Galway Football thread

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "He offered fit hamstrings for the second half anyway, and Conroy didn't appear to be in that position."
silly comment.

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 204 - 18/02/2024 21:30:37    2526819

Replying To galwayford:  "Rob Finnerty played well, but at the end made a back kick that lost possesion. He did the same a few years ago against Derry if I remember. Galway need to get better at closing out games. Ref did the a bit of a favour here imho."
Yeah, they almost managed to throw away a 3 point lead heading into added time. Maher lost the ball when 2 up and Tyrone got a score. The Finnerty tried a pass out the field and gave it away again giving Tyrone one last chance to equalise. I remember Cooke did the exact same against Armagh last year in the championship and it cost Galway the game right at the death. Lads have to take extra care of the ball in those circumstances.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 18/02/2024 21:34:11    2526820

Couple of things worth seeing today.
Niall Morgan
The battle between Canavan and McGrath
Johnny Heaneys leadership.
The continuous improvement of Sean Fitzgerald
The selfless running and work rate of John Maher.
Sean Kelly back on the pitch

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 404 - 18/02/2024 22:13:25    2526826

Flaherty made massive impact. Taking on his man and injecting pace like Molloy used to do in years gone by. Hoping Molloy gets back to his old levels with more game time.

The football is in this squad but I think sometime's they can lack leadership and keep playing lateral. The likes of Kelly makes a big difference in that regard. He knows when enough is enough and injects the pace. Comer/Mcdaid/Silke/Walsh also do that. The are all line breakers and leaders. Others will get there eventually not there yet.

Don't write off this squad yet. Early season injuries might be a blessing in disguise. A lot of experience being gained and hopefully injuries clearing up.

Any update on Conroy & Tierney?

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1875 - 18/02/2024 22:58:19    2526831

Think Maher has really improved over past year and should start midfield for the year. The open space in Croke Park might be too much for Conroy for 70 minutes, but would be really good sub to come on.
Flaherty really good when came on and Cunningham made some good runs creating space which the full forward line didn't do in 1st half.
We should use the kick pass in to full forward line more often. Daly the only one who was looking for it and resulted in scores and also keeps defences honest, too predicable lateral hand passing at times all be it it is difficult with mass defence. Might be easier to do this when Comer back.
Some tough calls for PJ when everyone available. Pity Cooke isn't available, short a forward or two.
Gleeson, McGrath, Kelly, Silke, Molloy, Daly, McHugh, Maher, McDaid, Tierney, Heaney, Sweeney, Finnerty, Comer, Walsh, Fitzgerald, Glynn, Mulkerrin, Flaherty, Hernon, Conroy, Cunningham our best subs.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 19/02/2024 08:03:43    2526848

Long post. Brilliant to get the win yesterday even if the red did us a favour by blowing it when he did.

Gleeson: Good save in the first half and caught a good ball which was going over. His distribution is still a major issue (especially in contrast to Morgan) and the behind the goal camera showed a few kicks yesterday where he had the chance to pick out the free man but couldn't execute it properly. His last kickout when we were under pressure was good though. Has a habit of dithering and getting blown by the ref and Tyrone got a point from it today. Would love to see Joyce try another keeper but can't see it at this stage.
McGrath: Very solid, good point, did a good job on Canavans. Tigerish so gets blown for frees sometimes harshly. Should be starting come championship.
Fitzgerald: Does a lot of hard running, would love to see more end product in that sense. His defending is solid, did really well to stand up Peter Harte yesterday after Finnerty gave the ball away. Be interesting to see what happens with him when Kelly, Glynn, and Silke come back. He is an option to stay there I think.
Mulkerrin: Ok defensively but still not very effective going forward and butchered a great chance for a score yesterday which gave all the momentum to Tyrone. Can't see him keeping his place once Glynn is back.
McHugh: Wing back suits him more but he needs to be more direct and show pace. No scoring threat.
Daly: Slow and ponderous. Needs to offer more, again, no scoring threat. He kicked a ball into Finnerty which Finnerty did very very well to hold on to (not a great pass) when he probably could or should have popped it over himself.
Molloy: Not offering anything, just filling space. Joyce rightfully whipped him and his place is surely under threat now.
Maher: Plenty of running and always gave players options. A key player.
Conroy: Good score and a big loss now that he's injured. But someone else really needs to step up now and challenge for his place.
Heaney: Excellent. After the Mayo disappointment where he was subbed at half time and not starting v Roscommon, he was a man on a mission. 2 great points and regained some amount of ball. On this form, he's one of our key players.
Tierney: Mixed, anonymous first half. Good score at beginning of 2nd. Would love to see him take on players more often. Not a reliable free taker (we haven't had one since Bane??) but he will be a loss if out for a few games.
Sweeney: Always running and giving options, took his goal brilliantly and couldn't have done any better for the 2nd goal chance. Has to start for championshop because he has pace and is direct.
Conaighle: Wasn't in the game. I wouldn't write him off yet but he needs to show more. 2 points from 3 starts isn't brilliant.
O'Curraoin: Anonymous but he's a good free taker and I would have left him on. He's a big lad who can win dirty ball and he might have got more into it in the 2nd half. Another lad I wouldn't write off.
Finnerty: 1st 20 minutes brilliant but faded after Hampsey switched. Poor free miss for his standard and gave away a very bad ball towards the end that luckily went unpunished.
SUBSTITUTES
Darcy: I forgot that he was playing until he gave that hospital handpass at the end. I don't see what he brings and certainly shouldn't be replacing our full forward. Fine in midfield or half forward towards the end when we have a big lead.
Cunningham: Did well for his first appearance, laid the ball off really well for Sweeney's goal.
Flaherty: Brought loads of energy. Didn't realise he's such a big man. Made all the difference with his direct running. Surely Molloy's position is under major threat now. Took his score really well and was involved in the goal.
Kelly: Straight away could see the difference. So direct and the team were much better upon his introduction. Where he plays now will be interesting.
Niall Daly: Filled a gap. Thought he was lucky not to be blown for a free towards the end for some over aggressive harrying. He's a stylish footballer who I would like to see getting more minutes, with Conroy possibly missing a few games, would like to see him midfield with Maher.

The injection of pace we showed won the game for us so it's important that we show it from the start next week.

Monaghan next I think so team I would like to see based on who's available and assuming none of the injured will be back and that Conroy and Tierney are injured:
Burke
McGrath
Kelly
Fitzgerald
McHugh
Daly
Flaherty
Maher
N Daly
Sweeney
O'Curraoin
Heaney
Cunningham
Finnerty
O'Conaighle

I know that realistically Gleeson and Darcy probably both start.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 382 - 19/02/2024 08:45:27    2526855

Replying To hopballref:  "Think Maher has really improved over past year and should start midfield for the year. The open space in Croke Park might be too much for Conroy for 70 minutes, but would be really good sub to come on.
Flaherty really good when came on and Cunningham made some good runs creating space which the full forward line didn't do in 1st half.
We should use the kick pass in to full forward line more often. Daly the only one who was looking for it and resulted in scores and also keeps defences honest, too predicable lateral hand passing at times all be it it is difficult with mass defence. Might be easier to do this when Comer back.
Some tough calls for PJ when everyone available. Pity Cooke isn't available, short a forward or two.
Gleeson, McGrath, Kelly, Silke, Molloy, Daly, McHugh, Maher, McDaid, Tierney, Heaney, Sweeney, Finnerty, Comer, Walsh, Fitzgerald, Glynn, Mulkerrin, Flaherty, Hernon, Conroy, Cunningham our best subs."
Wouldn't rule out the two young lads yet. Yesterday was a tough day for them but it was a horrible day to be in the full forward line, slow ball in and Tyrone were very deep. They have quality and I think both will have an impact as the year goes on. Tomo Culhane another option who should have an impact

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 19/02/2024 09:05:01    2526857

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Long post. Brilliant to get the win yesterday even if the red did us a favour by blowing it when he did.

Gleeson: Good save in the first half and caught a good ball which was going over. His distribution is still a major issue (especially in contrast to Morgan) and the behind the goal camera showed a few kicks yesterday where he had the chance to pick out the free man but couldn't execute it properly. His last kickout when we were under pressure was good though. Has a habit of dithering and getting blown by the ref and Tyrone got a point from it today. Would love to see Joyce try another keeper but can't see it at this stage.
McGrath: Very solid, good point, did a good job on Canavans. Tigerish so gets blown for frees sometimes harshly. Should be starting come championship.
Fitzgerald: Does a lot of hard running, would love to see more end product in that sense. His defending is solid, did really well to stand up Peter Harte yesterday after Finnerty gave the ball away. Be interesting to see what happens with him when Kelly, Glynn, and Silke come back. He is an option to stay there I think.
Mulkerrin: Ok defensively but still not very effective going forward and butchered a great chance for a score yesterday which gave all the momentum to Tyrone. Can't see him keeping his place once Glynn is back.
McHugh: Wing back suits him more but he needs to be more direct and show pace. No scoring threat.
Daly: Slow and ponderous. Needs to offer more, again, no scoring threat. He kicked a ball into Finnerty which Finnerty did very very well to hold on to (not a great pass) when he probably could or should have popped it over himself.
Molloy: Not offering anything, just filling space. Joyce rightfully whipped him and his place is surely under threat now.
Maher: Plenty of running and always gave players options. A key player.
Conroy: Good score and a big loss now that he's injured. But someone else really needs to step up now and challenge for his place.
Heaney: Excellent. After the Mayo disappointment where he was subbed at half time and not starting v Roscommon, he was a man on a mission. 2 great points and regained some amount of ball. On this form, he's one of our key players.
Tierney: Mixed, anonymous first half. Good score at beginning of 2nd. Would love to see him take on players more often. Not a reliable free taker (we haven't had one since Bane??) but he will be a loss if out for a few games.
Sweeney: Always running and giving options, took his goal brilliantly and couldn't have done any better for the 2nd goal chance. Has to start for championshop because he has pace and is direct.
Conaighle: Wasn't in the game. I wouldn't write him off yet but he needs to show more. 2 points from 3 starts isn't brilliant.
O'Curraoin: Anonymous but he's a good free taker and I would have left him on. He's a big lad who can win dirty ball and he might have got more into it in the 2nd half. Another lad I wouldn't write off.
Finnerty: 1st 20 minutes brilliant but faded after Hampsey switched. Poor free miss for his standard and gave away a very bad ball towards the end that luckily went unpunished.
SUBSTITUTES
Darcy: I forgot that he was playing until he gave that hospital handpass at the end. I don't see what he brings and certainly shouldn't be replacing our full forward. Fine in midfield or half forward towards the end when we have a big lead.
Cunningham: Did well for his first appearance, laid the ball off really well for Sweeney's goal.
Flaherty: Brought loads of energy. Didn't realise he's such a big man. Made all the difference with his direct running. Surely Molloy's position is under major threat now. Took his score really well and was involved in the goal.
Kelly: Straight away could see the difference. So direct and the team were much better upon his introduction. Where he plays now will be interesting.
Niall Daly: Filled a gap. Thought he was lucky not to be blown for a free towards the end for some over aggressive harrying. He's a stylish footballer who I would like to see getting more minutes, with Conroy possibly missing a few games, would like to see him midfield with Maher.

The injection of pace we showed won the game for us so it's important that we show it from the start next week.

Monaghan next I think so team I would like to see based on who's available and assuming none of the injured will be back and that Conroy and Tierney are injured:
Burke
McGrath
Kelly
Fitzgerald
McHugh
Daly
Flaherty
Maher
N Daly
Sweeney
O'Curraoin
Heaney
Cunningham
Finnerty
O'Conaighle

I know that realistically Gleeson and Darcy probably both start."
A big post and a team selection for Monaghan... an awful pity that you went to this hard work and we are actually playing DERRY next.

They play a truly deplorable brand of play now. Even more defensive and risk averse than Tyrone were. Lateral Lateral Lateral, forward pass, recycle then a few more minutes of lateral passing.

Pure and utter muck.

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 19/02/2024 09:35:37    2526871

Replying To festinog:  "Well, that was more of a battle where football occasionally threatened to break out. It has to be said Gaelic has become a tough watch for aulde fellas like me. They've taken Moneyball to heart and now it's all percentages and possession.

My sad old anachronistic lamentation aside, that was the kind of win any team should grow from. They won on the ball and off it, fair play. As someone has already said, not a bad place to be in February, but not before time with the Championship just around the corner.

Good win lads, béir bua."
Its hard to watch for all age-groups unfortunately. The game is emulating soccer these days, with pretty much all players in the attacking teams half. Very difficult for talented forwards to stand out.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 19/02/2024 09:48:42    2526875

Replying To togoutlads:  "On today's Myth Busters: Galway have good forwards - False. Ah, we don't lads. We don't have good forwards at all. Many of the lads themselves just aren't up to it and then their forwards coaching is laughable. I'm now convinced that the bold Scan and PJ really haven't a notion how to coach IC forwards and make them click as a unit. We need no further evidence. 4 points in 39 mins in this first half display. Roughly a point every 10 goddamn long minutes. Rubbish. Just not good enough at all. It's sad watching our demise. Roll on the excuses. Can we get someone who knows how to get forwards moving into the setup cos this isn't going to improve much even with all the lads back. They do not know what they're doing."
You're right, we don't. The quality isn't there unfortunately particularly without Walsh and Comer. Not sure I would agree with fully blaming coaching. Finnerty & Tierney are hot and cold, Comer is always injured and Walsh was terrible last year and struggles against really tight tough intercounty defenders. Heaney has been the most consistent over past few years. When you compare to Kerry & Dublin forward line, it is far inferior. Gods knows, i'd nearly take a few of the Mayo forwards and that's saying something!

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 19/02/2024 10:03:57    2526879

Replying To kiloughter:  "I have noticed that about not having consistent accurate distance shooters. Conroy always was good and Finnerty and Heaney have it in their locker. I don't know is it a case of the instruction is not to shoot unless the % of converting is high or do they not trust themselves. Either way very important deserved win. 2nd half performance impressive and the O'Flaherty Sweeney axis on the left wing worked well."
Yes that must be the Salthill understanding and Salthill had a large contingent in action with Maher, Finnerty, Sweeney and O'Flaherty when he came on. Midfield is still a problem - couldn't help but think what a loss Cooke appears to be at this juncture as Maher, Darcy etc. are just not at that level. I think with all the injured players back and firing on all cylinders we are a match for anyone bar perhaps Dublin and Kerry. I would like the players and the forwards in particular to play with a bit more abandon like in the second half when it opened up a bit. Don't think McHugh and Molloy are in top form yet but hopefully that will come in time.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 19/02/2024 10:13:20    2526881

What is the story with Conor Flaherty? Is he on the panel?

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 19/02/2024 10:24:42    2526888

Replying To FieldsMaster:  "With the exception of Finnerty full forward line were terrible today and why did it take Padraig so long to whip them off.
Far too much cross and back passing but Sean Kelly and Flaherty made a big improvement when introduced at least they drove goalwards anyhow. Why is'nt the goalie told not to dilly dally with the kick outs as he got blown up again today"
Yes and it led to a point directly for Tyrone after the throw-in and the same happened v Roscommon even though that may not have led to a point. It appears PJ (who is a stubborn man) is not going to change the goalkeeper position even though its leading to very soft scores being conceded and will be very costly later in the year.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 19/02/2024 10:27:45    2526890

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "A big post and a team selection for Monaghan... an awful pity that you went to this hard work and we are actually playing DERRY next.

They play a truly deplorable brand of play now. Even more defensive and risk averse than Tyrone were. Lateral Lateral Lateral, forward pass, recycle then a few more minutes of lateral passing.

Pure and utter muck."
I don't give us much chance against Derry. I'll stick with the same team though.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 382 - 19/02/2024 10:29:10    2526891

Replying To hopballref:  "Its hard to watch for all age-groups unfortunately. The game is emulating soccer these days, with pretty much all players in the attacking teams half. Very difficult for talented forwards to stand out."
I agree that Tyrone game (1st half in particular) was a hard watch but like any sport there are good games and bad ones . Kerry v Mayo was very enjoyable. Unfortunately teams can only play to its strengths and currently Galway don't have the resources to play a higher risk game. I am not a proponent of knee jerk rule changes , but realise that rules in every sport e.g rugby are constantly under review to make things safer and more entertaining . Lots of people talk about shot clocks and limiting numbers of passes in own half but to be honest while it would force teams to attack when they have the ball it would only encourage even more defensive systems when teams are not in possession. One thing that might be considered ( but only after lots of analysis and discussion ) would be ideas like this one. After a team puts 5 passes together and while they are still in their own half they can be tackled Australian rules style and forfeit possession. This would force front foot football without giving opposition the luxury of sitting back knowing the other team must come forward.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 19/02/2024 11:09:36    2526900

Replying To Trucker1:  "Wouldn't rule out the two young lads yet. Yesterday was a tough day for them but it was a horrible day to be in the full forward line, slow ball in and Tyrone were very deep. They have quality and I think both will have an impact as the year goes on. Tomo Culhane another option who should have an impact"
They're both good players. We'll see the best of them hopefully in 2-3 years time. It's very hard to come straight in at 19-20 years of age in the modern game and excel.
Same with Egan, McCabe and Sam O'Neill.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1264 - 19/02/2024 11:28:01    2526905

Replying To galwayman2:  "They're both good players. We'll see the best of them hopefully in 2-3 years time. It's very hard to come straight in at 19-20 years of age in the modern game and excel.
Same with Egan, McCabe and Sam O'Neill."
Yes all those players you mentioned plus Rory Cunningham should get more game time. Another player I like is Paul Mannion of Kilconly as he is very direct and accurate and I hope PJ and co. will soon give him a chance. Glenn Kelly of Monivea- Abbey is another option.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 19/02/2024 11:40:15    2526908

Can't help but think that Michael Daly is still a big loss to the team especially given that he could play at midfield or in the half forward line and can take a score when it presents itself as the a lack of scoring power (10, 9 and 11 scores in the last 3 games) and kicking options from the midfield diamond area are the big issues with this current team.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 19/02/2024 11:57:39    2526914

Daniel O'Flaherty made an immediate impact with his direct running - as did Kelly. That's just one aspect of his play - yet to be convinced of his defensive capability. Sweeney showed remarkable composure in taking his goal and unlucky with second effort. I feel management should now let him settle into that role as he can develop further as a genuine goal scoring threat.

I see Tyrone wear 4 stars on their jerseys - signifying how many AI's they've won. Maybe this is the psychological edge Mayo need too, to get them up to 4 lol. I presume Kerry and Dublin could get deca-insignia emblazoned on their shirts, seeing as they've won so many. And sure, when we get on to 10 titles later this year we can get 1 printed too.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 610 - 19/02/2024 12:09:09    2526919

Replying To tommy k:  "Can't help but think that Michael Daly is still a big loss to the team especially given that he could play at midfield or in the half forward line and can take a score when it presents itself as the a lack of scoring power (10, 9 and 11 scores in the last 3 games) and kicking options from the midfield diamond area are the big issues with this current team."
you have mentioned both cooke and daly are huge losses now. we know these players are not available/selected this year so i am at a loss to why you are mentioning these players? neither have hit the heights for galway.

give new guys like maher and darcy a chance. lets support the guys who are putting in maximum effort to put on the maroon jersey this year and not worry about outside factors.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 19/02/2024 12:46:25    2526933