Donegal GAA thread

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You are in Donegal, you either know the full details around the appointment or else your head is in the sand. A former manager was ready to be part of 2 separate tickets but politics got in the way. As I said plenty of people know this.

You think I am not aware of our past issues ? They were discussed plenty on here. I am not some lad stoking controversy. Surely to god plenty of people know this."
Which has nothing to do with Carr. Unless you think he personally set out to deny Kavanagh the job. Donegal board is rife with politics like every other county. Meath and Kerry come to mind for their recent actions. Anyway, Carr was appointed and most people within the county are willing to give him a chance and won't drag his name through the mud. Perhaps Mayo has a different attitude.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 29/01/2023 19:01:37    2455058

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Which has nothing to do with Carr. Unless you think he personally set out to deny Kavanagh the job. Donegal board is rife with politics like every other county. Meath and Kerry come to mind for their recent actions. Anyway, Carr was appointed and most people within the county are willing to give him a chance and won't drag his name through the mud. Perhaps Mayo has a different attitude."
Amazing how I already said this isn't the fault of Carr. In case you missed it. There is obviously lots you don't know about your own county so not sure why you are so offended by having a discussion about it? Murphy would have played under Kavanagh and also under the second team that was offered, Jim was on that ticket as well. Murphy announced his retirement after everything fell through.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 29/01/2023 19:23:26    2455066

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Amazing how I already said this isn't the fault of Carr. In case you missed it. There is obviously lots you don't know about your own county so not sure why you are so offended by having a discussion about it? Murphy would have played under Kavanagh and also under the second team that was offered, Jim was on that ticket as well. Murphy announced his retirement after everything fell through."
My understanding is that your interpretation of things is spot on in terms of how it went down. And a lot of us were very unhappy with the process, a shambles. It does seem McGuinness wasn't wanted and was willing, that in itself says it all about the county board. Sad power merchants with minimal vision. That said, every Donegal person will want to draw a line under this and move on. Today was a real positive for us and not just the win but the style of football and the young players standing up and being counted. Paddy Carr comes across a lovely genuine man and best wishes to him. Donegal fans want him to succeed.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 29/01/2023 19:31:43    2455070

A very courageous display by Donegal today. They were 6 points behind, and Kerry were in control. To steady the ship, and to get it back to 3 by half time gave us real hope at half time, especially with a strong breeze in our favour in the second half.

We had a fantastic opening to the second half, and showed terrific spirit. Kerry came back very strong, and dominated for a 10/15 period before the last 5 minutes.

In my view, Patton's inclusion was crucial, his kick outs put opposing teams back a step towards their own goal. Curran wasn't bad, a tigerish display. McColgan was unbelievable. Midfield broke even. All of our half forward line acquitted themselves very well. I thought Jamie Brennan was also very good, in that he was offering himself as the outball when we needed it, and he was stretching the Kerry defence.

Overall, delighted with the points. We got Kerry at the right time. And looking at the fixtures ahead, if we get a victory against Tyrone next Sunday I believe that we will be free from the threat of relegation for another year. Next Sunday will tell the tale.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 29/01/2023 19:34:21    2455073

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Aye but he waited until when to announce it? Do some research. Some of the comments on here are embarrassing. I am not trying to stoke controversy I am stating facts. Some sensitive souls on here. I have been a huge fan of Donegal especially when Jim was there. He would have been there again this year if not for politics. But sure keep telling me I have my information wrong if it makes you feel better."
I dont need to do research, I know the facts. I doubt you were a huge fan of Donegal when Jim was Manager in 2012!!!
He couldn't be there this year because he didn't even look for the job.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 273 - 29/01/2023 19:34:42    2455074

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Amazing how I already said this isn't the fault of Carr. In case you missed it. There is obviously lots you don't know about your own county so not sure why you are so offended by having a discussion about it? Murphy would have played under Kavanagh and also under the second team that was offered, Jim was on that ticket as well. Murphy announced his retirement after everything fell through."
I know a lot but I just don't see the need to keep talking about it. Carr is the manager and that's it. You are trying to stoke division in a county which just wants to move on from a tough year. I wonder how much the Mayo board are paying you.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 29/01/2023 19:35:11    2455075

Lads will ye comment on the game today and not get constantly caught up replying and taking digs at each other..people come on here for different opinions and takes on different games..its turning into schoolyard stuff at times..well done donegal

showmehow (Kerry) - Posts: 6 - 29/01/2023 19:42:46    2455079

There is nobody more out-of-the-know than the person who claims to be in-the-know on an online forum.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 377 - 29/01/2023 19:50:51    2455082

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Which has nothing to do with Carr. Unless you think he personally set out to deny Kavanagh the job. Donegal board is rife with politics like every other county. Meath and Kerry come to mind for their recent actions. Anyway, Carr was appointed and most people within the county are willing to give him a chance and won't drag his name through the mud. Perhaps Mayo has a different attitude."
GAA county board politics in Mayo is extremely ethical Rolo. Unless you're a coach who gets Mayo to an All Ireland final in his first year and is then moved on, because a former coach who's running for Dàil Eireann wants to manage Mayo again. Or you're a candidate for the manager's job, looking a cert for the job, until mysteriously two former players, one with county board connections, is appointed. Or a club All Ireland winning coach who has a poor third year after two very good ones, is encouraged to leave so another former coach gets the now vacant position. Arra no, Mayo county board have been very transparent in their appointments. Wouldn't explain why we lose finals though.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 29/01/2023 20:18:42    2455092

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "My understanding is that your interpretation of things is spot on in terms of how it went down. And a lot of us were very unhappy with the process, a shambles. It does seem McGuinness wasn't wanted and was willing, that in itself says it all about the county board. Sad power merchants with minimal vision. That said, every Donegal person will want to draw a line under this and move on. Today was a real positive for us and not just the win but the style of football and the young players standing up and being counted. Paddy Carr comes across a lovely genuine man and best wishes to him. Donegal fans want him to succeed."
100 percent and on Carr as a man as well. It isn't personal I just don't think he is up to it and this will be a 1 year term in my opinion. Going to step away here now as everyone seems easily offended and seems to think it's a Mayo v Donegal thing which is odd. There wasn't any offence intended.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 29/01/2023 20:23:21    2455098

Replying To GreenandRed:  "GAA county board politics in Mayo is extremely ethical Rolo. Unless you're a coach who gets Mayo to an All Ireland final in his first year and is then moved on, because a former coach who's running for Dàil Eireann wants to manage Mayo again. Or you're a candidate for the manager's job, looking a cert for the job, until mysteriously two former players, one with county board connections, is appointed. Or a club All Ireland winning coach who has a poor third year after two very good ones, is encouraged to leave so another former coach gets the now vacant position. Arra no, Mayo county board have been very transparent in their appointments. Wouldn't explain why we lose finals though."
No wonder it makes Jimmy Sloyan sick to his teeth!

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 29/01/2023 20:25:22    2455100

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "There is nobody more out-of-the-know than the person who claims to be in-the-know on an online forum."
Everything I said about Murphy and the timing of his retirement and Jim going to be part of coaching ticket is 100 per cent correct.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 29/01/2023 20:25:29    2455101

Fair play to Paddy Carr for mentioning the people of Creeslough in his post match interview.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 29/01/2023 20:26:42    2455103

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I dont need to do research, I know the facts. I doubt you were a huge fan of Donegal when Jim was Manager in 2012!!!
He couldn't be there this year because he didn't even look for the job."
You are absolutely clueless on this year and the what happened with Kavanagh and the aftermath

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 29/01/2023 20:27:19    2455104

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "There is nobody more out-of-the-know than the person who claims to be in-the-know on an online forum."
Duirt bean liom go nduirt bean lei

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 29/01/2023 20:28:41    2455105

Replying To showmehow:  "Lads will ye comment on the game today and not get constantly caught up replying and taking digs at each other..people come on here for different opinions and takes on different games..its turning into schoolyard stuff at times..well done donegal"
I was impressed with the desire our lads showed today. Word was that they weren't happy with the managerial appointment/the camp was unhappy etc. but they were certainly playing for someone today. Even more impressive given we were missing 5/6 certain starters and 4 young players made their league debuts. Granted Kerry were short too.

I actually thought Kerry kicked it away. Conditions weren't great but they should have done better. That said we'll take a confidence building win.

A good start but there are more battles ahead. Today will only hearten our resolve going into those.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 29/01/2023 20:29:11    2455106

Replying To GreenandRed:  "GAA county board politics in Mayo is extremely ethical Rolo. Unless you're a coach who gets Mayo to an All Ireland final in his first year and is then moved on, because a former coach who's running for Dàil Eireann wants to manage Mayo again. Or you're a candidate for the manager's job, looking a cert for the job, until mysteriously two former players, one with county board connections, is appointed. Or a club All Ireland winning coach who has a poor third year after two very good ones, is encouraged to leave so another former coach gets the now vacant position. Arra no, Mayo county board have been very transparent in their appointments. Wouldn't explain why we lose finals though."
Shhhh that's all meant to be a secret.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 29/01/2023 20:33:23    2455109

Replying To showmehow:  "Lads will ye comment on the game today and not get constantly caught up replying and taking digs at each other..people come on here for different opinions and takes on different games..its turning into schoolyard stuff at times..well done donegal"
I was sitting beside a lovely Kerry man at the match. 1st 20 mins or so Kerry were on top but after that Donegal settled down and we finished the 1st half well aided by a point given that was clearly wide. Great 2nd half that could of went either way. Bad misses on both sides. We probably needed the 2 points more as Im sure Kerry will pick up plenty of points when Clifford's etc return to the team. Enjoyable match considering it was the start of a League campaign.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 273 - 29/01/2023 20:53:22    2455123

Great win and so delighted for Paddy and the boys, hard to beat Paddy mac to swing over the winner!! Patton was class as usual, that was hard fought battle in tight conditions, that win will do them young lads a power of good and gave the supporters a great lift too and great to see us playing more direct football. I think everyone wants to move on now and get behind the team, them lads and Paddy Carr deserve our full support, even without Murphy at FF when we get every man back we have bucketloads of talent in this county to take on anybody.
As long as we secure div 1 status now and fellas keep getting game time we should be in a good position for Championship.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 29/01/2023 20:57:27    2455127

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Everything I said about Murphy and the timing of his retirement and Jim going to be part of coaching ticket is 100 per cent correct."
You have a half story from someone that wanted to seem important when they told you, or when they told the person that told you, or told them, and so on and so forth.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 377 - 29/01/2023 21:37:04    2455141