Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To TopDrawer:  "Great result from the minors tonight. Refreshing twitter every 5 seconds is nerve racking.

I'm not certain but I think it is Kildare in Newbridge next Wednesday."
Kildare in Newbridge at 1900 next Wednesday. 4 away games in a row.

TopDrawer (Wicklow) - Posts: 51 - 05/05/2022 11:07:37    2415004

Firstly, well done to the Wicklow minors and their management. Three victories so far and another semi final is encouraging signs. Add in that this will be our second semi final in the last few years. It doesn't seem much but with where we are coming from it shows that progress is being made and we are going in the right direction. Kildare in Newbridge will be tough and a big step up. Kildare are investing alot in their underage which has reaped dividends in the last 10 years. This team have been behind in their last two games; away from home and come through which shows resilence and skill. This game will determine how close or far away we are from the top counties in Leinster which are Kildare and Dublin. I hope to get to the game and i wish the team and management all the best.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 06/05/2022 09:16:01    2415165

goodluck to minors i am going to match. the minors are playing great at the moment would like to wish the squad and management the best of luck on wednesday. we should have got a home tie in augrim the gaa are taking advantage of the weaker teams in minor level it is time we stood up for ourselves

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 238 - 07/05/2022 09:23:38    2415366

Replying To lor12:  "goodluck to minors i am going to match. the minors are playing great at the moment would like to wish the squad and management the best of luck on wednesday. we should have got a home tie in augrim the gaa are taking advantage of the weaker teams in minor level it is time we stood up for ourselves"
How exactly do we stand up for ourselves? Home advantage is based on what team comes out of the hat first. Unless we send a certain referee from Wicklow Town to do the draw in Leinster GAA HQ I think we just have to go with the luck of the draw.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 07/05/2022 15:01:15    2415414

Replying To lor12:  "goodluck to minors i am going to match. the minors are playing great at the moment would like to wish the squad and management the best of luck on wednesday. we should have got a home tie in augrim the gaa are taking advantage of the weaker teams in minor level it is time we stood up for ourselves"
lor12, I'm afraid it's one of the downsides of getting to mix it with the big boys at the business end of championships. It's invariably an open draw. An honest misunderstanding nonetheless and hardly one that warrants a sharp answer. Like you, I will try to make that game, and best of luck
to the whole panel and management.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 07/05/2022 20:09:27    2415463

when a person on here say something postive its is taking as a negative.

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 238 - 07/05/2022 20:32:05    2415470

Replying To lor12:  "when a person on here say something postive its is taking as a negative."
By and large, all opinions are welcome on here lor12. I for one agree with you in that it's a lot to ask young fellows to play 4 out of 5 games away from home, although this team seems to be able to overcome this obstacle quite comfortably. To me, it is more the thing of having to get off school, then trying to get some form of sustenance in and then the travel before each game. Luckily Newbridge isn't so far away. Sometimes we get shot down when we put forward ideas or suggestions, but even then most people are respectful with their comment. Keep the opinions, ideas and suggestions coming, to my mind, we don't get enough on here.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 08/05/2022 08:54:04    2415491

Replying To lor12:  "when a person on here say something postive its is taking as a negative."
Lor12 put forward what you think. There's nothing you can do about peoples reaction but everyone has something to add. We won't always agree on everything but by large we all want the same outcome. People react negatively alot of the time on here because (i) they don't want to hear the truth and/or (ii) they want to maintain the status quo and have nothing change. It is a bit unfortunate that the minors are away but they just have to get on with it and try to put their best foot forward. Kildare are very strong at underage so this is a big test for these guys. I hope they give a good account of themselves and see how it panes out. On a side note, i wonder if the hurlers decline will be addressed at any county board meeting?

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 08/05/2022 10:41:18    2415504

The more opinions on here the better lads. Very hartened by the minor footballers and they way they have won games the hard way away from home and from behind in both knock out games. Judging by previous results they really up against it but fingers crossed they can pull it out of the bag!! The hurlers decline has been shocking this year. It's a very young team and maybe the experience will stand to them next year...maybe that is blue sky thinking!

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 08/05/2022 12:45:48    2415531

how will wicklow do in the Nicky Rackard Cup cup nexy year . in my view is not the end of the world they will have to regroup nexy year . wicklow have another hard match next week against london away

lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 238 - 08/05/2022 13:46:48    2415543

I see wicklow blue beat Westmeath today in the Celtic challenge. Can anyone explain this competition to me? Would that have been the full Westmeath minor team? And how come we are beating teams like this but are not even entered in the Leinster tier 2 championship?

liam500 (Wicklow) - Posts: 175 - 08/05/2022 15:47:53    2415587

Replying To lor12:  "how will wicklow do in the Nicky Rackard Cup cup nexy year . in my view is not the end of the world they will have to regroup nexy year . wicklow have another hard match next week against london away"
With the panel of players currently representing the county, we will struggle against any other county. This is to take nothing away from these players. They are representing their county and deserve credit for doing that, at least. But, our best players are not making themselves available for whatever reason. There is obviously something not right here here when decent hurlers decide to make themselves unavailable for selection. Whatever the reason, we are at a low ebb indeed. Will these guys be back ?? Will they be wanted back. ?? They are making a very harsh statement and one that may come back to haunt them. Whatever the reason, let's hope that next year brings a new impetus and incentive to get the best hurlers back representing the county and their clubs. There certainly seems to be an improving lot of hurlers coming through at underage level but it will be years before these guys come on stream at senior level and God knows what level we will occupy by that time of the current internal situation isn't resolved b

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 08/05/2022 19:41:35    2415697

Replying To liam500:  "I see wicklow blue beat Westmeath today in the Celtic challenge. Can anyone explain this competition to me? Would that have been the full Westmeath minor team? And how come we are beating teams like this but are not even entered in the Leinster tier 2 championship?"
From what I was told by a mentor it was the Westmeath under 16 team (next years minors) so Wicklow would have had a years advantage against them. If thats true we would want to be winning those games.

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 09/05/2022 13:04:10    2415925

Replying To Freethinker:  "By and large, all opinions are welcome on here lor12. I for one agree with you in that it's a lot to ask young fellows to play 4 out of 5 games away from home, although this team seems to be able to overcome this obstacle quite comfortably. To me, it is more the thing of having to get off school, then trying to get some form of sustenance in and then the travel before each game. Luckily Newbridge isn't so far away. Sometimes we get shot down when we put forward ideas or suggestions, but even then most people are respectful with their comment. Keep the opinions, ideas and suggestions coming, to my mind, we don't get enough on here."
Ah lads, would yous take a day off from the pity party. I asked what we were supposed to do about Wicklow being drawn away from home? Hardly shooting anyone down. I'll be there myself on Wednesday, looking forward to it. I feel like this minor team has come in under the radar compared to previous teams that we would have had high hopes for. I saw a couple of games in the club minor championship last year and the standard was very good, particularly with it being under 17 now.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 09/05/2022 14:22:51    2415958

The minor game tomorrow is being streamed on YouTube for those who can't make the game

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 10/05/2022 19:04:45    2416373

Tough on those young fellows tonight. It just shows that although we are going in the right direction, there is still a gap between us and the top teams in Leinster. Like another poster points out regularly, Kildare have been putting great effort and resources into their juveniles for a good few years now and it is paying off in spades. Again, hard luck lads but you did us proud to get as far as you did. I think a fair few of this panel are still available next year so this year will stand them in good stead.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 11/05/2022 20:34:27    2416605

It's hard being a Wicklow supporter!! Fair play to the minor team on thier run this year. Sone of the Kildare team look ready to go senior already!!

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 11/05/2022 20:42:22    2416606

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "It's hard being a Wicklow supporter!! Fair play to the minor team on thier run this year. Sone of the Kildare team look ready to go senior already!!"
Agreed Stringfellowhawk, Tis tough - and has been all my life. I suppose it has always been the case that we appear to be a few steps behind the better organised counties. When we reach the bar, the others have pushed on a bit farther. That is the challenge. We are possibly on the right path, but we are hardly back where we after about 20 yrs ago. At that stage we were almost there but we slipped way off the pace. This is our 3rd or 4th year of an upsurge but arguably are as far off Kildare if not further, than when we had that great run that Kevin brought us on.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 989 - 12/05/2022 10:53:55    2416636

Disappointing night last night. It was never really a contest but fair play to everyone involved to get there and to put in a very spirited second half performance. Kildare have some very good players, would have been interesting to see how Wicklow would have fared against Offaly in a semi final.

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 12/05/2022 10:57:05    2416637

Replying To Freethinker:  "Tough on those young fellows tonight. It just shows that although we are going in the right direction, there is still a gap between us and the top teams in Leinster. Like another poster points out regularly, Kildare have been putting great effort and resources into their juveniles for a good few years now and it is paying off in spades. Again, hard luck lads but you did us proud to get as far as you did. I think a fair few of this panel are still available next year so this year will stand them in good stead."
Firstly fair play to the minor players and management on getting to a provincial semi final. Last night was a step too far but if the lessons are learned then these players can get better. Underage, Kildare are on par with the top counties in ireland. They've looked at what the top counties are doing at underage in terms of coaching, s&c, tactics, the lot and they put the proper structures in place about 10 years ago and have built on it year on year. It didn't happen overnight. It is a big undertaken but every player, mentor, club and even some ex players have completely bought into it and they are reaping what they've sowed. Will the powers the by in Wicklow show some ambition and help these underage players take the next step? Other counties are not going to take the foot off the pedal so Wicklow can't wait another 6-12 months to act, it needs to start now. It can be done but in order for Wicklow to make the jump they need to change and keep on improving how we operate particularly at underage.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 12/05/2022 11:19:53    2416648