bringing him back…. He got away with it Sunday against Div 4 opposition.

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3848 - 16/05/2023 10:10:16    2478867

Replying To TheFlaker:  "In fairness John O Leary could comeback and you would still win Leinster."
Flaker

We needed two goalkeepers.. it's a huge positive for Dublin that a man who hadn't kicked an Inter County ball in 3 years has pretty much took up where he left off.

Dublin were conceeding a lot of goals, that was a group collective issue of course, and Kikdare and Louth had chances but we are seeing clean sheets again.

Having that level of fella behind you brings a lot with it, you can hear him directing and pushing. He demands a certain level in front of him.

The future looks secure when Cluxton calls time but for now, he's proven his worth on his return in all aspects of the position.

Massive positive for Dublin.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/05/2023 10:14:59    2478873

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You will know all about it when good teams push up on his kick outs later on in the campaign how silly it was bringing him back…. He got away with it Sunday against Div 4 opposition."
He will be rested, but Louth are far from being Division 4. They are where they are deservedly. Lots of decent teams have come up against likes of Dublin and Kerry and Galway on going days.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3528 - 16/05/2023 10:59:00    2478896

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You will know all about it when good teams push up on his kick outs later on in the campaign how silly it was bringing him back…. He got away with it Sunday against Div 4 opposition."
Louth and Dublin were in the same division this year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 16/05/2023 10:59:40    2478897

Lads ye were very quick to condemn..

So far it's been nothing but a positive move, good distribution, good saves, good performances, great athleticism and most importantly.. Dublin have cover again in a vital position in modern football, something they didn't have a month and a half ago.

So now you're just pulling stuff that hasn't even happened from a supposed future to try and reinforce your points.. of course teams will push up, he's seen it all before unlike our other completely inexperienced at Senior Championship football option. Ideally Evan would still be in there as he was looking very good but he's got a long term injury and only now are things looking a bit more positive for him but he's not kicked a ball and it's probably unlikely if we see him this year.

All the evidence thus far has been very positive for Dublin, great to have two for goalkeepers again, both look to be in form and it's a mix of upcoming and experience

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/05/2023 11:06:26    2478901

Louth are Div 2. As I have previously said on another thread , I'd take him for us even at 51. Did you see the save he pulled off on Sunday.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 163 - 16/05/2023 11:14:31    2478903

Louth, div 4? Last I saw they finished 3rd in Div2?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 892 - 16/05/2023 11:20:50    2478906

Replying To jimbodub:  "Flaker

We needed two goalkeepers.. it's a huge positive for Dublin that a man who hadn't kicked an Inter County ball in 3 years has pretty much took up where he left off.

Dublin were conceeding a lot of goals, that was a group collective issue of course, and Kikdare and Louth had chances but we are seeing clean sheets again.

Having that level of fella behind you brings a lot with it, you can hear him directing and pushing. He demands a certain level in front of him.

The future looks secure when Cluxton calls time but for now, he's proven his worth on his return in all aspects of the position.

Massive positive for Dublin."
My whole angle on this is from the perspective of what was said on here and by Dessie Farrell. I said he was brought back to start and it wasn't a great look. Posters on here claimed it was just back up to an injury crisis. Then Dessie says post Kildare he was just giving him game time which was of course nonsense. Now posters on here think it's great he is starting? The lads who are now back up will say it's all good etc etc but I still believe it's a short term act of desperation from a manager who probably won't be there next year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 16/05/2023 13:01:01    2478951

Replying To TheFlaker:  "My whole angle on this is from the perspective of what was said on here and by Dessie Farrell. I said he was brought back to start and it wasn't a great look. Posters on here claimed it was just back up to an injury crisis. Then Dessie says post Kildare he was just giving him game time which was of course nonsense. Now posters on here think it's great he is starting? The lads who are now back up will say it's all good etc etc but I still believe it's a short term act of desperation from a manager who probably won't be there next year."
If that short term act leads them to an All-Ireland this year though, then it will have been worth it.
Kerry brought back Mike McCarthy from retirement one year and it helped them over the line.
You do whatever you can, if you think it will help. Nobody can predict the future, so you try to take your chance in the here and now.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2321 - 16/05/2023 13:27:26    2478963

Replying To WanPintWin:  "If that short term act leads them to an All-Ireland this year though, then it will have been worth it.
Kerry brought back Mike McCarthy from retirement one year and it helped them over the line.
You do whatever you can, if you think it will help. Nobody can predict the future, so you try to take your chance in the here and now."
Exactly. Cluxton has already pulled off 2 or 3 world class saves against Kildare and Louth. His distribution against Kildare was fantastic but poor against Louth. Regardless you do what you have to do with your squad to win. If you have a choice between a rookie keeper or the greatest keeper to have ever played the game, in form, best distributor in the game, great free taker, 7 times AI winner, leader on the pitch and in the dressing room, who do you choose? O'Hanlon has a great career ahead of him but with Cluxton fit and in form, you play Cluxton.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 16/05/2023 14:11:30    2478980

Roscommon game confirmed in Croker on Sun 28th, Double header with the Hurlers Vs Galway. Hurlers on at 14.00. Stevo and the lads on at 16.00.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4516 - 16/05/2023 15:38:48    2479015

Replying To TheUsername:  "Roscommon game confirmed in Croker on Sun 28th, Double header with the Hurlers Vs Galway. Hurlers on at 14.00. Stevo and the lads on at 16.00."
Let's hope those with no interest in hurling stay away from the whole game rather than start to troop in and pretend they do halfway through the second half and make a nuisance of themselves :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3528 - 16/05/2023 15:51:37    2479020

Replying To Joxer:  "Exactly. Cluxton has already pulled off 2 or 3 world class saves against Kildare and Louth. His distribution against Kildare was fantastic but poor against Louth. Regardless you do what you have to do with your squad to win. If you have a choice between a rookie keeper or the greatest keeper to have ever played the game, in form, best distributor in the game, great free taker, 7 times AI winner, leader on the pitch and in the dressing room, who do you choose? O'Hanlon has a great career ahead of him but with Cluxton fit and in form, you play Cluxton."
That's grand again everyone ignoring my point. Posters changed their original opinion on why he is back. And the manager also stated publicly he wasn't back to be number 1.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 16/05/2023 17:27:57    2479054

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "Louth are Div 2. As I have previously said on another thread , I'd take him for us even at 51. Did you see the save he pulled off on Sunday."
Sorry that was a finger slip….as regards Louth.. but the save was blown out of proportion….no decent keeper would be beaten on his near post . It sends out a very bad message to the other keepers in the panel….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3848 - 16/05/2023 17:50:25    2479063

Replying To TheFlaker:  "That's grand again everyone ignoring my point. Posters changed their original opinion on why he is back. And the manager also stated publicly he wasn't back to be number 1."
Well I suppose Dessie can change his mind without consulting all and sundry. And by the way Dessie never publicly mentioned number 1 regarding Cuxton or O'Hanlon. He did state that he selected Cluxton for the Kildare game to give him game time but did not elaborate on the possibilities after that. It surely is amusing though that the goalkeeping selection in Dublin is exercising the minds of so many opposition fans.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 892 - 16/05/2023 18:28:28    2479074

Replying To Joxer:  "Exactly. Cluxton has already pulled off 2 or 3 world class saves against Kildare and Louth. His distribution against Kildare was fantastic but poor against Louth. Regardless you do what you have to do with your squad to win. If you have a choice between a rookie keeper or the greatest keeper to have ever played the game, in form, best distributor in the game, great free taker, 7 times AI winner, leader on the pitch and in the dressing room, who do you choose? O'Hanlon has a great career ahead of him but with Cluxton fit and in form, you play Cluxton."
8 times an All-Ireland winner.

Don't be disrespectful now ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 16/05/2023 19:28:12    2479097