Roscommon GAA thread

Hard luck St.Bridgids, looked like it was yours near the end, Conor Glass is some player to have, that was a Mayo style finish.
I think after last year it was great to see Glen win, was a long way back to have another chance.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2897 - 21/01/2024 22:02:15    2521424

Replying To endgame:  "Without that goal. Ben O'Carroll has bulked up and was excellent. Ruairi Fallon very impressive too. Conor Glass outstanding for Glen. From a Roscommon point of view, don't think either of Brigid's midfielders is top inter county standard. Brigid's will regret not closing that out because they'll face a lot of competition to get out of Roscommon this year, never mind get back to an All Ireland Final. Overall Glen may feel they deserved it. They had a lot of wides. Brigid's incredibly didn't kick a wide until the end when Shane Cunnane missed the chance to equalise. All roads now lead to Omagh."
When you concede two goals easily preventable goals at that it pretty much cancels out wides. Brigids had others opportunities such as Ben O'Carroll hitting the post and a goal chance saved.

I think Glass would have struggled if the kick out delivery's was as wayward as Brigids.

Both the Glen manager O'Rourke and Glass afterwards said Brigids played the best football. In fine margin matches you need the rub of green and Roscommon teams at county and club don't seem to get that in those matches in recent years.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 21/01/2024 23:19:47    2521429

Replying To togoutlads:  "Hard luck to St Brigids. They were getting well shouted on in this Galway household, that's for sure. Was hoping to see a double for the West and it looked on but for some poor closing out in the last 5-10 mins, and an outrageous final few mins from Conor Glass. Brigids played some great football for long spells and they should be back with the young age profile there. The club scene sees a fair bit of 'having to lose one to win one' play out, with Glen, Kilmacud Crokes, Kilcoo all doing it that way in recent years. Brigids could well be back again."
Hard luck Brigids, did the county proud. Good enough to win one in the next few years if team stay together. There's 1 or 2 other clubs in Roscommon that may take a lot of belief from Brigids journey

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 22/01/2024 06:48:38    2521447

Have to say I'm sick for Brigid's - By a mile the better team on the day. I don't really begrudge Glen to be honest, It was a pleasure to watch the masterful Conor Glass, what an absolute leader and warrior. Two good young teams, I hope Brigid's come back strongly.

Plus side - Ben O'Carroll is playing incredible stuff; Glen had 3 men around him at times and he still somehow got the ball and kept it. Glass singled him out in his interview after the game and Warnock did too.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 22/01/2024 09:06:47    2521455

Proud Brigids man. Game of fine margins and to be the better team for a lot of the game and lose so narrowly was heartbreaking. Hopefully they use it as fuel to come back stronger next year for the experience. An exciting, free flowing game of football. Well done Glen

BrigidsToom (Roscommon) - Posts: 15 - 22/01/2024 10:24:52    2521471

Just watched highlights. What a game and wouldn't see a better game this year. As another posters have mentioned experience cost brigids. Brigids have to be extremely proud of their achievements this year. They are a young team and if they stick at it, they are team that will win an all Ireland. Some of their passing and scoring was a joy to watch.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 102 - 22/01/2024 12:00:33    2521496

Very hard luck to Brigid's yesterday. I have already posted my views on the club final attendance thread.

The excellence performance yesterday by Ben 0' Carroll, Brian Stack, Ruaidhri Fallon, Pearse Frost, Robbie Dolan and several others got me thinking. Would it be in their own personal emotional/mental best interest to play with the Rossies as soon as possible when they are flying fit, and focus on the bigger picture with both Roscommon & Brigid's? It is obviously critically important to acknowledge their acute disappointment yesterday, validate their hurt, but also realize that they played extremely well. While recognizing that they have had a very long year, Colin Walsh and Darragh Cregg and some others have actually played more football recently with various Sigerson mid-week games. I believe that it will require a mental/emotional adjustment rather than a physical one and hopefully someone with experience in this field (sports psychology) is helping them. They certainly won't get it sitting alone, thinking about every aspect of the lost final or on a bar stool. Maybe the best thing they could do to deal with their disappointment is get back on the horse as soon as possible?

For the development of these young Brigid's players and also the new young players in the Roscommon panel, I think that it is important that Roscommon stay in division 1 this year. You then have to ask yourself how can this be best achieved without having a major adverse impact on this years championship?

When you look at the seven league games in sequence, 1. Tyrone away, 2. Galway home, 3. Dublin away, 4. Monaghan home, 5. Mayo away, 6. Kerry home, and 7. Derry away, I believe that it is critically important that we get as many points as possible in the first 4 league games as playing Mayo, Kerry and Derry teams who are nearing championship fitness levels will be very difficult. If the Brigid's players are mentally and emotionally up for it (difficult I know) I would suggest that Davy should consider playing them in the first few games, try to get some points on the board when they are flying fit, and then give them a break after a few games. (Their fitness levels is a major asset at the moment that should not be lost!)

The second reason for my thinking is that there is a four week gap between our last league game (away to Derry on 24th March) and the Connacht semi final against Mayo/New York on 21st April. The strength and conditioning guys know much more about preparing players for league and championship that I do, so I will accept how Davy and the management team deal with team preparation and selection. I am just throwing out an idea or two (which may be stupid) for consideration. It all depends on the welfare of the Brigid's players, which obviously includes emotional and mental strategies to deal with significant disappointment in their young lives.

"Lads ye all did fantastic yesterday". You did your club and Roscommon proud. Don't be too hard on yourselves and I am confident that there will be many good days ahead if you stick with it.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 591 - 22/01/2024 16:13:31    2521576

Given the injuries and Enda Smith suspended we could probably do with Brigids players to return sooner than expected but can totally understand should they take a break until round 3 after yesterday's mental and physical draining match.

3 matches in three weeks on hard dome surface has resulted in a few injuries to Conor Hussey, Cathal Heneghan and Ronan Daly the latter is out for a few weeks and the other two are doubtful for Sunday. Tadgh 0'Rourke back in training but Omagh will likely come too soon for him.

Of the FBD final starting team I would expect 5 or 6 changes. A few inexperienced players will be starting and hopefully they hold their own in a match that will be a big test.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 22/01/2024 16:48:21    2521584

I thought Brigids were unlucky and lacking a bit of experience that Glen had gained over last few years and that's what got them over the line. Before the match I was surprised how people thought Brigids had no chance given they had beaten Corofin and if Corofin were in final they would have been probably favourites. Roscommon football needs to push on this year and reach a QF the talent is there and your forward shooting accuracy is impressive.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 22/01/2024 17:25:33    2521590

Replying To BrigidsToom:  "Proud Brigids man. Game of fine margins and to be the better team for a lot of the game and lose so narrowly was heartbreaking. Hopefully they use it as fuel to come back stronger next year for the experience. An exciting, free flowing game of football. Well done Glen"
I have said Ben O'Carroll is a savage footballer for years but he's even better than I thought. Frost is a seriously good corner back and Fallon is outstanding. What age is frost?? I wouldn't be one bit surprised if stack makes himself available for Tyrone Game. He just seems to be a top class professional that want to play football.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1121 - 22/01/2024 17:41:53    2521594

Replying To dave1988:  "I have said Ben O'Carroll is a savage footballer for years but he's even better than I thought. Frost is a seriously good corner back and Fallon is outstanding. What age is frost?? I wouldn't be one bit surprised if stack makes himself available for Tyrone Game. He just seems to be a top class professional that want to play football."
Pearse is 23/24 and Ruaidhri Fallon is 21, same as Ben O'C. Brian being captain it would not surprise me if he played against tyrone.

BrigidsToom (Roscommon) - Posts: 15 - 22/01/2024 18:09:15    2521601

Pearse Frost turned 23 in October wasn't his first All-Ireland final in Croke Park. He was a starter alongside fellow Brigids players Ciaran Surgue, Shane Cunnane on the Roscommon U17 team in 2017. Paul McGrath brought on as a sub that day.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 22/01/2024 18:51:58    2521609

Wanpintwin and endgame the free kicked wide at the end by Shane Cunnane wasn't Brigids first and only wide. Ronan Stack kicked one from play before half time.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 175 - 22/01/2024 19:40:49    2521623

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Wanpintwin and endgame the free kicked wide at the end by Shane Cunnane wasn't Brigids first and only wide. Ronan Stack kicked one from play before half time."
Okay Drax. Second wide. Thanks for that.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2265 - 23/01/2024 17:06:12    2521760

Good to see Colin Walsh going well in midfield tonight for Maynooth University in their 5 points win over UCC (last years winners) in the Sigerson Cup. Played more like a link player up and down the pitch and played the full game. Maynooth won the game in the first 10 minutes when they went 7 points up playing against a very strong wind (1-5 to 0-1). Some very impressive players playing on a well coached Maynooth team. No wonder Colm O' Rourke and Glen Ryan were at the match keeping an eye on some Meath & Kildare players.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 591 - 23/01/2024 21:09:09    2521798

Big start to our Division 1 campaign with a tricky trip to Omagh - although Tyrone looked slightly poor in the McKenna Cup, Roscommon will have to be well organised to come out with 2 points. I think our midfield looks a bit susceptible but hopefully they can be involved in build up play. Personally would have Diarmuid Murtagh inside and maybe Lennon or Donie at 11 - going by the FBD he sees Diarmuid in that 11 role going forward. Our back line will be impressive if Fallon, Pearse Frost and McGrath can make an impression on the manager. Enda Smith is a big loss but we have enough firepower up front to cause Tyrone real trouble.

My team for the game would be as follows:

1. Conor Carroll
2. David Murray
3. Brian Stack (assuming he went straight in, knowing his character and being captain I think he did)
4. Evan Flynn
5. Niall Higgins
6. Niall Daly
7.Eoin McCormack
8. Keith Doyle
9. Dylan Ruane
10. Cian Connolly
11. Diarmuid Murtagh
12. Ciarain Lennon
13. Daire Cregg
14. Donie Smith
15. Conor Cox

Good options on the bench then including Ben O'Carroll/Shane Cunnane and a few more of the Brigits lads (hopefully), McDermott or Heneghan, Andy Glennon, Jack Duggan, Caelam Keogh, Colin Walsh (would liek to have seen more of him in the FBD).

Lets hope the lads can get a good start and set the standard for the year ahead!

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 39 - 24/01/2024 11:57:34    2521874

Replying To Rossfan93:  "Big start to our Division 1 campaign with a tricky trip to Omagh - although Tyrone looked slightly poor in the McKenna Cup, Roscommon will have to be well organised to come out with 2 points. I think our midfield looks a bit susceptible but hopefully they can be involved in build up play. Personally would have Diarmuid Murtagh inside and maybe Lennon or Donie at 11 - going by the FBD he sees Diarmuid in that 11 role going forward. Our back line will be impressive if Fallon, Pearse Frost and McGrath can make an impression on the manager. Enda Smith is a big loss but we have enough firepower up front to cause Tyrone real trouble.

1. Conor Carroll
2. David Murray
3. Brian Stack (assuming he went straight in, knowing his character and being captain I think he did)
4. Evan Flynn
5. Niall Higgins
6. Niall Daly
7.Eoin McCormack
8. Keith Doyle
9. Dylan Ruane
10. Cian Connolly
11. Diarmuid Murtagh
12. Ciarain Lennon
13. Daire Cregg
14. Donie Smith
15. Conor Cox

Good options on the bench then including Ben O'Carroll/Shane Cunnane and a few more of the Brigits lads (hopefully), McDermott or Heneghan, Andy Glennon, Jack Duggan, Caelam Keogh, Colin Walsh (would liek to have seen more of him in the FBD).

Lets hope the lads can get a good start and set the standard for the year ahead!"
Yeah I'd say the team will not be too far off that. I was very impressed with Patrick Gavin and Declan Kenny. I'd be surprised if both those didn't feature at some point. Be interesting also to see will Jack Duggan make the bench for Sunday. Anyway looking forward to heading to Omagh and fingers crossed we can pull off the win. Ros Comáin abú

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 120 - 24/01/2024 12:38:19    2521888

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Wanpintwin and endgame the free kicked wide at the end by Shane Cunnane wasn't Brigids first and only wide. Ronan Stack kicked one from play before half time."
Cheers. I had forgotten about that. Remarkable efficiency all the same, even while including the chances dropped short and the saved goal chances.
They were a joy to watch at times on Sunday.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 24/01/2024 13:10:49    2521893

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Cheers. I had forgotten about that. Remarkable efficiency all the same, even while including the chances dropped short and the saved goal chances.
They were a joy to watch at times on Sunday."
Ciaran Heneghan ruled out for the next 3 weeks with a groin injury a big loss as he was flying it in the Dome,
Best of luck to The Rossies in the weeks ahead

Stonemadrossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 41 - 24/01/2024 19:35:05    2521945

Replying To Rossfan93:  "Big start to our Division 1 campaign with a tricky trip to Omagh - although Tyrone looked slightly poor in the McKenna Cup, Roscommon will have to be well organised to come out with 2 points. I think our midfield looks a bit susceptible but hopefully they can be involved in build up play. Personally would have Diarmuid Murtagh inside and maybe Lennon or Donie at 11 - going by the FBD he sees Diarmuid in that 11 role going forward. Our back line will be impressive if Fallon, Pearse Frost and McGrath can make an impression on the manager. Enda Smith is a big loss but we have enough firepower up front to cause Tyrone real trouble.

1. Conor Carroll
2. David Murray
4. Evan Flynn
5. Niall Higgins
6. Niall Daly
7.Eoin McCormack
8. Keith Doyle
9. Dylan Ruane
10. Cian Connolly
11. Diarmuid Murtagh
12. Ciarain Lennon
13. Daire Cregg
14. Donie Smith
15. Conor Cox

Lets hope the lads can get a good start and set the standard for the year ahead!"
If we have any intentions of staying in d1, we need to get a result there. Would like to see brigids lads back but understandable if not. I think Mc Cormack would be a good alternative for f.b. Also think cregg will play around 45. Also think it's a close call between Connolly or mc dermot for corner forward. Also it wouldn't be a bad call for someone to zone Morgan to prevent him getting the freedom to start of attacks at will.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 102 - 25/01/2024 09:43:40    2521993