Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To dave1988:  "Will we have 2 thousand Roscommon people travelling or less?? Will cork bring 4/5 thousand. Very hard to know"
The Roscommon public have really come out to support the team this year and I have no doubt that many will travel again this weekend. After beating Mayo, if a county the size and population of Cork can't get 7,000 of their own supporters to the game in Pairc Ui Chaoimh, they can throw their hat at it.
Should be a good bit of craic. You only live once and what better way to spend your money than supporting your own county and some players from your local team. I am also a committed member of the SNNI club so I am definitely going!!!
(Spend the Nieces and Nephews Inheritance Club). If would be a pity if there is a relatively small crowd in a such large stadium. I think it might be a good game as something tells me both teams might just go for it, as it is winner takes all. Roscommon and Cork supporters tend to get along as we don't play each other that often. It should be a good day out, especially if we win.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 730 - 20/06/2023 15:45:00    2487872

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "He would be one of the best footballers in the country if it wasnt for injuries joy to watch. Fully deserved your win. Prob worked out for the best for us some tricky fixtures if we had finished second.

The amount of wides we kicked is worrying. Glad to here Davie Burke is not doing any major trainings this week the work has been done over the winter the lads need to get the bodies and heads right this week. donie smith needs to start from the bench in my opinion"
He would indeed, hopefully he can stay injury free and get a decent run in the championship to showcase his skills. Having him fit will also be a boon to Athy.

Thanks, best of luck to the Rossies next weekend

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 120 - 20/06/2023 17:35:21    2487913

Replying To eoinog:  "No need to water the Hyde now"
Good Sligo side. Best of luck with them

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1794 - 20/06/2023 21:58:09    2487974

Any word on Keith Doyle?

I'd like to see Cox given a chance to start, maybe bring back in Hussey as well? Hopefully no major knocks in the panel. The schedule seems to be taking its toll on Galway.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 21/06/2023 13:50:46    2488151

Had a quick check on another thread to see who people fancy to win the Cork v Roscommon game. Most people think it is going to be a 50 - 50 game. A couple of minutes ago ; 15 tipped Cork, 11 tipped Roscommon and the bold Lockjaw himself has gone for a draw. The bookies have both teams nearly at even money with the Rossies expected to win by a point.
I hope we bring great support once more down to the Lee and as DHyde said in a previous post, get in early and show the lads that we have have travelled and are behind them. If we have rested well this week and have our heads right, I think we will do it by 3 or 4 points after a cracking game.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 730 - 22/06/2023 11:01:30    2488358

what excuse is saved in the bank this week in case you lose? never seen a county like it, every city has a few of your fans (men in there 50s sometimes wearing jerseys and just dying for a chat about football with whatever soft case they can corner in a bar) and there is ALWAYS an excuse, yet to hear a we were just beaten fair and square because we are a mediocre team

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 22/06/2023 11:36:40    2488365

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "what excuse is saved in the bank this week in case you lose? never seen a county like it, every city has a few of your fans (men in there 50s sometimes wearing jerseys and just dying for a chat about football with whatever soft case they can corner in a bar) and there is ALWAYS an excuse, yet to hear a we were just beaten fair and square because we are a mediocre team"
Mediocre like yourselves? Derry the most overhyped team since people tipped Donegal to win the AI about 4 or 5 years ago.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 22/06/2023 11:52:14    2488367

I hope we use the same formula that worked well against Dublin.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 22/06/2023 11:52:19    2488368

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "what excuse is saved in the bank this week in case you lose? never seen a county like it, every city has a few of your fans (men in there 50s sometimes wearing jerseys and just dying for a chat about football with whatever soft case they can corner in a bar) and there is ALWAYS an excuse, yet to hear a we were just beaten fair and square because we are a mediocre team"
What's this rant all about?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2297 - 22/06/2023 11:56:53    2488369

Your insightful commentary is a joy to behold. Keeping the sterling contributions.

SouthsideRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 89 - 22/06/2023 12:14:56    2488374

DCFCGAA the latest wum account on here how wonderful.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4043 - 22/06/2023 12:20:09    2488378

Harmless Derry want-to-be fiction writers aside, Saturday's match is our biggest of the year, but either way I wouldn't say it'll taint our season if we were to lose. We've taken no hammerings this year, apart from Galway in Connacht, I think every other game was a one score difference, and we've bet or drawn with every Division one team in the county apart from Kerry and Monaghan? Even on days when we did not fully show up.

It might be a game to try some new ideas and bodies. Our defence has been solid all year so I wouldn't mess with that bar the Colin Walsh / Conor Hussey thing which is a lovely problem to have. Unless we try introduce more aerial ball winners back there to rule out last week's offensive mark tactic. But up front we have fallen flat. Took a long time to get going in the Sligo game. Last week we had more wides than other match this year I imagine. Who are the reserve forwards with potential? I've always loved watching Paul Carey for Pearses. Conor Cox should get a good run the next day, if not a start before Donie. Diarmuid Murtagh was flat last week and rightly so after the years he's given. Does he need to rest for the first half this week and come with half an hour to go? Daire Cregg could well be back up to speed by now. Keith Doyle gone for a while?

What I know of Cork is that they are in savage physical shape at the minute so we need to have the freshest team possible on the pitch form minute one. Roscomáin Abú.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 22/06/2023 12:42:15    2488386

I genuinely wish you luck against Cork. Some of you had lost the run of yourselves, strayed over to our side with daft posts and then ye started picking how many All Stars you had. Ye were duly dispatched. This week I noticed a much more low key approach and the hype has been put to bed. Most Rossie supporters are sound and I love a bit of banter. I hope you win, it will be great to have 2 Connacht counties in the last 8. Plus Paddy Joe is probably the best character in the GAA at the moment. John 3.7 wasn't really replaced until he came along.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2100 - 22/06/2023 12:43:09    2488387

Ignore this bot, obviously has angry issues he needs to get off his chest on a gaa forum

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 125 - 22/06/2023 12:50:20    2488393

Replying To The_analyser:  "DCFCGAA the latest wum account on here how wonderful."
Probably a young (ageist & angry) Derry City soccer supporter who has just jumped on the Gaa bandwagon when Derry are going well. I presume that is where the DCFC comes from. Does not represent the vast amount of genuine Derry supportets. Best ignored as he obviously has his own problems.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 730 - 22/06/2023 13:16:56    2488401

Replying To eoinog:  "I genuinely wish you luck against Cork. Some of you had lost the run of yourselves, strayed over to our side with daft posts and then ye started picking how many All Stars you had. Ye were duly dispatched. This week I noticed a much more low key approach and the hype has been put to bed. Most Rossie supporters are sound and I love a bit of banter. I hope you win, it will be great to have 2 Connacht counties in the last 8. Plus Paddy Joe is probably the best character in the GAA at the moment. John 3.7 wasn't really replaced until he came along."
Much appreciated. Hopefully they can pick themselves up after last week and give it everything to get into the last 8. Sligo gave a very good account of themselves in the championship after a successful league. Ye were the only Div 4 side in the round robin, did better than both Div 2 sides Louth and Clare, and the same amount of success as Westmeath, granted Westmeath were very unlucky not to have fared even better. Sligo just need to start getting some of those underage players through now.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 22/06/2023 13:18:54    2488402

Needless to say hoping for a win Saturday and extend the Season and its achievement for another week/round.
Despite our good D1 campaign, 50/50 Connacht campaign and drawing with Dublin, if we lose Saturday in the public mind it's another failure to make the Qtr Finals at the hands of a mid D2 team, just like 2022.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2297 - 22/06/2023 13:50:34    2488417

Replying To SpanishRossie:  "Harmless Derry want-to-be fiction writers aside, Saturday's match is our biggest of the year, but either way I wouldn't say it'll taint our season if we were to lose. We've taken no hammerings this year, apart from Galway in Connacht, I think every other game was a one score difference, and we've bet or drawn with every Division one team in the county apart from Kerry and Monaghan? Even on days when we did not fully show up.

It might be a game to try some new ideas and bodies. Our defence has been solid all year so I wouldn't mess with that bar the Colin Walsh / Conor Hussey thing which is a lovely problem to have. Unless we try introduce more aerial ball winners back there to rule out last week's offensive mark tactic. But up front we have fallen flat. Took a long time to get going in the Sligo game. Last week we had more wides than other match this year I imagine. Who are the reserve forwards with potential? I've always loved watching Paul Carey for Pearses. Conor Cox should get a good run the next day, if not a start before Donie. Diarmuid Murtagh was flat last week and rightly so after the years he's given. Does he need to rest for the first half this week and come with half an hour to go? Daire Cregg could well be back up to speed by now. Keith Doyle gone for a while?

What I know of Cork is that they are in savage physical shape at the minute so we need to have the freshest team possible on the pitch form minute one. Roscomáin Abú."
Kildare used the mark very cleverly to get around the blanket defence. Hopefully that is tightened up on. We need a good start on Saturday. Pointing out the obvious here but the games we have fallen behind early on in we have lost (Galway and Kildare) and we have had our best results when we've taken a good early lead. We made a habit of coming from behind in the league to get some good wins but the championship isn't as forgiving. I think our shooting and shot selection has been up and down, especially in the round robin. Well taken scores first half against Dublin but some poor misses in the second, phases of poor wides and decisions against Sligo, who eventually ran out of steam and allowed us to get well on top, and shooting again off against Kildare. Hopefully they can click again like some of the scores taken in the first half against Dublin. No doubt defense has taken priority this year which is understanable so it's hard to get the balance right.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 22/06/2023 14:00:31    2488425

Replying To eoinog:  "I genuinely wish you luck against Cork. Some of you had lost the run of yourselves, strayed over to our side with daft posts and then ye started picking how many All Stars you had. Ye were duly dispatched. This week I noticed a much more low key approach and the hype has been put to bed. Most Rossie supporters are sound and I love a bit of banter. I hope you win, it will be great to have 2 Connacht counties in the last 8. Plus Paddy Joe is probably the best character in the GAA at the moment. John 3.7 wasn't really replaced until he came along."
If devotion is what you are looking for, Paddy Joe is your man!!!!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 730 - 22/06/2023 14:39:16    2488442

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Kildare used the mark very cleverly to get around the blanket defence. Hopefully that is tightened up on. We need a good start on Saturday. Pointing out the obvious here but the games we have fallen behind early on in we have lost (Galway and Kildare) and we have had our best results when we've taken a good early lead. We made a habit of coming from behind in the league to get some good wins but the championship isn't as forgiving. I think our shooting and shot selection has been up and down, especially in the round robin. Well taken scores first half against Dublin but some poor misses in the second, phases of poor wides and decisions against Sligo, who eventually ran out of steam and allowed us to get well on top, and shooting again off against Kildare. Hopefully they can click again like some of the scores taken in the first half against Dublin. No doubt defense has taken priority this year which is understanable so it's hard to get the balance right."
Defence was no 1 priority this year no doubt .
Make us hard bet and no more 4-24s and the like.
However conceding 1-16 to Kildare would suggest we've slipped back on the defence side?

Maybe due to late appointment management only had time to get the lads "League fit" .
We've been struggling with cramp last 3 games .
Hopefully no extra time .....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2297 - 22/06/2023 14:41:39    2488444