Roscommon GAA thread

Interesting to see how the teams will set up now at the weekend. What did ye make of Ciarán Lennon at midfield? I think he can definitely do a job there but seemed to fade in the Dublin game.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 31/05/2023 11:41:45    2483123

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Weekend of 17th I think but not confirmed, O'Connor park has been mentioned as venue but not sure if that's confirmed either"
Tullamore is the obvious choice but with Tailteann Qtr Finals and Hurling PQFs who knows what might be available.
I'd imagine the games will be staged over the 2 days and games in the same group have to start at the same time.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 31/05/2023 11:53:36    2483128

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Tullamore is the obvious choice but with Tailteann Qtr Finals and Hurling PQFs who knows what might be available.
I'd imagine the games will be staged over the 2 days and games in the same group have to start at the same time."
I would love if this game was played in Breffni Park as it's a wonderful stadium with a great atmosphere and it's also been a happy hunting ground for us in recent years. But in reality the likelihood is it'll be in Portlaoise or Tullamore. Either way I hope there's a huge Ros support again and we are in a position to push on to guarantee a quarter final place.

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 31/05/2023 12:16:48    2483142

Replying To ComainRos:  "I would love if this game was played in Breffni Park as it's a wonderful stadium with a great atmosphere and it's also been a happy hunting ground for us in recent years. But in reality the likelihood is it'll be in Portlaoise or Tullamore. Either way I hope there's a huge Ros support again and we are in a position to push on to guarantee a quarter final place."
Good memories of Port Laoise in the sweltering heat a few years back against Armagh!

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 31/05/2023 16:01:17    2483203

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Interesting to see how the teams will set up now at the weekend. What did ye make of Ciarán Lennon at midfield? I think he can definitely do a job there but seemed to fade in the Dublin game."
He didnt play a second in midfield against Dublin, He had 9 on his back but wasnt midfield

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 31/05/2023 16:09:54    2483211

Replying To sourmilk93:  "He didnt play a second in midfield against Dublin, He had 9 on his back but wasnt midfield"
He started well and got two points but then seemed to fade out of the match. Pity we don't have Ultan Harney available. We're only a couple of players short of giving this All Ireland championship a serious run because there's no standout team in it this year.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 31/05/2023 16:20:31    2483214

Replying To endgame:  "Ben O'Carroll got turned over for the Dublin goal. He's a talented player from our U20 team of 2021 but I don't think he's strong enough yet for senior inter county football against the big boys. Donie Smith had a poor game up front missing a number of chances he'd normally take and that cost Roscommon. We needed to take all our chances or nearly all to see off the Dubs in Croker which is no easy task. Even our great team of the late 1970s couldn't do it. Davy Burke and his management team have brought a professional edge to this team and it's great to see it."
The template appears to be to have a lightning quick inside forward who will get out in front and link play with in rushing attackers. Based on Sunday Davy has selected (in this order) O'Carroll and Connolly for that role. Ben O'C is our smallest lightest player and it was unfortunate that it was him who was turned over for the goal. Management will probably feel he was too far up the field in the heavier traffic.
Donie Smith has a good work rate but I'm inclined to think another forward may deserve a chance to start v Sligo.

SouthsideRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 88 - 31/05/2023 22:48:31    2483273

One change with Conor Daly coming in for Donie Smith if indeed we do start with that team.

Conor Carroll (Oranmore/Maree)
Conor Hussey (Michael Glaveys)
Brian Stack (St Brigids)
David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Eoin McCormack (St Dominics)
Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Dylan Ruane (Michael Glaveys)
Eddie Nolan (St Brigids)
Ciaran Lennon (Clann na nGael)
Ciarain Murtagh (St Faithleachs)
Enda Smith (Boyle)
Cian McKeon (Boyle)
Ben O'Carroll (St Brigids)
Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleachs)

Subs - Colm Lavin (Eire Og) Ruaidhri Fallon (St Brigids) Colin Walsh (Eire Og) Niall Kilroy (Fuerty) Keith Doyle (St Dominics) Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels) Conor Cox (Eire Og) Shane Cunnane (St Brigids) Donie Smith (Boyle) Richard Hughes (Roscommon Gaels) Paul Carey (Padraig Pearses)

Hopefully we have got in the required rest and recovery before taking on our rested Sligo neighbours on a high after a good result against Kildare. Best of luck to Roscommon on Sunday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3743 - 02/06/2023 01:34:51    2483482

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "The template appears to be to have a lightning quick inside forward who will get out in front and link play with in rushing attackers. Based on Sunday Davy has selected (in this order) O'Carroll and Connolly for that role. Ben O'C is our smallest lightest player and it was unfortunate that it was him who was turned over for the goal. Management will probably feel he was too far up the field in the heavier traffic.
Donie Smith has a good work rate but I'm inclined to think another forward may deserve a chance to start v Sligo."
Good call. Donie Smith not selected to start against Sligo. Eddie Nolan named at midfield. Daire Cregg not in the 26. Is he injured or just not making the match day squad. We have and need options from the bench. Ruadhri Fallon came on late in Croke park and should benefit from the experience but he was turned over near the Roscommon goal. With matches coming every week, squad depth and avoiding injuries will be important.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 02/06/2023 03:29:15    2483485

With all the bull???? going on this week about possession etc. it's time to do get back to reality we must treat Sligo with respect and not take this game for granted. I remember under Evans loosing to Sligo in MP to them. I feel this team has a more steely feel about them compared to the past.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 99 - 02/06/2023 19:48:28    2483635

Replying To hontherossie:  "With all the bull???? going on this week about possession etc. it's time to do get back to reality we must treat Sligo with respect and not take this game for granted. I remember under Evans loosing to Sligo in MP to them. I feel this team has a more steely feel about them compared to the past."
And think of the score difference too.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 03/06/2023 10:57:43    2483679

One thing I'd like to see improved is when we get a turnover in our own half and break that we improve the quality of quick ball into forwards on the counter. A couple of times it happened against Dublin where the pass was over cooked. If that can be improved you could really make hay on the score board in some games. All the best to the team tomorrow. Hopefully it'll be a good result.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 03/06/2023 11:55:16    2483691

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "One thing I'd like to see improved is when we get a turnover in our own half and break that we improve the quality of quick ball into forwards on the counter. A couple of times it happened against Dublin where the pass was over cooked. If that can be improved you could really make hay on the score board in some games. All the best to the team tomorrow. Hopefully it'll be a good result."
Definitely, and taking scoring chances in general needs attention, especially as we are playing in games with such tight margins. Our last few goal chances have been blasted high within the keepers reach and not kept low which are always more difficult to stop (Diarmuid V Cluxton the last day for example). Also that last free we had against Dublin was not one to be taken out of the hands by Cox. I 'm a fan of him and his style of play but he would take every free if given the chance and some are not suitable to his range. A breather needs to be taken in moments like this and the best placed ball kicker left on the field called up, be it Conor Carroll, Eddie Nolan or whoever. It could prove be the winning or losing of a massive match before the end of the summer.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 19 - 03/06/2023 14:29:16    2483716

The Dublin game being on today could potentially be dangerous for us if there is too much thought on score difference and not enough concentration on actually beating Sligo. Hope we don't get caught on the hop.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 03/06/2023 18:39:19    2483777

Replying To SpanishRossie:  "Definitely, and taking scoring chances in general needs attention, especially as we are playing in games with such tight margins. Our last few goal chances have been blasted high within the keepers reach and not kept low which are always more difficult to stop (Diarmuid V Cluxton the last day for example). Also that last free we had against Dublin was not one to be taken out of the hands by Cox. I 'm a fan of him and his style of play but he would take every free if given the chance and some are not suitable to his range. A breather needs to be taken in moments like this and the best placed ball kicker left on the field called up, be it Conor Carroll, Eddie Nolan or whoever. It could prove be the winning or losing of a massive match before the end of the summer."
Conor Cox seems to see his name in lights rather than pass to the player in the best position. He should never have taken that last free against Dublin out of his hands. Never going to score it. Should have been taken off the ground. It was scoreable with the wind behind and a great chance was missed to beat the Dubs and win in Croke park in championship for the first time in 43 years. Agree Roscommon need to be more clinical taking scoring chances. Some poor misses last Sunday. Overall delighted though to draw with Dublin in Croke park and should be a great occasion in The Hyde tomorrow.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 03/06/2023 19:14:51    2483792

Replying To endgame:  "Conor Cox seems to see his name in lights rather than pass to the player in the best position. He should never have taken that last free against Dublin out of his hands. Never going to score it. Should have been taken off the ground. It was scoreable with the wind behind and a great chance was missed to beat the Dubs and win in Croke park in championship for the first time in 43 years. Agree Roscommon need to be more clinical taking scoring chances. Some poor misses last Sunday. Overall delighted though to draw with Dublin in Croke park and should be a great occasion in The Hyde tomorrow."
U must not have been at it both Smith's were offered the ball by Cox and neither fancied it.
If Nolan was on ild have let him have a craic but Cox at that stage of the game stood up and had a go.
At that stage it was about putting it dead wether a score or wide.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/06/2023 23:02:58    2483847

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "U must not have been at it both Smith's were offered the ball by Cox and neither fancied it.
If Nolan was on ild have let him have a craic but Cox at that stage of the game stood up and had a go.
At that stage it was about putting it dead wether a score or wide."
Enda was never going to take it and Donie Smith had missed a few chances and wouldn't have been feeling confident. I agree the ball had to go dead but it was a real chance to win the match for Roscommon. Had to be taken off the ground. Do you disagree with my point that Cox has a tendency to go for glory himself when he comes on rather than to pass to the better positioned player.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 04/06/2023 03:50:50    2483861

Replying To endgame:  "Enda was never going to take it and Donie Smith had missed a few chances and wouldn't have been feeling confident. I agree the ball had to go dead but it was a real chance to win the match for Roscommon. Had to be taken off the ground. Do you disagree with my point that Cox has a tendency to go for glory himself when he comes on rather than to pass to the better positioned player."
Whatever ever about a tendency to go for glory, Cox deffo has a tendency to go to ground LOL

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 04/06/2023 10:51:37    2483876

Replying To sligo joe:  "Whatever ever about a tendency to go for glory, Cox deffo has a tendency to go to ground LOL"
Absolutely when his arm is pulled as he's kicking the ball. Wouldn't blame him for that now.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 04/06/2023 13:05:39    2483897

Probably our worst performances under this management. A win is a win but we didn't play great and won well. Dubs will beat that Sligo side by 20 plus

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 04/06/2023 16:44:24    2483954