Donegal GAA thread

Replying To tickets:  "I read someone mentioning no.26 in our squad. I agree with their statement. There's 1 or 2 more who could change a game more than him in the squad.

Let's say we need a goal are you throwing him on ? You're not! You adjust your team and throw Jason or Langan in full forward before you would put him on.

That's just my opinion."
Was looking on ticketmaster i would think we should see good attendance for the game what is people thinking?

Has anyone ordered tickets with there clubs that was taking orders?

Would be great if we get over the line and back in All Ireland, Sunday night in Dublin could be good....

Tom123 (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 05/07/2024 21:33:16    2557113

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Regarding Charles I will be the first to admit he is not of the quality to be on the bench but what I do know is there is very few people that train harder and stronger than him. So what we don't see is what he is probably doing during the week making the players around him work hard and prepare better. Please by all mean name someone to swap him out for but Id be shocked if you can name someone he brings more on the training field"
A bit of a confusing post, you state in your first line that the player is "not of the quality to be on the bench" and then go on to give an expanation as to why he is on the bench. Regarding training harder and making the players around him "work hard and prepare better", really none of us know if this is the case or not, we are not part of the training sessions. But even if this is accurate, this is really more of a justification for having the player in the extended training squad and not the match day 26.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 44 - 05/07/2024 21:54:51    2557115

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Regarding Charles I will be the first to admit he is not of the quality to be on the bench but what I do know is there is very few people that train harder and stronger than him. So what we don't see is what he is probably doing during the week making the players around him work hard and prepare better. Please by all mean name someone to swap him out for but Id be shocked if you can name someone he brings more on the training field"
Yes, it's very hard to know what goes on in training. I'm sure everyone is driving each other, and I'd say even the battle for that 26 jersey is as tough as the rest.

What wouldn't surprise me is if a name that hasn't even made the 26 is parachuted by Jim, like he did with Jigger. It's been a long time since we have seen the likes of Luke McGlynn, Oisín Caulfield or Domhnall McGiollaBhríde, but they could offer a little something different to the norm, and have the benefit of getting good game time during the league. Only those at training will know who is on form and who is not.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 673 - 05/07/2024 23:23:27    2557129

Replying To Tom123:  "Was looking on ticketmaster i would think we should see good attendance for the game what is people thinking?

Has anyone ordered tickets with there clubs that was taking orders?

Would be great if we get over the line and back in All Ireland, Sunday night in Dublin could be good...."
I see the upper hogan and upper davin is open so I guess that indicates a bigger crowd than the quarter final so in the 50k region and maybe a bit higher. The upper hogan have no juvenile seats and don't seem to selling too quickly.
I thought, like the quarter you had to go through ticketmaster, so didn't go near the club.

Hopefully donegal can get there in big numbers as there's been an awakening in galway after beating Dublin and they'll bring a big crowd.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 06/07/2024 09:52:48    2557156

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Galway have big powerful men around the middle so if we are to have a chance in my opinion we need Jason if he's fit and Michael to have massive games, that's where it will be won or lost,
I think we both have good forwards, that's Galway's biggest strength over us I think around the middle third as they say, as well as 2 brilliant forwards in Comer and Walsh who if they are fully fit will be very hard to stop.
I would pay no heed to the likes of Brolly, he'd be better to focus on what went wrong with his own county team."
Yeah I'd agree there. Look everyone knows the danger Comer & Walsh could pose if they're given a plentiful supply of ball. I think the key to this match for us will be disrupting that supply as much as we can.

Galway are strong around the middle sector. Lads like Conroy, Maher, McDaid & Tierney are physically imposing & good footballers also. I think we'll need big games from Langan, McGee (if fit), Thompson & McGonagle to break even at least.

If we can play the game on our terms, where we dominate possession & get our runners chipping in with points we won't be far away. We've shown that we can score a lot of points from a variety of sources. So as others have said, if we can keep the goals out we could be well on our way. The one game where we coughed up goals was the one we lost.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 06/07/2024 12:49:43    2557181

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I see the upper hogan and upper davin is open so I guess that indicates a bigger crowd than the quarter final so in the 50k region and maybe a bit higher. The upper hogan have no juvenile seats and don't seem to selling too quickly.
I thought, like the quarter you had to go through ticketmaster, so didn't go near the club.

Hopefully donegal can get there in big numbers as there's been an awakening in galway after beating Dublin and they'll bring a big crowd."
Expecting big numbers from Galway.

Trains and buses sold out very quickly.

Hope Donegal show up in kind. Make it 70k+ and make it the occasion of the summer so far.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 06/07/2024 19:02:01    2557260

Replying To shaggykev:  "Expecting big numbers from Galway.

Trains and buses sold out very quickly.

Hope Donegal show up in kind. Make it 70k+ and make it the occasion of the summer so far."
It would be great to get to 70k as the place will be buzzing but just don't see it getting that high. They could definitely do a better promotion as well to get numbers up.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 06/07/2024 21:31:37    2557295

Agree with other sentiments about getting to the game. It's our biggest game in a decade since the All Ireland final. We need to go in our many thousands to Croke Park and roar the team on to victory. Let's get a big percentage of the county to Dublin on Sunday week!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1378 - 06/07/2024 22:12:00    2557306

Brendan Cawley of Kildare has been appointed as the referee. I've seen him have good days and bad, tends to be a wee bit fussy. We'll see.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 673 - 06/07/2024 22:58:20    2557314

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Agree with other sentiments about getting to the game. It's our biggest game in a decade since the All Ireland final. We need to go in our many thousands to Croke Park and roar the team on to victory. Let's get a big percentage of the county to Dublin on Sunday week!"
In 2012, Cork Donegal.was 65k. Now we all know that was mostly us.

Correct on GAA needing to do more promotion. Tomorrow Cork.Limerick looks like a sellout.

We can't have the hurling folk showing us up.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 06/07/2024 23:12:39    2557316

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "It would be great to get to 70k as the place will be buzzing but just don't see it getting that high. They could definitely do a better promotion as well to get numbers up."
Why would the gaa need to do a promotion to get people to attend an all Ireland semi final? There's a gaa club in every parish in both counties, everyone knows the game is on.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 546 - 07/07/2024 13:44:51    2557387

Replying To greenfan:  "Why would the gaa need to do a promotion to get people to attend an all Ireland semi final? There's a gaa club in every parish in both counties, everyone knows the game is on."
If advertising is required to get some people to go to Croke Park forget it. The people that don't know the match is on are better at home.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 07/07/2024 15:29:49    2557402

Replying To greenfan:  "Why would the gaa need to do a promotion to get people to attend an all Ireland semi final? There's a gaa club in every parish in both counties, everyone knows the game is on."
It's grand for clubs and parishes were the gaa is strong but it's not strong everywhere. It can be used as an opportunity to promote the sport to people who aren't really interested or involved in a club. With the pricing for children it's a great chance to encourage families to go and then they will be more interested in joining the local club after.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 07/07/2024 16:34:55    2557420

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "It's grand for clubs and parishes were the gaa is strong but it's not strong everywhere. It can be used as an opportunity to promote the sport to people who aren't really interested or involved in a club. With the pricing for children it's a great chance to encourage families to go and then they will be more interested in joining the local club after."
The pricing of their tickets won't encourage any new families to start going to games. The children's tickets might be cheap at a tenner, but it would be 55 euro each for the parents. On a similar note, it's absolutely scandalous that OAP's are being charged 50 euro to attend a football match

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 546 - 07/07/2024 17:26:46    2557431

Replying To Scenicparish:  "If advertising is required to get some people to go to Croke Park forget it. The people that don't know the match is on are better at home."
Absolutely. I've a brother in law flying home from England into Dublin for a few hours to attend the game, not sure how advertising comes into this other than building the hype but at you say, probably better at home if you need reminding about our biggest game in a decade.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1378 - 07/07/2024 17:50:21    2557450

Replying To greenfan:  "The pricing of their tickets won't encourage any new families to start going to games. The children's tickets might be cheap at a tenner, but it would be 55 euro each for the parents. On a similar note, it's absolutely scandalous that OAP's are being charged 50 euro to attend a football match"
I guess very few here will agre but for the biggest match in ten years and relative do any other sporting it's not a terrible price. What was that match worth to a Cork person and hopefully next week will be the same for Donegal.

The point I was making which you didn't choose to respond to was using it as an opportunity to help develop interest outside of people who are interested or are actively involved in a club. The success so far this year has been a great boon for the next generation.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 07/07/2024 19:18:28    2557498

Best of luck at the weekend will be shouting for ye! Mcguiness is some man to bring yous back to the top.. Hope ye knock Galwegions off their perch most of mayo probably cheering for ye ha!

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 08/07/2024 07:38:46    2557597

Replying To S1234:  "Best of luck at the weekend will be shouting for ye! Mcguiness is some man to bring yous back to the top.. Hope ye knock Galwegions off their perch most of mayo probably cheering for ye ha!"
Clare, what are you doing here? You've been very derogatory about Donegal football and Jim McGuinness on the Mayo blog for years. We've enough posters here who've some funny ideas/notions without me having to go through your musings too.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 98 - 08/07/2024 11:00:40    2557642

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Clare, what are you doing here? You've been very derogatory about Donegal football and Jim McGuinness on the Mayo blog for years. We've enough posters here who've some funny ideas/notions without me having to go through your musings too."
calm down there Karen ffs

ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 75 - 08/07/2024 12:25:52    2557675

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Clare, what are you doing here? You've been very derogatory about Donegal football and Jim McGuinness on the Mayo blog for years. We've enough posters here who've some funny ideas/notions without me having to go through your musings too."
I actually think she might either have issues or be a 12 year old.

Two good team going at it this weekend, winner will have a great chance at winning it outright.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 734 - 08/07/2024 12:26:56    2557677