Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "They got the call Saturday evening seemingly, the same as Mulligan did after the team had travelled down. Late withdrawal happen in all sports and with all teams. Funny how people were bashing Mulligan for turning up and playing for his county over the last few weeks but stand up for younger players who don't bother. Speak alot really"
Totally agree with you on this one. Younger players these days will look for an out (leave the panel) at every opportunity once things go against them or don't get game time. It's rare that an intercounty player will make the breakthrough in the first year or two, unless you're a superstar. These lads don't realise the effort, stamina and persistence it takes to get to a higher level and drop off the panel before they can realise any potential. If you're not getting your place, work harder!!

TaytoFoley (Leitrim) - Posts: 83 - 30/03/2023 11:31:04    2467745

Best wishes to Emlyn on his retirement, he has served Leitrim well for many years.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 30/03/2023 11:47:34    2467752

Replying To TaytoFoley:  "Totally agree with you on this one. Younger players these days will look for an out (leave the panel) at every opportunity once things go against them or don't get game time. It's rare that an intercounty player will make the breakthrough in the first year or two, unless you're a superstar. These lads don't realise the effort, stamina and persistence it takes to get to a higher level and drop off the panel before they can realise any potential. If you're not getting your place, work harder!!"
But nobody knows the personal circumstances of these young players either- maybe they can't afford to commit financially, maybe they are in college and that takes precedence, maybe they have not got time etc etc. It is a massive committment nowadays and it is easy to preach about "younger" lads not committing etc but how many posters here would commit to that level of training etc, especially when you are not getting game time.

As a matter of interest who has left the panel that people are talking about??

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 30/03/2023 11:49:05    2467755

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "You said in your original post it was the morning of the match?? The match was on Sunday so which is it? Saturday or Sunday?"
"Moran called on a couple of young players to travel down to Wexford the morning of the match to cover a couple of injurys on the bench"

Read it again, I never once said Moran called the players on Sunday morning. What I did say was he asked them to travel down Sunday morning seeing as the team was already in Wexford from Saturday afternoon.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 30/03/2023 12:03:55    2467760

Replying To Leitrim_12:  ""Moran called on a couple of young players to travel down to Wexford the morning of the match to cover a couple of injurys on the bench"

Read it again, I never once said Moran called the players on Sunday morning. What I did say was he asked them to travel down Sunday morning seeing as the team was already in Wexford from Saturday afternoon."
Why did he ask them to travel down the morning of the match and not Saturday evening?? who were these players??

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 30/03/2023 12:36:55    2467772

Replying To TaytoFoley:  "I think you have misread the comment. Moran called the players up - to travel with the team to Wexford on the morning of the game. I highly doubt he called them that morning. Younger Leitrim players seem to think they have some entitlement to be starting with the county team in their first year or two. It seems to be a generational thing with young lads these days and parents do not help it, by telling them that they are better than they are and not pushing them to work harder. Unless young county players are willing to put a proper shift for minimum 3 years, they will not be at the level they need to be at. That's a major issue in Leitrim in my opinion."
Who are these players so? Cause if you look at the bench that day there were a lot of young players on the panel. From what I hear your story is not the case whatsoever. Accusing this group of players if lacking commitment is laughable when it is known how much they are training and if you have any memory of the past 15 years our players were involved in numerous incidents where men had to be dropped for a 'lack of commitment'.

The fact that we are still talking about Emlyn Mulligan after finishing fifth in Division 5 is the problem.

Emlyn may have been a Leitrim great if he had not of done his cruciate three times but unfortunately he did. He wouldn't get in the top 10 Leitrim players over the last 15 years due to those injuries.
When he did commit to Leitrim football and not America, Sligo, Dublin or even Donegal or Media duties he was gifted and I've no doubt he will do very well in the media in the next while. All the best to him.

Back to the current group of players. We can all see the talent that is there but the squad has been so thinned out due to injuries and emigration it is hard to have any depth. Off the top of my head Ryan O'Rourke, Jordan Reynolds, Ciaran Cullen, Shane Moran, and David Bruen, Cillian McGloin and Brendan Flynn all started championship games for Leitrim last year and will not be on the panel this year. Donald Casey's hamstring is also going to curtail him.

Add in squad players like Conor Dolan, Oisin McCaffey, Fergal McTague and Dean McGovern, Riordan O'Rourke, Conor Cullen, Aaron Hoare who are all gone aswell.
You can even add in Jack Gilheany who they couldn't convince too commit and who would start for us.

Thats a serious turnover of players in a small county.

Add in the fact then that Moran/Sloan have not brought a defined way of playing and have been poor in decision making when it comes to team selection and in game substitutions and you can see why we are finishing 5th in Division four.

If we get out of Gaelic Park it will be impressive. It is fair to say we are stronger and have a better base level of S&C and talent now then 4 years ago which should stand to us in New York.

GreenMan94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 29 - 30/03/2023 12:54:16    2467781

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "Why did he ask them to travel down the morning of the match and not Saturday evening?? who were these players??"
Hold on a minute and I'll ask Moran for a copy of the transcript of each of the calls.

Using 1 or 2 brain cells, I would suggest the call was made late Saturday evening and maybe Moran gave them the options to travel down Saturday evening. When the players travelled down isn't really the point, the point is they refused the call while a player like Mulligan accepted it.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 30/03/2023 13:12:18    2467787

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "They got the call Saturday evening seemingly, the same as Mulligan did after the team had travelled down. Late withdrawal happen in all sports and with all teams. Funny how people were bashing Mulligan for turning up and playing for his county over the last few weeks but stand up for younger players who don't bother. Speak alot really"
It would have been helpful if you had stated that in the first place however my point still stands. Shur look if Moran rang me on Saturday night I'd probably go down to warm the bench but you can't assume or expect others could at such late notice. And surely he knew before leaving Saturday morning that there might be an issue before people set on their journey. Not much good ringing a lad on Saturday evening to join up with the team having been told earlier in the week you're not going. The days of dying for your county are gone...

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 30/03/2023 13:23:33    2467793

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Hold on a minute and I'll ask Moran for a copy of the transcript of each of the calls.

Using 1 or 2 brain cells, I would suggest the call was made late Saturday evening and maybe Moran gave them the options to travel down Saturday evening. When the players travelled down isn't really the point, the point is they refused the call while a player like Mulligan accepted it."
when you are explaining you are losing

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 30/03/2023 13:43:11    2467798

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "It's taken a few days for that performance and result to sink in.

The result itself is so so disappointing. With 5 minutes left ourselves and Laois were being promoted but the reality of it is when the game finished we were in 5th place in division four. A bottom half team in the weakest division. The players have set to high of a standard in the last few years to hide from that fact. If that was any other management team there would be serious questions being asked.

The performance itself was so blunt and really poor. If we are being honest Sligo were at least a 6 point better team then us. It would have been a lovely daylight robbery if they won. We were so deep and invited Sligo onto us and went out of the game after the first 10 minutes. We rallied really well when it looked as if there was nothing to play for but in reality their was no plan as to what we were doing. It was all guts at hearts from the lads and a fantastic performance from Tom Prior that got us back into the game.

I see a poster is getting abuse for saying Keith doesn't perform when it matters. If we just take this game in isolation he was roasted.
Have a watch of this video https://twitter.com/NoPlanBGAA/status/1640379215982874628.
I would say Keith won't mind admitting that himself. It can happen to any player on any day. The problem is we have had no strategy whatsoever all year apart from hoping that Beirne kicks 10 points a game. You might get away with that against poor teams but against half decent opposition it just won't happen.

Paul Keaney isn't ready or conditioned enough to play at midfield on a county team just yet. I thought he should have been on the 40. But taking him and Plunkett off with 15 minutes left was lunacy and made me question Morans decision making once again. We had no shooters left on the field when it mattered and it meant Sligo could crowd Beirne out. We all know Plunkett and Keaney have the ability to kick long range scores and draw the opposition out. Which would have created space for our inside forwards.

Starting Domhnail Flynn in our half back was a nightmare waiting to happen and it's exactly what occurred. Trying to copy what Mayo are doing with Conor Loftus was a lazy strategy.

Fair play to Nevin O'Donnell for keeping us in the game with the two superb saves he made but his kickouts along with Beirne being out of the game were the main reason we lost the game. It was like watching Leitrim in the 90s where every kickout would be ballooned upon the great Mickey Quinn. Pearce Dolan (and Plunkett in the first half) were having to jump against two men every time and was completely gassed by the end of the game. I'm not sure if we went short once?

Paddy Maguire was exceptional again but I do think we got it wrong and he should have been our man marker closest to our goals. Diffley was roasted and doesn't have the power to compete yet. He was brushed aside at times.

The referee was a disgrace I thought at significant moments as well which was the most frustrating thing.

From what I know there has been no falling our with Ryan O'Rourke but after NYC he will not be a part of the panel along with a few other squad players. Its completely understandable. He can't get his body right to play and with the management Fenagh have in place there is now real pressure to win the club championship.

New York have Quinlivan from Tipp and Gavin O'Brien from Kerry and it was interesting to see some of their management team in the Pairc at the weekend."
Great Post Leitrim1234. Spot on.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 30/03/2023 14:06:34    2467814

Replying To martinjoe:  "Please, as pointed out the other day, NY have never won an intercounty game, they struggle against half decent club teams from Mayo and Galway. They have not played a game against any county in a year. Ref's give them them everything in the first half of these games to try and keep a small bit of interest in it, with the score line not truly reflecting the gulf between the teams. NY are 4/1 which is the price of no hopers. Outside of the great fundraising, the fixture is a Humbug and a major distraction for teams with expectations of having a long summer. For years I have been saying the winners of division 4 should play NY and the Div 3 winners should play London."
Great idea re: winners div 4 and div 3 playing New York and London. Leitrim have struggled big time in New York before and I'm sure they target the years they play us and Sligo. They have some quality players this year, I'd be worried tbh.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 30/03/2023 14:22:00    2467820

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "I see Mulligan has left again!!"
Indeed..not all were fans off the field..ill say no more..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 30/03/2023 18:25:59    2467881

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Hold on a minute and I'll ask Moran for a copy of the transcript of each of the calls.

Using 1 or 2 brain cells, I would suggest the call was made late Saturday evening and maybe Moran gave them the options to travel down Saturday evening. When the players travelled down isn't really the point, the point is they refused the call while a player like Mulligan accepted it."
Who were these players please??

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 31/03/2023 10:00:28    2467919

Mulligan accepted it because he thought he was going to get a league medal. No chance of anything else now so he walks away again.

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 31/03/2023 13:12:58    2467968

Replying To Thejampot:  "Mulligan accepted it because he thought he was going to get a league medal. No chance of anything else now so he walks away again."
I am saddened to come on this forum and to have to read the begrudgery and moaning about named players ,management etc.

You come across as sad people who are constantly looking for negatives.

The Leitrim Supporters I know are the very opposite of some of the whingers on this site.

Emlyn Mulligan and all the brave players who have given years of service to Leitrim are held in the highest esteem by genuine supporters.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 31/03/2023 15:33:30    2468016

Replying To joeman123:  "I am saddened to come on this forum and to have to read the begrudgery and moaning about named players ,management etc.

You come across as sad people who are constantly looking for negatives.

The Leitrim Supporters I know are the very opposite of some of the whingers on this site.

Emlyn Mulligan and all the brave players who have given years of service to Leitrim are held in the highest esteem by genuine supporters."
What did I say that wasn't true ?.

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 31/03/2023 16:36:43    2468030

Replying To Thejampot:  "What did I say that wasn't true ?."
I'm not Emlyn's number one fan but over the last 17 years he represented Leitrim in 13/14 seasons (missed a few through injury I believe) so he has to commended for that. And while I think he was overrated on a national level he was definitely one of Leitrim's best players for most of them seasons. He's shown considerable commitment and if every player in the county showed the same as him for the last decade and a half then we would be at a higher level than we currently are.

To say that there is no chance of a medal is wide of the mark as well. We could very well end up in the TC this year and while we would only have an outside chance of winning it that's what the team should be aiming for…if of course we fail to make the Connacht final. For almost every year that Emlyn did play with Leitrim the chance of silverware was very slim, but he still gave it everything, so to say that when he retires is very unfair.

New&Improved (Leitrim) - Posts: 21 - 01/04/2023 13:41:15    2468123

Below is a team off the top of my head of 15 lads that either through injury, travels or not committing aren't playing for Leitrim. This team would beat NY next weekend and definitely would put it up to our current starting 15 if not beat them too. Please feel free to add in lads I haven't thought of because I definitely have left some out.

1. Brendan Flynn
2. Oisin Mcaffrey
3. Donal Casey
4. David Bruen
5. Ciaran Cullen
6. Jack Gilheany
7. Conor Cullen
8. Aaron Hoare
9. Shane Moran
10. Cillian McGloin
11. Dean McGovern
12. Riordan O'Rourke
13. Jordan Reynolds
14. Niall McGovern
15. Ryan O'Rourke

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 02/04/2023 18:09:35    2468326

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Below is a team off the top of my head of 15 lads that either through injury, travels or not committing aren't playing for Leitrim. This team would beat NY next weekend and definitely would put it up to our current starting 15 if not beat them too. Please feel free to add in lads I haven't thought of because I definitely have left some out.

1. Brendan Flynn
2. Oisin Mcaffrey
3. Donal Casey
4. David Bruen
5. Ciaran Cullen
6. Jack Gilheany
7. Conor Cullen
8. Aaron Hoare
9. Shane Moran
10. Cillian McGloin
11. Dean McGovern
12. Riordan O'Rourke
13. Jordan Reynolds
14. Niall McGovern
15. Ryan O'Rourke"
Why do people always get carried away with players who are not around or not available??

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 02/04/2023 19:20:04    2468364

Replying To eoinog:  "Why do people always get carried away with players who are not around or not available??"
Its a person's choice whether they wish to discuss an issue or not. If it bothers you so much feel free to leave our page or just don't comment. Its quite simple really. You have that choice.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 02/04/2023 20:18:03    2468391