Longford GAA thread

Barry O'Farrell also retiring from Inter-county football.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 10/11/2023 14:49:18    2512372

Have we any update on the manager situation in clubs for 2024?
Killoe… Luke Dempsey
Clonguish: Liam belton
Colmcille: Mickey Harkin's?
Dromard: ?
Mullinalaghta:?
Granard: Paul Lynch?
Abbeylara: niall Sheridan
Rathcline: ?
Carrickedmond:?
Ballymahon:?
Kenagh: Eugene McCormack
Ardagh: ?
Cashel: ?
Kilashee:?
FMG: ?
Grattens:?
Slashers: tommy Donohoe
Mostrim: ?
Ballymore: dermot Murphy
Legan:?
Connolly's:?

Longfordman23 (Longford) - Posts: 1 - 11/11/2023 21:06:52    2512472

I don't think the county team will be as badly hit with departures as originally thought. I think there is only 2 or 3 confirmed at the minute. Paddy Christie in discussions with a few lads who are undecided and hopeful that they will give it the year to get us back up to Division 3.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 12/11/2023 18:44:46    2512583

Awful news for Matt Duffy. But is this the injury he picked up about 6 weeks ago in the senior semi final or was he playing for Dromard under 21s and ruptured it then. Hoganstand reporting he picked it up at the weekend but Dromard were not playing at the weekend!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 14/11/2023 17:20:17    2513036

Replying To Longfordman23:  "Have we any update on the manager situation in clubs for 2024?
Killoe… Luke Dempsey
Connolly's:?"
Dempsey is one and done with Killoe from what I'm hearing.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 14/11/2023 21:52:02    2513069

Replying To Oddball:  "Awful news for Matt Duffy. But is this the injury he picked up about 6 weeks ago in the senior semi final or was he playing for Dromard under 21s and ruptured it then. Hoganstand reporting he picked it up at the weekend but Dromard were not playing at the weekend!!"
He picked up the ACL injury in the senior semi-final is my understanding.

TurnipAyter (Longford) - Posts: 148 - 15/11/2023 16:13:12    2513204

Under 21 final on this Sunday.......who's going to win?
Only a point or two separated the two teams in the group stage.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 21/11/2023 13:15:10    2514016

Replying To Spinx:  "Under 21 final on this Sunday.......who's going to win?
Only a point or two separated the two teams in the group stage."
Could go all the way to a penalty shootout

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 21/11/2023 15:14:19    2514039

I would imagine Clonguish should have the advantage in the U-21. Killoe have a few injuries - Coyle, Harte, Moffitt, Moran, Gilna, Borland and Donnelly(away) all out or very doubtful, all fairly senior guys on this team. Clonguish may have injuries themselves I'm not aware of. U21 is always a bit like that at the end of the year with players reaching a point where the rest is welcome.
Some wont have any rest and are already back in training with county (another issue which catches up with players in terms of an increase in serious injuries). Big numbers on a provisional panel by all accounts, (hopefully we have a full deck to pick from), but I fear we will end up without some of our strongest club players. We should be competitive in Div4, and be looking for promotion straight away. That wont be easy as we have fallen a lot in terms of player and football quality in the last few years. The things that give me hope though, is that most of the other teams in Div4 have also gone backwards in that respect. I also cant see (from the outside) that Paddy Christie is much better than what we have available within the county.

botheyesclosed (Longford) - Posts: 115 - 22/11/2023 16:30:38    2514194

This will be a tight final. Killoe will fancy their chances if Paddy Moran can click into top gear. Scored 0-8 in the semi final.

This pairing produced game of the year at u19 level when Killoe won. It should be a belter again.

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 26 - 22/11/2023 17:23:10    2514206

I see Luke Dempsey heavily linked with Caulry in Westmeath on their forum.
With Rowley gone as chairman it probably is no big surprise to see him move on.
If it does happen, it will be interesting to see who comes in.
I would say with the new big sponsorship they have got , it will probably be another big name.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 23/11/2023 10:02:09    2514246

Replying To Longfordman23:  "Have we any update on the manager situation in clubs for 2024?
Killoe… Luke Dempsey
Connolly's:?"
John Twaddle will be joint manager with Liam Belton next year.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 111 - 23/11/2023 10:33:28    2514256

I seen St Mels won over Marists of athlone. The team sheet was interesting 10 Clonguish players, 4 Killoe players, 2 Grattans lads and 2 from St Brigids Killashee. How was there no Slashers lads on the team? I know they haven't been going well in recent years. But you'd think for a big town team they'd at least have a few lads on the squad. Maybe they do as Longford Leader only named the players who played.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 24/11/2023 12:33:16    2514448

Replying To botheyesclosed:  "I would imagine Clonguish should have the advantage in the U-21. Killoe have a few injuries - Coyle, Harte, Moffitt, Moran, Gilna, Borland and Donnelly(away) all out or very doubtful, all fairly senior guys on this team. Clonguish may have injuries themselves I'm not aware of. U21 is always a bit like that at the end of the year with players reaching a point where the rest is welcome.
Some wont have any rest and are already back in training with county (another issue which catches up with players in terms of an increase in serious injuries). Big numbers on a provisional panel by all accounts, (hopefully we have a full deck to pick from), but I fear we will end up without some of our strongest club players. We should be competitive in Div4, and be looking for promotion straight away. That wont be easy as we have fallen a lot in terms of player and football quality in the last few years. The things that give me hope though, is that most of the other teams in Div4 have also gone backwards in that respect. I also cant see (from the outside) that Paddy Christie is much better than what we have available within the county."
Harte, Moran and Borland will all be playing and Coyle is 60/40 in favour of been fit to play as of Wednesday evening.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 111 - 24/11/2023 14:20:07    2514475

Fantastic performance by our under 21s today. They never looked in bother in the game. I thought Killoe would have put up a better performance. But fair play to them on been very sporting afterwards which could not be said for one of their backroom team,who had a very classless comment when Jack went to collect his man of the match award. Well done lads on a 2 in a row of under 21 titles and also a 2 in a row of all underage titles in Longford.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 111 - 26/11/2023 19:35:07    2514640

Big win for Clonguish as expected. Last time the teams met in the group stage at Emmet Park, Clonguish were missing 4 of their starters including their keeper, and it was the week after losing a county final, yet they still won. So it was no surprise at all that they won easily today. Will win it next year too, and the year after that.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 26/11/2023 20:37:18    2514642

Replying To Frank74:  "Fantastic performance by our under 21s today. They never looked in bother in the game. I thought Killoe would have put up a better performance. But fair play to them on been very sporting afterwards which could not be said for one of their backroom team,who had a very classless comment when Jack went to collect his man of the match award. Well done lads on a 2 in a row of under 21 titles and also a 2 in a row of all underage titles in Longford."
Nothing surprising from that individual. Jack is well able to handle himself, he will be getting plenty of it i'm sure. The place to answer them is on the scoreboard which he did at his ease today. Very easy win, a great performance. A big drop from Killoe given they won this at u19 two years ago, very surprising

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 26/11/2023 20:51:50    2514643

My comment above about what said towards Duggan (before anyone goes on the attack) is not an attack on Killoe. It was more to point out that every club has one or two eejits involved or following the club. Earlier this year there was a big hullabaloo made about a dying sting comment made about Mullinalaghta by our PRO. The comment made today was by someone who is a bit higher within a club than a PRO. But that does not take away from what a great club Killoe are and have been especially over the last 10 years. As I said, I'm just highlighting the fact that's it's not just Clonguish (who most of you think) has a fella who let's loose every now and again.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 111 - 26/11/2023 22:47:59    2514660

Clonguish were litterly a kick of a ball away from winning every football championship in longford this year from underage right up to senior. Thats a remarkable achievement.
In terms of structures in place at underage to get players into the senior set up they are lightyears ahead of every other club bar maybe killoe.

Only a matter of time before a senior is won

honlongford (Longford) - Posts: 163 - 27/11/2023 08:57:58    2514674

Replying To Frank74:  "My comment above about what said towards Duggan (before anyone goes on the attack) is not an attack on Killoe. It was more to point out that every club has one or two eejits involved or following the club. Earlier this year there was a big hullabaloo made about a dying sting comment made about Mullinalaghta by our PRO. The comment made today was by someone who is a bit higher within a club than a PRO. But that does not take away from what a great club Killoe are and have been especially over the last 10 years. As I said, I'm just highlighting the fact that's it's not just Clonguish (who most of you think) has a fella who let's loose every now and again."
I think most reasonable people know that all clubs have a few eejits in their ranks, high up or low down. Wouldn't pay any attention. Their views represent the wider club about as much as the eejits in your club represent the views of yours, that is to say they don't at all. Fair play on the win. Senior title won't be long coming.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 27/11/2023 10:23:10    2514686