Limerick GAA thread

Replying To daveboy:  "Limerick do have a strong team named and will be interesting to see how they go. They are only back a few weeks but I think with the short run to championship teams need to be deciding pretty quickly on their 26-30 players and give adequate game time in the league.

Always a tough place wexford park and darragh Egan is a great choice for wexford over the next couple of years. Can't wait for match."
Everyone is aware of the pecking order on recent form, where ye are now is similar to peak Kilkenny and peak Dublin footballers, sounds like Darragh is well recommended by all accounts, if we can clear our injuries up and get our ducks in a row we're hoping to give Leinster a rattle, at the moment we would have no fear of Kilkenny or Dublin (might sound mad after last Saturday) if we're going well, while Galway from the outside have all the talent but can be unreliable as shown by there poor championship showing last year.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/02/2022 16:42:28    2398330

Great win for yer footballers up in Antrim. Hopefully they can keep up the good start for the rest of the league!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1925 - 05/02/2022 17:10:16    2398441

Right so in fairness the lads deserve enough respect not to overreact after a loss in the league.

Positives: The backs in general were very solid.
Hannon and Nash were in excellent shape I thought. While Dan got caught for a high ball I thought as a unit the back 6 were decent with plenty room for improvement. Excellent save from Quaid in first half too.
WO'D put in a decent shift for me too.
Negatives: the forwards with the exception of Hegarty did not have a good day at the office. 11 points was very poor by recent standards. There's a chance there for someone to stake a claim for a starting spot with P casey being injured and no one grasped that opportunity today. P Ryan won't get too many more opportunities to prove he can be a starter I hope if he's on the next day there will be a marked improvement. Also a little bit worried about O'Neil's start in senior hurling. Had a bit of game time last year and I'd be hoping he'd make more inroads this year.
Whatever about not scoring, I felt the game past him by and I his little involvement he lacked confidence.

Right now it looks like last year Kiely and Kinnerk have decided on a gentle build up. It was perfect last year, they got the timing spot on. Have to be trusted to do the same this year. I think we'd all be happy if by the end of the league that the lads start to show a bit of form but that there's also a couple of new lads that could be part of the starting team

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 06/02/2022 17:56:05    2398624

Replying To Mads:  "Right so in fairness the lads deserve enough respect not to overreact after a loss in the league.

Positives: The backs in general were very solid.
Hannon and Nash were in excellent shape I thought. While Dan got caught for a high ball I thought as a unit the back 6 were decent with plenty room for improvement. Excellent save from Quaid in first half too.
WO'D put in a decent shift for me too.
Negatives: the forwards with the exception of Hegarty did not have a good day at the office. 11 points was very poor by recent standards. There's a chance there for someone to stake a claim for a starting spot with P casey being injured and no one grasped that opportunity today. P Ryan won't get too many more opportunities to prove he can be a starter I hope if he's on the next day there will be a marked improvement. Also a little bit worried about O'Neil's start in senior hurling. Had a bit of game time last year and I'd be hoping he'd make more inroads this year.
Whatever about not scoring, I felt the game past him by and I his little involvement he lacked confidence.

Right now it looks like last year Kiely and Kinnerk have decided on a gentle build up. It was perfect last year, they got the timing spot on. Have to be trusted to do the same this year. I think we'd all be happy if by the end of the league that the lads start to show a bit of form but that there's also a couple of new lads that could be part of the starting team"
100% agree. It looked like for most of them they were only back training a fortnight. The only real disappointment for me were the 1 or 2 the non-established forwards who did very little

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 06/02/2022 21:05:19    2398735

Replying To Shocs07:  "100% agree. It looked like for most of them they were only back training a fortnight. The only real disappointment for me were the 1 or 2 the non-established forwards who did very little"
Yeah they got little or nothing from the full forward line, was hoping Pat Ryan would have given it a good lash today.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 06/02/2022 21:49:11    2398753

Replying To Bon:  "Yeah they got little or nothing from the full forward line, was hoping Pat Ryan would have given it a good lash today."
He won 5/5 balls and never used his pace to take his man on and instead shot off the back foot under pressure or passed the ball off. Reidy at this stage looks the most likely to replace Casey.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 07/02/2022 10:11:39    2398808

The backs were good and Willam O Donoghue , Hegarty and thats about it.. Nash was exceptionally good.
Lads O Neill may be young but he's not shown anything for me. He's jittery on the ball ,gets dispossessed easily and over or underhits the pass. It's not working. Id give Adam English a start. I dont see Conor Boylan making an impact . He's played 2 fitzgibbon games at wing forward and scored nothing...in a uni match. That's awful. Pat Ryan fro whatever reason isn't thriving . He's playing scared. He could roast his man for pace and doesn't have the confidence to do it. His shots were brutal.Reidy was ok in patches. To be honest iv no faith in him under pressure. He's weak physically and rash. Himself , Pat Ryan and Conor Boylan are all good squad players ...I wouldnt start any of them come championship. O Neill will develop but he's not near starting championship.
Regulars like Morrissey and Gilane will improve. They have the jersey. It's a big disappointment that they aren't being challenged.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 07/02/2022 11:50:41    2398856

Replying To updwell:  "He won 5/5 balls and never used his pace to take his man on and instead shot off the back foot under pressure or passed the ball off. Reidy at this stage looks the most likely to replace Casey."
Yeah I'd say your right, Reidy has been pushing hard for a while and is very versatile. Shame about Pat Ryan, he's a guy I'd have a hell of a lot of time for, super skilful and plenty of ability but doesn't seem to be able to push on.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 07/02/2022 13:35:24    2398908

Wasn't at the game, watched it on TV, but spoke to a friend who was, and he told me that we looked disinterested for parts, when things didn't work out flapped a bit and tried too hard at other times. The bit of fluidity wasn't there.

Reminds me of the first league match against Tipp last year, Tom Morrissey in particular was very poor that day.
Shooting was off, he was easily dispossessed and blocked a good few times.
Come championship he was immense. You could apply the same for most of the team really..

I expect us to improve consistently as the weeks go by peaking at the right time..
Definitely agree with other posters regarding Reidy and Ryan, they just don't seem to do enough to claim a spot so Casey's position still up for grabs.

Outside of Nash who was immense a definite Positive from yesterday's match is Ritchie English imo. He definitely seems to have rediscovered his form and will be pushing hard for a starting spot again.
Have to remember Wexford had a lot of points to prove also. They're after 2 shocking years in a row. All of a sudden, new manager, new system and the back to back A I Champions in town..
They were well up for it in a way that we just weren't..
Even if we lose to Galway on Saturday I wouldn't be too bothered, just want to see improvement with lads fighting for the starting 15 jerseys..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 07/02/2022 14:12:09    2398935

Replying To bloodyban:  "The backs were good and Willam O Donoghue , Hegarty and thats about it.. Nash was exceptionally good.
Lads O Neill may be young but he's not shown anything for me. He's jittery on the ball ,gets dispossessed easily and over or underhits the pass. It's not working. Id give Adam English a start. I dont see Conor Boylan making an impact . He's played 2 fitzgibbon games at wing forward and scored nothing...in a uni match. That's awful. Pat Ryan fro whatever reason isn't thriving . He's playing scared. He could roast his man for pace and doesn't have the confidence to do it. His shots were brutal.Reidy was ok in patches. To be honest iv no faith in him under pressure. He's weak physically and rash. Himself , Pat Ryan and Conor Boylan are all good squad players ...I wouldnt start any of them come championship. O Neill will develop but he's not near starting championship.
Regulars like Morrissey and Gilane will improve. They have the jersey. It's a big disappointment that they aren't being challenged."
I thought Nash was top class too. He had one or two wayward passes but in general he was exceptional. Limerick have six excelelnt backs and an argument could be made for each of them about whos the most important but he's got to be up there now. He's key to the way Limerick play and i still cant understand how teams leave him free.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/02/2022 14:44:30    2398960

Replying To bloodyban:  "The backs were good and Willam O Donoghue , Hegarty and thats about it.. Nash was exceptionally good.
Regulars like Morrissey and Gilane will improve. They have the jersey. It's a big disappointment that they aren't being challenged."
I think that assessment is pretty spot on, although I feel Robbie Hanley also did OK.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4338 - 07/02/2022 15:07:10    2398974

Replying To updwell:  "He won 5/5 balls and never used his pace to take his man on and instead shot off the back foot under pressure or passed the ball off. Reidy at this stage looks the most likely to replace Casey."
If English Finn and Dan would all do fine in the Full Back Line and Mike Casey regains fitness would not it be an idea to do the bold thing and move Barry Nash up to where he first made his name, namely as a fine free scoring U21 Corner Forward.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4338 - 07/02/2022 15:10:47    2398976

I don't think John will be too worried about the defeat yesterday but will not be happy that none of the fringe players had any impact on the game. Colin Coughlin probably the best but we have plenty of options in defence. Ryan, Reidy and ONeill failed to score even if conditions were not great for forwards. On the positives Richie English looks back to his best and will be pushing hard for a starting place come championship.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 112 - 07/02/2022 15:15:44    2398978

Replying To journeyman:  "I don't think John will be too worried about the defeat yesterday but will not be happy that none of the fringe players had any impact on the game. Colin Coughlin probably the best but we have plenty of options in defence. Ryan, Reidy and ONeill failed to score even if conditions were not great for forwards. On the positives Richie English looks back to his best and will be pushing hard for a starting place come championship."
I think this is on the money. We need to remember that Limerick are only back 4 weeks. For the first couple of sessions they barely had 10 or 12 training due to covid, kilmallock, fitzgibbon etc. I do feel they are in a similar position or even slightly behind where they were last year. I imagine they are front loading the heavy physical work right now so they were definitely leggy and lacked sharpness yesterday. Kiely won't be bothered but the message will be sent out that the effort was not quite there yesterday from everyone. It was most certainly there from the back 6 and a few others. Gillane got whipped early which is a good message to the group. They are a highly competitive bunch and you could see some of them were not happy after the game.

The analysis on here so far has been accurate re performance levels and the lack of the fringe players really putting the hand up in a consistent way. For me David Reidy had a very good first 45 mins but he fell away badly like most of the forward unit hegarty aside. I still think he is in the frame for the 15 jersey as I noticed a marked improvement on his tackle count and turned the ball over very well a few times.

The shooting and sharpness will all come in time. There will probably be another defeat to absorb in next couple of weeks but the focus has to be in mid April v Cork. The work rate needs to be improved even if the shooting remains off once that effort is put in the rest will follow.

I'd like to see Finn Hayes DoD and Flanagan get the start Saturday. They all need game time and even at this early stage kiely will have a good idea of his 26 already.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1131 - 07/02/2022 16:19:59    2399022

Replying To daveboy:  "I think this is on the money. We need to remember that Limerick are only back 4 weeks. For the first couple of sessions they barely had 10 or 12 training due to covid, kilmallock, fitzgibbon etc. I do feel they are in a similar position or even slightly behind where they were last year. I imagine they are front loading the heavy physical work right now so they were definitely leggy and lacked sharpness yesterday. Kiely won't be bothered but the message will be sent out that the effort was not quite there yesterday from everyone. It was most certainly there from the back 6 and a few others. Gillane got whipped early which is a good message to the group. They are a highly competitive bunch and you could see some of them were not happy after the game.

The analysis on here so far has been accurate re performance levels and the lack of the fringe players really putting the hand up in a consistent way. For me David Reidy had a very good first 45 mins but he fell away badly like most of the forward unit hegarty aside. I still think he is in the frame for the 15 jersey as I noticed a marked improvement on his tackle count and turned the ball over very well a few times.

The shooting and sharpness will all come in time. There will probably be another defeat to absorb in next couple of weeks but the focus has to be in mid April v Cork. The work rate needs to be improved even if the shooting remains off once that effort is put in the rest will follow.

I'd like to see Finn Hayes DoD and Flanagan get the start Saturday. They all need game time and even at this early stage kiely will have a good idea of his 26 already."
Also agree with all that has been said about the forward fringe players and am disappointed no one, so far, is grabbing the place that is up for grabs with Peter Casey being out but conditions don't suit forwards at the moment. If we lost another forward or two there seems to be a big step down between the starters and fringe players. I did like the look of Adam English in there, he is very young but he looks confident on the field. O'Neill just doesn't look ready yet but there is still time.

We are blessed with backs and with Richie coming back to form could you Barry Nash be unleashed as a forward again. He is such a good skillful hurler you would feel like he can play anywhere. I guess he may not have the physicality and bruising work rate required for the Limerick half-forward line which is why the management team moved him back but I'm sure he could be a threat in corner forward. Very unlikely to happen I guess and might be too big a loss as a playmaking defender

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 08/02/2022 12:47:57    2399293

Nash is too important for distribution at corner back to move him up the field. It would also be a bit of a gamble. English had a decent game but he's not going to break into that full back line. He's a corner back. He was terrible in full back last year and asked to be taken off. But he's in great form and great cover to have. Id try Adam English in the corner against Galway ...or else O Neill. Its about time someone said that he has to start taking his chances. He's like a kid playing with the weight of the world on his shoulders. He ll make it into a fine hurler but can't see it happening this year unless he starts looking up ,protecting the sliotar and passing the ball before he's bottled up. I'm not a fan of his shooting into the heavens for a score either. Guys do that to confuse the umpire..

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 08/02/2022 14:05:52    2399313

Replying To bloodyban:  "Nash is too important for distribution at corner back to move him up the field. It would also be a bit of a gamble. English had a decent game but he's not going to break into that full back line. He's a corner back. He was terrible in full back last year and asked to be taken off. But he's in great form and great cover to have. Id try Adam English in the corner against Galway ...or else O Neill. Its about time someone said that he has to start taking his chances. He's like a kid playing with the weight of the world on his shoulders. He ll make it into a fine hurler but can't see it happening this year unless he starts looking up ,protecting the sliotar and passing the ball before he's bottled up. I'm not a fan of his shooting into the heavens for a score either. Guys do that to confuse the umpire.."
I hope O'Neil is selected next week just to get onto a run. I'd be lying if I saw too much of the munster league but I did notice he didn't get too many points registered. To be honest at that stage I'd just love the lad to get into the game and then hopefully a few scores would come. It's so early but I do agree he just hasn't settled at senior level yet. I would have thought it would better to start a game to get a chance to get into it but maybe it would be better to come off the bench if the game has loosened up. Anyway John kiel and Co know what's going on behind the scenes.

We know what Reidy can bring but it would be nice to get another name up top. Hopefully by the end of the league we have that because then could be in trouble if injuries persist or if a lad just gets into a bit of bad form. They are human at the end of the day.

I actually agree too about Barry Nash. Thankfully defensively there seems to be quite a lot of options. He's a guy that could play absolutely anywhere. Forwards aren't unknown to him either. For cover alone we are going to need someone to step up into the plate. Ant time I hear cruciate I think that's a player out for 12 months until He's properly up to match fitness. I think it's a big ask for Casey to be back even on the bench this year. Hopefully i'm wrong on that because his presence there would give you some comfort

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 08/02/2022 15:21:12    2399347

Replying To Mads:  "I hope O'Neil is selected next week just to get onto a run. I'd be lying if I saw too much of the munster league but I did notice he didn't get too many points registered. To be honest at that stage I'd just love the lad to get into the game and then hopefully a few scores would come. It's so early but I do agree he just hasn't settled at senior level yet. I would have thought it would better to start a game to get a chance to get into it but maybe it would be better to come off the bench if the game has loosened up. Anyway John kiel and Co know what's going on behind the scenes.

We know what Reidy can bring but it would be nice to get another name up top. Hopefully by the end of the league we have that because then could be in trouble if injuries persist or if a lad just gets into a bit of bad form. They are human at the end of the day.

I actually agree too about Barry Nash. Thankfully defensively there seems to be quite a lot of options. He's a guy that could play absolutely anywhere. Forwards aren't unknown to him either. For cover alone we are going to need someone to step up into the plate. Ant time I hear cruciate I think that's a player out for 12 months until He's properly up to match fitness. I think it's a big ask for Casey to be back even on the bench this year. Hopefully i'm wrong on that because his presence there would give you some comfort"
Yes indeed Mads, a cruciate injury will always entail a recovery period of twelve months and anyone coming back too soon could end up with a career ending injury. We should just forget about Peter Casey for this year and wish him a good recovery before 2023. There is nobody on here saying it but I thought Robbie Hanley played well last Sunday and took a very good point when under pressure and from a tight angle. Some of our forwards missed far easier chances. I know his chances of getting a starting place are poor, but he would be a good man to be held in reserve.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4338 - 08/02/2022 19:47:11    2399422

Eh lads it's the beginning of February. I think ye have unrealistic expectations of your fringe forwards if you were expecting them to play like established intercounty stars play in May and June. Wexford Park like Salthill is a terrible place for swirling winds. There were 40 odd wides and shots dropped short during the game not all by the newer forwards on both sides. There was also mighty pressure put on both sets of forwards by both sets of backs. Both teams had more of their championship playing backs playing last Saturday than forwards. I'd say some or all of the 3 lads will look alot better come the summer. Ye are all worrying over nothing yet.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12027 - 09/02/2022 10:20:47    2399462

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yes indeed Mads, a cruciate injury will always entail a recovery period of twelve months and anyone coming back too soon could end up with a career ending injury. We should just forget about Peter Casey for this year and wish him a good recovery before 2023. There is nobody on here saying it but I thought Robbie Hanley played well last Sunday and took a very good point when under pressure and from a tight angle. Some of our forwards missed far easier chances. I know his chances of getting a starting place are poor, but he would be a good man to be held in reserve."
Lads could ye ease up on the negative comments on young O Neill. Yes we would all love to see a ready made replacemnet for Casey but that will take time and matches. Some years back I was reading comments about Geroid Hegarty, that he should stick to the football as he would not make it as county hurler and defo not as a forward. Well we all know how those expert posters got it wrong. Last Sunday O Neill was no worse then Reidy, Gillane, Fitzgibbon, Ryan all who have way more experience then he has, so lets wait until he and the team gets going. Young English might make the step up faster but he will neet time also and there us lots more left in Mulcahy as well.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 09/02/2022 10:57:50    2399474