And the last 2 performances were very poor in contrast to the ladt number of years which was correct. Great bounce back this evening and we are back in the race again.
Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 25/08/2024 20:18:20 2566741 Link 0 |
I think Anto was proven right given the improvement in Tourlestrane today. After about 10 mins today I couldn't see us winning. It was very frustrating as we continued to play the same pattern of play over and over again without trying much different. When we did hit in long, it was forced or a dropped short shot. 2 things we have to learn to play against the blanket in wet conditions and what we do if Alan is man or double marked. Tourlestrane will lock down this gameplan and see how far it gets them. The group is wide open now and I'd say we are in knock out football. Hopefully our lads can work on the long kickouts, patterns of play and positioning better. It's one thing looking great coming out of the defence in space and another thing giving and going and giving clean ball ahead of you. Very disappointing off the shoulder play today. Very little intent of working it through the lines. So much safe lateral just taking away the clock from ourselves. There was no attempt to try and coax the tour defence out the field and set traps. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1711 - 25/08/2024 23:10:38 2566785 Link 0 |
Bottom line you did make predictions for the junior A so your newly found opt-out of zero interest doesn't hold water. So you got 7 out of 12, marginally better than you would expect if you tossed a coin.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 788 - 26/08/2024 08:22:19 2566818 Link 0 |
Better than last weeks predictions lol johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 102 - 26/08/2024 09:38:53 2566846 Link 0 |
Another hurler on the ditch!!
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1941 - 26/08/2024 10:02:30 2566855 Link 0 |
When the county board develop pitches they always seem to make a bad job of it. As we all know the Centre of Excellence isn't fit for purpose, Markiveciz Park is the least used pitch in the county and it's a disgrace. The people who were in charge of the installation of the new pitch in Markiveciz Park should be relieved of their duties.
InAroundTheSqaure (UK) - Posts: 12 - 26/08/2024 12:45:07 2566925 Link 0 |
I've no interest in making predictions but I am amused when those that do can fool themselves into believing that 7 correct out of 12 is now in hindsight 7 out of 8, hilarious. You should make your predictions with the bookies and tell them afterwards to ignore the wrong ones, you're a comedian. sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 788 - 26/08/2024 14:08:39 2566953 Link 0 |
I don't go to bookies and I doubt very much if you would get odds on Junior A competitions in Sligo. I would much rather be a comedian with a few like minded people on this site that float around different forums dropping snide remarks. What don't you partake in discussions ?
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1941 - 26/08/2024 14:25:18 2566957 Link 0 |
It's people like you that prevent people from joining these forums. It's not the Eoinog, Sligoman, Sligonian, johncreilly, bumblebee,southsligo etc etc. I was sitting on the fence wondering should I join to promote interest in our games as we are doing quiet well on the field of play. These people have a genuine affection for the sport . If you don't like what you read then just scroll on to another site.
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 26/08/2024 14:33:12 2566962 Link 1 |
Bizarre, how do I, or can I prevent people from "joining" a forum. Equally bizarre how eoinog can commend himself for getting 3 of four senior results correct and 4 out of four intermediate results correct but endeavour to ignore his 100% failure in predicting the junior A results by stating he has "zero interest" in the junior A championship (afterwards). It surely begs the question why if he has no interest did he make predictions for Junior A. If he had predicted the junior games correctly would he have made his zero interest comment???
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 788 - 26/08/2024 15:36:37 2566974 Link 0 |
If you believe eoinog has an affection for the game in Sligo I've a chocolate teapot to sell you. Read his earlier comments on certain clubs. He has been rightly called out on it multiple times, and then he moves the goalposts upon being called out to change the discussion. This is just another example.
xwave8000 (Sligo) - Posts: 20 - 26/08/2024 15:36:53 2566975 Link 0 |
Look if it makes you feel knowledgeable, fire away and ignore the ones you get wrong and similarly I can continue to be amused by your near perfect "managed" results.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 788 - 26/08/2024 15:47:53 2566976 Link 0 |
Maybe I should feel honoured that do many people look at my predictions with such scrutiny. If I came out yesterday evening boasting that I got 7 out of 8 correct in senior and intermediate then I would deserve a bit of flak. That didn't happen. What happened was a mushroom appeared saying something like you were well out with your predictions and I pointed out what I had got right. I wasn't bothered that I got a load of junior games, mainly between B club teams wrong. If 8 or 9 posters want to do a fun prediction, is it a crime ? A chap in Donegal does it for the National League and The All Ireland championship and it runs smoothly because the participants do it for a bit of fun. Incidentally it was won by Sligoman 123. eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1941 - 26/08/2024 16:38:01 2566987 Link 0 |
I have no idea what you mean by the second part of that text. The first part is stale news, it has been discussed. No point going over old stuff. People move on you know
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1941 - 26/08/2024 16:40:41 2566988 Link 0 |
I am happy enough with my selections, 3 out of 4 in senior, went for the draw between Tourlestrane and Molaise as knew there would be a response from Tourlestrane as last week as was too bad of a performance to be a reflection of where they are at. Keaney would have been a big loss for Molaise, is he injured? 3 out of 4 in Intermediate also, again should not have gone for a draw but knew St Pats and Enniscrone would be a closer game than some people expected. A late goal sneaking the win for Pats and now opens up the group. And agree with others, there was only 1 game that mattered in Junior last weekend so I only made 1 selection. It's hard to tell from year to year where these second teams are at but I think Ballymote have laid down a marker that Lavin might not have to transfer to another club just yet muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 459 - 26/08/2024 16:45:25 2566992 Link 0 |
Predictions are grand, bit of craic, agree. My only point is in your response to what you call "a mushroom" you engaged in a ham-fisted attempt at statistical massaging (by saying the junior A games which you got wrong were of zero interest to you) making your predictions something of a silk purse when in fact they were not quite but something close to a sow's ear.
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 788 - 26/08/2024 17:05:09 2567000 Link 0 |
Cat fight over for the night ha ha Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 294 - 26/08/2024 23:48:26 2567054 Link 0 |
My head is sore looking at these messages johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 102 - 27/08/2024 08:12:10 2567071 Link 1 |
Did my kids join this forum when I wasn't looking? SligoMo (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 27/08/2024 14:17:08 2567149 Link 1 |
Were they playing Junior this weekend! Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 27/08/2024 15:05:47 2567166 Link 0 |