Limerick GAA thread

Replying To Clubgaa:  "Lads could ye ease up on the negative comments on young O Neill. Yes we would all love to see a ready made replacemnet for Casey but that will take time and matches. Some years back I was reading comments about Geroid Hegarty, that he should stick to the football as he would not make it as county hurler and defo not as a forward. Well we all know how those expert posters got it wrong. Last Sunday O Neill was no worse then Reidy, Gillane, Fitzgibbon, Ryan all who have way more experience then he has, so lets wait until he and the team gets going. Young English might make the step up faster but he will neet time also and there us lots more left in Mulcahy as well."
Great shout. I like what o neill has brought in relation to work rate, tackle count and his ability to win that dirty ball. Not as evident Sunday when I felt he gassed out and the confidence slowly drifted from him

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 09/02/2022 14:29:38    2399525

I'd be in favor of this..o neill is still learning his trade at senior inter county..he has been talked about in local circles for years,give him a chance.also he is playing with UL freshers at moment so he's a busy young man..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 09/02/2022 15:06:40    2399537

Do ye reckon if nobody nails down Peter Casey's spot upfront is there any possibility of Nash or Hayes reverting to the forwards, ye seem well stocked at the back with Richie English, Cloughlan and possibly Mike Casey pushing for starting spots on top of last starting backs. Maybe Gillane and Flanagan as 2 inside with 3rd person in FF line in a free role.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/02/2022 21:16:39    2399742

Replying To wexico15:  "Do ye reckon if nobody nails down Peter Casey's spot upfront is there any possibility of Nash or Hayes reverting to the forwards, ye seem well stocked at the back with Richie English, Cloughlan and possibly Mike Casey pushing for starting spots on top of last starting backs. Maybe Gillane and Flanagan as 2 inside with 3rd person in FF line in a free role."
Yea, put best wing back in Ireland the last two years at other end of the field or even moving an all star corner back out of his position. How does that make sense? They have forwards galore to come in.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 644 - 11/02/2022 10:31:54    2399769

Replying To countyman2022:  "Yea, put best wing back in Ireland the last two years at other end of the field or even moving an all star corner back out of his position. How does that make sense? They have forwards galore to come in."
Ideally we don't want to be moving these guys from the positions in which they are playing so well but I think it might be an option worth considering, if other forwards in the panel don't step up to the level required over the course of the league. If Graham Mulcahy starts in Peter Casey's place come championship, then there's no one currently you could see making a big impact off the bench.

westsider78 (Cork) - Posts: 1 - 11/02/2022 11:13:50    2399777

Think ye are all being premature. Any of the 3 lads could turn out to be in very good form come April.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12213 - 11/02/2022 12:04:14    2399780

Replying To countyman2022:  "Yea, put best wing back in Ireland the last two years at other end of the field or even moving an all star corner back out of his position. How does that make sense? They have forwards galore to come in."
Well that is all very well, but Hannon was a forward in his day and scored five points from play in awful conditions, in an All Ireland Semi Final and of course Hayes, also as a half forward scored four in an All Ireland Final and got MOTM that day and yet both of them are now half backs.
If Ritchie can reproduce his form of last Sunday and Mike Casey returns to full fitness then the Full back is pretty well covered and in that case if the Corner forward position is proving hard to fill, why not call on Barry, a man who was MOTM in an All Ireland U21 Final as Corner Forward.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 11/02/2022 15:23:15    2399836

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well that is all very well, but Hannon was a forward in his day and scored five points from play in awful conditions, in an All Ireland Semi Final and of course Hayes, also as a half forward scored four in an All Ireland Final and got MOTM that day and yet both of them are now half backs.
If Ritchie can reproduce his form of last Sunday and Mike Casey returns to full fitness then the Full back is pretty well covered and in that case if the Corner forward position is proving hard to fill, why not call on Barry, a man who was MOTM in an All Ireland U21 Final as Corner Forward."
Think Peter Casey is a huge loss to Limerick (is he out for the year?) and won't be easily replaced although if anyone can do it Limerick can. Would cathal O'Neill be an option in full forward line. He's a super talent with loads of pace. Think a few people have been a little hard in their judgement of him here. Think He's still only 19 he'll be a star of the future with ye.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 489 - 11/02/2022 15:50:22    2399843

Galway were full value for their win tonight even with red card. More spread of scorers and played smartly. Thrilled for young O'Neil. Thought he was struggling with the pressure of starting. Would have been just happy for the lad to get involved in general play. He did that and more. Even though Galway won well in the end, thought it was definitely a more improved performance than last week by limerick. For their first game of the year, I thought Finn and Flanagan were excellent. Tom is definitely not himself yet but we know what he'll do once up to match fitness. Hegarty definitely deserved a red. I really hope that's the last red of the year and I definitely hope WO'D and o grady aren't badly injured because our midfield options would take a right hit.
I suppose the biggest thing for our lads is getting up the required energy levels for championship which is no mean feat.They are human at the end of the day. Over the last 2 years in particular they have had to train on their own, keep isolated off the pitch and, play through all types of weather(Depths of winter in 2020 and hottest day of the year 2021) . They owe us absolutely nothing.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 12/02/2022 21:22:21    2400010

I see hegarty finally got a red.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 12/02/2022 21:56:34    2400022

Kiely will be happy enough with last night's performance. I thought they upped the level of intensity a notch and played the ball well for good spells. Considering it was a few of the lads first game I thought finn and Hayes looked v Sharp and Flanagan had a v good 2nd half when he got going. Gillane reacted v well to last weeks no show and he looked our most threatening forward through out. He was hugely animated and instrumental in running the inside line after the red.

The red card was justified and horgan did limerick a lot of favours last night in how the match played out. It was a super workout against the extra man and kiely would have taken a huge amount from the match about certain individuals going forward. Gearoid plays on the edge and all the great players have and will continue to do. The narrative over the last couple of years has been pushed and no harm getting the red in a relatively meaningless fitness exercise. He just needs to reflect on the hurley high which just isn't allowed regardless of provocation.

Cathal o neill impressed me hugely. I felt after wexford he did a lot of things well that day and for a lad in his first proper season at this level showed plenty of class. He's a work horse/great to win dirty ball/great hands and shooting was better last night albeit a few wides. He will put huge pressure on morrissey to get up to speed quickly.

The match overall was entertaining with the result irrelevant really esp after the sending off. Limerick understandably ran out of gas but i was surprised they were still leading with 8 mins left. That run out will stand to them hugely considering the huge physical workload they are currently in the middle of as they catch up with the rest of the other countys. WoD was a huge loss in the middle of the field. Best 9 in the country and his absence hopefully won't be for long. Considering they were without hego and will in the middle for most parts they performed well.

2 weeks to next match and a lot of hard work to be done. I felt after last week we were slightly behind where we were last year at same stage. After last night I think we're slightly ahead.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 13/02/2022 09:26:33    2400032

Replying To daveboy:  "Kiely will be happy enough with last night's performance. I thought they upped the level of intensity a notch and played the ball well for good spells. Considering it was a few of the lads first game I thought finn and Hayes looked v Sharp and Flanagan had a v good 2nd half when he got going. Gillane reacted v well to last weeks no show and he looked our most threatening forward through out. He was hugely animated and instrumental in running the inside line after the red.

The red card was justified and horgan did limerick a lot of favours last night in how the match played out. It was a super workout against the extra man and kiely would have taken a huge amount from the match about certain individuals going forward. Gearoid plays on the edge and all the great players have and will continue to do. The narrative over the last couple of years has been pushed and no harm getting the red in a relatively meaningless fitness exercise. He just needs to reflect on the hurley high which just isn't allowed regardless of provocation.

Cathal o neill impressed me hugely. I felt after wexford he did a lot of things well that day and for a lad in his first proper season at this level showed plenty of class. He's a work horse/great to win dirty ball/great hands and shooting was better last night albeit a few wides. He will put huge pressure on morrissey to get up to speed quickly.

The match overall was entertaining with the result irrelevant really esp after the sending off. Limerick understandably ran out of gas but i was surprised they were still leading with 8 mins left. That run out will stand to them hugely considering the huge physical workload they are currently in the middle of as they catch up with the rest of the other countys. WoD was a huge loss in the middle of the field. Best 9 in the country and his absence hopefully won't be for long. Considering they were without hego and will in the middle for most parts they performed well.

2 weeks to next match and a lot of hard work to be done. I felt after last week we were slightly behind where we were last year at same stage. After last night I think we're slightly ahead."
Good post.. I came away very happy with what I saw last night. The loss didn't bother me as There was an improvement from the Wexford game and a sharpness in some of our play that was really good to see..

Gillanes goal was top drawer stuff. He caused all sorts of problems with his movement off the ball and his accuracy was spot on.

O Neill had a question mark hanging over him to an extent before last night which albeit unfair, Is understandable considering his underage reputation.. Thought he really stood up to the challenge, held his own physically and got some good scores..
wonder will we see him at 11 more often with Lynch playing a floating Tony Kelly type role when he's back?

Nash at 6 was something I was looking forward to seeing and again he was very comfortable there..
The whole purpose of the league has to be about exploring options and seeing what players can offer. Last night despite the result has a lot of positives about it..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1070 - 13/02/2022 10:20:15    2400044

Having looked back at Limerick Games most of the scores they have conceded was due to over passing or bad passing,players in position to take a score pass the ball giving the Opposition the chance to get the ball,I think less passing is the way forward.

Dublinculchie1 (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 13/02/2022 10:24:48    2400050

Overall think they will probably be happy enough..this will have been better than a weeks training..finn,Hayes and Flanagan looked sharp on first night out..gillane had s great first half..very impressed with o neill..he is also involved in freshers at moment so is Avery busy young man..hope o donohue isn't badly injured as he is vital to how limerick play..discipline needs to be watched and hopefully last night will have helped..a lot of people waiting on limerick to collapse,specially Donal og and the Gaa host Joanne cantwell..let's hope we can keep annoying these sorts for a few more years..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 13/02/2022 11:08:10    2400057

Replying To Dublinculchie1:  "Having looked back at Limerick Games most of the scores they have conceded was due to over passing or bad passing,players in position to take a score pass the ball giving the Opposition the chance to get the ball,I think less passing is the way forward."
I think you can put most of it down to them only being back 6 weeks as opposed to other countys being back 10 weeks. That sharpness and touch will come in time. The way limerick play when they're a few months in is unstoppable at times. No need to change anything. Just more time to get up to speed.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 13/02/2022 11:15:54    2400060

I remember last year when Limerick went down to play Wateford in Walsh Park, Flanagan and Hayes got the line that day and there was a bit of a dust up and Waterford won. People felt that Waterford had stood up to Limerick and gave them enough of it. We all know how the year went after that. They poked the bear.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1927 - 13/02/2022 12:53:06    2400076

An interesting game to be at last night. Our hurling is still a good bit off but you'd feel it's going in tbf right direction

Firstly in my opinion the red card was warranted. Can't get away with that. It's a tough tightrope to walk. We won't win by being too nice but you can't expect anything other than a red for that. Shows how important it is to stay at 15 men. We utterly ran out of steam after the 60th minute

Positives, firstly Cathal o neill looked a real prospect at the top level. Hopefully the confidence of the performance will push him on because his accuracy and range of shooting is really impressive. I expect him to start every other league game. I suspect the brains trust are trying to battle harden him faster than planned with Peter Casey's absence. He still has things to work on. He took too much out of the ball a few times but that's a lesson only game time can teach. His height makes him a puck out target which DOD isn't.
A lot of the stalwarts look to be ticking over. I wo Tom morrissey perhaps looking a little further back than some but you'd hope he'll be fine for championship. Last season he was still undercooked for the first game v cork n was still flying by Munster final.
Barry Nash did fine at 6. Certainly an option if anything happened to Declan. Would he be an option at midfield for some of the league games if WOD is out. Hopefully that's not a bad injury. He's normally excellent at providing the physical edge without overstepping the mark

Negatives. Red card. We gave gotten lucky on a few occasions in the last two seasons particularly. We just can't give referees an easy red. No team survives a full half with 14 men at this point. There's nothing wrong with plenty timber but we can't get sidetracked by silly things. Clare lost an all Ireland in 98 with it. Kilkenny perhaps too in 2013.
Some of the fringe players need to grab that chance.
David reidy isn't an inside forward. He's a clever link player out the field but perhaps not an option for Casey's role closer to goal. Roles may have to be redefined.

Sugary_tae (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 13/02/2022 19:49:49    2400189

I'd like to see hegarty get a long suspension. He doesn't seem to have any sense that what he does is wrong.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 14/02/2022 11:19:00    2400271

Replying To Sugary_tae:  "An interesting game to be at last night. Our hurling is still a good bit off but you'd feel it's going in tbf right direction

Firstly in my opinion the red card was warranted. Can't get away with that. It's a tough tightrope to walk. We won't win by being too nice but you can't expect anything other than a red for that. Shows how important it is to stay at 15 men. We utterly ran out of steam after the 60th minute

Positives, firstly Cathal o neill looked a real prospect at the top level. Hopefully the confidence of the performance will push him on because his accuracy and range of shooting is really impressive. I expect him to start every other league game. I suspect the brains trust are trying to battle harden him faster than planned with Peter Casey's absence. He still has things to work on. He took too much out of the ball a few times but that's a lesson only game time can teach. His height makes him a puck out target which DOD isn't.
A lot of the stalwarts look to be ticking over. I wo Tom morrissey perhaps looking a little further back than some but you'd hope he'll be fine for championship. Last season he was still undercooked for the first game v cork n was still flying by Munster final.
Barry Nash did fine at 6. Certainly an option if anything happened to Declan. Would he be an option at midfield for some of the league games if WOD is out. Hopefully that's not a bad injury. He's normally excellent at providing the physical edge without overstepping the mark

Negatives. Red card. We gave gotten lucky on a few occasions in the last two seasons particularly. We just can't give referees an easy red. No team survives a full half with 14 men at this point. There's nothing wrong with plenty timber but we can't get sidetracked by silly things. Clare lost an all Ireland in 98 with it. Kilkenny perhaps too in 2013.
Some of the fringe players need to grab that chance.
David reidy isn't an inside forward. He's a clever link player out the field but perhaps not an option for Casey's role closer to goal. Roles may have to be redefined."
Wexford in the '97 Semi Final also comes to mind. They were going well until a moment of madness in which John Leahy got a dirty blow seemed to change the whole tenure of the game, even if the culprit got away scot free.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 14/02/2022 18:47:12    2400382

Replying To gahfan:  "I'd like to see hegarty get a long suspension. He doesn't seem to have any sense that what he does is wrong."
Did you ever watch Liam Dunne play???

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 14/02/2022 19:11:04    2400384