Donegal GAA thread

Replying To gaeltacht81:  "Like a lot of people Ive the country travelled following donegal this year, if that is the case and thos terrace tickets go on sale latter in the week after me buying two for behind the goals, im gona me making some phone calls and look to get them changed. Because thats unexceptable if thats the craic their at"
Take Croke Park games for example, they will sell the corners of the Hogan, Cusack and all the Davin before the will open up sale of the Upper tiers. So you could get slap bang in the middle of the Upper Hogan or Cusack long after someone else has putchased and is left sitting beyond the end line in the front row of the lower tiers.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 808 - 17/06/2025 14:14:19    2618727

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea that's the way they operate. Totally unfair got my ticket today happy enough with it but the derry and tyrone tickets were stuck down the front with no cover. Has to be a better way of looking after the loyal fans."
I got fed up with the season ticket because of this reason, you are often seated somewhere terrible. Also when you go to the games in Croke Park you only have the option of the Cusack Stand, its a bit of a walk with kids. Mind you I'm stuck behind the river end goals for the Louth game so probably should have stuck with the season ticket lol. Its great to have a home game.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1910 - 17/06/2025 14:53:04    2618746

Replying To Commodore:  "I got mine around 11:05, Section G. which is the 2nd block of seats in from the river in the Main Stand. I was chatting to a fellow season ticket holder who got Section D, which is more central."
I've contacted the PRO not that I'm sure there's much they can do, but unless people make the point about this seat allocation stuff then nothing will ever change. I despise Ticketmaster generally and being frank I wish the GAA took it all in-house, I'm sure there would be problems then but at least you'd know it's the GAA in control, Ticketmaster are cowboys and every dealing with them is a terrible experience. Had poor tickets for both Monaghan and Down games in Ulster as well and now I'm right down the front row in one of the corner sections of the main stand. Some reward for not missing a match all year.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 208 - 17/06/2025 15:23:55    2618751

Folks of Donegal,

Louth man travelling to the game on Sunday, any advice please on car parking . I hope to be in Ballybofey around the 1 pm mark for a bit of grub and stroll around before the match.
Best location to park ( don't mind a bit of a walk ) , if it means I am not jammed in traffic after the match to head back to the wee county.
Grub recommendations also welcome, might abandon the sandwiches and flask this Sunday !

Thanks !

louthman57 (Louth) - Posts: 311 - 17/06/2025 15:25:36    2618753

Replying To louthman57:  "Folks of Donegal,

Louth man travelling to the game on Sunday, any advice please on car parking . I hope to be in Ballybofey around the 1 pm mark for a bit of grub and stroll around before the match.
Best location to park ( don't mind a bit of a walk ) , if it means I am not jammed in traffic after the match to head back to the wee county.
Grub recommendations also welcome, might abandon the sandwiches and flask this Sunday !

Thanks !"
Plenty places for a lunch but it will be mad busy, rally is on this weekend too, you might be as well stop in Strabane or Lifford for grub, Kee's hotel in Stranorlar should have a Sunday lunch on, also the Villa Rose Hotel in Ballybofey, very good for food.
If you coming in from the Lifford side I'd park well out and turn her for home.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3271 - 17/06/2025 15:39:10    2618759

Its great to still be in the competition and hopefully a few more games to go to. But as one of the previous posters said that the gaa have to look after loyal supporters better than this. If there are fans who follow donegal all year, they should be getting first prefrence after the season ticket holders. In this day in age with buying tickets online and scanning them at the gate you would think theyd be able to know whos going to the matches. Its very dissapointing when that happens. It was the same craic last year followed the team all year, and when we got to the semi final we were up in the far upper corner in tne cusak stand bside the hill. Myself, the woman and her mother. Her mother is in her late 70s. We were the 2nd last row of seats in the upper cusak. And if ya been ever up there, theres a very steep slope and not easy to get up and down. I only found out after that her mother needed the toilet at HT but was too afraid to move because she didnt think shed make it back up. There most have been 50k better seats in croke park than ours, half of them being our supporters. But i dont remember seeing 25k of our fans up in the athlethic grounds when we played armagh in the league, id say there was less than 500 donegal supporters in the ground. Or up in breffini in the league for the late throw on that sunday evening. Anyway, shouldnt be complaining but its just very disapointing

gaeltacht81 (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 17/06/2025 15:45:59    2618765

Replying To gaeltacht81:  "Its great to still be in the competition and hopefully a few more games to go to. But as one of the previous posters said that the gaa have to look after loyal supporters better than this. If there are fans who follow donegal all year, they should be getting first prefrence after the season ticket holders. In this day in age with buying tickets online and scanning them at the gate you would think theyd be able to know whos going to the matches. Its very dissapointing when that happens. It was the same craic last year followed the team all year, and when we got to the semi final we were up in the far upper corner in tne cusak stand bside the hill. Myself, the woman and her mother. Her mother is in her late 70s. We were the 2nd last row of seats in the upper cusak. And if ya been ever up there, theres a very steep slope and not easy to get up and down. I only found out after that her mother needed the toilet at HT but was too afraid to move because she didnt think shed make it back up. There most have been 50k better seats in croke park than ours, half of them being our supporters. But i dont remember seeing 25k of our fans up in the athlethic grounds when we played armagh in the league, id say there was less than 500 donegal supporters in the ground. Or up in breffini in the league for the late throw on that sunday evening. Anyway, shouldnt be complaining but its just very disapointing"
If you don't mind me asking, why do you not have an ST if following team everywhere?

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 17/06/2025 16:22:39    2618775

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Plenty places for a lunch but it will be mad busy, rally is on this weekend too, you might be as well stop in Strabane or Lifford for grub, Kee's hotel in Stranorlar should have a Sunday lunch on, also the Villa Rose Hotel in Ballybofey, very good for food.
If you coming in from the Lifford side I'd park well out and turn her for home."
Thank you , google maps tells me i will be coming via Strabane , so take the first parking spot as close as i can with the car turned for home ?

louthman57 (Louth) - Posts: 311 - 17/06/2025 16:30:09    2618778

Replying To WeGoAgain:  "Got section C this time which I'm happy with but my seats for the Derry and Tyrone games were at the very edges. No idea how they go about assigning them."
Go section D this time so happy with that, but the Derry game I was on the edges. Most to the lads this time i spoke too are on the edges again with their season tickets.

Goldengreen (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 17/06/2025 16:38:07    2618782

Replying To ahsure.:  "If you don't mind me asking, why do you not have an ST if following team everywhere?"
Season tickets are a bit of scam. I used to have one for a good few years. But my buddy stopped, and I stopped a couple of years later. I'd rather watch a game with other people than sit on my own.

Then, when you do get the option of bringing a pal in Croke Park - they move you out of the central seats and give you only one option of sitting in the corner of Cusack and Davin - basically the last section to sell, because it's a crap section.

At the same time non-season holders can get better Cusack stand tickets by just going online. So the choice is buy an extra ticket on top of your season ticket to sit with a buddy or move to a crap seats that suit neither of you.

I tried to complain about effectively being punished for buying an extra ticket to Croke Park, and they told me that "10,000 other people are happy with it, so it should suit you too!"

I dropped the ticket after that.

It's also not exactly great value unless you go to absolutely every game.

So, just because you follow the team everywhere doesn't mean the convoluted and anti-customer Season Ticket suits you.

Read the comments above with more Season Ticket holders being given crap seats.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 278 - 17/06/2025 16:38:46    2618783

I also had season tickets for years as don't miss many either tbh. Was sick of allocation of seats once we got to the business end of things. Final straw was at clones a few yrs ago ended up at the bottom of the hill behind the wall on the 40. Looking dead level at the pitch all I could see was legs. A few of us always seemed to end up in the same locations even thou from different parts of the county. Long story short we were advised that ulster council sets out the seats for the big days in clones so we sent out a circular of a letter to send to ulster council think about 18 of us of our complaints of seats. not even a response to anyone so that was it for me and the rest. Back to supervalu and clubs for ticks but atleast they seem better spots.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 167 - 17/06/2025 16:56:58    2618789

Replying To CCFabu:  "I've contacted the PRO not that I'm sure there's much they can do, but unless people make the point about this seat allocation stuff then nothing will ever change. I despise Ticketmaster generally and being frank I wish the GAA took it all in-house, I'm sure there would be problems then but at least you'd know it's the GAA in control, Ticketmaster are cowboys and every dealing with them is a terrible experience. Had poor tickets for both Monaghan and Down games in Ulster as well and now I'm right down the front row in one of the corner sections of the main stand. Some reward for not missing a match all year."
very quick response in fairness from PRO, it's completely out of their hands but they have made representations to the GAA about how it's all handled before to no avail apparently.

frustrating but it is what it is when you're not a member of a club back home the ST is really the only way to guarantee a ticket

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 208 - 17/06/2025 17:07:27    2618797

Replying To ahsure.:  "If you don't mind me asking, why do you not have an ST if following team everywhere?"
I think Al_Maguire said it there before me, the season ticket isnt what you really think it is. I never bothered with it for a number of seasons, but for me personally i prefer standing at games, i hate sitting at a football match. If your standing you can always move and get a better vjew, or to even get away from annoying fans. Plus if the aul fella or herself goes, i can always take them with me and we can watch the match together. I know with celtic, its the fans who go to the most matches get first preference, for the away matches in Europe. And we need something similiar here for the championship. Saying that, i hope we have a reason to complain come week saturday!!

gaeltacht81 (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 17/06/2025 17:36:08    2618808

Replying To louthman57:  "Thank you , google maps tells me i will be coming via Strabane , so take the first parking spot as close as i can with the car turned for home ?"
Hi, the quickest route from your direction is via Clady and Castlefinn into Ballybofey. The Clady turn-off is 5 miles south of Strabane roughly, quickly after going past Greg Mitchell Motors, Victoria Bridge. For parking, there is extensive public parking on Navenny Street behind Heeney's Bar/Conkers Cafe. You could find it potentially handy to get out from there afterwards by taking the back road to Crossroads, Killygordon from there. It goes past Finn Harps football pitch and goes straight on. This allows you to rejoin the main road for home then.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1453 - 17/06/2025 18:03:01    2618812

Replying To louthman57:  "Thank you , google maps tells me i will be coming via Strabane , so take the first parking spot as close as i can with the car turned for home ?"
parking options aren't great, if yo .get there early Id try to park on the roadside kerbs facing back towards Lifford anywhere from St Joseph's onwards.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 241 - 17/06/2025 18:05:26    2618813

I have a Season Ticket myself, but I have questioned the value of having it. The first part of the package is €150 for 7 National League games, which is no discount. You do get the bonus of the League Final, but as you will have seen this year, not much prestige in being in a Final of you have Ulster Championship opener the week after. If you miss a single League game, the financial benefit is wiped out completely. Yes you are guaranteed your Ulster Championship tickets, but you don't always get a good seat. Then you have to add on your 3 game package for the round Robin which did represent value, but you don't have to have a Season Ticket to avail of that offer. And then for the rest of the games, dealing with Ticketmaster isn't the most pleasant experience for anyone. And as another poster has alluded to, you have to basically sit on your own, they got rid of the seating groups years ago when they moved from Tickets.ie to Ticketmaster. I found Tickets.ie a far more user friendly experience, and there was value at that time as well.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 808 - 17/06/2025 19:25:53    2618827

To continue on with the ST debate. I think you can actually buy a 7 match league package for €100. I emailed them on this but was told we are also getting the AI club finals and league football finals (all 4 finals over the 2 days) - but who really wants these extras if your own club or county are not there unless you maybe live in Dublin so pop along for the day. The only reason I kept it since COVID was ye could see that Armagh were potentially going to make the last 2 Ulster finals and as we have seen the demand then was huge and many regular match goers did not get a ticket last 2 years v armagh.
Also pre covid you also got a €5 discount on championship fixtures bar the finals which was decent plus the ability to attend any league match in football in addition to your own county - now thats gone too.
It rose to €150 in 2023 but included Down championship match like in the past, then in 2024 they cheekily kept the price €150 but took away 1st round of Ulster which I think cost €30 this year to sit in the stand in Ballybofey.
While we remain in the hunt for Sam I will keep it to get the AI final ticket but if we declined in years to come its not worth having - just attend buying the tickets in super valu.

NORTHMEN (Donegal) - Posts: 24 - 17/06/2025 20:45:40    2618843

Replying To CCFabu:  "very quick response in fairness from PRO, it's completely out of their hands but they have made representations to the GAA about how it's all handled before to no avail apparently.

frustrating but it is what it is when you're not a member of a club back home the ST is really the only way to guarantee a ticket"
I only got a very middling ticket again. As much as it pained me to have to be in so early in breffni and the Hyde the unreserved seating meant I got great seats for the last two games. There was also a great concentration of Donegal supporters together that really helped the atmosphere.

I know the county boards have nothing to do with it and it's left more than Donegal supporters frustrated. They could definitely do with improving the overall process but can't see it happening with Ticketmaster. Such a poor service. Being surrounded by half of Armagh in the Ulster final certainly wasn't ideal!!!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 867 - 17/06/2025 21:46:33    2618863

You've got good steer from the other posters. You'll also have the privilege of the a5 from aughnacloy to strabane. You might see the markings for the new road and hopefully the objection against it won't be successful. If ever a new road was needed it's that road.
I think you've mentioned you'll be up in plenty time. Don't park to far out and do have a look at Google maps. I could not believe how far some of the cars were parked away from the Hyde on Sunday. And if you can't get somewhere a little close you can always go out again. I park up on the navenney side and generally find somewhere. As someone else mentioned you can can make your way back the back road after match as well if it comes to it. A lot of Tyrone supporters use that road.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 867 - 17/06/2025 22:02:41    2618866