Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To jobber:  "I dont deny we were beaten by a better team but have serious doubts about events elsewhere."
Make no mistake Kilkenny are Kilkenny . They rightly look after themselves and they came to bury us yesterday. Thankfully our lads produced their best performance of the year to win and they had to, to get over the line

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 29/05/2023 10:39:06    2482480

Replying To Jedobi:  "If you had beaten Antrim playing at home and you were leading at half time, be no mention of all the conspiracy theories. Kilkenny would love nothing more than get Wexford relegated. You won last week, lost this week. And tbh it was Wexford losing the game last week more than Westmeath winning it."
The only thing worse than a sore loser is a sore winner. Wexford and Antrim had their backs against the wall and fought hard to get out of it. Fair dues to both team for pulling It off.
Disappointing for Westmeath.

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 29/05/2023 10:44:32    2482482

Replying To Jedobi:  "If you had beaten Antrim playing at home and you were leading at half time, be no mention of all the conspiracy theories. Kilkenny would love nothing more than get Wexford relegated. You won last week, lost this week. And tbh it was Wexford losing the game last week more than Westmeath winning it."
Have to disagree there lots of kilkenny people did not want Wexford to go down didn't think it would be good for leinster hurling.Thats not saying they would do us any favours though.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 218 - 29/05/2023 10:51:07    2482485

Replying To MillerX:  "Great, great result for Westmeath. Hard to know about next week. I'd definitely go for it, win and you are definitely safe, lose and you're safe on the head-to-head, PROVIDED Kilkenny beat Wexford!!!!! Do you trust Kilkenny that much? I wouldn't even though they need the win to reach the Leinster final. Do it for yourselves."
Don't want to say I got it right but last Sunday evening I had a feeling that the unpredictable was going to happen and that Westmeath were going to HAVE to beat Antrim to stay up. As for the Kilkenny performance? Well Offaly thought they played it cute by putting out a shadow team against Carlow in the round robin game and it came back to bite them in the rear end. Never pays to be too smart. The game against Wexford shows what can be achieved but then the focus must switch to the next game, I feel that this may not have been the case yesterday.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 29/05/2023 12:26:53    2482517

Replying To Tiger1:  "Have to disagree there lots of kilkenny people did not want Wexford to go down didn't think it would be good for leinster hurling.Thats not saying they would do us any favours though."
Kilkenny supporters around me didn't fall into that group.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 29/05/2023 12:41:25    2482525

Replying To MillerX:  "Don't want to say I got it right but last Sunday evening I had a feeling that the unpredictable was going to happen and that Westmeath were going to HAVE to beat Antrim to stay up. As for the Kilkenny performance? Well Offaly thought they played it cute by putting out a shadow team against Carlow in the round robin game and it came back to bite them in the rear end. Never pays to be too smart. The game against Wexford shows what can be achieved but then the focus must switch to the next game, I feel that this may not have been the case yesterday."
What exactly are implying about Kilkenny in that cryptic post?

Joe1 (Kildare) - Posts: 52 - 29/05/2023 13:09:17    2482537

Replying To preddan:  "Are you saying something further at play here, were the gaas powers that be sweating if wexford finished bottom. If they did it was going to be an almighty headache if a so called elite county taking the drop and deal with an outcry of hurling elitists. It suited them antrim or westmeath going down and nothing said. I definitely don't think kilkenny were going full pelt today either"
Did I see you at the match or did someone just tell you that?

Joe1 (Kildare) - Posts: 52 - 29/05/2023 13:21:18    2482544

Replying To MillerX:  "Don't want to say I got it right but last Sunday evening I had a feeling that the unpredictable was going to happen and that Westmeath were going to HAVE to beat Antrim to stay up. As for the Kilkenny performance? Well Offaly thought they played it cute by putting out a shadow team against Carlow in the round robin game and it came back to bite them in the rear end. Never pays to be too smart. The game against Wexford shows what can be achieved but then the focus must switch to the next game, I feel that this may not have been the case yesterday."
Kilkenny started their best team and 3 of their better players had to go off injured. That wouldn't have happened if they were taking it easy. Shame it wasn't on TV it was as tough a game as any I've seen in Munster so far this year. And nothing like Galways games against us or Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 29/05/2023 13:28:24    2482547

Replying To jobber:  "I dont agree we needed to stay up however we could. Some of The worst players were stars of top clubs.Wedidnt deserve to win today Antrim were better but why was the game in Wexford held up for 10 minutes and why was Kilkenny's goal at the end disallowed.These are legitimate questions and should be asked."
Wexford's point difference over the 5 games was -4, Westmeath's was -80 which says it all, realistically Wexford took their eye of the ball at half time vs Westmeath and fair play to ye for taking advantage of that. Joe McDonagh will be tough next year but ye have the tools to come straight back up and from what I saw vs Wexford plenty of talent on your u20 team who can hopefully come through over the next few years.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 29/05/2023 13:36:34    2482551

Replying To Left Full:  "Too many excuses on here. We had it in our own hands today, win and we're safe but it was a terrible performance especially in the second half. Massive win last weekend but looks like the players thought they were above Antrim & got caught badly today. Joe Fortune was a legend last week & now we have lads looking for him to go??? Players need to man up, we have an excellent coach in J Greville & if Joe steps away I think he should take it on. We're Div 1 gain in the league & while the Joe McD Cup will be tough we should be well able to bounce back."
I have the height of respect for Joe Fortune, won division 2 and kept us there this year. Kept us in the Leinster championship last year, wouldn't be surprised if he moves on to his native Wexford for 2024. Antrim were always going to beat us, we'd struggle to beat Dunloy, especially without Killian & Aonghus. As for this year we finished on -80, that's an average beating of 19.5 points in the 4 games we lost. Carlow & Offaly look ahead of us too, a playoff against Carlow would be interesting. Would a round robin Leinster championship and then go into a knockout Joe McDonagh be the answer to playing good teams every year?

stonemadbeany (USA) - Posts: 540 - 29/05/2023 13:40:18    2482556

Replying To stonemadbeany:  "I have the height of respect for Joe Fortune, won division 2 and kept us there this year. Kept us in the Leinster championship last year, wouldn't be surprised if he moves on to his native Wexford for 2024. Antrim were always going to beat us, we'd struggle to beat Dunloy, especially without Killian & Aonghus. As for this year we finished on -80, that's an average beating of 19.5 points in the 4 games we lost. Carlow & Offaly look ahead of us too, a playoff against Carlow would be interesting. Would a round robin Leinster championship and then go into a knockout Joe McDonagh be the answer to playing good teams every year?"
You eliminate provincial championships and move 100% to a tiered All Ireland model with promotion/relegation (same as Senior/Intermediate/Junior). No play-offs. Get rid of Div1 A/B in the league and make a single Division 1 group. Drop several teams to Div 2 (Dublin, Antrim, Wexford). Make relegation mean something and also give more competitive games for the likes of Westmeath/Laois/Carlow/Kerry with Wexford, Antrim and Dublin. In the current format, you occasionally see Westmeath/Antrim/Laois/Carlow will scare or trim a "big" team in Div 1, but they're being brushed aside the rest of the time.

Hurling is a bit like the 6 nations in that it's the same big teams under no pressure. Italy on the odd occasion like this year stand up and have a good group of players. However, they've no threat of relegation at all. There's a small chance of relegation in hurling for a big team but it really is small.

gedupoutofit (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 30/05/2023 11:24:46    2482822

League Final prediction
Div.1 Castletown G by 8 points
Div.2 Fr.Dalton's by 4 points
Div.3 St.Brigid's by 10 points

Champions
Senior Castletown G to retain the title. Fr. Dalton's relegated
Senior B Delvin winner Oliver Plunkett's relegated.
Intermediate St. Brigid's or Castletown second team to win it.

Yellow&Green (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 15/06/2023 15:21:23    2486695

Replying To Yellow&Green:  "League Final prediction
Div.1 Castletown G by 8 points
Div.2 Fr.Dalton's by 4 points
Div.3 St.Brigid's by 10 points

Champions
Senior Castletown G to retain the title. Fr. Dalton's relegated
Senior B Delvin winner Oliver Plunkett's relegated.
Intermediate St. Brigid's or Castletown second team to win it."
Div 1 Castletown
Div 2 Father Dalton's
Div 3 Saint Brigid's

Championship
Senior A Clonkill might be a small surprise

Senior B Delvin its now or never

Intermediate Saint Brigid's finally seem to be getting their act together as a club.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 16/06/2023 08:40:53    2486768

Division 1- Castletown Geoghegan
Division 2- Father Daltons
Division 3- St Brigids

Senior A championship- Castletown Geoghegan
Senior B championship- Delvin
Intermediate championship- St Brigids

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 770 - 16/06/2023 10:03:39    2486783

Surely Match days and times could be released, what are they waiting for?

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 217 - 19/06/2023 18:52:37    2487579

Gaels clonkill - clonkill by 7-9 points
Raharney pollard- draw
Ctg daltons - CTG by 10+

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 217 - 27/06/2023 22:43:22    2490269

First round this weekend:
Clonkill, Pollard and CTG to get the win in senior.
Lots of players away or unavailable in a lot of teams im told. Hard to know how Senior B will go.

soreknee (Westmeath) - Posts: 166 - 28/06/2023 00:11:48    2490293

Wins for Clonkill, Raharney & CTG. In senior B wins for Delvin, Cullion & Plunketts, but wouldn't be surprised if the B games went either way.

stonemadbeany (USA) - Posts: 540 - 28/06/2023 14:12:27    2490426

Replying To stonemadbeany:  "Wins for Clonkill, Raharney & CTG. In senior B wins for Delvin, Cullion & Plunketts, but wouldn't be surprised if the B games went either way."
Wins for Clonkill, Castlepollard and CTG,
I know league form doesn't mean a lot but Pollard will be on a high and I reckon they will over turn a weakened Raharney team. Won't stop Raharney getting to the final..

Wins for Delvin, Crookedwood and Cullion..Don't think Plunkett's have improved on last year where they were nearly relegated.

Intermediate is too hard to call...I tipped St.Brigid's to win it out but without Ned Cully, Finbar Coyne and possibly Sam Duncan it could be difficult..Maybe it will be Southern Gaels year good way ro celebrate the 50years.

Yellow&Green (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 29/06/2023 10:38:41    2490571

Replying To Yellow&Green:  "Wins for Clonkill, Castlepollard and CTG,
I know league form doesn't mean a lot but Pollard will be on a high and I reckon they will over turn a weakened Raharney team. Won't stop Raharney getting to the final..

Wins for Delvin, Crookedwood and Cullion..Don't think Plunkett's have improved on last year where they were nearly relegated.

Intermediate is too hard to call...I tipped St.Brigid's to win it out but without Ned Cully, Finbar Coyne and possibly Sam Duncan it could be difficult..Maybe it will be Southern Gaels year good way ro celebrate the 50years."
It would be brilliant to see Southern Gaels win Intermediate.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 29/06/2023 11:03:13    2490580