Limerick GAA thread

Yes would be jimmys son..I'd agree that the inside line without injured players looks light..I'd be hoping maybe young o neill after 12 months of development might put pressure on for a permanent position..go through all other clubs and not many have shown up..I'd agree on o Reilly has a real eye for goal and huge pace..I wonder will houlihan be looked at?two others who might be worth developing might be the younger hegarty and o Connor from Ballybrown..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2209 - 06/11/2021 11:30:11    2388530

Just a question for ye lads, have ye encountered much begrudgery in travels about the current Limerick Team?
Was in Wexford lately and got the comment Limerick are a "manufactured" team and have the All Ireland won in the Gym. Wexford must have done the S&C work picking Strawberries and Galway what were they at?

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 09/11/2021 11:23:04    2388867

Replying To Southsham:  "Just a question for ye lads, have ye encountered much begrudgery in travels about the current Limerick Team?
Was in Wexford lately and got the comment Limerick are a "manufactured" team and have the All Ireland won in the Gym. Wexford must have done the S&C work picking Strawberries and Galway what were they at?"
To be fair now, anybody who comes out with a statement like that hasn't a clue about Hurling and I wouldn't entertain their opinions in the slightest.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1899 - 09/11/2021 13:18:08    2388896

Replying To Southsham:  "Just a question for ye lads, have ye encountered much begrudgery in travels about the current Limerick Team?
Was in Wexford lately and got the comment Limerick are a "manufactured" team and have the All Ireland won in the Gym. Wexford must have done the S&C work picking Strawberries and Galway what were they at?"
Sounds more like jealousy than begrudgery to be honest...

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 09/11/2021 15:35:25    2388923

To follow on from the comments about the corner forwards being thin on the ground in the club championship ,I'd be slightly apprehensive aswell. This team is at their peak but realistically the first 15 doesn't have serious challengers. I wouldnt say O Neill is a corner forward. He's actually a wing forward in my opinion. Coughlan looks competent but he isn't going to challenge for a starting spot if Hayes and Byrnes are fit. And thats ok I guess but we really need to start planning now for succession. For me there's a few on the bench that could be moved on. The two Boylans haven't stepped up. I'd give Jerome another year but I'd move Conor on.im nit a fan of Jason Gillane either. I'd keep Adrian Breen for the round Robin. I think Robbie Hanley has had plenty of chances but his club form keeps him in there. Pat Ryan is worth his place on the bench. Graeme I would have let go but for Casey being injured. Mulcahy was poor last year in all.his sub appearances.This year is the round Robin. Id like to see at least 4 new faces on the bench..Adam English is one ..the other 3 ...maybe Houlihan for his frees..Is Will Henn worth a look.?

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 09/11/2021 18:39:12    2388957

It gave me a good laugh in fairness. I don't live in Limerick now and I have to say on the most part people are hugely impressed when speaking about the team and what they have achieved and the manner they have gone about it.
Has anyone heard anything about a season ticket for next year?

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 10/11/2021 09:30:14    2388978

I meet a lot of people from Galway, Tipperary and Clare and haven't come across any hint of begrudgery. On the contrary, there is nothing but admiration for what Limerick has achieved. The only thing bothering them is that they're wondering how on earth can they stop Limerick from dominating over the next few years.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 10/11/2021 13:02:19    2389009

Replying To midlands:  "I meet a lot of people from Galway, Tipperary and Clare and haven't come across any hint of begrudgery. On the contrary, there is nothing but admiration for what Limerick has achieved. The only thing bothering them is that they're wondering how on earth can they stop Limerick from dominating over the next few years."
I actually do not think Limerick are way out ahead. We all know Cork have great talent coming through, I wonder will that All Ireland Final loss set them back

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 10/11/2021 13:49:23    2389018

Yes! Confidence is severely dented, and will take a major effort by selectors to innovate and nurture the young talent!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 14/11/2021 21:26:11    2389452

Replying To midlands:  "I meet a lot of people from Galway, Tipperary and Clare and haven't come across any hint of begrudgery. On the contrary, there is nothing but admiration for what Limerick has achieved. The only thing bothering them is that they're wondering how on earth can they stop Limerick from dominating over the next few years."
I wouldnt begrudge limerick winning a few allirelands after only winning 1 in 70 odd years but I must say I was shouting for the rebels in this years allireland.

I'd say limerick will win the next couple as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/11/2021 21:48:59    2389459

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I wouldnt begrudge limerick winning a few allirelands after only winning 1 in 70 odd years but I must say I was shouting for the rebels in this years allireland.

I'd say limerick will win the next couple as well."
A Kerry Man shouting for Cork???? What is the world coming too

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 15/11/2021 10:34:11    2389488

Replying To Southsham:  "A Kerry Man shouting for Cork???? What is the world coming too"
Only in the hurling :-), and also in the football if we're knocked out.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/11/2021 10:51:58    2389493

Replying To Southsham:  "I actually do not think Limerick are way out ahead. We all know Cork have great talent coming through, I wonder will that All Ireland Final loss set them back"
When we have our strongest 15 out I think we are that bit ahead currently, but who knows how things will pan out next season. Peter Casey now may miss the whole of next season and there is a massive drop off currently on anyone who might come in and try and replace him, also he offers something different to the more power-based players. The biggest challenge will be having the hunger to do the whole thing again next year.
Cork definitely have the hurling talent, their forwards, especially the half forward line, will need to up their intensity and work rate 20% to 30% when they don't have the ball if they are to challenge. Half back line was always the most important line in a hurling match but now the half forward line is almost equally so and you need a dual player who can defend as well as they can attack. Kilkenny were doing this for years and Limerick also use it as the backbone for their success IMO.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 15/11/2021 10:54:16    2389494

Replying To Fitzy01:  "When we have our strongest 15 out I think we are that bit ahead currently, but who knows how things will pan out next season. Peter Casey now may miss the whole of next season and there is a massive drop off currently on anyone who might come in and try and replace him, also he offers something different to the more power-based players. The biggest challenge will be having the hunger to do the whole thing again next year.
Cork definitely have the hurling talent, their forwards, especially the half forward line, will need to up their intensity and work rate 20% to 30% when they don't have the ball if they are to challenge. Half back line was always the most important line in a hurling match but now the half forward line is almost equally so and you need a dual player who can defend as well as they can attack. Kilkenny were doing this for years and Limerick also use it as the backbone for their success IMO."
Ya no doubt Cork have some serious talent coming through. Their minor team this year were serious. Saying that, they have a few years of hard slog to match up to the likes of Kylie Hayes et al.
It shouldn't be forgotten that we also won the 2 previous Munster minor titles

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 15/11/2021 21:28:06    2389585

League starting on 6th February in Wexford ....

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 19/11/2021 12:06:25    2389966

Junior B Final this weekend. Should be a good game with not much between both sides

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 19/11/2021 12:28:36    2389973

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I wouldnt begrudge limerick winning a few allirelands after only winning 1 in 70 odd years but I must say I was shouting for the rebels in this years allireland.

I'd say limerick will win the next couple as well."
Yeah,a lot of "knowledgeable" punters lost money on Cork!

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 20/11/2021 21:49:41    2390128

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Only in the hurling :-), and also in the football if we're knocked out."
There's a man that doesn't mind contradicting himself!

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 20/11/2021 21:52:57    2390130

Hard to compete with the green machine that's run in JP oil!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 21/11/2021 08:48:41    2390133

The short answer to the above question is no, but there always a few, who will probably have a negative view of almost every thing in life anyway. I find the 'Manufactured' team opinion, coming from a Wexford fan interesting. They should remember that Clare and Wexford were the first two counties to introduce 'mad training regimes' back in the nineties.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 21/11/2021 09:40:21    2390139