Wicklow GAA thread

Well done to Casey and the hurlers yesterday.

We have to remember the Smaller teams are getting stronger all the time.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 04/06/2023 10:35:49    2483875

Replying To sponger:  "Well done to Casey and the hurlers yesterday.

We have to remember the Smaller teams are getting stronger all the time."
It certainly is a fact that the game of hurling is improving in "weaker " counties and even in counties where it was rarely played. What intrigued me with yesterdays game was the way that Donegal set out in the first half. Short puck outs and playing across the back / similar to football. We found it hard to handle for long periods. I thought that in the second half Wicklow stepped it up and employed a more "traditional" style of hurling, attacking the ball more and it paid off.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1003 - 04/06/2023 11:12:31    2483879

Well done Wicklow. Great to see.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 04/06/2023 12:35:15    2483894

great win today for wicklow well done

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 238 - 04/06/2023 14:49:31    2483918

A great result from the Limerick game today. Interesting to see the 3 An Tochar lads scoring was it 2-4 between them. Gives the county footballing fraternity a bit of a badly needed lift.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1003 - 04/06/2023 15:12:24    2483921

Great performance and result today. On paper, probably the hardest game; against a division 2 team but the team performed brillantly. It is a pity that we threw the game against carlow away as we did. I think Oisin was right to bring some of the u20 players inyo the team and give them the experience at this level in advance of our league campaign and next year's championship. The team is developing nicely; improvement is required but for today: this was a great end to the year at this level.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 04/06/2023 15:43:23    2483929

The authorities in Wicklow GAA i.e. the county board and its associates get a lot of negative press but this past weekend was a good one for the county. As a county, we are making slow but stead progress. Hopefully the teams and management teams can build on the progress made this year in both codes. The hurlers won the Nicky Rackard cup on Saturday in Croke Park; the county's first victory in the competition. Yesterday, the footballers beat Limerick; a division 2 team in the last round of the TC competition. The footballers are a group of young players and have been inconsistent in this competition. Hopefully, with the experience gained this year, they will become more consistent when it comes to their division 3 league campaign commencing in Feb 2024.

It is now back to the club championship which should be interesting. In my opinion, the competition is wide open, so it will be interesting to attend matches and see if An Tochar can build on last year, if Blessington can win it again, if Baltinglass can finally get over the last after being in three finals in a row, if St Pats can continue their domination of the club championship in recent years or if another team can come out of the pack and win against the odds. Hopefully some new talented players can burst on the scene and maybe be added to the county panel. Looking forward to the club games.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 05/06/2023 10:40:56    2484132

Well done to the footballers yesterday, it rounded off a good weekend on the pitch. Casey has done a great job with the hurlers and winning the Nicky Rackard competition gets the team back to the level they should be at. It must also be said that there are some good hurlers at under-age being brought through so things are looking much brighter than this time last year.

With regard to the footballers I do think so slow and steady progress is being made I do hope the management team manage to keep as many as possible in the panel for next year to help us stay in divison three which is the key requirement going forward. Great to see some of the younger players scoring well yesterday. Now over to the club championship which is wide open

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 05/06/2023 16:21:04    2484180

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "The authorities in Wicklow GAA i.e. the county board and its associates get a lot of negative press but this past weekend was a good one for the county. As a county, we are making slow but stead progress. Hopefully the teams and management teams can build on the progress made this year in both codes. The hurlers won the Nicky Rackard cup on Saturday in Croke Park; the county's first victory in the competition. Yesterday, the footballers beat Limerick; a division 2 team in the last round of the TC competition. The footballers are a group of young players and have been inconsistent in this competition. Hopefully, with the experience gained this year, they will become more consistent when it comes to their division 3 league campaign commencing in Feb 2024.

It is now back to the club championship which should be interesting. In my opinion, the competition is wide open, so it will be interesting to attend matches and see if An Tochar can build on last year, if Blessington can win it again, if Baltinglass can finally get over the last after being in three finals in a row, if St Pats can continue their domination of the club championship in recent years or if another team can come out of the pack and win against the odds. Hopefully some new talented players can burst on the scene and maybe be added to the county panel. Looking forward to the club games."
Don't want to burst your little bubble there wicklowsupport but you very obviously weren't at yesterday's match ?? If you were you'd know Limerick who were already guaranteed top spot never moved out of second gear. In fact I don't Wicklow did either. Limerick also left 6 of their starting line up from the previous two TC matches on the sideline for the entire game. Never even brought them on when the game was going Wicklow's way. So I wouldn't read too much into a match that at most was played at challenge match pace often not even that as players on both teams literally walked around the pitch.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 05/06/2023 17:03:11    2484191

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Don't want to burst your little bubble there wicklowsupport but you very obviously weren't at yesterday's match ?? If you were you'd know Limerick who were already guaranteed top spot never moved out of second gear. In fact I don't Wicklow did either. Limerick also left 6 of their starting line up from the previous two TC matches on the sideline for the entire game. Never even brought them on when the game was going Wicklow's way. So I wouldn't read too much into a match that at most was played at challenge match pace often not even that as players on both teams literally walked around the pitch."
I don't think that many if any in Wicklow are getting carried away with Sundays match Onion Breath. . As you say, the game was a dead rubber. Probably a useful exercise from our perspective in trying out some of these younger players in preparation for next years Div 3 campaign which is going to prove tough enough in itself. If we can stay up, which we fervently hope we can, as the alternative is just not an option if we intend trying to improve our position in the overall scheme of things, we look forward to crossing swords with Carlow again in the 25 National League ( Div 3 naturally). Anyway, best of luck to the Carlow hurling and football teams in their next games. Particularly your hurlers who are doing their county proud.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1003 - 06/06/2023 08:28:16    2484270

Its a pity our manager didn't put the same effort into the Longford and Carlow matches as he does for his podcasts.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 06/06/2023 16:47:52    2484495

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Don't want to burst your little bubble there wicklowsupport but you very obviously weren't at yesterday's match ?? If you were you'd know Limerick who were already guaranteed top spot never moved out of second gear. In fact I don't Wicklow did either. Limerick also left 6 of their starting line up from the previous two TC matches on the sideline for the entire game. Never even brought them on when the game was going Wicklow's way. So I wouldn't read too much into a match that at most was played at challenge match pace often not even that as players on both teams literally walked around the pitch."
Unlike Carlow; we tend not to get carried away. Ye win a couple of games and you think you can come on here being condensing to us. Come back when carlow have actually won something and i might be willing to listen. Wicklow played well yesterday, i was impressed with our newcomers. We have a long way to go but hopefully the players will continue to develop and stay in division 3 come spring 2024.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 06/06/2023 18:27:10    2484532

Replying To sponger:  "Its a pity our manager didn't put the same effort into the Longford and Carlow matches as he does for his podcasts."
Ouch!

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 206 - 06/06/2023 20:04:25    2484550

Replying To sponger:  "Its a pity our manager didn't put the same effort into the Longford and Carlow matches as he does for his podcasts."
He does seem to be popular in the media, doesn't he. I see remarks attributed to him about "better " players not being protected. One overriding vision from one of the weekends matches was a player kneeling on another players head/neck. That incident brought back images of an incident in another country.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1003 - 07/06/2023 08:54:25    2484621

Replying To Freethinker:  "He does seem to be popular in the media, doesn't he. I see remarks attributed to him about "better " players not being protected. One overriding vision from one of the weekends matches was a player kneeling on another players head/neck. That incident brought back images of an incident in another country."
Did you listen to the podcast where he said that? He made specific reference to the targeting of a Wicklow player and the assurances from the refs' board that would stamp that out.

I do think he is completely biased when it comes to Armagh and especially Rian O'Neill.

At first I was surprised he was staying with the BBC commentary and podcast (he left Second Captains and the Irish Examiner ones) but then I got to thinking that all/most managers have full time jobs (our last permanent manager left because of it - or so he said). What is the downside of a manager analyzing in the media - you would hope a manager is watching all the football they can to get ideas/awareness of the trends in the game etc. If he gets a few bob out of it what about.

TopDrawer (Wicklow) - Posts: 53 - 07/06/2023 12:30:43    2484715

Replying To TopDrawer:  "Did you listen to the podcast where he said that? He made specific reference to the targeting of a Wicklow player and the assurances from the refs' board that would stamp that out.

I do think he is completely biased when it comes to Armagh and especially Rian O'Neill.

At first I was surprised he was staying with the BBC commentary and podcast (he left Second Captains and the Irish Examiner ones) but then I got to thinking that all/most managers have full time jobs (our last permanent manager left because of it - or so he said). What is the downside of a manager analyzing in the media - you would hope a manager is watching all the football they can to get ideas/awareness of the trends in the game etc. If he gets a few bob out of it what about."
I think that he is Rians uncle and fair play to them both. I'd say that this latest contact is on account of this and the dismissal at the weekend. I'm not too sure that there is much wrong with being a "media darling" if it's all kept within the context of him having other responsibilities. The great Micko never shied away from a microphone. Davey Fitz springs to mind also, amongst others. On the other hand, other managers are a bit dour and tight lipped and in fairness what reporter wants to try coax words out of them. If Oisin can keep us in Div 3 and in due course possibly get to Div 2 he can podcast away to his hearts content.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1003 - 07/06/2023 13:24:57    2484736

Do you really think that our current manager doing podcasts is the reason we lost in Leinster and are out of the Tailteann Cup? If so, then you are grasping at straws. It amazes me that supporters in various counties including our own attribute the lack of success to the manager. We had the best manager in the history of the gaa for 5 years; how many leinster titles and promotions did he manage us to win? Was that the fault of Mick O'Dwyer?

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 07/06/2023 19:46:36    2484832

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Unlike Carlow; we tend not to get carried away. Ye win a couple of games and you think you can come on here being condensing to us. Come back when carlow have actually won something and i might be willing to listen. Wicklow played well yesterday, i was impressed with our newcomers. We have a long way to go but hopefully the players will continue to develop and stay in division 3 come spring 2024."
You tend not to get carried away you say??? Did you not say WW are five years away from being a top team???? LOL - maybe I missed all those Leinsters and All Ireland minor and Under 20's ye've been winning??!! Dream on.

Re me being condescending to WW well in fairness if we can't be condescending to WW we're really stuck. If there's any county CW have a vastly superior record to in both codes over the years it's WW.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 08/06/2023 13:58:41    2484934

100% correct in everything you said in that post ,I think the only people there from Wicklow were the panel and management and few family members of the players .

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 08/06/2023 15:30:14    2484946

Replying To Onion Breath:  "You tend not to get carried away you say??? Did you not say WW are five years away from being a top team???? LOL - maybe I missed all those Leinsters and All Ireland minor and Under 20's ye've been winning??!! Dream on.

Re me being condescending to WW well in fairness if we can't be condescending to WW we're really stuck. If there's any county CW have a vastly superior record to in both codes over the years it's WW."
If you checked your facts before you starting spouting rubbish all the time, you will find I never said that Wicklow were five years from being a top time. In fact, I've criticised the lack of underage development and our record at schools and underage. Oh, by the way, what Division are Carlow in? I think we are looking down on you.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 08/06/2023 16:27:18    2484974