Donegal GAA thread

Replying To ryan:  "I hope the club delegates ask questions on Monday evening and also why we turned down good Donegal men. Strong rumours that McGuinness wanted to get involved but interview panel were not that keen on it. Questions need to be asked over the whole shambles and who exactly is pulling the strings here."
We'll never know as the press aren't allowed in. And if you talk to the press you'll be persona non grata.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 26/11/2022 19:58:56    2448804

Well done setanta big win today, great for Donegal hurling. Hopefully dungloe can win now.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 27/11/2022 15:39:02    2448852

Yes, big win for Setanta, fair play to them.

And we also learned today that Cargin weren't the mugs that some thought they were; they gave Glen a he'll of a battle.

Fingers crossed for Dungloe.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 27/11/2022 16:27:33    2448860

The latest rumour is that Kevin Reilly of Meath is also being added to the ticket. Have we any coaches at all in the county?

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 27/11/2022 20:05:38    2448891

Replying To ryan:  "Paddy Bradley from Derry coming in as coach with Aidan o Rourke from Armagh.
Manager is Paddy Carr from Meath.
Full-time S&C is Mattie Brady from Tyrone who has a full-time contract working 24/7 with the team. Mike mcGurn from Fermanagh and who works in Queens is coming in to oversee Mattie Brady. Ruarai Cleary from Letterkenny is also going to work alongside the the full-time S&C coach. He is the only one from Donegal so far and don't know who he is.
Have not heard of any other Donegal coaches involved.
Apparently 12/15 players from last year's panel have yet to commit.
Players who have been brought in to train with panel are
Ultan Doherty
Hugh o Donnell
Philip Doherty
Eamonn McGrath
Kealan Dunleavy

Questions need to be asked by our clubs to see what on earth is going on? County board seems to be run by 4/5 people and there is little or no communication with the clubs. How are these decisions made? If people care about Donegal football, questions need to start being asked and accountability taken by the board."
There is alot of "lies" posted since Paddy took the job. Eamonn McGrath hasn't been training with the county or at the first training session? He should be called up as he has been AR best player the past few years, better than some on the panel and was on it under Rory.

newbie1123 (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 27/11/2022 20:58:25    2448895

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The latest rumour is that Kevin Reilly of Meath is also being added to the ticket. Have we any coaches at all in the county?"
None of the Backroom staff have knowledge of the club scene in Donegal which is a worry!! Not sure how they are going to pick a panel, seems to me they are going to go with last years plus a few others.

Not many coaches up to the standard bar ones not interested!!

newbie1123 (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 27/11/2022 21:02:09    2448896

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The latest rumour is that Kevin Reilly of Meath is also being added to the ticket. Have we any coaches at all in the county?"
Maybe outside coaches is what we need to get us away from the awful football being played in this county. Look at the football played in our championship recently, it's not exactly a great advert for the coaches within the county.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 27/11/2022 21:04:03    2448897

Replying To ryan:  "I hope the club delegates ask questions on Monday evening and also why we turned down good Donegal men. Strong rumours that McGuinness wanted to get involved but interview panel were not that keen on it. Questions need to be asked over the whole shambles and who exactly is pulling the strings here."
Rumors haha come on wake up man, you talk some lies. You need to change your sources!!

newbie1123 (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 27/11/2022 21:05:47    2448898

Anyone know when the u21 draw is being made?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 28/11/2022 11:20:56    2448927

Who do yous think will take over from Murphy as the right footed free taker.Who is the most consistent free taker in club football i.e, one that would be in the county panel.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 28/11/2022 12:36:42    2448946

Replying To gunman:  "Who do yous think will take over from Murphy as the right footed free taker.Who is the most consistent free taker in club football i.e, one that would be in the county panel."
I would say Langan is most likely or maybe Niall O'Donnell (if he's in the panel that is)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 28/11/2022 13:26:31    2448957

I'd say there is now a huge opening for Joel Bradley Walsh, both in terms of a target, and for his dead ball abilities.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 28/11/2022 14:03:47    2448962

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Anyone know when the u21 draw is being made?"
Don't think there will be a draw. Think it goes by where teams placed in the groups. Good luck finding the final group tables on the donegal gaa website. It's a disaster area

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 28/11/2022 14:11:23    2448964

Replying To greenfan:  "Don't think there will be a draw. Think it goes by where teams placed in the groups. Good luck finding the final group tables on the donegal gaa website. It's a disaster area"
I know what you mean. The only thing the county website would give you is a headache.
Good result for Termon against Eunans. It's hard to call a winner at this stage.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 28/11/2022 15:05:58    2448975

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I know what you mean. The only thing the county website would give you is a headache.
Good result for Termon against Eunans. It's hard to call a winner at this stage."
I think the U21 B and C quarters are out. There are still one or two games to be played in the A comp.
https://donegalgaa.ie/competitions/fixtures/?com_id=187393

donegaldouble (Donegal) - Posts: 310 - 28/11/2022 16:46:46    2448995

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I know what you mean. The only thing the county website would give you is a headache.
Good result for Termon against Eunans. It's hard to call a winner at this stage."
In relation to the Donegal site. I have checked the site of all counties with the sole purpose of seeing would there be one worst that the Donegal site
They wasn't one worst. Donegal site was a long way behind any Co site.
I mailed the Co Board about 3 months about the quality of their site.
I'm still waiting for a response.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 28/11/2022 22:00:13    2449031

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "In relation to the Donegal site. I have checked the site of all counties with the sole purpose of seeing would there be one worst that the Donegal site
They wasn't one worst. Donegal site was a long way behind any Co site.
I mailed the Co Board about 3 months about the quality of their site.
I'm still waiting for a response."
Hi leitrimforsam: I emailed them 10 years ago about it. I avoid it now.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 29/11/2022 13:37:08    2449060

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi leitrimforsam: I emailed them 10 years ago about it. I avoid it now."
If they literally paid 2 tech savvy web design students on a retainer basis they would have a much improved website at a fraction of the price. Instead I wonder what they have paid and do pay for that farce of a website.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 29/11/2022 13:41:45    2449063

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "If they literally paid 2 tech savvy web design students on a retainer basis they would have a much improved website at a fraction of the price. Instead I wonder what they have paid and do pay for that farce of a website."
But they'll have to be from another County to even be considered for the gig.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 29/11/2022 13:54:26    2449064

Any word on the players drafted in or the final piece in the management set up. A lot of outsiders if you can believe what's being said. At the end of the day bar Murphy and a few others most of the same players will be there. It's vital that we stay in division one and hopefully gave Ulster a rattle.. any comment lads what's the goal.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 29/11/2022 18:56:38    2449086