Well played Roscommon, but my word we are well off what we need to be. Won't be favs after that :D realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 28/05/2023 17:47:59 2482224 Link 1 |
Fair play, a we earned point away. Paddy Andrews the most ungracious co-comm. Wouldn't kill him to say ye done mighty v the Dubs in Croke Park. Had to say the Dubs won the second half even though they drew. GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7973 - 28/05/2023 17:48:58 2482226 Link 2 |
Roscommon really should have won but it but still a great result to draw with the Dubs in Croke Park. All 4 Connacht teams are unbeaten after the first round of matches - not many would have predicted that! Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1033 - 28/05/2023 17:51:00 2482227 Link 1 |
What a great performance by the Rossies. Having a pint after the game and am very happy and sad at the same time. I think that we were the better team on the day and deserved a win. We'll done to Davy Burke the full management team and all the panel of players for giving us a great day out. Important now to keep it going now and try to top the group. letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 728 - 28/05/2023 18:06:39 2482233 Link 0 |
Brilliant stuff, what an effort by the team. Huge performance and showed that those lads have the talent to play at the top. Massive credit to the management team for the work put in. We just need to tweak something to hurt teams more when we turn them over and break with space ahead of us. Keep it going lads and take confidence from it. MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 28/05/2023 18:26:22 2482247 Link 0 |
You know how well Roscommon played when their supporters are left disappointed they didn't beat Dublin in Croke Park and truth to be known Roscommon was the better team but left down by non pressured errors. Real disrespectful 7/1 odds before the game and Roscommon who finished 3rd in division 1 and beat Mayo in Castlebar coming into this game that alone had to have the rossies fired up and focused today. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3609 - 28/05/2023 18:55:06 2482267 Link 0 |
Congrats Roscommon, fine display. Who knows with the Dubs? With 3 teams going through, are some of the bigger guns really revved up right now? Kerry seemed to have a take-it or leave-it attitude against Mayo last weekend. The Dubs seemed kind of the same today. foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2216 - 28/05/2023 19:05:09 2482270 Link 0 |
Good result for Roscommon.. Dublin been tipped for Sam this year is absolutely bananas.. They are not a patch on their glory team and as of now its Mayos to lose.. Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 28/05/2023 19:09:10 2482273 Link 1 |
Brave effort but we could and should have pulled off a famous win but seeing that we scored the last two points we'll have to settle for a draw. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4039 - 28/05/2023 19:13:56 2482277 Link 0 |
Agree with all of that. Thought Cian McKeon was brilliant as well, very composed on the ball and great at linking play. Reminded me a small bit of Cathal Cregg. We need to be getting more scores in games but Davys first task no doubt is making sure we shire up at the back first.
MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 28/05/2023 19:39:47 2482293 Link 0 |
"Mayo's to lose" hilarious, if you know what I mean, lol
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 887 - 28/05/2023 19:56:49 2482308 Link 1 |
Yeah didn't mean to leave out Cian McKeon he was superb, great option on kick outs and worked himself to the ground.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4039 - 28/05/2023 20:27:29 2482331 Link 0 |
Can imagine that result will leave mixed feelings for you rossies. Had the beating of Dublin today and set the the platform for victory with impressive 1st half but the poor goal conceded and with another few bad turn overs allowed Dublin to edge their noses in front and in the end Roscommon did well to earn the draw. Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 28/05/2023 21:52:43 2482373 Link 0 |
Roscommon came of age today. Composed for the most part. Didn't fully succumb to the inevitable pressure from Dublin second half. We do need to be more clinical at this level. Its the tightest of margins when up with the big boys. However we finished just as strong as them. We have lerned so so much from today. We've had our asses handed too ourselves up there for far too long so today was massively important. moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1139 - 28/05/2023 22:06:30 2482381 Link 0 |
Cian McKeon is such a powerful runner. Very hard to dispossess. Donie Smith missed a few and the Dublin goal was from a sloppy turnover.Still Isn't it great to feel disappointed after drawing with Dublin in Croke Park. Hopefully we build on today. Just curious why Conor Carroll didn't take the free at the end. Conor Cox never likely to score from that distance out of his hands.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2402 - 28/05/2023 22:11:58 2482386 Link 0 |
Just home again. It was a strange feeling leaving Croke Park. Wasn't sure if I felt happy not to lose or disappointed not to get the win. On reflection we have to be happy with a draw. Definitely had enough chances to get the win. Donie will relive those misses in his head for a few days but we had other chances too. One costly mistake led to the goal but other than that our game plan worked a treat. The point right on half time was superb, held the ball for so long, Dublin fans making their frustrations heard and ended with a score. Cian McKeon was outstanding I thought, he is such a powerful runner with the ball. The Murtaghs as usual stood out, as did Enda. Ben o Carroll showed well also. Overall a very encouraging day. We have now gone away to Mayo and Dublin in championship and come away unbeaten. D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 269 - 28/05/2023 22:23:09 2482388 Link 2 |
Fair play to Cox for taking it on but maybe an older Carroll would have taken it off him would have suited a ground kick better.
MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 28/05/2023 22:58:35 2482397 Link 0 |
Roscommon were very unlucky, some missed chances near end of game plus Dubs got away with a couple of jersey pulls on Roscommon backs with one of them leading to a Dublin free and point seconds later.Do umpires have no say on these fouls when ref misses them as this happened in the square.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2290 - 29/05/2023 08:13:51 2482433 Link 3 |
Couldn't have put it better myself! We made a statement yesterday! No time to rest now as the focus has to shift to the Hyde next Sunday. Sligo will be coming at us well rested and will give us plenty of it. Strength of panel will be tested and hopefully not found wanting. Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2293 - 29/05/2023 08:43:58 2482439 Link 0 |
Hard to know how to feel after the result yesterday and that's probably a testament to how well we played. Possibly a missed opportunity but looking back we kicked the last 2 scores to equalise and Dublin missed a couple of guilt edged chances to seal it also in injury time so can't have too many complaints. Primrose_and_blue (Roscommon) - Posts: 69 - 29/05/2023 10:29:53 2482470 Link 0 |