Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To S1234:  "It wasn't a shock. As. Mcstay said himself fair play to London but we got a good run out and wanted to see 11 guys make their debut and see how they go in a game like that. They are hardly used to playing with each other unlike London who know each other well and play together all the time.

Not a shock and in a few months time mayo will probably just laugh about it."
I think the rest of Ireland, London and New York will be laughing at Mayo in a few months!!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 09/01/2024 15:02:19    2519263

Replying To S1234:  "Disagree all you like it's just facts it was hardly a shock we played 11 guys who made their debuts and who barely played together as a team and yet still only lost by a point but fair play to London but it was definetly not a shock for mayo and we won't be worried about an FBD match in January."
It'll still likely dampen the Mayo for Sam talk for now. May even lead to a few whispers of…..London for sam.!

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2264 - 09/01/2024 16:01:37    2519283

Will be interesting to see what sort of starting 15 we go with this Saturday. A lot of players that played last Friday are in action today and tomorrow for their colleges.

Keith Doyle, Ciarán Lennon are two that may return after their illness. Andy Glennon is back in training and different type of forward option moving forward.

Wasn't expecting to be playing London until April 2025 but pre-season tends to spring the odd surprise here and there. What we know is they'll come with a blanket defence and look to counter at speed, scored a good few frees on Sunday so our defence will have to get the timing of their tackling right

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 09/01/2024 16:15:25    2519285

Replying To WanPintWin:  "A great result for Brigid's. They started brilliantly and played some lovely football. Most importantly, they took those early chances.
Castlehaven started to get a grip around the middle late in 1st half and that continued for a lot of the 2nd half. The two efforts off the crossbar, especially the 2nd chance could have changed the result. However, I thought Brigid's were fully deserving winners.
I'm not sure about your assessment of Glen though. They're well able to go toe-to-toe in an open game of football and have played some brilliant stuff in a lot of their big games. The Ulster final against Scotstown was a brilliant open and direct game, with more kick passing than I've seen in a long time. Some of the scores kicked were exceptional. They also showed some very nice stuff in their All-Ireland semi and final last year. They have some very classy footballers, including McFaul at centre-back who orchestrates a lot of that they do."
It's true that Glen can mix it up as necessary, as they demonstrated in Ulster, but I don't think it's the kind of final they'd want where an open and direct game might play into St Brigid's hands, especially with Brigid's very fast and effective counterattacks. Hope it's the final we get though, as it'd be great to watch, and hope they bring the cup across the Shannon.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 936 - 09/01/2024 16:54:23    2519295

Replying To The_analyser:  "Will be interesting to see what sort of starting 15 we go with this Saturday. A lot of players that played last Friday are in action today and tomorrow for their colleges.

Keith Doyle, Ciarán Lennon are two that may return after their illness. Andy Glennon is back in training and different type of forward option moving forward.

Wasn't expecting to be playing London until April 2025 but pre-season tends to spring the odd surprise here and there. What we know is they'll come with a blanket defence and look to counter at speed, scored a good few frees on Sunday so our defence will have to get the timing of their tackling right"
Any Sigerson participants unlikely to spend too long ,if at all, on the surface.
I'd expect the older lads who need exercise will get plenty of game time.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 09/01/2024 18:49:58    2519316

Replying To Oddball:  "I think the rest of Ireland, London and New York will be laughing at Mayo in a few months!!!"
Sure sure same old like we laughed at the rossies last year after they thought won the all ireland after beating us in championship.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 91 - 09/01/2024 23:39:43    2519356

Replying To S1234:  "Sure sure same old like we laughed at the rossies last year after they thought won the all ireland after beating us in championship."
Ah come on now.....how is that even on the same level?
Ye lost to LONDON lol

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 10/01/2024 10:18:01    2519375

Replying To Oddball:  "Ah come on now.....how is that even on the same level?
Ye lost to LONDON lol"
I wouldn't rub it in too much lads, we could get a nasty retaliation later in the year from the Mayo folk when the games actually matter.

I can't imagine many will be talking about London beating Mayo when the actual league starts.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 10/01/2024 10:54:20    2519380

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "I wouldn't rub it in too much lads, we could get a nasty retaliation later in the year from the Mayo folk when the games actually matter.

I can't imagine many will be talking about London beating Mayo when the actual league starts."
Exactly. Childish nonsense. It's the fbd league. If Sligo had beaten us I wouldn't have cared to much. The real action starts in a couple of weeks and mayo will look a lot different.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1121 - 10/01/2024 20:58:10    2519487

Seven that started against Sligo are named to start again tomorrow against London

Conor Carroll
Senan Lambe Luke Glennon Niall Higgins
David Murray Conor Hussey Eoin McCormack
Enda Smith Dylan Ruane
Cian Connolly Diarmuid Murtagh Daire Cregg
Conor Cox Ciaran Lennon Jack Duggan

Subs Colm Lavin, Niall Daly,Colin Walsh,Evan Flynn,Caelim Keogh, Patrick Gavin,Declan Kenny,Keith Doyle,Adam McDermott,Ronan Daly,Andrew Glennon.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 12/01/2024 19:25:42    2519900

Replying To The_analyser:  "Seven that started against Sligo are named to start again tomorrow against London

Conor Carroll
Senan Lambe Luke Glennon Niall Higgins
David Murray Conor Hussey Eoin McCormack
Enda Smith Dylan Ruane
Cian Connolly Diarmuid Murtagh Daire Cregg
Conor Cox Ciaran Lennon Jack Duggan

Subs Colm Lavin, Niall Daly,Colin Walsh,Evan Flynn,Caelim Keogh, Patrick Gavin,Declan Kenny,Keith Doyle,Adam McDermott,Ronan Daly,Andrew Glennon."
Yer going all out to win the FBD ...

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 13/01/2024 17:19:41    2520025

0-21 to 1-9 not a game that will live long in the memory but a run out nonetheless for 23 players and our top scorers Cox and Murtagh with 0-6 each. Best period was from the 10th to 30th minute when we led 0-12 to 0-4 and nodded off for a few mins to let they back into the game for us to be leading by only 4 points at half a not a true reflection of the balance of play.

2nd half was both playing through the motions. London almost got a 2nd goal via a penalty and debatable call it was. We outscored london 0-5 to 0-2 after that save Andy Glennon probably the stand out of the subs introduced.

Nice to have a pre-season final for next weekend but the main focus is the Tyrone game in two weeks and not picking up any injuries before then.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 13/01/2024 21:28:37    2520066

Handy night at the office some nice scores, but a bit disappointed we didn't create any goal chances and London got a easy goal and had a penalty A few lads definitely stood up and will be in contention against Tyrone. It also needs to be called out about one player who has been on the panel for a few years now who is not contributing enough to the team and is being continually selected. If we want maintain div1 status have a good run in the championship we can't afford to have passengers.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 102 - 14/01/2024 11:34:12    2520097

Replying To hontherossie:  "Handy night at the office some nice scores, but a bit disappointed we didn't create any goal chances and London got a easy goal and had a penalty A few lads definitely stood up and will be in contention against Tyrone. It also needs to be called out about one player who has been on the panel for a few years now who is not contributing enough to the team and is being continually selected. If we want maintain div1 status have a good run in the championship we can't afford to have passengers."
In the first half alone Roscommon created two goal chances. Jack Duggan wide and Enda Smith saved.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 175 - 14/01/2024 14:16:27    2520114

Nothing much to add to what has already been said. Kicked 21 points against a mass defence which is good. I thought London played well for first 20 minutes, the goal kept them in it at HT. As soon as Ros had a kickout, every London player immediately retreated inside their own 45, had no interest in contesting but which I found surprising as they done well on their own kickouts around the middle. That would be my biggest concern, we are still struggling to gain a foothold on a long kickout. Doyle done well when he came in, he has a great pair of hands. Onto Friday and hopefully Galway bring a stronger team than they had against Leitrim. I'd like to see us get a good competitive game before Omagh.

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 204 - 14/01/2024 16:08:37    2520144

What do ye make of starting very strong teams for this competition? I don't think the likes of Diarmuid and Enda need to be playing these games certainly not starting them, I don't think Galway fielded any of their 2023 team in their semi final, I'd rather we did something similar.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 15/01/2024 09:11:38    2520225

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "What do ye make of starting very strong teams for this competition? I don't think the likes of Diarmuid and Enda need to be playing these games certainly not starting them, I don't think Galway fielded any of their 2023 team in their semi final, I'd rather we did something similar."
Too close to real competition to have that many fringe players around the panel imo. With the squad Galway put out they must have 40/50 on the panel thats way to much with league starting to soon. I would much rather what we are doing tbh

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1174 - 15/01/2024 09:25:03    2520229

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "What do ye make of starting very strong teams for this competition? I don't think the likes of Diarmuid and Enda need to be playing these games certainly not starting them, I don't think Galway fielded any of their 2023 team in their semi final, I'd rather we did something similar."
Did Davy not say some of the older lads were later back training than others?
Maybe Diarmuid and Enda needed more exercise than others.
Also only 27 or 28 members of the panel available for the FBD exercises.
Also younger lads in Sigerson action midweek.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 15/01/2024 10:27:55    2520244

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Did Davy not say some of the older lads were later back training than others?
Maybe Diarmuid and Enda needed more exercise than others.
Also only 27 or 28 members of the panel available for the FBD exercises.
Also younger lads in Sigerson action midweek."
Good points - I just worry about running out of steam like we did last year!

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 15/01/2024 10:55:59    2520248

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Too close to real competition to have that many fringe players around the panel imo. With the squad Galway put out they must have 40/50 on the panel thats way to much with league starting to soon. I would much rather what we are doing tbh"
Galway have a panel of 35 roughly focusing on NFL, while a development panel of 30 put forward to play the FBD competition. This is basically a 3/4 string Galway side for the FBD League.

INTOTHEWEST1 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 15/01/2024 11:02:48    2520251