Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1285 - 24/04/2023 13:33:29 2473243 Link 0 |
I don't think we'd be as bad as this if bonner was in charge. Some statement to make in fairness. If bonner was in charge Murphy and Co wudnt be absent. We're getting what we deserve and nobody can argue with that. Only a few hundred up supporting the lads disgrace.. don't need any excuses.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2062 - 24/04/2023 14:35:17 2473287 Link 0 |
Donegal have fielded a severely weakened squad this season, if you list players who played in League and Championship for Donegal in the last 3-4 years who are still in the age group to play Inter-county, its quickly obvious why 2023 has been such a struggle. Michael Murphy Patrick McBrearty - injured Ryan McHugh Niall O'Donnell Shane O'Donnell Eoghan McGettigan Ethan O'Donnell Odhran MacNiallais Stephen McBrearty Eoin McHugh Andrew McClean Jack McKelvey Paul Brennan - Injured Tony McClenaghan Eunan Doherty Odhran McFadden Ferry Conor Morrison Aaron Deeney Some of the above are out with Injury, but I would argue that some of the above are better that players who started against Down and that got relegated from Division 1. That squad yesterday lacked depth from the bench and lacked strength on the pitch. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 999 - 24/04/2023 14:41:25 2473291 Link 0 |
I don't think anyone realistically thinks that the current crop are capable of winning All-Irelands. But, can we honestly say that they've been given the support & resources they need to fully maximise their potential? I would say no. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 8791 - 24/04/2023 14:47:34 2473297 Link 0 |
Back to this rubbish. I can empthathise with people who do not want to support the current team through attendance at games as it might give the impression that they are happy with the calamitous nature of the county set up. County board need to be sent a message. People are not going to put up with the status quo. Small clubs are forced to pay a fortune in county board fees at the beginning of each year. This money is being wasted and clubs are struggling. Fair play to those who went but people had legitimate reasons not to travel. It is when the money dries up that the board will realise the mess we are in. And you cherry picked what I said. Yes we would not have been this bad, but there were no signs of improvement. This day of reckoning has been coming. ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 189 - 24/04/2023 15:19:44 2473312 Link 0 |
To think that Paddy Carr was more than good enough for multiple all-Ireland winners such as James Mc Carthy, Rory O'Carroll, Dean Rock, Paul Mannion, John Small , Philly Mc Mahon et. Al. He wasn't good enough for the Donegal players? Shortsighted?? Theblonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 1 - 24/04/2023 15:22:00 2473315 Link 0 |
What kind of beautiful breathtaking football does your own club play big man?
tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 272 - 24/04/2023 15:48:21 2473324 Link 0 |
you'd have to wonder how anyone what was going on and what the motives were. I find it strange that we have a player who can't get himself fit enough to finish a game (for a few years now) , yet he's one of the players involved in getting rid of a manager who's won a club all ireland, and replacing him with 2 men who clearly aren't up to the task.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 368 - 24/04/2023 15:56:20 2473333 Link 0 |
I would say the senior players who spoke with Paddy are only relaying the squad sentiment. obviously they are the leaders of the group and carry a lot of sway but I wouldn't pin the whole thing on the three names that went to see him. I would also guess that this whole scenario suits a few around the county that wanted O'Rourke in as the main coach down to the ground There's a lot of dúirt bean liom gur dúirt bean léi in the county at the minute and that atmosphere comes from the top down CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 91 - 24/04/2023 16:15:51 2473346 Link 0 |
He normally has himself tired out from talking constantly during the game. If he could keep his behalf closed for five minutes he might reserve a bit more energy for his legs.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 595 - 24/04/2023 16:34:11 2473361 Link 0 |
Surely you're not standing up for club football in Donegal lad .
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2062 - 24/04/2023 16:38:30 2473368 Link 0 |
Who in the county wanted O'Rourke as Head Coach? Not one person wanted that, not one. As far as I know it was Paddy Carr who insisted on it after he was ousted by the players. That in itself is a joke. The county board made a mess of the initial recruitment process and lets call a spade a spade, the only 2 men left standing were Paddy Carr and Aidan O'Rourke and in a moment of mad panic they were appointed by incompetent administrators. Anyone with half a brain knew that neither Carr or O'Rourke were up to the job and now the chickens have come home to roost. I thought we had hit rock bottom but each week we seem to sink further. PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 61 - 24/04/2023 16:43:31 2473374 Link 0 |
What in your opinion is O'Rourke lacking as a coach.
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 987 - 24/04/2023 17:08:24 2473390 Link 0 |
Answer the question, what type of beautiful football does your club play. And stop waffling about Bonner. The fact is the county board could learn a few things from the great club that is Naomh conail. We concentrated on underage teams and worked hard as a club to develop our club, and for the last 18 years + are benefiting from that hard work. We developed great players like the thomson's, Leo, brick, mcguinness, gildea......... the list goes on. One of them great players became manager and brought us to the top. Have a bit of respect for the county champions The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 667 - 24/04/2023 17:36:42 2473402 Link 0 |
The ability to win games.
themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 117 - 24/04/2023 18:01:10 2473418 Link 3 |
How many of that list will be back next year? Obviously Murphy retired and a lot won't probably make themselves available until upgrade on Aidan O'Rourke is brought in.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3218 - 24/04/2023 19:58:01 2473459 Link 0 |
Your talking nonsense. Murphy said he made up his mind to retire in June after Donegal's last match of 2022?
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 152 - 24/04/2023 22:47:01 2473517 Link 0 |
What's wrong with the club scene in Donegal?
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 152 - 25/04/2023 08:06:31 2473531 Link 0 |
have you watched a club game lately?
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 368 - 25/04/2023 09:22:27 2473562 Link 0 |
I watch my club team playing every weekend. Open attacking football, high scoring. Dont see a problem!!!
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 152 - 25/04/2023 09:43:52 2473567 Link 0 |