If it doesn't happen now then I'm afraid it'll never happen. It's well and truly broken. I don't know what more it'll take for the top table to shout stop. No more than most Leitrim people I've spent the last 15 years trying to defend the indefensible. Losing to London, New York, the countless hammerings at all age grades. The list is endless. If there were even tentative signs of progress it'd be something to cling to but there are zero signs. This year has been a wake up call for even the most loyal of supporters. We've been taken for granted and advantage of for too long. Like a lot of failing entities/businesses the market will ultimately decide our fate. This will happen in two ways: 1. Our pool of potential inter county players will shrink even further. Playing numbers at club level will remain steady but playing inter county will become even less attractive. This is already happening and will become more pronounced in the next 3 or 4 years. Fellas will choose to play with their clubs only. Talk to a 12 or 13 year old right now and the county teams are a joke to them. 2. Funding will reduce to a trickle. Ironically the clubs will actually do well as supporters focus more on their clubs. Sponsors will view the Leitrim brand as damaging to their business. Outside of a very wealthy benefactor coming on board its going to be a barren spell for fundraising. This will obviously exacerbate our issues. We will be reaping what we've sown however. I hope I'm wrong of course but I'm confident that this is the way it's going to be. There's no evidence to suggest that I will be wrong. ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 234 - 17/05/2025 14:09:42 2610218 Link 1 |
Since no one seems to have mentioned it here yet, it's great to see the minors having beat Down today on penalties. Even if it's a B tournament those young lads have lots to be proud of after today. LeitrimAbu543 (Leitrim) - Posts: 6 - 17/05/2025 23:06:29 2610450 Link 2 |
U17 B All Ireland result Leitrim 1-16 Down 0-19 AET Leitrim won on penalties Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3623 - 18/05/2025 02:59:58 2610477 Link 0 |
It has to start from the bottom, clubs need to stop pointing the blame at everyone else and get their own houses in order. Time to cancel the cou ty board v us culture. Clubs should start with u6, u8 and u10 under the umbrella of proper academy structure and identifying the best coaches in their areas available. This is the way forward
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1065 - 18/05/2025 08:38:40 2610489 Link 1 |
Good luck today to the seniors against Sligo. We're 19/1 with Paddy Power, and the spread is 14 points. Let's hope for a great performance and something to give the Sligo boys to worry about towards the end. Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1186 - 18/05/2025 09:50:39 2610510 Link 0 |
Leitrim will easily cover that today
williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 493 - 18/05/2025 11:29:19 2610543 Link 0 |
Well they need to lose the second half by at least 17 points then...
Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1186 - 18/05/2025 14:17:37 2610579 Link 0 |
Like I said Letirim will cover that.
williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 493 - 18/05/2025 15:47:33 2610599 Link 0 |
Good, spirited performance from Leitrim today. Shame they couldn't hang on. Derby games can bring the best (and worst) out in teams. Some green shoots showing anyway. Far better than I thought they were. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2238 - 18/05/2025 16:51:56 2610639 Link 0 |
Losing at home to a very poor Sligo team. Disappointing result. We should have put them away boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 308 - 18/05/2025 16:52:22 2610641 Link 0 |
What way does that leave it now? Beat Tip and hope for results to go Leitrims way? williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 493 - 18/05/2025 17:26:55 2610656 Link 0 |
We should have won today. Sligo are a very limited outfit and we could have won it. They have definitely stalled, regressed even and one wonders if we had a full panel how much we could have won by please. Thanks. bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 105 - 18/05/2025 17:32:53 2610659 Link 0 |
Think we're done now as we'd need a very big win over Tipperary to have any chance. Lack of experience and lack of bench options cost us today, we were in control of the game. Wasn't expecting much to be honest but very disappointing how that game slipped away from us.
JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 284 - 18/05/2025 18:17:15 2610677 Link 0 |
Definitely left it after us. Had the chances to win and didn't take them, simple as. Shows there is some chinks of light, dunno where Sligo are going thinking they've a shot of winning the TC cos they won't based on today gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 634 - 18/05/2025 18:34:49 2610696 Link 0 |
A bad bad day for Connacht overall with only Sligo managing to win.
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 555 - 18/05/2025 20:00:46 2610734 Link 0 |
Going further than Leitrim anyway. Favourites tag never suits Sligo well but we have 4 points from 4. Two bad performances by Sligo but still winning isn't that what it's all about. Leitrim had a very spirited performance but tbh never looked like winning it. It was an 11 point turn around from 7 points up for Leitrim 4 points down. Leitrim managed the kickouts very very well and fair play to them but they fluffed their chances in front of goal and they made no use of the wind in the first half with 2 point efforts. Felt the ref was in Leitrims favour too but not a bearing impact on the game. Heads dropped when Sligo got ahead. Ye might beat Tipp with a similar performance …but with the score diff unless they beat Tipp by 10+ it's game over for Leitrim. Draw a line, get a new manager and rebuild.
Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 507 - 18/05/2025 20:53:54 2610756 Link 1 |
From looking through the tables it looks grim enough, not impossible but fairly grim. We have the worst points difference, followed by Longford and Antrim. I think we'd be relying on London to beat Antrim by a small amoint and ourselves to beat Tipp well (at least 10 points or more).
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1314 - 18/05/2025 21:23:01 2610768 Link 0 |
Football can be a strange game. I gauge other games based on the result of a derby game. It would not surprise me one bit to see Sligo get the better of Kildare the next day out.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2238 - 18/05/2025 21:30:09 2610774 Link 0 |
We were the better team today. Very unfortunate not to win. Sligo are only ok. If you compare that performance with our championship game against Sligo last year it's some improvement....it's night and day. We had 3 players starting from last year , Sligo had 12 or 13, we looked better coached and fitter than last year. It is hard to understand this team, but I have seen enough to have optimisim, we have some excellent young footballers who deserve huge credit to after what what a horrendous league. The Fermanagh game still leaves a very sour taste for me personally but I'd like to see what we would be like after another year or two under Poacher. 3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 415 - 18/05/2025 22:28:16 2610801 Link 1 |