Fermanagh GAA thread

I meant Saturday week.

gaalltheway (Fermanagh) - Posts: 798 - 04/04/2023 10:24:34    2468715

Hard luck Fermanagh on Saturday.

Don't think it was any real surprise to anyone that we would be up against a completely different Cavan team in terms of personel and drive. Ultimately, for me, the difference was seen in the forward areas where cavan are just a lot stronger. A lot of Cavan's second half scores came from counter attacks as well with us coughing up possesssion too easily on numerous occasions.

Wasn't to be but let's not lose sight with what a great league campaign the fella's had getting promoted. We were favourites for the drop at the start of the year.

On to Derry! Hopefully give them a good game in Brewster and I'd never write Fermanagh off at home but Derry are going very well and I would tip them or Tyrone for Ulster this year.

Bailah (Fermanagh) - Posts: 43 - 04/04/2023 10:44:24    2468723

i agree with gaaalltheway. it was unfair of the kinawley poster to single out jonathan cassidy given that he has been the most consistent throughout the nfl, in fact an essential member of the team. my concern would be our midfield as they failed to get the ball in multiple kickouts. i'm not sure if the best pairing occupy those positions and it's something that derry's gallagher will pick up. one question puzzles me why quigley isn't fit after all these weeks? the goalie mcnally was impressive and is confidence is growing. the team needs more darragh mcgurn types if it is to make any kind of headway in div2 next season. i'm not holding out fir any great success in the c'hips but i hope the guys give a good account of themselves as it will help them going forward. a final point i would raise, why is macca causing such negativity not just by one but by numerous responders on this thread?

SkeaLad (Fermanagh) - Posts: 511 - 04/04/2023 12:49:22    2468762

Skealad, some people just like to put negative spin on people's opinions rather than make positive contribution here.

I agree with you regarding Cassidy, he did make costly turnover on Saturday but wasn't only one to cough up possession and he had a solid league campaign.
Quigley certainly should be near fit to start next weekend, did alot of running at half time in croker, obviously injury over Christmas limited his training before league but must be close now.

Midfield did struggle at weekend and not many other options there to change if needed, Stephen McGullion not making the 26

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1097 - 04/04/2023 14:17:37    2468793

Replying To macca999:  "Skealad, some people just like to put negative spin on people's opinions rather than make positive contribution here.

I agree with you regarding Cassidy, he did make costly turnover on Saturday but wasn't only one to cough up possession and he had a solid league campaign.
Quigley certainly should be near fit to start next weekend, did alot of running at half time in croker, obviously injury over Christmas limited his training before league but must be close now.

Midfield did struggle at weekend and not many other options there to change if needed, Stephen McGullion not making the 26"
I would agree. Our midfield did struggle.

Stephen Mcgullion despite his size doesn't seem to be to the level of regular county football. I think Horan and Jones have done a fine job all season. Slightly worrying if one of them were to pick up a knock.

Any word on Conall Jones, Donnelly doesn't seem to fancy him at all.

Itown1234 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 35 - 04/04/2023 14:30:05    2468798

It is more Kelm's we need too.
What about the younger Cassidy lad, has he been turfed out?
Conall Jones was useful but no on the manager's radar, I wonder why?
Would McGee, being tall, be better in midfield? He a bit light though.
Whatever happened to the Kinawley Corrigans?

erneboy (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1397 - 04/04/2023 21:47:27    2468927

Replying To erneboy:  "It is more Kelm's we need too.
What about the younger Cassidy lad, has he been turfed out?
Conall Jones was useful but no on the manager's radar, I wonder why?
Would McGee, being tall, be better in midfield? He a bit light though.
Whatever happened to the Kinawley Corrigans?"
It is more Kelm's we need too. Yes
What about the younger Cassidy lad, has he been turfed out? Not surprised
Conall Jones was useful but no on manager's radar. I wonder why? The answer is in your past tense 'was useful' quote
Would McGee, being tall, be better in midfield? He is light though. To nice. More aggressive player would fill the bill
Whatever happened to the Kinawley Corrigan's? Who cares?

The_Rat (Fermanagh) - Posts: 50 - 05/04/2023 09:59:39    2468953

Think every county would like a few more Kelms, but thats very wishful thinking.

Yes Sean Cassidy featured in early league games but didnt take his chance, hasnt been in matchday squad with under 20s lads King and O Brien named instead. Conal Jones was prominent few years ago but has drifted down pecking order, hasnt featured at all through league but least still making the effort and named in 26. McGee certainly too light as midfield option, I know Joe McDade was injured early in year think could be back fit now but probably too late to be in mix for Derry game. Options in middle limited if Horan or Ryan Jones injured, would likely mean moving McGurn which far from ideal

The Corrigans are long gone now, probably to focus on club only.

That is one great thing about Donnelly and management this year,very fair and not afraid to change it, if player trains well they get chance, has been evident throughout league with McGee, Breen, McShea coming in and out, so that keeps everyone on toes and committed as know fair opportunity and be rewarded when show form.

Too late for this year as opted out with college commitments but Tiarnan Bogue hopefully be involved in future.

As expected Derry under 20s game moved to this weekend so 5 lads be available for game in Brewster

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1097 - 05/04/2023 12:14:12    2469016

Replying To The_Rat:  "It is more Kelm's we need too. Yes
Conall Jones was useful but no on manager's radar. I wonder why? The answer is in your past tense 'was useful' quote
Would McGee, being tall, be better in midfield? He is light though. To nice. More aggressive player would fill the bill
Whatever happened to the Kinawley Corrigan's? Who cares?"
So, Rat you're back to take a swipe at decent players with your belittling comments and if you are the same rat it's all because you couldn't cut it yourself when briefly on the panel and that was on the very, very rear of the sub bench. Seems like your snipping and jealously is stuck with you to stay. Get a life.

AuldGussie (Fermanagh) - Posts: 92 - 05/04/2023 14:56:20    2469081

Replying To The_Rat:  "It is more Kelm's we need too. Yes
Whatever happened to the Kinawley Corrigan's? Who cares?"
My God, what disparaging comment "who cares?" about the well respected Corrigan brothers who have contributed so much to the Fermanagh teams during their tenure with them. Most of your responses including "Too nice" is too is meant to be derogatory. Obviously, you have a chip on your shoulder.

cillnaile. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 997 - 05/04/2023 18:28:35    2469142

I'm sorry now for asking those genuine questions but I wasn't expecting someone with a grudge to hijack my post to get a dig at players. It's disgraceful.
Thank you macca999 for your constructed views as usual. Yes, I agree if there is a midfielder injured it will weaken the team's backbone. However, I expect Donnelly will have a plan though, but how effective that will be given the very limited number of players that could fill the boots in that key position would be interesting to see. As regards young Cassidy I think he'll be back again as he has county ability but may have other commitments at present.
I was wondering if by some luck that Fermanagh reached the Ulster final this year would that mean securing a top tier position in 2024 All Ireland championship?
Another question, do supporters think 25 euros is a stiff tag price for a uncomfortable outdated stand bench seat? And worse again if you are stuck in one beside those annoying iron brackets that hurt your posterior. Time for the Brewster bosses to bring the seating up to 21st century expectation. If clubs can do it, why not at our so called county stadium?

erneboy (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1397 - 06/04/2023 09:08:26    2469187

Replying To erneboy:  "I'm sorry now for asking those genuine questions but I wasn't expecting someone with a grudge to hijack my post to get a dig at players. It's disgraceful.
Thank you macca999 for your constructed views as usual. Yes, I agree if there is a midfielder injured it will weaken the team's backbone. However, I expect Donnelly will have a plan though, but how effective that will be given the very limited number of players that could fill the boots in that key position would be interesting to see. As regards young Cassidy I think he'll be back again as he has county ability but may have other commitments at present.
I was wondering if by some luck that Fermanagh reached the Ulster final this year would that mean securing a top tier position in 2024 All Ireland championship?
Another question, do supporters think 25 euros is a stiff tag price for a uncomfortable outdated stand bench seat? And worse again if you are stuck in one beside those annoying iron brackets that hurt your posterior. Time for the Brewster bosses to bring the seating up to 21st century expectation. If clubs can do it, why not at our so called county stadium?"
Yes provincial finalists enter the Sam Maguire cup and as far as I know it's the only way Fermanagh can enter the competition proper.

I see a few talking about Sean Cassidy for the forwards, any word on what happened with Conor Love and the county? Such a cracking player and definitely would be of use in the panel if not a starter

Bailah (Fermanagh) - Posts: 43 - 07/04/2023 08:21:06    2469354

Yes blah a good question what happened to Conor Love? Is it if you don't hit it off with management you are ignored or the exit door left open?

999accam (Fermanagh) - Posts: 8 - 07/04/2023 13:17:27    2469388

Conor Love is a great player, showed it in club championships with Enniskillen.

Was on panel in 2021 under McMenamin, left before league game in Tullamore after limited chances and don't think put himself forward since. Definitely be a better player now.

He is playing soccer in fermanagh and Western league at minute

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1097 - 07/04/2023 13:35:44    2469398

Firstly well done Club Eirne and county board on raising nearly a million pound towards the new development at Lissan, looked like be way off target for while but great push last few weeks,fantastic boost to the clubs with 25% also.

Also good pre championship event at draw night with Peter McGinnity and Paul McFlynn.

Not long now until the big one, be good to see condition of Brewster park pitch now after fresh laid, certainly getting well watered this week.
Hopefully Fermanagh have a clean bill of health since league final, be interesting to see if starts Quigley(great podcast he done on GAA Social this week, very honest as always), scores likely be at minimum against a strong Derry system so frees be crucial to be at 95% conversion rate.
Fermanagh need to start well and keep within touching distance throughout, way Derry play if get lead near impossible to reel back in. Other counties may take Fermanagh for granted but under Gallagher Derry wont be complacent, fact they rested McEvoy and Murray in Saturday under 20s semi says it all in terms of their approach.
Would expect Glass to be fit too, midfield be a massive challenge with him and Rodgers in there, be surprised if Derry dont press high, im sure Fermanagh have planned for this. Donnelly mentioning ball retention and avoiding contact which be crucial in Fermanaghs chances on Saturday
Joe McQuillan reffing again, had him last year v Tyrone

Lets hope for a good day, a great support and a great result, best of luck lads!

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1097 - 13/04/2023 13:21:23    2470806

Sean Quigley out with a late hamstring injury, huge blow

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1097 - 14/04/2023 14:08:16    2470987

Replying To macca999:  "Firstly well done Club Eirne and county board on raising nearly a million pound towards the new development at Lissan, looked like be way off target for while but great push last few weeks,fantastic boost to the clubs with 25% also.

Also good pre championship event at draw night with Peter McGinnity and Paul McFlynn.

Not long now until the big one, be good to see condition of Brewster park pitch now after fresh laid, certainly getting well watered this week.
Hopefully Fermanagh have a clean bill of health since league final, be interesting to see if starts Quigley(great podcast he done on GAA Social this week, very honest as always), scores likely be at minimum against a strong Derry system so frees be crucial to be at 95% conversion rate.
Fermanagh need to start well and keep within touching distance throughout, way Derry play if get lead near impossible to reel back in. Other counties may take Fermanagh for granted but under Gallagher Derry wont be complacent, fact they rested McEvoy and Murray in Saturday under 20s semi says it all in terms of their approach.
Would expect Glass to be fit too, midfield be a massive challenge with him and Rodgers in there, be surprised if Derry dont press high, im sure Fermanagh have planned for this. Donnelly mentioning ball retention and avoiding contact which be crucial in Fermanaghs chances on Saturday
Joe McQuillan reffing again, had him last year v Tyrone

Lets hope for a good day, a great support and a great result, best of luck lads!"
Why has Quigley been dropped?

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1182 - 14/04/2023 18:32:54    2471018

Replying To Coa_gael:  "Why has Quigley been dropped?"
Would it have been his criticism of management in his podcast when he was very dismissive of their motivation experts' advice? Like Macca, he appears to blinkered too, so he should stick in future to what he is capable both on and off field and respect the management's best efforts to maximise the team's skills both mentally and physically.

TurnipHead. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 244 - 15/04/2023 12:27:35    2471054

Very silent there macca999.
No explanation?
The Derry keeper being allowed to run the whole field to score tell the story of a weak Fermangh.
Not worth the 25 euros!

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1182 - 15/04/2023 23:32:38    2471125

Coa_gael - Simple explanation on result, two teams operating on different levels and game further highlighted why there is need for a tailteann cup competition now.

Realistically pre match dont think anyone was expecting Fermanagh to win the game, Derry have dismantled teams the same throughout their division 2 league campaign against teams Fermanagh will be aiming to try compete with next year.

Derrys physicality, quality on the ball, movement off the ball was excellent, angled runs and speed allowing them to work through and break lines at will even when Fermanagh had everyone behind the ball. Derrys transition was something Fermanagh havnt encountered before and couldnt get to grips with, within seconds 15 behind ball, then when turned it over had 14 in Fermanaghs half within 10 seconds, then all players comfortable on the ball with defenders kicking scores at will.

However I hoped that Fermanagh would be able to compete with Derry and make a competitive contest of it but especially in first half didnt get going or battle with Derry, played with fear and game was over within 25 minutes. Fermanagh needed to play with intense hunger to match a drilled Derry but it wasnt there and they quickly went for the kill ruthlessly.
We allowed Rodgers and the Keeper even to saunter through the middle of pitch at ease, the fact there wasnt a yellow card in the game highlights the lack of intensity, couldnt get close enough to foul at times.
The tactic of playing an extra man in their half to stop runners from deep has some logic as a huge strength of Derrys but on reflection should have played sweeper at least first half to try keep game competitive.

Midfield as worried really struggled, Derry as expected pushed up high and forced kickouts to go long which they dominated and in the breaks. Ryan Jones tried gamefully but didnt have enough support at times with the Derry keepers presence further impacting.

Ethan Doherty and Padraig Cassidy had the freedom of Brewster Park while McGuigan gave Che Cullen torrid 35 minutes. Jonny Cassidy had slightly more success on him second half but damage was long done. Ultan Kelm showed his quality on the few times he got ball in promising areas but huge reliance on him. The second goal conceded was very poor, McManus got sucked to the ball allowing Cassidy the space to attack although thought Ryan Jones didnt go towards him strangely so he could drop ball and still score.
Sean Quigleys absence due to injury a huge blow though 13 Seans wouldnt have stopped yesterdays result. Hopefully he is back fit for Tailteann Cup campaign next month

Second half was better with Conor McShea and Decky McCusker showing well and providing bit more energy, although thought harsh to sub Aidan Breen, was few others that could have been taken off ahead of him but throughout league has been same.

Disappointing day for players and management who will know didnt perform to what capable off but certainly exposed the difference in Division 3 and Division 1, every mistake we made was punished yesterday, even in league conceding goals so warning signs were there. Good interview with Kieran Donnelly on Newstalks Off the ball after game. They will take stock and get ready for Tailteann Cup Campaign,which given has 3 games guaranteed im sure will see other players getting opportunities too.

I know some were shocked at Rory Gallaghers behaviour yesterday on touchline, wasnt surprised by his energy or ruthlessness its his intense nature and he wont change, was same when with Fermanagh although given then game wasnt in melting pot his reactions were totally unneccessary, i dont think Oisin McConville would react that way against Armagh or Mickey Harte if Louth met Tyrone.

More worrying than yesterdays game v Derry was the minors result v Monaghan,(Rory Gallagher even mentioned it in post match interview with RTE) warning signs there throughout the league campaign, they have 3 more games which could be very tough on the young lads and highlight further the issues we have and face going forward. This on top of the Under 20s result v Derry has alarm bells ringing about development of players in the county and future, really this needs to be looked at as doesnt look like producing players at moment who will make step into senior team anytime soon, current team backboned by successful St Michaels team, whom themselves have slipped done pecking order!

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1097 - 16/04/2023 12:31:42    2471175