Donegal GAA thread

My consensus is the same as most. I see a tight game with Galway as slight favourites. They've lads who experienced an All Ireland final a couple of years ago backed with underage success. In Shane Walsh they have an outstanding mercurial talent. When weighing up the game it's difficult because of the injury situation. It looks like Sean Kelly will be out and he's a massive loss. Are Comer and Walsh carrying knocks? The same sentiment for Jason McGee whom we need for his physicality and ball winning around the middle. I'd say it'll be a similar game to the Galway Mayo Connaught final and it'll be small margins. We adopt a similar style to Mayo but with less physicality and lots of pace. While Galway have the Walsh X factor Donegal certainly have it in Jim. I wonder if any insights he might've picked up during the few coaching sessions he done with Galway. Apart from those already mentioned McDaid is a fantastic player we really need to keep an eye on but conversely Galway must be very wary of the quadruple threat of McHugh, Mogan, Ban and Moore with their deep runs and searing pace. Very hard to call.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 08/07/2024 13:09:25    2557684

Brendan McCole is best suited to marking Comer, but who do will Jim put on Walsh? Will he detail a full time man marker on him, or will he share around the responsibility? He could put Mogan on him for periods in an effort to put Walsh on the back foot. Having to worry about following Peadar, if he has any injury/fitness concerns, Peadar is the man to put doubts in his head. Eoghan Ban could do a similar job, and may be more suited defensively. Having watched closely, despite his ridiculous speed, I don't think Ciaran Moore's defensive footwork is of a high enough standard for that particular job. There are plenty of other duels to consider as well. Along with Rob Finnerty, Matthew Tierney is a serious operator who will also need attention.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 673 - 08/07/2024 22:20:30    2557878

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Brendan McCole is best suited to marking Comer, but who do will Jim put on Walsh? Will he detail a full time man marker on him, or will he share around the responsibility? He could put Mogan on him for periods in an effort to put Walsh on the back foot. Having to worry about following Peadar, if he has any injury/fitness concerns, Peadar is the man to put doubts in his head. Eoghan Ban could do a similar job, and may be more suited defensively. Having watched closely, despite his ridiculous speed, I don't think Ciaran Moore's defensive footwork is of a high enough standard for that particular job. There are plenty of other duels to consider as well. Along with Rob Finnerty, Matthew Tierney is a serious operator who will also need attention."
Yeah I think you're right there. If we can dominate possession and then get the likes of McDaid, Walsh and Tierney running back towards their own goals we could be in business.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 09/07/2024 09:00:14    2557933

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Brendan McCole is best suited to marking Comer, but who do will Jim put on Walsh? Will he detail a full time man marker on him, or will he share around the responsibility? He could put Mogan on him for periods in an effort to put Walsh on the back foot. Having to worry about following Peadar, if he has any injury/fitness concerns, Peadar is the man to put doubts in his head. Eoghan Ban could do a similar job, and may be more suited defensively. Having watched closely, despite his ridiculous speed, I don't think Ciaran Moore's defensive footwork is of a high enough standard for that particular job. There are plenty of other duels to consider as well. Along with Rob Finnerty, Matthew Tierney is a serious operator who will also need attention."
Agree on all.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1183 - 09/07/2024 10:47:25    2557962

Replying To Donegalman:  "Kerry will not struggle against a blanket. If they face one they will be patient. The days of them panicking when they face one are gone years and years ago. Armagh don't really play a blanket game. Their Ulster final performance shows this..I think we could see a lot of scores in that match."
Kerry always struggle against a the blanket, and now they are operating one themselves!!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 982 - 09/07/2024 11:35:39    2557984

Replying To tickets:  "I read someone mentioning no.26 in our squad. I agree with their statement. There's 1 or 2 more who could change a game more than him in the squad.

Let's say we need a goal are you throwing him on ? You're not! You adjust your team and throw Jason or Langan in full forward before you would put him on.

That's just my opinion."
Very unfair comments about individual players in the squad who are giving huge commitment....to single out any individual player on social media is shameful

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 982 - 09/07/2024 11:37:20    2557986

What other forward would you have in there? Who has produced in club championship?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1183 - 09/07/2024 13:47:20    2558025

Replying To TheRock2121:  "What other forward would you have in there? Who has produced in club championship?"
KJ Molloy or McGlynn from Glenfin might be more threatening options. Kane Barrett from Milford involved this year?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 958 - 09/07/2024 14:20:23    2558036

Replying To TheRock2121:  "What other forward would you have in there? Who has produced in club championship?"
I thought a number of years ago that Enda McCormack from Termon was a very promising player.I remember him playing for Termon in a Senior Semi or Q/F in Ballybofey when he was only a minor.They were heavily beaten but he was the best player on the pitch.He was away for a while but I see in the papers that he is scoring well for Termon again.I think he is in the Niall O'Donnell age group.It might be worth looking at him next year.What is the story on Eoghan McGettigan now?

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1105 - 09/07/2024 14:28:01    2558040

Replying To totalrecall:  "Very unfair comments about individual players in the squad who are giving huge commitment....to single out any individual player on social media is shameful"
You are 100% right. No need to single out anyone, all the players are working hard, even those not making the 26. These are amateur footballers making big sacrifices, putting their lives on hold to represent the County. The manager is the one who makes the decisions on who to pick. I'd be inclined to trust his judgement. The player in question is an integral part of the best club team in the county over the last few years. He has more experience, a better track record and a hell of a lot more medals than some of the names being mentioned on here who people think should be brought in ahead of him.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 546 - 09/07/2024 15:29:53    2558061

Replying To tickets:  "I read someone mentioning no.26 in our squad. I agree with their statement. There's 1 or 2 more who could change a game more than him in the squad.

Let's say we need a goal are you throwing him on ? You're not! You adjust your team and throw Jason or Langan in full forward before you would put him on.

That's just my opinion."
You have obviously not watched Naomh Conaill for the past few years. He is a great target man and has been a great option when a goal is needed or a team is suspect to a high ball into the square.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 09/07/2024 16:11:17    2558072

Replying To totalrecall:  "Very unfair comments about individual players in the squad who are giving huge commitment....to single out any individual player on social media is shameful"
I don't believe this is social media? This is a forum? I was agreeing with some other posters view as I have the same view.

I would rather have someone in the squad who can change a game. That is all. If I was looking at the bench and needed scores I would far rather have a Luke McGlynn to come on. Thats just my opinion that we're all entitled to have.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 09/07/2024 23:37:09    2558134

You look at the score stats from last year and other than Gallen who was in the top three?

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 09/07/2024 23:38:08    2558135

Replying To Scenicparish:  "You have obviously not watched Naomh Conaill for the past few years. He is a great target man and has been a great option when a goal is needed or a team is suspect to a high ball into the square."
Jim will adjust his team by putting big hughie Jason or Langan in there if a goal is needed and they go route 1!

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 09/07/2024 23:40:24    2558136

Replying To S1234:  "Best of luck at the weekend will be shouting for ye! Mcguiness is some man to bring yous back to the top.. Hope ye knock Galwegions off their perch most of mayo probably cheering for ye ha!"
Most of Mayo cheer Mayo on every year.
Never did ye much good????
Sit back, relax and enjoy the maroon & white show 2024.
A lot of worried looking Mayo heads around Galway City these days.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 375 - 10/07/2024 08:58:20    2558151

Replying To S1234:  "Best of luck at the weekend will be shouting for ye! Mcguiness is some man to bring yous back to the top.. Hope ye knock Galwegions off their perch most of mayo probably cheering for ye ha!"
Clare shouting for Donegal..
The blog has gone completely quiet now since Mayo are out .
Ha

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 10/07/2024 09:42:16    2558158

Replying To Belclare7:  "Clare shouting for Donegal..
The blog has gone completely quiet now since Mayo are out .
Ha"
Who's clare? Weird.

Mcguiness is a great manager who's taken donegal back up to the top and I'd say they will put it up to ye and it'll be donegal into the final.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 10/07/2024 10:48:14    2558173

Jeez lads what a slow week. The weather has been cat altogether today. Roll on the weekend!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 10/07/2024 16:12:52    2558231

Jeez lads what a slow week. The weather has been cat altogether today. Roll on the weekend!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 10/07/2024 16:20:17    2558236

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Jeez lads what a slow week. The weather has been cat altogether today. Roll on the weekend!"
The weather isn't helping things at all, bit of a weird vibe about, first semi final in 10 years you'd think there's be more buzz about the place.
Looking forward to the drive to Dublin and seeing the Donegal flags out as we head south, always nice to see the support from other counties wishing us well.
Massive game ahead and we are in with a great chance if we produce the performance we are capable of on the day.
I think Galway will be confident they can take us down this being our first semi final in a long time and they are well road tested at this stage of the All Ireland in recent years.
Roll on the weekend is right, ' Let's get ready to Rumble!!' lol

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2934 - 10/07/2024 17:14:09    2558250