Roscommon GAA thread

Probably as good a time as any to play Galway. No Shane Walsh and several of their players played extra time last night when the University of Limerick knocked UCG out of the Sigerson Cup last night. Cian Glennon came on for UL in the second half.
We won't be as fortunate re selections when we play Kerry etc.

Hopefully the match tonight between UCD v TUD does not go to extra time as several of our players are involved. (Electric Ireland do not appear to be streaming this match)

I thought that the team were fitter than Tyrone. While several supporters around me were disappointed to see the ball between recycled back at times, I felt that the game plan worked really well. The defenders broke at speed at the appropriate times and normally had a supporting runner. The forwards also put in huge shifts tracking back but still had enough energy to attack. It takes a very fit team to implement this game plan, so fair play to all concerned. (Management, S&C and Players!). First impressions would tend to indicate that teams will really have to earn points against us.
Really enjoyed the game last Sunday and hopefully the team will put in a good performance, win/lose/draw. Last week was a very good start but we certainly should not get carried away. Still lots of areas that need improvement.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 01/02/2023 10:57:39    2455738

Great performance on Sunday. Most pleasing aspect for me was the contribution by the new lads.

Really brings into question the insistence by previous management that lads had to have 2 full years in the squad before consideration.

Kudos to the new management in the trust they have in new faces.

Rossie2022 (Roscommon) - Posts: 26 - 01/02/2023 12:10:05    2455759

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "It doesn't mean that we will win but Roscommon should not fear Galway despite their appearance in last years AI. Roscommon have been on the winning side against the same team last year in the league. Our downfall in the Connacht final was the complete absence of a defensive strategy (while Galway implemented a very effective one in every championship game they played) and individual brilliance of Shane Walsh. The long range forecast looks like calm, cold and dry for Sunday and if it stays like that it could be an ideal day for forwards on both teams. As you say, hopefully we are competitive and I'd be delighted if we could get a draw. If Ciaran Lennon starts I'd put him in full forward and drop the odd high ball in close to goal to test the Galway keeper."
Given plenty of respect but we have never feared Galway. Their high turnover count and counter attacking us at pace was where they got most joy against us in the Connacht final, two goals before half time when the contest was even was huge to their them winning also.

Not sure how much we can read out of that Connacht final especially if we have just 5 same starters from that game. From what I've seen thus far Davy and his management doesn't seem to be keen on the target man at full forward.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 01/02/2023 17:12:22    2455845

Replying To The_analyser:  "Given plenty of respect but we have never feared Galway. Their high turnover count and counter attacking us at pace was where they got most joy against us in the Connacht final, two goals before half time when the contest was even was huge to their them winning also.

Not sure how much we can read out of that Connacht final especially if we have just 5 same starters from that game. From what I've seen thus far Davy and his management doesn't seem to be keen on the target man at full forward."
I wouldn't employ it as a permanent strategy but it'd be worth trying a couple of times in the game.

Midfield is going to be a big tester this weekend. I thought we did exceptionally well in midfield last year against Galway, especially Harney's performances in both league and championship. Hopefully O'Rourke and Doyle can step up.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 02/02/2023 09:37:57    2455897

Replying To Rossie2022:  "Great performance on Sunday. Most pleasing aspect for me was the contribution by the new lads.

Really brings into question the insistence by previous management that lads had to have 2 full years in the squad before consideration.

Kudos to the new management in the trust they have in new faces."
Ben OCarroll and Daire Cregg are two of the most exciting young talents about. They are stylish footballers who are a joy to watch

honda15 (Longford) - Posts: 94 - 02/02/2023 09:49:27    2455901

Replying To honda15:  "Ben OCarroll and Daire Cregg are two of the most exciting young talents about. They are stylish footballers who are a joy to watch"
Any one know will Creggs red card have any impact come Sundays game

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 99 - 02/02/2023 11:36:51    2455965

Replying To hontherossie:  "Any one know will Creggs red card have any impact come Sundays game"
I'm told it hasn't.
Ben will hardly be started after his extended game last night?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 02/02/2023 12:35:34    2455995

Replying To hontherossie:  "Any one know will Creggs red card have any impact come Sundays game"
No. He was sent off after 24 minutes but it will not have an impact on the Roscommon games. Any suspension will apply to future Sigerson Cup games.
Ben O Carroll kicked 4 points from play for UCD but looked a bit tired towards the end as the game went to extra time. Shane Cunnane was picked at full forward for TUD but played well at mid-field.
I would think that Davy Burke would be happy enough that Carroll, Creggan and O'Carroll etc will no longer have to play two very tough matches ever week. Might even give them some time to do some study/projects/continuous assessments as some of them may in final year.
We should all be greatful for their dedication to the Rossies!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 02/02/2023 12:37:24    2455996

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "No. He was sent off after 24 minutes but it will not have an impact on the Roscommon games. Any suspension will apply to future Sigerson Cup games.
Ben O Carroll kicked 4 points from play for UCD but looked a bit tired towards the end as the game went to extra time. Shane Cunnane was picked at full forward for TUD but played well at mid-field.
I would think that Davy Burke would be happy enough that Carroll, Creggan and O'Carroll etc will no longer have to play two very tough matches ever week. Might even give them some time to do some study/projects/continuous assessments as some of them may in final year.
We should all be greatful for their dedication to the Rossies!"
What did Daire Cregg do to get a red card?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 02/02/2023 16:29:38    2456053

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "What did Daire Cregg do to get a red card?"
Did not see the actual play/event as the guy doing the video was blocking my view, but there was a loud shout/groan from the many TUD supporters. There was a lot going on being several players up to that time and play had to be stopped minutes earlier when Cregg was seen holding his nose/head.
Cregg, O'Carroll and Garland were tightly marked up front shall we say, as were the TUD players also in fairness. It was a full-on committed contest. Some of these players have played 2 hard games a week for several weeks. The same applies to the Galway players.
It was a straight red. (Not two yellows)

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 02/02/2023 17:15:13    2456065

Replying To Rossie2022:  "Great performance on Sunday. Most pleasing aspect for me was the contribution by the new lads.

Kudos to the new management in the trust they have in new faces."
Development of the last management did should be praised for not rushing any young players into a senior set up. Very few 18,19 year olds are featuring much if at all for their county teams anymore. Any young player requires the right level of strength and conditioning before getting exposed to that higher and more physical level of football.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 02/02/2023 17:42:21    2456070

Replying To endgame:  "Think Matthew Tierney is overrated. Comer was good last weekend but poor in the All Ireland Final against Kerry when it really counted. Roscommon have a good chance next Sunday. Without Shane Walsh, would Galway have beaten us last May. Doubtful. He's that important to Galway as the All Ireland Final showed. Two points next Sunday would have Roscommon in a good place so here's hoping for the win in Salthill. More of the spirit of June 2019 when thousands of Roscommon people celebrated in Pearse stadium."
Ah now, take off your primrose tinted glasses. Anyone could see in Pearse last May that Galway were operating at a much higher level than Roscommon. Even taking Shane Walsh out of it, Galway were tactically and physically superior to Roscommon on the field of play. To back that up, we made an All Ireland final.

Looking forward to Sunday, Galway by 3.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 03/02/2023 11:11:09    2456121

Replying To ahsure.:  "Ah now, take off your primrose tinted glasses. Anyone could see in Pearse last May that Galway were operating at a much higher level than Roscommon. Even taking Shane Walsh out of it, Galway were tactically and physically superior to Roscommon on the field of play. To back that up, we made an All Ireland final.

Looking forward to Sunday, Galway by 3."
I don't agree with you. Shane Walsh is probably the second best forward in the country and without him I don't think Galway would have got to the Final last year. Now I'm not hyping Roscommon with any glasses on. We were awful last year with that late collapse against Clare. Hopefully Davy Burke will bring Roscommon on. We, like Galway, have good young players coming through. It should be competitive in Connacht this year between the "big three".

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 03/02/2023 13:47:20    2456161

Replying To ahsure.:  "Ah now, take off your primrose tinted glasses. Anyone could see in Pearse last May that Galway were operating at a much higher level than Roscommon. Even taking Shane Walsh out of it, Galway were tactically and physically superior to Roscommon on the field of play. To back that up, we made an All Ireland final.

Looking forward to Sunday, Galway by 3."
Galway brought a completely different intensity into that game plus a very effective defensive strategy compared to the league. Roscommon were still in league mode and had no defensive organisation. There were gaping holes in our defense and ye attacked with ease once ye turned over the ball the opposite end. I thought we were very good at midfield but that benefit wasn't capitalised upon because of how bad we were defensively. I'm interested to see if lessons have been learned since then.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 03/02/2023 14:58:46    2456175

As a Galway man I honestly can't see Galway winning on Sunday with Walsh , Finnerty missing hard see. Galway scoring more than 1-08 to 1-11
Snd I think Ross are capable scoring 2-11to 2-14 only my opinion

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 03/02/2023 15:25:23    2456182

Replying To endgame:  "I don't agree with you. Shane Walsh is probably the second best forward in the country and without him I don't think Galway would have got to the Final last year. Now I'm not hyping Roscommon with any glasses on. We were awful last year with that late collapse against Clare. Hopefully Davy Burke will bring Roscommon on. We, like Galway, have good young players coming through. It should be competitive in Connacht this year between the "big three"."
With all respect, Shane Walsh didn't score from play in the all ireland semi final last year so i don't think your comment is 100% accurate but he is a major player for us. I think my point stands that Galway were operating on a superior level to Roscommon for last years championship though.

But on to 2023, agreed with above poster we are struggling a bit with absence/injury but I think home advantage may tip it for us on Sunday.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 03/02/2023 15:43:28    2456186

Replying To Kickitout:  "As a Galway man I honestly can't see Galway winning on Sunday with Walsh , Finnerty missing hard see. Galway scoring more than 1-08 to 1-11
Snd I think Ross are capable scoring 2-11to 2-14 only my opinion"
Well I would not write us off but we will have to preform much better than last week if we are to win. We lost last week because we lost around the middle where Mayo cleaned up any time Gleeson went long. Ross put up very big scores against us last year and will know they can goal . With a full hand as in the AI final we are capable of beating any team I believe, but the loss of 3 players who are All Stars or All Start contenders (Molloy) is huge even for the Dubs or The Kingdom as they found out last week. Every Roscommon team is strong right down the middle and that is where this game will be won or lost. If Gleeson is in goal I expect loads of high ball going in around the square. In our favor Roscommon paly a more open game than Mayo which may help our style of football.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 03/02/2023 16:03:58    2456193

Replying To endgame:  "Think Matthew Tierney is overrated. Comer was good last weekend but poor in the All Ireland Final against Kerry when it really counted. Roscommon have a good chance next Sunday. Without Shane Walsh, would Galway have beaten us last May. Doubtful. He's that important to Galway as the All Ireland Final showed. Two points next Sunday would have Roscommon in a good place so here's hoping for the win in Salthill. More of the spirit of June 2019 when thousands of Roscommon people celebrated in Pearse stadium."
Commenting on an opposition team in an All Ireland final from a Rossie is laughable.
Bottom line we bet ye last summer when it counted most.
Ye should win this Sunday as we are looking at bigger things later in the year.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/02/2023 17:56:57    2456215

Replying To Kickitout:  "As a Galway man I honestly can't see Galway winning on Sunday with Walsh , Finnerty missing hard see. Galway scoring more than 1-08 to 1-11
Snd I think Ross are capable scoring 2-11to 2-14 only my opinion"
Galway scored a total of 14 against a blanket Mayo defence and that was from 15 shots on goal. Galway should score more against Roscommon who are unlikely to put in the same defensive effort or hold Galway to a mere 15 shots. Plenty of other players to take up the scoring in Tierney, Connelly,Cooke, Comer and both Kelly's plus Heaney always good for popping up with important scores

Roscommon would have to perform very well to score 17 to 20 points against the system and structured defence Galway play.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 03/02/2023 18:44:31    2456222

The side published this weekend. Three changes was made before throw in last Sunday won't be a surprise if something similar happens again.

Conor Carroll (Oranmore/maree)
Conor Hussey (Michael Glaveys)
Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Eoin McCormack (St Dominic's)
Dylan Ruane (Michael Glaveys)
Brian Stack (St Brigids)
Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Tadgh O'Rourke (Tulsk)
Keith Doyle (St Dominic's)
Robbie Dolan (St Brigids)
Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleachs)
Ciaran Lennon (Clann na nGael)
Ben O'Carroll (St Brigids)
Conor Cox (Eire Og)
Ciarain Murtagh (St Faithleachs)

Subs Colm Lavin (Eire Og) Tomas Crean (Creggs) Colin Walsh (Oran) David Murray (Padraig Pearses) Richard Hughes (Roscommon Gaels) Ruaidhri Fallon (St Brigids) Enda Smith (Boyle) Adam McDermott (Castlerea) Paul Carey (Padraig Pearses) Daire Cregg (Boyle) Patrick Gavin (Clann na nGael)

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 03/02/2023 20:46:34    2456239