Leitrim GAA thread

Best of luck to the lads today. All we can do is win and hope the other result goes our way. Can't take Tipperary for granted ,they had a bad day the last day but were close in all their games and had a great away win in longford something we couldn't do. Need to be at our best to win. Unfortunately it's not in our hands and for that we only have ourselves to blame. Going to be a rollercoaster of a day.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 24/03/2024 07:23:50    2532970

Excited about today, promotion would give us all a great lift but in particular to our young academies who will be inspired to work harder to wear the Leitrim jersey. Good luck Andy/Mickey and the lads.

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 120 - 24/03/2024 09:36:37    2532981

Good to see club games back up and running again. Weather was awful but most game got played. Kiltubrid v carrigallen feel victim and Melvin Geals v Ballinaglera had a half time score but no full time score so I assume the pitch didn't hold up. Can't read anything into results because it is more or less organised challenge games.

Leitirm should get the victory today and let's hope Longford don't win. Would be mighty to get promoted pity it's out of their Control but I suppose all you can do is win and hope the gods are looking down on us

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 24/03/2024 09:47:01    2532985

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Excellent post sums up the game to a tee but a missed penalty and concession of a soft goal at this level was a killer. Agree we won't meet a team as strong as Galway in the Competition so it's still all to play for.Well done to all and especially the back room team who can only build on what was an impressive performance the result which did not reflect the pattern of the game."
Good accurate account of the game. Leitrim were impressive and I would contend even closer to that result. I really hope ye get promoted today. That win in Portlaoise stood out and shows if ye can get consistency will cause problems for higher division teams later in the year. Tell me what happened to that Leitrim player (i think he was full forward in the 2015 u21 Connacht final against Ros). Saw him subsequently playing colleges football for I think UL. Very accurate left foot. Is he playing inter county currently?

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 24/03/2024 10:02:58    2532989

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Best of luck to the lads today. All we can do is win and hope the other result goes our way. Can't take Tipperary for granted ,they had a bad day the last day but were close in all their games and had a great away win in longford something we couldn't do. Need to be at our best to win. Unfortunately it's not in our hands and for that we only have ourselves to blame. Going to be a rollercoaster of a day."
That's all we can do... do our bit and not worry about the rest. Hopefully by 3pm we'll be on our way to Croke Park. Leitrim Abú!

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 24/03/2024 10:30:20    2532997

Going to be good fun trying to keep on top of the Leitrim and Wexford men and the Leitrim Ladies all at the same time. Come on Leitrim! (and Wexford)

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 24/03/2024 13:09:07    2533030

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Going to be good fun trying to keep on top of the Leitrim and Wexford men and the Leitrim Ladies all at the same time. Come on Leitrim! (and Wexford)"
The streaming on Ocean FM is atrocious.... looks like it's in our hands now with Longford needing a miracle & the Laois game over at this early stage. We really need to capitalise on the breeze next half.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 24/03/2024 13:39:50    2533040

Congrats to Leitrim. You deserved it

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 24/03/2024 14:33:16    2533047

It took a Cavan man to get you up to Division 3 again haha.

Congrats.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 24/03/2024 14:36:34    2533050

Congrats on your promotion. There will be a lot of Leitrim posters eating humble pie now. Hope they have the b...s to admit it now

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1657 - 24/03/2024 15:00:26    2533060

Well done to our neighbours Leitrim. Great to see both our teams in division 3 next year and a few more local derbys coming up.

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 24/03/2024 15:02:02    2533061

Fair play lads from a Derry man

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:12:58    2533076

Congratulations Leitrim on your deserved promotion, delighted for you. Well done

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 24/03/2024 15:19:50    2533082

Well done guys.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 24/03/2024 15:48:57    2533109

Replying To eoinog:  "Congrats on your promotion. There will be a lot of Leitrim posters eating humble pie now. Hope they have the b...s to admit it now"
Yes and I'm delighted to eat humble pie. Fantastic effort to secure promotion after the Carlow and Longford results. Huge congratulations to the lads and the management team. Its a huge boost for football in the county. It really is. Leitrim abú.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 24/03/2024 15:50:47    2533111

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Quite a while since Leitrim won two games in a row never mind two titles. Always like to have a look on the neighbouring counties in advance of games to see what the chatter is but sure look as well to pull out Mayo, Ros and Sligo from it because Leitrim will beat all of them."
Sligo Neddy, bog off

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 24/03/2024 15:51:41    2533113

Coach Moran is a genius. A new 2 year deal needs to be inked immediately to hold onto him

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 24/03/2024 15:55:07    2533118

Congrats best of Luck in the final.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 24/03/2024 16:02:17    2533126

Well done neighbours on yer deserved promotion. And to do it without yer best forward a great achievement.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 16:08:08    2533131

Absolutely fantastic stuff. Gutted for the Ladies, who had snatched victory from the jaws of defeat with a late, late injury time, only for Limerick to score an even later one. But brilliant stuff from Leitrim, well done, and looking forward to comparing ourselves to Fermanagh, Kildare, Clare, Sligo, Antrim, Offaly and Laois next year. And with some of those teams familiar with us in Division 4 (and we with them), I'm confident of at least staying up!

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 24/03/2024 16:08:44    2533133