Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "I speaking as a Melvin Gaels supporter. Their in a precarious position in the league. 2 points up on Annaduff at half time. The Manorhamilton draw with Mohill leaves the blue and white in a serious bit of bother.
Question. Does been in the bottom two in the league have you playing in the Intermediate championship next year"
No league and championship completely separate. Will go to the final game now to see if ye stay in division 1. Gortletteragh heading for Division 3 by the looks of it too. Is there league finals in any of the divisions this year?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 23/07/2022 21:47:31    2433825

League Final Round Permutations - open to correction

Division 1

- Mohill into the final regardless of result this weekend vs Ballinamore.
- A win for Ballinamore will see them into the final alongside Mohill
- A loss for Ballinamore and St Mary's will see Ballinamore into the final.
- A draw or a loss for Ballinamore coupled with a win for St Mary's vs Annaduff would see St Mary's into the final.

Bottom

- Annaduff are relegated ahead of this weekends games.
- A win for Glencar Manor will keep them safe.
- A draw for Glencar Manor will also keep them safe if Melvin Gaels fail to win by at least eight points.
- A win for Melvin Gaels coupled with a loss for Glencar Manor will see the Gaels safe.
- A draw for both Melvin Gaels and Glencar Manor keeps the latter safe.

Division 2

- Fenagh and Aughnasheelin are both into the final ahead of this weekend's games.

Bottom

- Drumreilly are already relegated ahead of this weekend's games
- One of Allen Gaels, Dromahair, Carrigallen, Ballinaglera and Gortletteragh will also be relegated depending on results.
- If Ballinaglera better Gortletteragh's result they are safe and vice versa
- If both lose, Ballinaglera are safe unless they lose by 15 points more than Gortletteragh
- If Ballinaglera, Gortletteragh and Carrigallen all win, Allen Gaels go down
- If Ballinaglera, Gortletteragh and Dromahair all win, Carrigallen go down
- If Ballinaglera & Gortletteragh win, Dromahair and Carrigallen draw, score difference will determine who finishes 3rd - 7th.

Division 3

- Kiltubrid are into the final ahead of this weekend's games
- A Drumkeerin win puts them into the final
- A Drumkeerin draw / loss also puts them into the final if Aughavas lose to Glenfarne/Kilty
- A Drumkeerin loss coupled with an Aughavas win puts Aughavas into the final.

Reserve League 1

- St Mary's (2nd) and Ballinamore (2nd) into the final
- Melvin Gaels (2nd) and Fenagh (2nd) relegated to Reserve League 2

Reserve League 2

- Allen Gaels (2nd) and Leitrim Gaels (2nd) into the final
- Kiltubrid (2nd) and Aughawillan (2nd) relegated to Reserve League 3

Reserve League 3

- Dromahair (2nd) into final
- Aughavas (2nd) into final if they win their final game
- Gortletteragh (2nd) into final if Aughavas lose their final game

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 26/07/2022 12:12:06    2434515

Its all so nail biting. It'll be like a super Sunday on sky. Wonder will shannonside have reporters at any of the games to keep us posted. I for one, can't wait please. Thank you.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 28/07/2022 13:10:34    2435069

Just a quick one if Mike Solan does get the Leitrim job Andy Moran should go straight after Stephen Rochford to replace him with leitrim. No doubt Stephen will have lots of offers and Maybe colm O Rourke will pinch him for meath. Rochford got the most out of Andy Moran as a player so they would clearly have a good relationship.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 30/07/2022 12:41:49    2435369

Replying To Champotime18:  "Just a quick one if Mike Solan does get the Leitrim job Andy Moran should go straight after Stephen Rochford to replace him with leitrim. No doubt Stephen will have lots of offers and Maybe colm O Rourke will pinch him for meath. Rochford got the most out of Andy Moran as a player so they would clearly have a good relationship."
Or donie Buckley maybe. He from kerry but he live in clare no. I think he would be the best coach around who is available and all that type of thing please. Thanks.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 30/07/2022 16:26:03    2435453

Replying To Backheel:  "Good restaurant at w8. There are 5 pubs open at the minute 2 do food all on the Main Street two as are most of cafe and takeaways. Just down from accommodation. Cafe at the castle nice outdoor seated area and Cafe above super value too."
Thanks a million. W8 is a great spot for the fodder alright. The accommodation itself is a grand job if a little thrown up in places.
Fowley falls and Séan McDs homes place done.
Biddys had music Fri night but was too busy so the market bar did the finest.
Mullaghmore and glenfarne today for the gala. We are spoiled up here people.

Hope Mike S stays in another note!

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 31/07/2022 10:22:24    2435555

Will Solan be welcome back if he doesn't get the Mayo job along with O Hara in Mohill?

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 31/07/2022 10:54:15    2435560

Are there 2 teams relegated fom the Div 1 league and the Reserve Div 1 league.
If there are 2 going down from each one
Melvin Gaels are relegated from both.

Am I correct that 2 are relegated from both leagues

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 31/07/2022 12:57:14    2435587

Replying To williesboy:  "Will Solan be welcome back if he doesn't get the Mayo job along with O Hara in Mohill?"
With open arms. We badly need him. Anyhow, hard to know what way it will go in Mayo... the politics is strong. I think McStay would be deserving of the job.... not so sure the Mayo County Board would see it that way.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 01/08/2022 11:37:11    2435703

Replying To Square_B:  "With open arms. We badly need him. Anyhow, hard to know what way it will go in Mayo... the politics is strong. I think McStay would be deserving of the job.... not so sure the Mayo County Board would see it that way."
Majority of the players aren't too keen for him to come back if he doesn't get his preferred job and rightly so

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 01/08/2022 13:34:18    2435726

Replying To williesboy:  "Majority of the players aren't too keen for him to come back if he doesn't get his preferred job and rightly so"
Let's be honest Solan is the brains of the operation... in all truth he should be managing the team. Anyhow, Leitrim was always going to be a 'stepping stone' job... perhaps he should have waited until next time round but he's entitled to take the opportunity when it comes. I don't think he'll get the job but we'd be worse off without him if he does.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 01/08/2022 15:57:03    2435768

Replying To williesboy:  "Majority of the players aren't too keen for him to come back if he doesn't get his preferred job and rightly so"
Can't argue with a man wanting to manger his own county and if his bid to land his dream job falls short it will be an advantage to leitrim tbh. Couldn't begrudge him that opportunity

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 01/08/2022 18:13:14    2435794

Replying To howdareu:  "Or donie Buckley maybe. He from kerry but he live in clare no. I think he would be the best coach around who is available and all that type of thing please. Thanks."
kentuckytucky are you one of these "supporters" that has just a big interest for the county scene and just a small passing interest for club football?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 04/08/2022 12:49:08    2436185

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "kentuckytucky are you one of these "supporters" that has just a big interest for the county scene and just a small passing interest for club football?"
Imaginary talks with Roscommon players seems to be his biggest interest.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 04/08/2022 13:11:44    2436188

Replying To The_analyser:  "Imaginary talks with Roscommon players seems to be his biggest interest."
You said over on roscommon thread that I had used enough of your time. Yet you logged in here with two of your accounts to try and belittle me yet again as you have tried to do on your own thread. Even your own posters have said they don't listen to you. So why would you think Leitrim posters would? Now please drop the act of superiority as I have said and just remember you are an anonymous poster/posters on a gaa forum. Thank you.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 04/08/2022 14:01:43    2436206

Replying To Square_B:  "Let's be honest Solan is the brains of the operation... in all truth he should be managing the team. Anyhow, Leitrim was always going to be a 'stepping stone' job... perhaps he should have waited until next time round but he's entitled to take the opportunity when it comes. I don't think he'll get the job but we'd be worse off without him if he does."
Oh i hope for our sake solan stays on as he is the main man there. From speaking to the lads they have more respect for him than moran.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 04/08/2022 14:05:07    2436207

Replying To howdareu:  "Oh i hope for our sake solan stays on as he is the main man there. From speaking to the lads they have more respect for him than moran."
I have heard differently Moran very hands on very much the main man and the players have the utmost respect for Moran.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 04/08/2022 14:15:15    2436208

Replying To Backheel:  "I have heard differently Moran very hands on very much the main man and the players have the utmost respect for Moran."
I suppose it depends which players you talk to. Moran is hands on definitely but its solan who has devised the training plans etc. He definitely has a major role in it. He's the man a lot of mayo people want which says a lot.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 04/08/2022 14:29:22    2436209

Replying To Square_B:  "With open arms. We badly need him. Anyhow, hard to know what way it will go in Mayo... the politics is strong. I think McStay would be deserving of the job.... not so sure the Mayo County Board would see it that way."
Why, do you think, that McStay is deserving of the Mayo job?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 04/08/2022 14:29:31    2436210

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Why, do you think, that McStay is deserving of the Mayo job?"
Because we won't have to listen to his commentary on TV! Now that's as good a reason as you will get for giving him some job.,Any job!

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 04/08/2022 14:58:22    2436215