Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To D.Hyde:  "550km round trip, nice day out with the family. Came away from the game with mixed feelings. After the first 15mins I thought we were in for a hiding but to be fair the lads found a way back in to the game. The age old problem of a lack of midfield was brutally exposed again, especially in the first half. Kerry sat off and allowed us get a few quick ones away, especially after their first black card. Doesn't matter who is in goals, when a team pushes up for our kickout we are in real bother. Enda was once again a real leader when things were going against us, he carried the fight to Kerry. He was victim of a terrible call for charging and ended up with a yellow card for his frustration. Ciaran Murtagh tried his best but faded after half time. Coz looked like he was getting back to old self at times, looked sharp and took some nice scores. Hopefully we see more of that and it wasn't just the opposition motivating him. Ciaran Lennon tries hard everyday but in front of goal he looks like he has no confidence, different player for his club. Stack done as well as could be expected given the job he had. Great to see Cian McKeon getting minutes.
On a side note, I thought a lot of decisions went against us. Bar the penalty, i will watch it back later, but for their first black card, we had won possession and were on the attack and ref stopped play to issue the card. Surely he should have allowed us play on and deal with it after. We had just gotten momentum at that time and another point would have lifted us further. As I said, Enda needed up with a yellow for reacting to a terrible call against him.
Onto next week and if we show the fight and character we have shown for 50 mins of the last 2 games we will be ok but we need to show it from minute 1. If Donegal lose today they will be a fragile bunch, we can't give them any encouragement and need to put them to the sword early. Up the Ros"
Victim of a terrible call!!!. Get real. He should of got a yellow for that and a second for his mouthing after. Ye got Clifford booked b4 that for a lovely soccer style dive going down holding his head. No need for that from a team that has such good footballers. When ye stopped that nonsense in the second half ye were the better team and could of won it

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 19/03/2023 16:52:38    2464811

Roscommon safe after today's results. By my calculation, we can't now be relegated regardless of what happens next Sunday. Donegal can't catch us and Tyrone play Armagh and we have better head to head against both so no combination of results next week can relegate Roscommon. Hope I have my sums right but I think I have.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 19/03/2023 17:29:14    2464829

Replying To endgame:  "Roscommon safe after today's results. By my calculation, we can't now be relegated regardless of what happens next Sunday. Donegal can't catch us and Tyrone play Armagh and we have better head to head against both so no combination of results next week can relegate Roscommon. Hope I have my sums right but I think I have."
If Kerry beat Galway, and we somehow beat Donegal by 10+ points we could find ourselves in a league final! Hard to believe but not impossible

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 145 - 19/03/2023 17:41:11    2464832

Replying To Thejampot:  "Victim of a terrible call!!!. Get real. He should of got a yellow for that and a second for his mouthing after. Ye got Clifford booked b4 that for a lovely soccer style dive going down holding his head. No need for that from a team that has such good footballers. When ye stopped that nonsense in the second half ye were the better team and could of won it"
Great win for our neighbours today. Congrats. Now go and look forward to the battle with Sligo and don't be getting worked up with what we are doing. Best of luck

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 145 - 19/03/2023 17:43:04    2464834

Replying To endgame:  "Roscommon safe after today's results. By my calculation, we can't now be relegated regardless of what happens next Sunday. Donegal can't catch us and Tyrone play Armagh and we have better head to head against both so no combination of results next week can relegate Roscommon. Hope I have my sums right but I think I have."
I notice TG4 have us behind Tyrone in the table, is it definitely head to head first?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 19/03/2023 17:50:14    2464837

Looking at the table I have to qualify that but only slightly. If Monaghan beat Mayo in Castlebar and Armagh draw with Tyrone and if Roscommon lose to Donegal, Donegal would be relegated and Ros, Armagh and Monaghan would all have 6 points so it wouldn't be based on head to head then but on scoring difference and Monaghan have a far worse scoring difference than us. So we're safe bar very strange and unlikely happenings next Sunday.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 19/03/2023 17:51:33    2464838

Close enough to safe. But armagh beat tyrone and monaghan beat mayo and its points difference in the event of an unlikely big defeat at home to donegal.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 19/03/2023 17:52:37    2464840

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I notice TG4 have us behind Tyrone in the table, is it definitely head to head first?"
Head to head when only 2 teams involved, score difference of 3 or more teams level

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 145 - 19/03/2023 18:11:05    2464850

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I notice TG4 have us behind Tyrone in the table, is it definitely head to head first?"
Tyrone ahead of us on points scored as we both are +1 in scoring difference

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 145 - 19/03/2023 19:27:30    2464878

Replying To Thejampot:  "Victim of a terrible call!!!. Get real. He should of got a yellow for that and a second for his mouthing after. Ye got Clifford booked b4 that for a lovely soccer style dive going down holding his head. No need for that from a team that has such good footballers. When ye stopped that nonsense in the second half ye were the better team and could of won it"
Not sure why you feel he Smith deserved a yellow for a shoulder to shoulder? Last time I checked that was allowed in Gaa. Seems you can tackle a player now by slapping and punching the body but without touching the ball yet a shoulder to shoulder challenge is a foul. Also the Kerry player ran towards Smith and he was just unfortunate to be a much smaller man. Nonsense of a free but it didn't matter in the grand scheme of things. We should not have started so poorly. I definitely think it might be to do with the warm up. Anyway hopefully that's us safe in Division 1 for another year and best of luck to Leitrim next week against Sligo which will be another titanic battle for ye. Would be great to see both Connacht teams go up

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 19/03/2023 19:37:59    2464883

Replying To D.Hyde:  "Head to head when only 2 teams involved, score difference of 3 or more teams level"
Cheers.

Although no where near their best that was probably the strongest Kerry team of the league yet so we did well considering. Mayo looked very good against Donegal and didn't dip at all in the second half, they actually got more ruthless and really turned the knife. Probably should have got another goal. You would expect Donegal to come out fighting next week to make amends for that performance.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 19/03/2023 20:19:11    2464902

Only when 2 teams level on same points. Score difference if more than 2

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 19/03/2023 21:06:39    2464929

Still mathematically possible to go down or to reach the Final!
Whatever , we need to be winning Sunday as going into the Championship after 4 straight defeats is not the way to go.
Equally winning 4 League games equals a decent campaign.
But Davy and lads can ye please start strongly for once?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 20/03/2023 09:14:13    2464977

Replying To anotheralias:  "Close enough to safe. But armagh beat tyrone and monaghan beat mayo and its points difference in the event of an unlikely big defeat at home to donegal."
Just to clarify. Roscommon are almost certainly safe . But my point is that if Roscommon were to remain on 6 points , and a team is to be relegated on 6 points, it will be the points difference rather than head to head that will save Ros.
This is because the only way a team would be relegated on 6 is if Monaghan beat Mayo and Armagh get a result ( draw or win) v Tyrone . And if Ros were to remain on 3 it would come down to points difference as there would be 3 teams on 6.
Monaghan would need to overturn a 17 point or so difference if this was to happen i.e. Ros to lose by 8 or 9 to Donegal, Mayo to lose by 8 or 9 to Monaghan........very very very unlikely

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 20/03/2023 09:43:59    2464989

Pround of the lads performances on Sat, but these poor starts are costly against the big boys! Not sure why Donie Smith is continuous being brought on as sub!

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 20/03/2023 09:53:24    2464994

I like most supporters have major concerns on the way the team is starting, we're giving the game away as we're falling 6 or 7 points before we wake up. The management team need to get it addressed or we'll have a very short summer.

imformed (Roscommon) - Posts: 163 - 20/03/2023 10:09:15    2465005

Replying To imformed:  "I like most supporters have major concerns on the way the team is starting, we're giving the game away as we're falling 6 or 7 points before we wake up. The management team need to get it addressed or we'll have a very short summer."
Ya its very strange how long it takes us to get going. It's something that has to change. It's really frustrating to watch how slow and lazy we look at the start of games. I think we go back the pitch more than forward. For the Donegal game I think a couple of changes in the forwards is needed.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1056 - 20/03/2023 10:39:06    2465025

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "I'd say the reason for the change was to give lavin a chance but I think the debate was settled Sunday.

It wasn't fully Lavins fault or movement was very poor for the short kick out. Colm is too slow at getting them away carrolll gets them out quick similar to the way the Mayo keeper did.

I was very worried 20 mins in but in fairness the lads dug in and finished strong"
Mark McHugh at half time made a comment something like "we did not want to hang the goalkeeper out to dry so we made a sub and changed things up". They had no problem hanging Colm out to dry vs. Mayo the last day.

rosco7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 44 - 20/03/2023 10:49:30    2465037

Replying To imformed:  "I like most supporters have major concerns on the way the team is starting, we're giving the game away as we're falling 6 or 7 points before we wake up. The management team need to get it addressed or we'll have a very short summer."
We'll be having 3 games no matter what.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 20/03/2023 11:04:17    2465048

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "We'll be having 3 games no matter what."
Minimum four games.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 20/03/2023 11:31:25    2465072