Galway Football thread

Big win for Galway and thanks to a solid defensive team effort. I think should beat Monaghan and win there will likely be enough to stay up.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 18/02/2024 17:50:28    2526728

Big win for Galway and thanks to a solid defensive team effort. I think should beat Monaghan and win there will likely be enough to stay up.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 18/02/2024 17:50:29    2526729

Replying To Kickitout:  "A big game 2 day think we definitely need get a point today hard see Galway scoring more than 11 scores today"
Great call on the scoring volume. Flaherty, McGrath and Heaney made big impacts, and Flah had only one half out there. Finnerty went into his shell it seemed, after a tremendous opening 10-15 minute spell. I thought he'd 'go mad' after that opening cameo, but it wasn't to be. The freetaking and 45m kicking was shambolic all through, as it has occasionally been even with Shane Walsh available. Good 2pts, but Tyrone aren't great.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 18/02/2024 18:23:57    2526742

This is the team we need to get out and fit. Gleeson, Magrath, Fitz, Glynn, Mulkerrins, Daly, Mchugh. Maher and Conroy . Heaney, Tierney, Mcdaid. Sean Kelly, Comer and Shaneeey. Subs oran burke,silke, finnerty, flaherty , sweeney, darcy, hernon, cunnigham, o curraoin,o conghaile If you can get all those guys fit for April onwards we are in with a shout. What do ye think. Who did i leave out?

Galway2001 (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 18/02/2024 18:45:57    2526750

Might stay up with 5 points but it would depend on other results I'd say. Beating Monaghan away no sure thing though.

As ever in the league it often depends when you play teams. Roscommon play Derry last and Derry will probably already be in a league final by then so they could easily put out a weakened side against the Rossies.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 18/02/2024 18:48:03    2526751

Replying To Marooned:  "Might stay up with 5 points but it would depend on other results I'd say. Beating Monaghan away no sure thing though.

As ever in the league it often depends when you play teams. Roscommon play Derry last and Derry will probably already be in a league final by then so they could easily put out a weakened side against the Rossies."
Yeah Monaghan have a knack of pulling it out of the fire on the last day as we know all too well.Of Derry are well on top on last day they won't take a risk on their top stars with not long to go to championship.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 18/02/2024 19:00:11    2526757

Replying To Galway2001:  "This is the team we need to get out and fit. Gleeson, Magrath, Fitz, Glynn, Mulkerrins, Daly, Mchugh. Maher and Conroy . Heaney, Tierney, Mcdaid. Sean Kelly, Comer and Shaneeey. Subs oran burke,silke, finnerty, flaherty , sweeney, darcy, hernon, cunnigham, o curraoin,o conghaile If you can get all those guys fit for April onwards we are in with a shout. What do ye think. Who did i leave out?"
You left out Kieran Molloy and anyone that doesn't have Liam Silke on their first 15 needs a serious look at themselves.

GalwayLurker (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 18/02/2024 19:13:12    2526760

Replying To Trucker1:  "Huge win. Beating Tyrone away missing Kelly(bar his brief cameo), Silke, McDaid,Comer, Walsh and Conroy going off at ht . Any county bar Dublin missing that level of quality will struggle. Good day out for the full back line further strengthening our options. Well done to the team and management . With the packed defences it was a hard day to be a forward but once we get a few lads back the overloads coming forward will create more options for the lads inside."
Dubs would struggle too now missing that tio

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 291 - 18/02/2024 19:13:54    2526761

Replying To Marooned:  "Might stay up with 5 points but it would depend on other results I'd say. Beating Monaghan away no sure thing though.

As ever in the league it often depends when you play teams. Roscommon play Derry last and Derry will probably already be in a league final by then so they could easily put out a weakened side against the Rossies."
Mickey Harte in his years with Tyrone is not noted for playing weakened teams and already this year he played a full strength Derry team apart from Glenn players in the McKenna cup.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 18/02/2024 19:33:21    2526767

A great 2 points today in a tough battle we showed real spirit in the second half.
But...as a sport it was desperate to watch with the only sound in the ground for most of the game being the hum of conversation.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 445 - 18/02/2024 19:44:01    2526774

A much-needed result today. Fair play to the lads for rolling up the sleeves and getting over the line.
After a decent start, the last 20 minutes of the first-half was dire. Over and back lateral passing at a slow place, with nobody coming at pace to take a chance at breaking the line. Despite having almost all the possession in this period we managed only 2 shots, and no score.
The approach changed in the 2nd half, right from the throw-in, with Tierney taking on his man and running directly at the defence. We saw a good bit more of this from the likes of Heaney, Flaherty and Sweeney, as well as Seán Kelly when he came on.
We were still far from perfect, but we looked a lot more threatening by moving the ball at pace.
We hadn't created a decent goal chance in the first 2 and a half games, but that also changed.
Hopefully the injuries to Conroy and Tierney aren't serious. We're down quite a lot as it is.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 18/02/2024 20:10:40    2526786

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Mickey Harte in his years with Tyrone is not noted for playing weakened teams and already this year he played a full strength Derry team apart from Glenn players in the McKenna cup."
5 points on the board might be enough if you have the head-to-head advantage, so beating Monaghan, which is not a given up there is extra important to Galway. Galway will need more points on the table no matter what.
it's wan game at a time.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1212 - 18/02/2024 20:11:36    2526787

Big big win, injection of pace provided by O'Flaherty and Kelly in the 3rd quarter the difference. We are motoring just fine for February. Well done lads, might shut up a few of the naysayers around here for a bit.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1618 - 18/02/2024 20:20:43    2526792

Replying To GDL:  "A massive two points that I wasn't sure about this morning. Subs were excellent today, D'Arcy was much better and Daniel O'Flaherty has to start next week. A shame about the injuries, because we've other key player out currently, Silke, Walsh, Comer, McDaid and Glynn. I think Tyrone were only down Meyler and Donnelly. I know the wind was very strong in the first half and it may not have been evident from the TV, but get the ball into Rob asap, he was super on quick ball today. Finally, a few lads on here a few weeks ago doubting Heaney. I hope they are humble enough to acknowledge him this evening."
I honestly didn't see D'Arcy do anything that an ordinary club player would've done out there. He just handpassed it off in non threatening situations. Apart from his final act of giving a suicidal hand pass to a marked Maher, which have Tyrone a late chance.
He's carrying too much timber.
The big man in Maher worked last year but Maher is mobile and can take on a man. D'Arcy is not gonna do what either Conroy or Maher offer so I dunno what he offers.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 162 - 18/02/2024 20:22:24    2526793

Replying To jam83:  "I honestly didn't see D'Arcy do anything that an ordinary club player would've done out there. He just handpassed it off in non threatening situations. Apart from his final act of giving a suicidal hand pass to a marked Maher, which have Tyrone a late chance.
He's carrying too much timber.
The big man in Maher worked last year but Maher is mobile and can take on a man. D'Arcy is not gonna do what either Conroy or Maher offer so I dunno what he offers."
He offered fit hamstrings for the second half anyway, and Conroy didn't appear to be in that position.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 18/02/2024 20:29:01    2526795

Rob Finnerty played well, but at the end made a back kick that lost possesion. He did the same a few years ago against Derry if I remember. Galway need to get better at closing out games. Ref did the a bit of a favour here imho.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2541 - 18/02/2024 20:30:14    2526797

Replying To maroondiesel:  "5 points on the board might be enough if you have the head-to-head advantage, so beating Monaghan, which is not a given up there is extra important to Galway. Galway will need more points on the table no matter what.
it's wan game at a time."
With the exception of Finnerty full forward line were terrible today and why did it take Padraig so long to whip them off.
Far too much cross and back passing but Sean Kelly and Flaherty made a big improvement when introduced at least they drove goalwards anyhow. Why is'nt the goalie told not to dilly dally with the kick outs as he got blown up again today

FieldsMaster (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 18/02/2024 20:30:51    2526798

Replying To conordee:  "A great 2 points today in a tough battle we showed real spirit in the second half.
But...as a sport it was desperate to watch with the only sound in the ground for most of the game being the hum of conversation."
Quit moaning, I will take the win anytime.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2541 - 18/02/2024 20:32:20    2526799

Well, that was more of a battle where football occasionally threatened to break out. It has to be said Gaelic has become a tough watch for aulde fellas like me. They've taken Moneyball to heart and now it's all percentages and possession.

My sad old anachronistic lamentation aside, that was the kind of win any team should grow from. They won on the ball and off it, fair play. As someone has already said, not a bad place to be in February, but not before time with the Championship just around the corner.

Good win lads, béir bua.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 18/02/2024 20:42:48    2526807

Great to squeeze out the win and well done to the lads on getting the points. It doesn't get away from our lack of shape and options in attack. These forwards should be so much more effective. Those 39 mins of the first half were not good enough - that's not naysaying, it's patently obvious. No right football person on this county could argue otherwise. Yes, to the lads credit we picked it up in the second half but still making a meal of things up front, no angled full tilt runs, poor misses, recycling and several awful turnovers. Galway Forwards need serious work and this backroom aren't making it happen with them, at least as things stand. Yes we're missing key men, but Tyrone are poor at the moment and were missing some fairly important players too - McCurry, McShane, Meyler, M Donnelly. We got the points. We owe one to Monaghan. Let's see.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 936 - 18/02/2024 21:11:10    2526817