Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Last man out turn out the lights so, some bloody mess they have made of the county team now, I don't think we'll ever get back to being a serious team until Murphy and/or McGuinness takes over as manager, that's if they'd touch it with a 10 ft bargepole.
The mess it's in now I don't know who in their right mind would go near it, can't blame young fellas for wanting to get the hell away from here and enjoy the summer stateside or wherever."
Not a fear of anyone touching it until at least the two main protagonists are gone and maybe one or two more. This year is already a write off where I expect the dismal league form to continue into championship with many absences for various reasons. No doubt in my mind that what's gone on off the pitch has resulted in Ryan making himself not available (combined with an injury) and MM's unexpected retirement.

Poor enough show from the U-20's this afternoon. Having contained Derry well enough the scoring rate was just not good enough with the first half littered by very cheap poor turnovers when in the attacking side of the pitch. Despite having a strong breeze in the second half they were still outscored from a physically strong Derry side.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2855 - 08/04/2023 19:00:26    2469624

Replying To panamasam:  "Not a fear of anyone touching it until at least the two main protagonists are gone and maybe one or two more. This year is already a write off where I expect the dismal league form to continue into championship with many absences for various reasons. No doubt in my mind that what's gone on off the pitch has resulted in Ryan making himself not available (combined with an injury) and MM's unexpected retirement.

Poor enough show from the U-20's this afternoon. Having contained Derry well enough the scoring rate was just not good enough with the first half littered by very cheap poor turnovers when in the attacking side of the pitch. Despite having a strong breeze in the second half they were still outscored from a physically strong Derry side."
Clear for everyone to see how far behind our u20s were in terms of conditioning, they never stood a chance, let down by the lack of proper structures and development programmes in the county. How can players picked at trials in December compete with players from Derry we are obviously on proper programmes in a proper academy setup. Anyone that thinks we shouldn't be investing in our academy should be made sit down and watch the video of that u20 game.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 627 - 08/04/2023 20:02:12    2469638

Replying To greenfan:  "Clear for everyone to see how far behind our u20s were in terms of conditioning, they never stood a chance, let down by the lack of proper structures and development programmes in the county. How can players picked at trials in December compete with players from Derry we are obviously on proper programmes in a proper academy setup. Anyone that thinks we shouldn't be investing in our academy should be made sit down and watch the video of that u20 game."
In fairness the 20s would have been in the academy the past two years. Just beating by a better side but yes very notable the conditioning.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 08/04/2023 20:53:54    2469648

In my opinion Donegal football won't consistently compete at the top table if we do not get our schools structure in place. Teams like derry and Tyrone have their players training and playing at a high level all year round with schools, academies and club. Generational players have spoiled us that last decade. Now that's gone we have to really up our standard of underage training

Gaelbomber (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 08/04/2023 21:34:40    2469653

Replying To TheRock2121:  "In fairness the 20s would have been in the academy the past two years. Just beating by a better side but yes very notable the conditioning."
Yeah they wouldn't have been in the academy, but if we had a proper setup they would have been on strength and conditioning programmes. That u20 squad had a lot of injuries, which is also caused by lack of core strength work done. The only gym work that squad did since December was a bit they did after training, they didnt have any gym sessions on days that training wasn't on. Derry are the better team, no question a fine team, but our players weren't given the best chance to compete. Interestingly, the man doing the s+c for the u20s is now gone to work with the senior players.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 627 - 08/04/2023 21:47:38    2469657

If the under 20 had lots of injuries, there must be a question about their trainers and strenght and conditioning coaches.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 475 - 08/04/2023 21:52:25    2469659

Leo complaining that his forwards coach Colm Anthony was over in London because of the game been brought forward.Now looking how we set up doubt forwards coach doesnt have much off a role.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 09/04/2023 09:41:07    2469676

maybe there is too much put into training and fitness with teams. New York beat Leitrem , at end of game the Leitrem players were having cramp and ran out of steam compeelty and didnt even have the energy to take penaties, Leitrem were after 8 league games FBD league and numerous challange games and all kinds of fitness coaches, where as New York had no league games and nobody to play in challange games, makes you wonder about all the training.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 475 - 09/04/2023 12:36:58    2469741

2 weeks to go till Newry, I wonder what morale is like in the squad? I can't remember going into an Ulster Championship with so little confidence, even with the party boys you always thought they could give anyone a game and then likely go out the next day and play rubbish,
the way it is now we kind of know at we are going to get, and we haven't the likes of Murphy McHugh or McBrearty to drag us out of our shell.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3180 - 09/04/2023 13:12:49    2469759

Jaysus lads, St Michaels and Bundoran not being able to field is just embarrassing stuff. We (Killybegs) had awful bother getting teams out on Friday and got tanked in both games, but at least we fielded.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 09/04/2023 19:16:45    2469886

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Jaysus lads, St Michaels and Bundoran not being able to field is just embarrassing stuff. We (Killybegs) had awful bother getting teams out on Friday and got tanked in both games, but at least we fielded."
Bundoran I get as they have had no reserve teams for a couple of years so numbers obviously tight but St. Michaels was a surprise.

Wonder what Jim would make of his adoptive club throwing in the towel so easily.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1187 - 09/04/2023 19:49:43    2469889

Replying To jacktheboy:  "maybe there is too much put into training and fitness with teams. New York beat Leitrem , at end of game the Leitrem players were having cramp and ran out of steam compeelty and didnt even have the energy to take penaties, Leitrem were after 8 league games FBD league and numerous challange games and all kinds of fitness coaches, where as New York had no league games and nobody to play in challange games, makes you wonder about all the training."
Our lads will be cramping too one of the unfittest and most one paced teams I have ever seen

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1054 - 09/04/2023 21:40:41    2469925

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "2 weeks to go till Newry, I wonder what morale is like in the squad? I can't remember going into an Ulster Championship with so little confidence, even with the party boys you always thought they could give anyone a game and then likely go out the next day and play rubbish,
the way it is now we kind of know at we are going to get, and we haven't the likes of Murphy McHugh or McBrearty to drag us out of our shell."
Now dont be telling us that ould craic, Youll probably come down and give us a right hiding

germac (Down) - Posts: 561 - 10/04/2023 09:37:38    2469953

Replying To Gaelbomber:  "In my opinion Donegal football won't consistently compete at the top table if we do not get our schools structure in place. Teams like derry and Tyrone have their players training and playing at a high level all year round with schools, academies and club. Generational players have spoiled us that last decade. Now that's gone we have to really up our standard of underage training"
We just can't make schools with over 1000 boys like Omagh CBS, Maghera, Abbey, and alter the LC so that they are 18.5 when they do the Leaving Cert…now if you have a plan to do that, let us all know. Lads in the wee 6 are usually 18/19 doing their A Levels. In Donegal, lads are 17 or maybe just turned 18 doing their LC. Most don't do Transition Year either, so those lads would be just turned 17 doing the LC. Schools are an area where we are up against it, no doubt. But if we had an under 18 and 19 Academy squad as well, it would make up some of the shortfalls.

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 10/04/2023 09:52:30    2469955

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Jaysus lads, St Michaels and Bundoran not being able to field is just embarrassing stuff. We (Killybegs) had awful bother getting teams out on Friday and got tanked in both games, but at least we fielded."
I'd say t was strategic from those clubs not to field. It is recorded as a 1-0 score line. So, had they fielded and gotten tanked, their points difference would be way worse. I'm not justifying it, but I'd say that's why they did. Penalty should be harsher.

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 10/04/2023 09:56:24    2469956

What's everyone's starting 15 for Down? What did we learn from the league? We definitely need Hughie inside as a target man, without his presence Jamie and Oisin get tagged too easily. We also kicked a lot of silly ball away in the two early games, the first half V Tyrone was the worst display I've seen. Defensively we're in massive trouble again, players aren't there.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 10/04/2023 10:49:41    2469966

Replying To TheRock2121:  "What's everyone's starting 15 for Down? What did we learn from the league? We definitely need Hughie inside as a target man, without his presence Jamie and Oisin get tagged too easily. We also kicked a lot of silly ball away in the two early games, the first half V Tyrone was the worst display I've seen. Defensively we're in massive trouble again, players aren't there."
Patton
McCole
Mcmenamin
Curran
CMcColgan
CMcGonagle
Eban
JMcGee
Langan
Mogan
Thompson
Codonnell
J Brennan
HmcFadden
I'm no so sure on the last player.

Gaelbomber (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 10/04/2023 14:46:28    2470019

I still expect us to come out of the marshes with a win. We still have the nucleus of a good team. But I'm afraid we'll not be good enough for the winners of Armagh or Cavan. Time to book your tickets and get behind the lads..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2613 - 10/04/2023 14:48:18    2470022

Replying To TheRock2121:  "What's everyone's starting 15 for Down? What did we learn from the league? We definitely need Hughie inside as a target man, without his presence Jamie and Oisin get tagged too easily. We also kicked a lot of silly ball away in the two early games, the first half V Tyrone was the worst display I've seen. Defensively we're in massive trouble again, players aren't there."
Agree with all points there but I'm not convinced by Hughie, inside or anywhere else tbh. Could be a case though that we have to start him. If that's the case then it has to be full forward and he has to get the ball in, not twice in 70+ minutes. It should be rehearsed to death in training in how to use it properly, how to use it as a decoy and using it in sync with the other forwards. Maybe then it'll have use.

Patton

Ban McCole Curran

McKelvey McMenamin Mogan

McGee McGonagle

Thompson Langan Gallen

O'Donnell McFadden Brennan

That's my team (might be unaware of injuries). Think Gallen might work better in the half forward line, maybe push Conor O'Donnell inside. Jamie Brennan needs to get going. Full back line, best I can think of tbh, don't see Ward as good enough.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1403 - 10/04/2023 14:53:41    2470025

I think we're deluded as a county if we're wishing to see Hughie inside. McBrearty's day in the sun is gone also, as anyone with a sober eye could see before his injury and Brennan is no longer the threat of old. I think we need to be more open to scouring the county for players who didn't come through the underage ranks and to be willing to drop players who used to play well but have gone off the boil.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 10/04/2023 16:52:31    2470061